FB Twitter

Taigh Aonghais

Taigh Aonghais

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
86% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.0
Location
4.6
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.3


Taigh Aonghais, Tarskavaig, Sleat is a charming cottage packed full of original features. Set in amongst a mature garden, the cottage has a working Rayburn in the kitchen and a large open fire in the lounge. With a double and a twin bedroom it is perfect for couples, friends and families traveling together. An ideal location for exploring the Isle of Skye, Raasay, Lochalsh, Glenelg and catching the ferry to Mallaig.

Heating!!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Solid fuel heating is not suitable for a short break It takes time to fill the stove and the fire.A simpler form of heating would have been better.



Islands and Highlands Cottages replied 24 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Taigh Aonghais. We are delighted that you found the cottage clean and comfortable. Taigh Aonghais is a cosy traditional cottage in a remote rural setting as outlined in the website listing. We are sorry that you seem to have had some problems with the central heating which is run off the the solid fuel range. There are also portable electric heaters at the cottage which are available for guest use.

Idylic if dated

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stunning setting, but cottage could do with updating. Microwave would be ideal. And a new tin opener. Light outside bathroom too low and kept hitting head.



excellent cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location and a great base for exploring the island and some of the mainland. very comfortable cottage and neighbours were very friendly too. Would definitely consider staying here again



Always a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a hidden gem. A wonderful cottage, a real home from home and extremely comfortable. Cosy, wonderful location and this is the only place I’d keep returning to, having travelled the world. Magical.



Comfortable cottage in scenic Tarskavaig

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage gave us a real feel for living on Skye. Being able to walk to the shore was wonderful. This is the most amazing place. The kitchen was well equipped. The bath worked well. We enjoyed cozy evenings in the homely living room. The wifi was very fast, but no cell service. There is a land line however which helped. We loved Skye, Tarskavaig and our temporary home there at the Cottage.



Lovely house, excellent location in a stunning quiet part of Skye

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house exceeded our expectations regarding facilities, a quiet location, good internet and a beach ten minutes walk away (with blackberry bushes to raid enroute).

Only negative comments refer to the care of the property by the house keeper. 1.5 rolls of loo paper and one bin bag seems a bit mean for a seven night stay! Mats haven't been beaten out for a long time and a dirty pile of sea shells with midges hovering right next to the front door should really have been removed to the bin before we arrived!

Nevertheless we loved the house and the kids are sad to leave it behind




Stunning location, excellent house

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here for a week with my two brothers, fishing and hill-walking. The location is wonderful--a short stroll from the shore, where there are spectacular views of the Cuillins, and close to several beautiful walks. The house is cozy and had everything we needed, and the people in the village are interesting and welcoming.