FB Twitter

Allt Slapin

Allt Slapin

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0


Allt Slapin, Torrin, is a traditional holiday cottage with outstanding views across Loch Slapin to Blaven and Clach Glas. This self-catering cottage has three bedrooms and can sleep up to six people. Allt Slapin is perfectly located for exploring the Isle of Skye, especially convenient for those looking to take the boat trips from Elgol to Loch Coruisk and exploring the south of the island.

New year stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location with views of Blaven and the Cullins. Needs an outside light to help find in the dark and using the path. Would go again



Old but clean, good location. Ideal place to stay if on a budget.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A very old home but impeccably clean.
PRO’s:- great location, waterfront.
-very quiet nights sleep, excellent quality bedding, very comfortable.
-lots of interesting books to flip through.
-Ideal location for walking trails.
-satellite TV with some basic channels.
-huge DVD selection (though we couldn’t get the DVD player to work).
CON’s: -we had a late October visit. Cottage was extremely cold and damp despite the multiple heaters. No wood fire.
-internet out of service for the duration of our stay which we were not informed about ahead of time. This was frustrating for us as we were on a “working” holiday and have no wifi/cell reception in our home. Closest wifi cafe is in Broadford.
-not much for shops in Torrin. One cafe (closed during our visit) and no pubs or anything else we noticed, but perhaps more is open during high season.
-DVD player either didn’t work or was too complicated to figure out how to use correctly.

Overall for the price this property was okay. I wouldn’t stay here again, but I would recommend others stay here if on a budget and get a good deal and wifi/DVD player are in working order if you require these/have a longer stay.




Allt Slapin 5-11th October

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic week at Allt Slapin.It was a wild and wet week , but it's a stunning spot to stay. I was visiting Skye for photography , and it would be hard to think of a better location. The views from the cottage are stunning, and the proximity to Elgol and the Cuillins make it perfect. It's a beautifully cosy and well equipped cottage . A fantastic week.



Excellent place to relax and hike

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent views out of the windows. Very good equipment. Very quiet. Starting point for hiking. Awesome holidays. Thank you!



Cosy cottage, beautiful location!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was my second time here in Allt Slapin. Hopefully, it will not be my last!!
The cottage offers all what you need - it is cosy, warm, well equipped, quiet. The view is unbeatable!!

With some garden funiture it would be even better :-)

Thanks for sharing such a place with us.





What a magical place!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a location for individualist for the one who has built and furnitured the place was an individualist, too. We loved the pure and hand-crafted style and the fantsastic viewing points fout rom almost every window of the cottage. Of course, the best one is the sofa in the bay window of the living room.
Because the house is built so close to the shore of Loch Slapin, it's quite humid, and so is the air therein. But it's only a small problem...
We often started our walks directly from the cottage. You don't nedd to drive far away to have beutiful paths for trekking and walking.




Cosy quaint cottage in a brilliant location!

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a 4 night stay middle of May 19 in glorious sunshine! Well what can I say 'wow' when we actually arrived at the Cottage.
Fab location picture perfect.
Fab view from the picture bay window in the living, overlooking the Loch and delightful Mountain views with lambs bleeting away. Room with a view from every window in the Cottage, marvellous.
We found everything in working order re heating, water, lovely bathroom. Loved the kitchen with everything you need and more.
Note there is no Wifi at the Cottage, this suited us to get away from everything.

There are some lovely walks from the doorstep, down to the Loch and beyond, we also found a lovely waterfall.
There is a lovely scenic 8 mile drive from Torrin to Elgol.
The location of the Cottage might not be for everyone as its off the beaten track, nearest amentities restaurants etc. are in Broadford.
It would have been lovely to have had some garden furniture to be able to sit out on an evening, very small critizism.

There is so much to see and do in Skye, would recommend Portree, Armadale Gardens, Old Man Storr and surrounding area. Boat Cruise from Uig with Skye Cruises, not cheap, but out for 3 hours, drinks and snacks included. The Crew, Tom and Duncan were really welcoming and knowledgable. We saw Seals, Purpoise, Puffins and a Sea Eagle (required Binos to see it!).
Lastly Fairy Pools at Cuillin Hills, lovely walk with spectacular views of the Cuillins.

We loved our Cottage, Allt Slapin and its wonderful location, sad we hadnt booked for longer. We will be back!




A week in a cottage we love

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I have stayed at Allt Slapin twice before this visit. We love the location, with stunning views to Bla Bheinn and Clach Glas across the loch, and also the Red Cuillins from the front of the house. It's an excellent location for local walks and the village of Torrin is lovely. We know Skye very well and find Allt Slapin to be a good base for exploring the island.
We very much appreciated the newly refurbished bathroom with its heated towel rail. The cottage is warm and comfortable.
The only problems were that the metal bath plug has been broken, possibly by a previous visitor. Also, the mattress on the bed in the large bedroom is lumpy, with springs pushing up through it, and this may also be the case for the other double bed.The twin beds are fine.
Finally, it might be sensible to warn visitors about the drive down to the cottage. It's very steep, and the loose gravel surface is very churned up, so it's rather difficult. I do appreciate that asking the owners of the cottage and the next door neighbours to improve it in some way might be awkward, as they would both have to agree to do something about it.
Please note that we love the place and hope to stay there again.




