FB Twitter

The Croft House, Fiskavaig

The Croft House, Fiskavaig

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Croft House, Fiskavaig is a spacious holiday home located centrally on the Isle of Skye - perfect for holidays with family and friends. There is an open kitchen / dining room, lounge with log fire, sunroom with panoramic views across the sea to UIlinish and Struan, and two bedrooms both with ensuites. With easy access to the beach and bay below, a drying room and a secure store for keeping kayaks and canoes this is ideal for those looking for a more adventurous holiday as well as those looking to just enjoy the views and relax.

holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved every minute of it.
It was value for the money and the owners were very nice and helpful.
Very clean and tidy.




The Croft House

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class accommodation in a fabulous location. Helpful owners. Relaxing place to stay with wonderful views.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are enjoyed our stay so much at the Croft house as a family of 4
The location the amenities the house everything made it amazing
We met with Phil and Emma - they were the perfect hosts.
Planning to come back already.




A week in July 2022

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing time in Skye. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and the owner had thought of everything we could possibly need. The sun room was a great place to look out at the views and kitchen was very well equipped.



..

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely house in a pretty location which the toasty Sun Room allows you to chill in and appreciate.
A mud room to enter via if one is mucky is also handy, as are places to store outdoor kit. Loads of toilets/bathrooms means no queuing for facilities.
The beach is a short walk down from house and is ideal for sea kayaking, SUPing, windsurfing. But Skye isn't so good for MTBing with very limited places to ride compared to other areas in Scotland.
For mobile usage, note that you get zero signal with 3, but max 4G signal with Vodaphone. This was common on Skye in general.
Be aware that everywhere on Skye is a long way time wise from everywhere else, even if not far as crow flies due to few roads, many being single lane. Elgol is about 17 miles away, but can be 90mins drive to get there due to driving all the way around the stunning Cuillin's Mountain range.




Views views more views and a Distillery

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's perfect. We rarely just relax on holiday but at the Croft Fiskavaig you can't do anything but relax. It restores our souls. Thank you



A stunning setting

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Views to die for. Everything we needed. Loads of free firewood supplied by the owner. Very quiet. Remote (You need a car).
Fantatstic !




Simply the best!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Croft House was simply the most wonderful self catering property my wife and I have ever rented; and we've been doing this for 25 years, coming over from the U.S. The house was extremely well equipped, well situated and so homely as to beg a longer stay. The conservatory particularly was the room we spent most of our time in and could have read books and listened to music there for months. Unfortunately, we only had a week. Want to get away from it all? This is the place.



An excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this property is great - and it's a little off the beaten track, so very peaceful !



Pure Skye magic

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in wonderful location. You can admire the loch views from comfort of the aptly named sun room. House is well equipped, comfy and spacious with the owners nearby to deal with any difficulties. The village in Cabost is nearby with local shop and a fine pub. If I were to suggest any improvements it would be to the WiFi and water pressure in shower both of which are quite weak but it maybe the price you pay for the location. Fabulous place to enjoy the magic of Skye.



Summer family week in Skye

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent place! Very comfy, loads of space. Loads of bathrooms. Storage shed for bikes, drying shed etc. Ie it is very well equipped, but also in a beautiful venue. The place itself is great to walk from or cycle from. The views from the house of an evening are better than TV!



Already rebooked!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it so much we rebooked it on our second day for our holiday next year! Great location. We love being so close to the sea.



Lovely cottage in a delightful area

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found plenty to do in the area.. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. Our holiday was helped by lovely weather and some beautuful sunsets.



Awesome location, good traditional house, fantastic views....

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a traditional cottage which has been extended and sensibly modernised, with furniture which is comfortable. The hosts are nice friendly people who can't do to much for you and keep things very clean and tidy. It's not a modern white box, it's far better than that!
The sun room on one end is hopeless for reading, you just spend your time gazing at the views across towards the islands and onto the McClouds tables on the next Skye peninsula. 2 minutes from the beach.
Even the broadband works properly! We will return




Excellent holiday, excellent sea views

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spend two weeks in The Croft House, Fiskavaig. We were well looked after and could not of hoped for a better holiday



Wonderful cottage on Skye

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Croft House is a superb base for exploring the island of Skye. It is extremely comfortable and well equipped, with everything you could possibly need for a holiday stay. Particularly welcome for walkers is the drying room; and the sun room, with its views over Loch Harport and Macleod’s tables is just delightful, and somewhere to watch the constantly changing weather. There is also a large, sunny garden. The owners are very helpful and hospitable. We would thoroughly recommend it.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well appointed cottage in a quiet location with stunning views overlooking Fiskavaig bay . The owners have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable , I would highly recommend this cottage .



A warm, cosy haven

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great base for exploring Skye, with walks and beach right on the doorstep. The croft was well-equipped and a lovely, spacious yet cosy retreat when the weather was challenging, with the sun room a fantastic place to sit and enjoy the views by day, and listen to the owls at night!



Cosy house

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cosy and lovely house with everything we needed. Beautiful wintergarden with stunning view. We fehlt like home!



Wonderful home from home with stunning views

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this extremely comfortable home - it is very spacious and has everything you could need (including faster WiFi than we have at home!). The milk and home-made jam were a lovely touch, and Phil popped in when we arrived to show us how to work the heating etc. (we didn’t need it after the first day as the weather was glorious!). The views from the cottage, particularly the sun room, are stunning - and we were lucky enough to enjoy some beautiful sunsets. We were able to launch our sea kayaks easily from the bay below the house, and appreciated the drying facilities for our gear. There are also some great walks from the house, or a short drive away. We enjoyed being in a quieter part of Skye, although close to the pub only a few minutes’ drive away in Portnalong (with excellent food), and a small local store in nearby Carbost (as well as the Talisker distillery). We were very sad when we had to pack up and leave, and would love to return.



