FB Twitter

Keeper's Cottage

Keeper's Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Keeper's Cottage, Staffin is a four bedroom holiday home by Staffin Bay where the shore is within easy reach and perfect for leisurely walks. On the ground floor there is an open plan lounge/dining/kitchen and utility room with W.C. Upstairs, there are two double bedrooms, a twin bedroom and room with a set of bunkbeds. Located on the Trotternish Peninsula, sights like The Storr and The Quiraing are within easy driving distance.

Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation comfy clean beds - really nice public area with table to sit 8 - 1 bathroom downstairs and two upstairs was ideal
Lovely location so peaceful and utility room with washer and dryer is very handy after a hillwalk




Charming location outside of town, nice accommodation, very good heating

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found everything here perfectly adequate and loved the upstairs dorm-type layout. It was very convenient to have bathrooms at both ends, and a toilet downstairs in the utility room. While the wc with bath has a shower hose, it's not possible to stand up and have a shower in it due to the sloping ceiling. Note that there are no direct sea views except from some bedroom / bathroom windows, and a large house (Quirang Lodge) is directly between the cottage and the sea. While you can get down to the rocky shore, it's a scramble, and not quite clear whether access is permitted - the slope through which the shore would be more easily accessed is fenced off. You can however walk up the drive and around to the beach slipway.



A wonderful place

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place to celebrate my husbands 40th. We will be back here in future! Everything was clean and the location you literally could not beat.



Location location location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best thing about Keepers Cottage is the location. A stones throw from the sea and a short stroll (less than a mile) to a sandy beach, the imposing Quirang is just a 10 minute drive with the most amazing views. The local village has a decent sized shop and a couple of nice places to get coffee or a bite to eat.

The cottage itself feels like it has recently been redecorated and contains everything you need for a comfortable stay - fully equpped kitchen, fast enough wifi and plenty of bathrooms.

Our only gripe really would be the thin blinds in the bedrooms which were inadequate at blocking out light, which if you are not used to, and combined with skye's short nights, may disrupt yours or little ones sleep.

Islands and Highlands were very efficient at sorting out a mid stay problem and would happily book with them again. On the whole a very pleasant stay at keepers cottage.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage, spacious, clean and very good space for kids. Had a wonderful time. The beach just 5 minutes away. The views from the windows of the cottage are spectaculars. Highly recommended!!!



Brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage for 8 people, really comfortable and room to have friends in too. Great location with wonderful views! Very well equipped and beautifully kept. Would definitely come back.



Old cottage with its own charm

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quiet location and good location to explore the north of Skye.
Inside it's a little soulless and lacking in character.
The kitchen is well equipped.




Great Stay, Outstanding Owners

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I highly recommend this place. The location is amazing. A half mile from dinosaur tracks, 5 minutes from Quairaing, 10 from Old Man of Storr, 30 minutes to Uig and the Fairy Rings. It was just brilliant. Just about everything you could ask for in a place.

The accommodations were comfortable. The owners were phenomenal. They went out of their way to help me out when we ran into a linguistic problem.

Namely in the UK, a "cot" means a baby bed. In the States, it means a fold out bed.

Well, once I realized my mistake, I ask them if they could help me out, and they got it taken care of immediately.

My only complaint is the slow internet. I wish it was faster. But that is a universal thing for the Isle of Skye. The whole region has bad internet. Oh! And the midges. But again, that's not their fault. You can hear my best and worst of the Isle of Skye (this goes under "best") on my podcast Celtfather Music & Travel http://celtfather.libsyn.com/best-and-worst-of-the-isle-of-skye-244

If you're looking for a great place to stay, come here!




Great stay @keeper's cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With 4 adults, 4 kids and 1dog a great cottage. Easy to find and beautiful views.
Would definitely be back if we get the chance.