Nice Place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A nice little house at a nice place. Not the newest one, a little bit oaf moldiness around. But nothing serious. The only thing: the heater in the kitchen wasn't running, so it was pretty cold there. No reaction from Island and Highland Cottages about my complaints! That was not very nice, indeed!



I&H Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are so sorry to hear that you had issues during your stay at Allt Slapin. This review was the first we have heard about it. We have sent you an email asking you to clarify how we were contacted as we don't have any emails or voice messages on our answer phone. Our office was open over the festive period so we are a little concerned how it could be missed. Allt Slapin is having a new bathroom installed this spring and and at the same time will have all heaters checked. We are sorry that this wasn't in time for your stay. We were of the understanding that a portable heater had been left in the kitchen for guests to use. If you could let us know how you contacted us, that would be greatly appreciated as we do answer all guest messages and take pride in our customer service. We would also be happy to discuss or take on board any other feedback relating to your stay.

Alt Slapin

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everxthing was great, exept there was no warm water in the bathroom and kitchen! The radiator in the



Beautiful view and great location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice week in Alt Slapin. It is a beautiful and quit location. I loved the big window and the charmy kitchen. There was a lot of space. Good communication



A very happy stay at the foot of the Cuillin mountains

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderfull stay; the view is absolutely stunning and the environment is really quiet.
The cottage has all the comfort needed, except that there was no phone line and as there is no wifi, this could have been really difficult in case of emergency.
Nevertheless, we will come back!




I&H Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay! The telephone at Allt Slapin allows guests to make emergency calls only, so 999 to access the Police, Fire Brigade, Ambulance Service and the Coast Guard. However it doesn't permit other calls and there is currently no mobile signal in Torrin. The telephone can take incoming calls so this number is now provided to guests within the directions sheet so they can pass it on to relatives in case they need to get in touch. Thanks again for your review!

Location Location Location!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Completely fell in love with this holiday home. It is due a bit of a refurb, but it has absolutely everything you need for a comfy stay. What really wows though, is the location. On a loch side, surrounded by awesome mountain views. Otters playing in the loch, golden eagles flying above, with only a scattering of other houses around. We were blessed with amazing weather too, and I can't think of any place I'd rather have stayed.



Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All was fine and easy (the booking, the hand-over of keys, the instruction-papers for the technical equipment).
The location is unbeatable! Right at the edge of the village - but very close to the Blue Shed (very nice café)! The views from every window are outstanding, especially the loch-view.
The cottage is large and well equipped. Nice kitchen. Very good household appliances!
The weather was nice too - so we could sit outside in the evanings. A small table for the garden would have been perfect..
That was my best stay in Scotland so far. Hopefully I will be back...




Beautiful landscape, this accomodation needs an upgrade

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Some basic instructions about heating, phone and kitchen equipment was missing. Therefore it took us a while to get comfortable. Heating in kitchen and phone did not work. There was no internet or wireless signal so we had to drive to Broadford for planning our activities on Skye. The bathroom needs new painting and removal of fungi on the ceiling. However the beautiful landscape compensated a lot! Alltogether we paid to much for the value we got.



I&H Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we are sorry that they happened during your stay. We are informing the owners of them and they will be remedied as soon as possible. Unfortunately the township of Torrin doesn't get any mobile internet signal and the cottage does not have broadband set up. Internet is limited on the Isle of Skye. Thanks again for your review. We value all feedback and we will act upon it.

Property is rather run down and more basic than what photos show and cottage warm and comfortable .

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location. Bit disappointed in slight run down basic feel of property but warm and comfortable..great location and price we could just afford.



This cottage is all about the stunning location by Loch Slapin with views to the hills all around

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a great week holiday at Allt Slapin in Torrin on the Isle of Skye. It had a real feel of being in a remote location - away from the day trippers on Skye. Torrin is a small hamlet, reached by a single track road (with numerous passing points) which leads eventually to Elgin. The cottage is not far from the Loch, slightly raised, and with a stream passing by the side of it. It is reached by an alarmingly steep untarmac'ed track, which took a while to get used to going up and down. The views are stunning all around - 360 degrees. From the front (through the kitchen window) you see one set of hills; from the back (through the sitting room and main bedroom window) you see the Cuillins and the loch. Sheep and cattle graze freely, and we enjoyed seeing them trying to get into the garden to munch the tasty grass, and being chased out by a local farmer. The other great point of the location is that it is near the Blue Shed Cafe - great for lunches and cakes. Otherwise, one has to drive out of Torrin for meals. The cottage is a bungalow and all the rooms are spacious. There were some DVDs to watch and an interesting collection of local information/ guidebooks, and a few eclectic novels to browse. Overall, the condition and cleanliness of the cottage was on the poor side - the bathroom definitely needs updating (eg wobby loo seat) and the door to the 2nd bedroom was falling to bits and almost trapped our daughter in the room. The main bedroom was well decorated and modernised. Overall, the location and spaciousness more than made up for the downsides.



Amazing views from living room over Loch. Greeted each morning by cows and sheep around the cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A true break away from it all with no wifi or phone signal.

Was fantastic to have no distraction and only to enjoy our surroundings, of beautiful scenery and wildlife.




.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................



Great view with all comfort

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A fine house with a great view and all comfort . The chais longe is superb. No wifi, no phone range. Excellent scenery.