FB Twitter

21 Upper Edinbane

21 Upper Edinbane

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


21 Upper Edinbane is a cosy and characterful self-catering cottage which overlooks the township of Edinbane and Loch Greshornish on the Isle of Skye. It has three bedrooms, a warm and cosy living room with log fire, a bright dining room with a second log fire and a snug kitchen.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the cottage, we loved the cosy rooms and the view.
The cottage provides everything you need.
Skye is a magical island and there is lot to explore, it would be great to rent this cottage again !




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rustic but comfortable cottage in a good position would stay again
May be widen treads on stairs but ok for us




Lovely cottage and lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, almost like being in someone’s home as it has lots of interesting trinkets in and local art work. Great location with access to a lot of touristy spots and shops not too far away. Very warm and homely. Had the fire on almost every night which was welcoming after a day out. In a quiet village at the end of a dead end so very peaceful and on a clear day the sunset is beautiful.
Only small gripe was that it could have been cleaner, the doors and surfaces had sticky residue and where people had previously opened doors it was a bit grimy, but could be cleaned with a scrub so a good deep clean required. The shower is also tricky for taller people as it is under a sloping roof so made it difficult but there is the option of the bath. The stairs to the two other bedrooms are steep so wouldn’t advise for smaller children or those with limited mobility.




21 Edinbane skye

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy comfortable cottage with excellent views. We have stayed there many times and ended staying there. The upgrade in the heating system has completed the comfort this year.
The cottage is in an ideal situation, and is at the centre of northern Skye where all the places of interest are within easy reach. Great walking area.




Great location for us on the island with fantastic views and surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at 21 Upper Edinbane was thoroughly enjoyable. The cottage is traditional but with modern touches such as wi-fi for those who deem it essential. The location is fantastic with the views out to Loch Greshornish and across the valley giving you a great view of everything around you from birds flying past and enjoying the thermals to the weather coming over the hill. The cottage is a 15 - 20 minute walk from the local pub the Edinbane Inn, recommended, and there are many walks direct from the door.



Lovely cottage !

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the view and the comfort of the cottage very much !!
Fresh bedlinen and towels, and the cottage was clean.
Isle of Skye is fantastic and the cottage is situated great on the island.
We looking forward to come and stay again :)




Perfect family holiday base

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant cottage and really roomy. Stayed with our 4 kids age 11-15. They loved the upstairs space
Really well equipped kitchen with all you need. Loved the drier over the log burner- got lots of use!
We loved the peace and amazing views.
So much to see and do.
Found the cottage clean and tidy and really welcoming. We would definitely go and stay again




Full of character and charm.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful fortnight’s stay at the cottage. It is traditional and charming with character and lovely thoughtful touches. At the same time the kitchen was well equipped to cater for 6 of us. We especially enjoyed the room off the kitchen with the big table for games and cards and good food together.
We loved that we could see the cottage high on the hill as we approached . Upper Edinbane has many working crofts , the people there were very friendly and it was interesting to see the animals. We enjoyed the books in the house especially those about Skye and the local area. We treated ourselves to lunch at the Edinbane Lodge , had a few beers at the Inn and shopped at the pottery. Edinbane is very central for exploring the north of Skye, we would certainly recommend it.




Cottage review

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of the cottage is perfect. The cottage is clean , comfortable and homely. We have stayed in this cottage for many years now, and had some wonderful holidays staying there. Hopefully this will continue in the future.



Lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Let's face it, expectations were high as we stayed at 21 Upper Edinbane in the first week it was allowed, after so many months locked down at home. And we loved it! The cottage has so much charm, it feels like a true home and not at all impersonal.
We had a minor glitch when we realised there were no curtains - know how early the sun rises in May? now imagine with 2 small kids - but the team found a creative & efficient solution straight away, so we could fully enjoy our week there.
There's a shortcut through the fields to get down to the village - a steep climb back up, so be reasonable on the pints at the pub.




Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A one week stay in a traditional cottage it was what we expected
Fires in each room which you could light at your leisure, we used the lounge fire, Wood was supplied, I took my own kindling and newspapers
We ate in a few times and found the kitchen well stocked with utensils
There are no basics for cooking but during these times we expected this
We chose it for location to visit specific areas of Skye and also used 2 nearby restaurants Edinbane Inn and Lodge, both of which are quite a hike away
About 100 yards away a neighbour sells fresh eggs which were fantastic




3rd time in the cottage. Booked again next year

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is really quite remote, which I love. The community it is set within feels very real - it is not simply a row of holiday lets. The views, and opportunities to spot local wildlife, are excellent. Within easy driving distance of all major 'tourist attractions' on Skye. Decoration within the cottage slightly quirky (lots of original art), but in my view this is a major positive, and a welcome change from the stereotypical holiday-let fare. Myself and my family all love it there.



Relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set up on the hill overlooking Edinbane sits a cottage you can relax and recharge in. Temp gate bad!



Great cottage !!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love to stay in this cottage, it is comfy and cosy and has a great spot on the island !
The cottage is clean, has everything you need for a wonderful stay
So great we can bring our dogs and making such beautiful walks !!




Great location, lots of space and fabulous views.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic traditional cottage, with spectacular views across the village and loch. Edinbane is a great location to explore Skye and the local hotel is good. The house is comfortable and we really appreciate the views, the space, and the range of books, but the owner really needs to upgrade the bathroom, possibly replace the bath with a shower, as this would improve the facility immensely. It is such a great house that it would be definitely worth investing in it to tidy it up a bit inside and out!



Good stay overall

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is very charming and in a great spot in skye but provision of a few basic staples, such as enough wood/kindling and a few logs to make one fire on arrival, a hand towel and some soap in the bathroom, and some candles in the event of a power cut (which happened on our second day when we were left without heat, cooking facilities, hot water or light) would have been appreciated after an exhausting drive from london and glasgow. Items such as milk, teabags etc are luxury extras that have often been provided in other cottages we have stayed in and to us, not necessary, but in an area as remote as skye during a particularly cold winter, the provision of a few extras like this would have made all the difference to our stay. Overall we had a great stay however and would really recommend.



Lovely cosy cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed here for a week in Skye, well located for exploring most of the island, the cottage is cosy with the fires going and was a perfect base for a week of walking and relaxation. Would recommend



Skye holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage with everything you could need. Views are fantastic. Edinbane is a nice village with decent pub.

Slight negative of steep track up to the cottage but it is short and manageable.




Skye cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable cosy cottage with spectacular views. We have stayed in the cottage for 6 years, that says it all.



We enjoyed our stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay ............



Disgusted

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
2.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Step out of car onto driveway - Dog poo. Step out of front door - Dog poo. Owner stated it may be sheep poo - I know the difference.
House interior - long standing dirty and thick dust on paintwork, doors, floors and living room unit, kitchen furniture covered in crumbs.
House exterior - mould/green algae covered in places, Waist high grass/weeds, driveway crumbling, needs a good overhaul.

Booked for 1 week, left after 2 days after personally scrubbing house.
Email communication with owner and sent pictures - he blamed cleaner stating "she had taken her eye off the ball'.
His "solution!!" To quote me T&C's of rental, and to offer another weeks break at half price.
Sorry, I would not return for free holiday. Did not expect refund and received none.




Great en cozy cottage !!

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We where staying here for 2 weeks with the dogs like last year, we really love this cosy and comfy cottage !!
The cottage is clean and tidy, with fresh bedlinnen !
The location is perfect for exploring the island and we love the views when we where eating breakfast in the morning !!
And we are happy that we can stay in the cottage with our 2 dogs ...they really enyoing the place too :-)





Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at this cottage in Upper Edinbane. The cottage was comfortable and felt almost immediately as home. The views from the windows are great and the location is very good for exploring the North of Skye.



Highly recommended cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday; we really enjoyed the cottage, its facilities and charming interior. The location is perfect for outings with excellent views, very quiet and adapted for all weathers! Highly recommended...we'll be back.



Great house and centrally located in northern Skye

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only downside is the nearly vertical stairs to the second floor and it's 2 bedrooms.
I didn't think anything of it when we arrived, but after several consecutive days of hiking