Keepers cottage, home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have just enjoyed our family holiday to Skye, Staffin is. Small community in an excellent position from which to explore the island, Away from the busy town of Portree, but easily accessible
Keepers cottage provides a comfortable, well equipped holiday experience. Big enough to enable everyone to have their own space, it’s light and airy rooms were warm when the weather wasn’t kind, cool when the sun shone, the kitchen has all of the daily essentials you will ever need.
The beach reallly close, and a wonderful play area for our dog.
I will be telling everyone about this gem of a cottage.




Holiday of a lifetime.

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s hard to put into words just how amazing our holiday to Skye was. Keepers Cottage was just perfect. We watched seals play on the bay, caught a fantastic view of a whale, saw sheep wade through water, met a cheeky stoat on the rocks, watched the sunset and rise, enjoyed red wine on the rocks, the list is endless. We had four children with us and everyone of them made fantastic memories to cherish. The TV was rarely on. The cottage was fully equipped to meet all our needs, clean to the highest standard with all we could ask for. We will definitely be back for more adventures. Just perfect in every way!



Decent enough place - lacking in character and could do with a little more attention to detail

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Positives - clean, located very near to the beach, modern, comfortable, central heating, sky tv, decent kitchen, plenty of parking, great utility room and walking distance from the Staffin village shop.
All in all a good place to stay but just lacking in a few details - no loo roll holders so you have to just plonk them wherever.... not enough towels supplied really.... no shelves in the bathroom for you to put your stuff.... broken clothes horse... no hooks in the porch to hang your wet coats.... could do with a few more cooking utensils and some new non-stick pans.
Also, despite this having the outward appearance of a lovely cottage, inside it's a little soulless and lacking in character.
Has a lovely view over Staffin Bay but you can only really see it from the bedrooms upstairs. A larger window in the living room would have made much more of the lovely location.
Many reasons to stay here, but just missing those little details which would make us return and we've been lucky enough to have found in other Skye cottages.




Magical

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful spacious cottage next to a stream and the sea. Two little shops in walking distance.Magical scenery mountains to the back.
Isle of Skye is beautiful with its ever changing landscape and continual rainbows.
Would recommend this beautiful cottage.
Only down side could do with 2 stair gates as we had small children with us and some board games.
Linda.... (Manchester)





Brilliant palace!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house was absolutely fantastic for a group of friends, there was so much space that 8 of us could fit comfortably! The upstairs shelf was fantastic and although none of the boys in our group agreed to sleep on it I thought they could all have fitted very easily. We went swimming every day and explored the dinosaur disco. Fantastic views and a really nice short drive to two of Skye's main beauty points (the Quiraing and the Old Man of Storr). The space in the living room/kitchen was briallnt and perfect for practicing reeling with 16 people.



Keepers cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had something of an issue with our visit, The fast response from housekeeping / customer service was really appreciated.

When they discovered we had an issue towards the end of our visit, they switched the people following us into a different house.

Island and Highlands cottages are clearly interested if you have an issue. They get a survey from all the people that visit them.

The cottage in Staffin is great for walking and has everything you could possibly need. Its a lovely location.

If my review is less than perfect don't let this put you off. Stuff happens and we were a little unlucky.







Excellent stay. Perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keeper's Cottage is wonderful. The location is much better than it seems from the photos... you are minutes from a sandy beach (with the dino print), but as you are situated down a quiet lane; there is no traffic.

The house itself sleeps 8 more than comfortably. The kitchen is totally stocked so you really don't need to bring anything. The beds are comfy, and the views from every room are absolutely stunning!

We brought our baby and were provided with a travel cot and high chair. The enclosed garden with soft grass was perfect for her.

Communications to book and throughout our stay were brilliant. We will most definitely stay here again- thank you!




Stunning location for a relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great views out to sea. The sandy beach is a 2 min drive along the coast which was great for the dog (or kids).
The cottage is spacious with easy parking. Inside the cottage has all the mod cons you would expect. We cooked most evenings and found more than enough was their.
Tips for the owner. A saucepan steamer for veg would be handy and sharpen the knives. State only one bath towel provided (most woman I know love sticking one round their heads).
Thanks for a fantastic holiday.




IH Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the review - greatly appreciated! We'll pass the information over to the owners. We hope you had a great time exploring the island!