Lovely house with great views

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a good location, overlooking Loch Bracadale. Sun room was fabulous to sit in and watch the glorious sunsets. Excellent amenities and welcome from the host



Don't think twice, just go

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, comfortable house with plenty of room to relax, well equipped kitchen, and a sun room with amazing views.
Nice beach below and path to gorgeous Talisker Bay nearby. Somewhat centrally located but be aware that from Carbost it's 15 minutes on a single track road.
One of the the nicest rental homes I've ever stayed in. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!




Cottage stay

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice cottage. Would definitely consider staying here again. Lovely view from the sun room to watch the sea.



Lovely first visit to Skye

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at The Croft House. It made an excellent base for our holiday - spacious and warm and we had all the facilities we needed. The view from the cottage across Bracadale Loch is stunning and the conservatory maximises on this - we loved the location. The owner's representative (her Dad) was welcoming and came round to meet us on the first eve. to make sure that we had worked out the heating and knew where to find things, and to answer any questions. He also responded quickly to a problem we had the following day.

The local bar, the Taigh Ailean in Portnalong, is welcoming and serves excellent food so we ate there twice - there was no need to go anywhere else.

We had such a good week on Skye that we would like to return next year to see more of the island.




A lovely cottage with beautiful sea views

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely winter week in this cottage, which is spacious with a cosy fire and has gorgeous views over to the sea. Phil and Joan live nearby and looked after us well, without intruding, and even made helpful recommendations for local walks for us. The location is great. Rural and peaceful, yet pretty close to several excellent places: Talisker Bay, Talisker distillery, 2 great pubs and of course the amazing Cuillin mountains.
Thank you, we certainly hope to return soon.




Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One weeks stay at The Croft House. Welcomed by a lovely log burner and beautiful views.
Very clean and comfortable. Ample parking. Ticks all the boxes. Would highly recommend this cottage for a holiday in Skye.




A perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was done with a view to our comfort and enjoyment. If only the owner could have been in charge of the weather.



Superb holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, fantastic accommodation. Everything you need and more. A perfect base no matter what the weather. Highly recommended.



stunning views

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Croft House. The property has great views from every window and a very pleasant garden. There was a nice welcome of eggs, milk and homemade jam on arrival together with a welcome card. Very thoughtful. Although only two bedroomed, the cottage is spacious with enough room for four people, though there was only the two of us staying, so even more room for us. The property was very well equipped and comfortable with a change of towels, tea towels and bed linen after our first week, though there is a washing machine if needed in the utility room, also a dart board which we enjoyed using after a day out exploring! Although everything was in working order, perhaps a couple of rooms could do with a little refreshment decor wise, but that really is nothing considering the location, views and facilities provided. The sunroom is especially worthy of mention and we spent most of our time in the evenings in there watching the lovely sunsets. All in all, we've had a great holiday in this property on Skye, and have brought back lots of memories.



Nice place and great location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is lovely.
Location is really good and there is a bus stop across the road.
It’s a good size and we really loved the glass room.
Phil and Joan were welcoming and nice people.
We shall be back again





Lots of space and rooms - conservatory brilliant

Review submitted on Sat, 19 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spectacular scenery and location but roads especially pot holes a lot to be desired. Cottage spacious and well laid out but without doubt the best was the conservatory for just wasting time!! Local area friendly and interesting but check out the local hotel for friendliness and quality and quantity of food - don't be put off by the exterior!



Excellent accommodation - excellent holiday !

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at this cottage - it ticked all the boxes for us. Great location, with everything we needed.



Loved our stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Croft House last year and loved it, this year's returning trip was just as good. A real treat of a holiday home, very comfortable (especially the sun room- the views are amazing) Love this location and the house, will be back again!



Good base for walks

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect views. Friendly hosts. Comfortable croft. Would recommend it. Main food shops in portree. So stock up before you come to croft.



Croft House, Fiscavaig, Skye

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spacious and well provisioned home with excellent sea views over Locj Harport and Fiscavsig bay across Maclouds table. In isolated community down single track road off A863 through Carbost, Portnalong and close to Talisker and the Cuillins. Short distance from Dunvegan and Portree. Ideal for a get away.



Very comfortable Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many rooms, great view, fantastic silence. We enjoyed a very comfortable stay and hope to have the opportunity to come back.



A superb cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well appointed holiday cottage with fantastic views over Fiscaivig Bay. One of the best equipped and comfortable cottages we have seen.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in the Croft House, everything was perfect, thank you so much! We hope to be back!



A perfect Skye retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 1 week stay in The Croft House was perfect. A lovely comfortable house with plenty of space, great amenities and wonderful views. Sunset from the spacious sun room was glorious. Some nice walks in the immediate area and short drives to more things to see and do in Carbost, Talisker Bay, Glen Brittle. Being in the middle of Skye easy to reach all parts of the island. Nearest inn/pub only 2km away with a shop and another pub in Carbost.



Lovely cottage with fantastic views.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay in this beautiful, quiet and well located house. Thank you Phil and Emma. We'll be back!!



Incredible

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 nights in Skye is not enough! Initially thought that by booking into what I thought was a remote area would be crazy but this vacation may just be one of the best decisions I have made. The Croft House is fantastic and could have stayed there for much, much longer. So peaceful and the people extremely friendly. Would definitely do it again if I get the opportunity. The sun room that one sees in the pictures is superb and one can spend a lot of time in there. I recommend this property extremely highly to anyone visiting Skye.