FB Twitter

Creag Bheag

Creag Bheag

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
87% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.5


Creag Bheag is a cosy and charming holiday home in Portree - the main town on the Isle of Skye. Within easy walking distance of a choice of restaurants and shops and the picturesque harbour area, it also makes a great base for exploring Skye and the Isle of Raasay.
Creag Bheag has three bedrooms, two double and one single, with a warm lounge and open kitchen / dining room downstairs.

Excellent from start to finish

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The towels and linen not to mention general basics were prepared and ready for our arrival. The location, although offering a degree of privacy, was close to many restaurants etc and there would be absolutely no hesitation in booking Creag Bheag again should the opportunity arise in the future. In fact I would go as far as to say that if in the area, this would be our first choice and we would urge anyone planning a visit to the Portree area to really consider a stay here. I cannot speak highly enough of the service provided by the friendly staff and the quality of the cottage itself.



Excellent location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
5 mins walk into town, everything you need utensil/kitchen wise, very comfortable beds.
1 negative was basic tv only but free Netflix was a bonus, would definately stay again.




very nice and comfortable house, great location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice stay and enjoyed proximity to restaurants and shops in Skye as well as the tasteful style in the house.



Good House..

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location great. House as it looks in pictures. Well equipped Kitchen.. Bed in main bedroom not the most comfortable.



Our only issue was that the kitchen could have been cleaner on arrival.. E.G,, Kitchen worktops and sink area hadn't been cleaned very well by whomever does it on the owners behalf.


All in all a good house.




So - so

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Twin bed is an upper bunk with no ladder provided. Used the pullout couch instead, but no sheets available. Ran out of toilet paper Midway thru the week. Heat in master bath won't turn off. Everything else was fine. House is very good location for walking access to Portree.



I&H Cottages replied 54 days ago
Thank you for your review and we're so sorry to hear that you had a couple of issues during your stay. If you stay with us again, please do get in touch if issues arise as we may be able to help. The sofa bed is available on request so linen is not provided as standard for it. However, if we had known it was needed, we could have supplied the additional linen. The single bed is described as a small cabin bed and there are photographs of it on the website. There are steps going up at the end of the frame to get in. Thank you for bringing the heater to our attention. The owner is currently arranging for this to be fixed. We hope you enjoyed your time on the Isle of Skye.

Not the best cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage tired and could do with a refurb , old fashioned. Towels provided were shocking, old and grey. 4 dishwasher tablets provided for week!! No scourer for dishes when using sink. TV system poor, only can watch iplayer or netflix- no live TV.

We have stayed in cottages all over UK and given price of cottage i would have expected more.

In summary the cottage is below ok and trades on its location but needs improving.




I&H Cottages replied 40 days ago
Thank you for reviewing Creag Bheag. Since your feedback, we were concerned about Creag Bheag and the standard of accommodation. However having re-visited the property, we found it to be warm, cosy and charming. It isn't in the most modern style but it is well maintained and looks like it does in the photographs. We are sorry that you had a few issues. We don't advertise Creag Bheag as having live TV but you can use catch-up TV through the BT vision box. And unfortunately Internet is a little haphazzard all over the island. However the owners are looking to purchase new bath and hand towels. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Recent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed a few times.....great house in a great location. Will definitely be back at somepoint soon hopefully!



Good and Excellent.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very good quality. The location is very good. The center is not far on foot. The mirrors in the bathroom could hang a little higher.



Awesome house and great location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay with a family of five including 2 kids was awesome. The Netflix, smart TV, board games, kitchen with all amenities and high speed internet made our holiday really special. Very nice and comfortable stay. Highly recommended....



Just about perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great Cottage with everything you need, close to town and central for exploring Skye. Just what we needed. Two things I would suggest is that block out curtains in the bedrooms would be a welcome addition especially for travellers who are not used to having daylight until 11pm and maybe time for a mattress update in the main bedroom. TV connection was a bit hit and miss but didn't really worry us as most nights we were planning the next days adventure, great WiFi reception for phones and iPad. Great cottage at a great price if we come back to Skye we would have no hesitation in booking the cottage again.



More than pleased with our choice of cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, parking is a bonus (you need to use the cone to protect your space!!!).

The cottage is well equipped with modern fixtures and fittings and very comfortable.

Minor issues:
TV - struggled with this, we brought an Amazon stick and this worked well
Doors - most of the internal doors don't close properly.

Would I book this again, most definitely, YES




Great location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location from which to explore Skye. Easy walking to some lovely restaurants. Off road parking a great feature in Portree.



Fab Easter in Portree

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week in an excellent cottage which was very well equipped and comfortable. The location was brilliant- we were able to walk into Portree.



Perfect Christmas Break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creag Bheag is a very coomfortable and well appointed cottage with lots of lovely touches in terms of decoration and style. It is extremely well located for access to shops and excellent restaurants and we very much hope to return in the future.



A good cottage in a good location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Creag Bheag is located very conveniently for Portree centre which is just a few minutes walk. Although near the centre the location is quite quiet. It is very handy having off road parking for 2 cars as Portree was quite busy and I would imagine it could be difficult to park in the village at times.
The cottage itself is a good size and is well equipped, although very warm compared to what we are used to. It was fairly clean although we did find some dirty tissues behind a set of drawers in one of the bedrooms. Most of the floors are wooden and although easy to clean they do squeak a lot!
It took a while to work out how to use the television, but we managed once we found the instructions which were in a drawer under the telly unit.