FB Twitter

Alan's House

Alan's House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Alan's House, Staffin, is a cosy semi-detached cottage on the Trotternish Peninsula with easy access to Staffin Bay where you can sometimes find dinosaur footprints and fossils. The holiday home has a twin and a double bedroom with a family bathroom, lounge and kitchen / dining. It is perfectly located for exploring the Trotternish Peninsula with numerous walks in the area as well as the Isle of Skye and the Isle of Raasay.

Visiting Skye

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week in Staffin, the house is in a really good location for visiting Skye, it’s very comfortable and clean.



Beautiful view in Staffin

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice little place in Staffin. Every morning waking up to the Quiraing out the living room wind was pretty awesome! All was clean and well furnished. Only issue with comfort is the beds... they really need to be updated. We were pretty sore and tired and the beds made it difficult to get a good night sleep.



Nice View

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sehr schöne Lage für Selbstversorger. Kein Restaurant in der näheren Umgebung, local Shop schließt 17.00 Uhr. Kein Wifi, ist heute Standard. Tw. Etwas heruntergekommen.




Lovely stay in a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Skye and we loved all of it. Alan's House is so well located - wonderful views, excellent walks and good access to the delights of Skye. We were so pleased that we had chosen this part of the island. Being close to Staffin Harbour was a real bonus. Our Trotternish Boat Trip experience of Kilt Rock - the only way to see Kilt Rock at the moment - the seals, sea birds and a minke whale was a highlight. We would absolutely recommend Staffin Bay Holiday Cottages to anyone taking a trip to Skye.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location. Sitting room view is stunning. Very comfortable and clean and would happily return. We loved our time on Skye.

Just a couple of things that need to be mentioned.

We had to buy a bigger saucepan in a charity shop in Portree, which we left in the house for future guests. The three that were available were very small and inadequate to prepare a meal for three. There were also only 2 dessert spoons.

We have to mention the Wi-Fi. There simply isn’t any. Sharing next doors just doesn’t work and we felt standing outside their house was too intrusive. The instructions for a previous modem in the house were in the information pack, which really should be reinstated. I don’t think you should say there is Wi-Fi in the marketing information. There isn’t any 4G, which is no one’s fault. It was just a little frustrating not to be able to make plans for the next day or look up local information.

The house was very clean except the grill pan which was very greasy.

I would highly recommend the property if theses point are addressed.

None of this affected our enjoyment of exploring the beautiful and welcoming island.





Review for Alan's House

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay here. Excellent cottage with stunning views. Very nice and quiet place. Would recommend a stay. Thank you.



From start to finish we throughly enjoyed our stay at Alan's House. Location superb, cottage comfort

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location superb, cottage lovely nice & cosy with lovely views, would recommend. Met the handy man who was helpful & friendly.



Except hotwater and wifi rest everything are good

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
2.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
It was very difficult because we didn’t have wifi and hotwater and we didn’t even get signals to our mobiles to contact you and we traveled to some other location and contacted you for wifi no one responded properly to it Really felt very disappointed



Stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful little cottage in a stunning location. It had everything we needed
Beautiful views and close to a beach




Great choice

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alan’s house fit our needs perfectly and was warm and cosy for our rather wet stay. Well situated for walks and exploring. Loved being able to walk to the shop for supplies and then walk to search for dinosaur footprints. Well kitted out for drying wet clothes and making a meal.



Staycation in Staffin

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location on Staffin Bay.Lovely cottage which was very clean and had everything we needed.Very comfortable and great value for money .View of Quiraing from lounge window was amazing- even in the mist.



Handy Location

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed arriving after a long trip as the house was totally as expected easy to get in and with great vistas of land and sea.
Going to the distilleries was easy from this location as well as all other parts of the island. You can get to the beach by walking as car parking at the beach is tight to impossible if weather is good. I appreciated being able to park the car off road in our own little forecourt. The picnic bench came in handy on good weather days. Portree was only a 25min drive away ,handy for all shopping. However the local food shop was quite adequate.




Fantastic cottage with fantastic views

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was easy to find with very nice interior good beds and bedding looked as if new. There is a good walk starting just outside the cottage and easy parking. Would recommend it to anyone.



Highly Recommend !

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in this warm and cosy cottage which was equipped with everything we needed. Lovely quiet location overlooking Staffin Bay, with just the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks at night. Well equipped shop and great takeaway within walking distance. Well placed to visit the main attractions on the beautiful island of Skye



Skye

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic. The cottage was clean, well stocked and with a stunning view. A great place to stay to enjoy the North East of Skye and beyond



Comfortable and convenient place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alan's house is in a beautiful setting. We had a wonderful stay there - the weather was fabulous. Although the evenings were chilly the house was warm. The house is well equipped (it could do with a bigger saucepan though).



Comfortable, modern cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed out stay at Alan's House very much. It is very comfortable, well equipped, and exactly as described. We appreciated the fact that you rented for 4 days - most places require a week's stay. We used the clothes washer and would have appreciated a dryer. During our 4 day stay we had no contact with anyone - not the rental agency or any caretakers. Nor did we have any need to talk to anyone. Directions were easy to follow.



Staffin escape

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We can thoroughly recommend this cottage. Great location . Interesting beach. Quiet village with shop and cafe. Uncommercialised. Cottage very comfortable and clean with a good range of amenities



4th stay here

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th stay at these cottages - beautiful location in a remote but desirable area especially for hillwalking and so on.



Best view of Staffin bay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wonderful location overlooking bay , clean comfortable accommodation.well equipped kitchen even made a birthday cake



Review of Alans House

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location and views.
A little lacking in creature comforts
Ie...no wine glasses and very basic kitchen equipment. No towel rails.
Good for 2 people but a bit tight for 4.
Beds were comfortable , heating very good and plenty of hot water.




Excellent unit

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay here. Really could not have asked for a better unit. Was a bit nervous booking through a site I never heard of before (at a substantial discount from a competing big name site!) and everything went perfectly. Unit has one of the best equipped vacation rental kitchens I've had. We cooked a few meals to save a bit of cash (also found the food on Skye was nothing to write home about, so this is a good place to stay in a bit)

Would not hesitate to stay again.




Alan Cottage Review August 2018

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay for a quiet break. Cottage very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Beautiful views across Staffin Bay. Good location to cut across the island, go hill walking or main shopping / restaurants in Portree. Would highly recommend a visit!



Staffin bay: beautiful place on Skye

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alan's house is very wel located. Nice place to discover the trotternish peninsula on Skye. Lovely surroundings.



Nice cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay at Alan's House: large rooms, good bed and facilities. Easy parking and very close to wonderful walks at Quirang and Old man of Storr



Cottage with amazing view Staffin Bay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, very clean with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Outstanding views of Staffin bay.



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location with mountains and sea views. Master bedroom rather small but everything else excellent. In very good decorative order. Would recommend.



Alans house, Staffin - Isle of Skye

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in the best location on the island. Lots of wildlife, beautiful scenery and close to two of the most famous walks on Skye - the old man of storr, and the quiraing. This was our 2nd visit to Alans house and won't be our last. Myself and my other half are now considering Skye as a permanent residence for ourselves. Wish us luck!



Perfect for purpose

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took both Alan's and sorley's cottages, they were perfect for our stay. However we only used Alan's house for sleeping and used sorley's far more often. But the cottages are almost identical, and are both lovely.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, clean,comfortable and very well equipped cottage, location very beautiful
High recommend would love to go back




We enjoyed our stay and the view. It was a perfect location to start different days out.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our third location in Scotland, beautiful scenery and lovely house. Perfect for the four of us.
Good facilitations.




Fantastic view, cosy house and perfect location in a lovely village! We were really happy :-)

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We loved everything about our stay at Alan's House. The only thing we missed was the personal contact at the beginning of our stay. It wasn't like our last AirBnb stays in other places. Nevertheless, we still loved it. Thank you very much!



Excellent place to experience Isle of Skye

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We believe Alan's House is an excellent value and an excellent base to explore the stunningly beautiful surroundings on the Isle of Skye and Trotternish Peninsula. There is certainly enough space for 2 people, with all of the amenities one would typically need for a comfortable stay, especially if you are like us -- we use it as a base from which we can go explore the beautiful surroundings all day and do not actually typically spend a lot of our time there. I suppose one may find more luxurious lodging but that is not we want/need for our trips to Skye. We just want a place that is clean, with enough space/amenities that we can rest comfortably each night and wake up each morning ready to go exploring. Alan's House is a great location for that. And I should also mention the stunning view of the Quiraing that you get out the front window, especially late in the day/evening as the sun is setting. We love it there!



An ideal base for dinosaur hunting

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Alan's cottage in Staffin as a base for a couple of days hunting dinosaur footprints with my 6 year old grandson and we were not disappointed. The location was perfect for Staffin beach where we discovered the footprints and paddled in the crystal clear waters with the little fish. It was ideal to come back to the cottage and get the wee one cleaned up and we chose to eat out at the picnic table where we watched all kinds of bird life. We also could explore more of the island and we sampled some excellent pies at the Skye pie shop and got e everything we needed from the local store. All in all a great couple of days.