FB Twitter

1/2 of 12 Camustianavaig

1/2 of 12 Camustianavaig

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


1/2 of 12 Camustianavaig, Braes, Isle of Skye is a traditional stone cottage on the Braes peninsula. Just 10 minutes drive from Portree yet in a peaceful location, it is perfectly situated for exploring the Isle of Skye and the Isle of Raasay.

1/2 of 12 Camustianavaig has a double bedroom, a bathroom with shower over bath and an open kitchen / lounge area with a wood burning stove. It makes an ideal retreat for couples or individual travellers.

From the door step you can stroll along the rocky shore or for those looking for something more challenging, you can climb Ben Tianavaig for stunning views of Skye and Raasay!

Enchanted cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife booked the cottage so we could visit family for new year celebrations.
The cottage is clean, well equipped and comfortable. The cottage is close enough to visit local attractions however remote enough so you can enjoy evenings without light/noise pollution.
The shower was great for the wife, not so much myself as I am a lot taller than her, however for an old cottage it is amazing it even has a shower.
I would highly recommend this cottage.




Great Short Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite arriving in the dark on snowy roads, we found the house and key easily enough. The wood-burning stove soon warmed up the room - we took extra wood to keep us going through the 3 evenings/days. Electric heaters available as back-up. Very well-equipped kitchen and comfy bed with warm duvet. We enjoyed walks locally in Braes with fine views across the Sound to Jura.



Charming traditional cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, affordable so will definitely return for a fourth visit. Enclosed garden for our small dog. Beautiful location. Close to Portree. Reasonably equipped kitchen. Don’t expect luxury and you won’t be disappointed! We’re already planning our fourth trip.



Pleasant and comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal base for a week's hill walking. Well placed between The Storr, 10 miles north and Sligachan 9 miles south, with Portree located 3 miles north for provisions. 3 of the planned 5 peaks bagged. Bad weather (strong winds and rain) put paid to the final 2 but the sun is never guaranteed in November.
Cottage was warm, comfortable and peaceful.
Location perfect, just a short walk to Tianavaig Bay.
Facilities, Tv, Wifi all worked well and heating was more than adequate, though weather was very mild. Could not get the heated towel rail in the bathroom to work but there were no other issues.
An excellent stay. Would highly recommend!

Murray Papworth




Perfect location, cosy bolthole

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location in small community with beach yet only around 2 miles from main road to Portree / Broadford making it a great base to travel round the island.
Truly authentic stone crofters cottage. Plenty of room for 2, all expected amenities provided. Continuous rain meant that it was hard to dry clothes and boots sufficiently.
Generally well maintained but sink basin was loose and the ceiling spot lights needed bulbs changing (reported to the office in Portree).
Overall excellent value for money and we thoroughly enjoyed returning after our adventures to this haven.




Idyllic location

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage was one of the highlights of our tour around the west coast of Scotland. The location was idyllic with a view of the sea and Ben Tianavaig. The accommodation was basic but comfortable and warm. We are planning to return and would highly recommend



Great location, could be a lovely cottage if looked after properly

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, right next to Ben Tianavaig and Tianavaig Bay. A short drive from Portree, where coop is located along with restaurants (most are quite expensive though, presumably because they have to import the supplies). Being the main town on the island and central to most things, for us the location was perfect.

The cottage itself has potential, there appeared to be a relatively new bathroom, but the paintwork around the door hadn't been finished. We complained about the lack of storage and the owner brought a shelving unit around, apparently things had been removed to make it easier for cleaning since COVID-19. The toilet roll holder was broken, they had put the toilet roll on the back of the toilet but this isn't practical, so we used the edge of the bath.
The bedroom had a comfy bed, although turn the heating off as the duvet is super thick. There was a fair bit of dust in the bedroom on the bedside tables, it looked like they hadn't been touched in a while.
The kitchen/dinner/lounge, was spacious enough, but there was a lack of storage space on the worktops and in the cupboards. The kitchen layout made it awkward to use and every utensil we used we had to wash first (I know previous guests should have washed them) the masher had mouldy food on it, the spatula for frying I refused to use, as I couldn't get it clean.
Washing machine, fridge, microwave and cooker all worked fine.
The table we don't think had been cleaned for a long time, it was black, the placement were covered in dead flies or something. The side of the sofa was less than pleasant we don't think that had ever been cleaned, the sofa itself was so uncomfortable, there were a couple other arm chairs but we didn't try them as they were either side of the room.
The electric heating was great, it heated the cottage up surprisingly well and the heated towel rail in the bathroom was also great.
We bought coal, logs and kindling and lit the fire as my boyfriend wanted the cosy cottage feel (we have both used fires before), the first day/night it was fine, but we went to bed the second night and was awaken by the carbon monoxide detector, which was a bit scary, we hadn't noticed if it had been warning of low levels earlier in the evening, but the alarm sounded for high levels and continued to sound for approx 30 mins after we opened the windows and the door. We were compensated a small fee for the inconvenience, they were planning on organising a chimney sweep for after our visit, hopefully this happened, although we feel the flue pipe also required some repair. We didn't want to continue using the fire although being advised that the chimney sweep said we would be fine, but if the alarm went off again, then there was a bigger issue! We stuck to electric.

Perfect that you can book as many days as you want, we stayed for 10 days and had a lovely time photographing the scenery.




Authentic old cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing break in an old Croft house. It’s comfortable and perfectly adequately equipped. The location is beautiful and convenient for Portree and the rest of the island. It’s dog friendly with an enclosed garden. We’re looking forward to our next trip in June! We enjoyed lighting the wood burning stove at the end of the day. The cottage is very old so is unsurprisingly slightly damp but is supplied with de-humidifier etc. There is ample heating and hot water. Lovely place overall.



Fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location with beach 2 minutes walk and longer walks with amazing views from the door. Only 10 minutes drive from Portree. Very cosy and comfortable bedroom. Bedroom bathroom and kitchen area spotlessly clean - only reason for lower score on cleanliness and comfort is that the sofa and chairs in living area are in definite need of replacement.



Cottage in Skye, Braes

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage and great location. Walk to beach so close and seals and bird life fab. Great to have Portree near



1/2 of 12 Camustianavaig - June 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage provided simple but comfortable accommodation in a beautiful secluded location. It is well provided with equipment for cooking and eating and is tastefully decorated. Heating of hot water and rooms was effective when needed - which it was even at this time of year.



Fab wee cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2 of us stayed at this cottage for a week. As mentioned by some the ceiling in the bathroom and bedroom are low; however I'm 6ft 6in and didn't bang my head (I did have to duck in the shower though). We are also EV owners and by prior arrangement agreed that we could charge up at the cottage - happily there is a socket opposite the front door and with a 15m extension lead we were easily able to reach the parking shot and shut the door (recommend setting the charger to 8A though).

Cottage was clean, warm and in a great location




Comfortable stay in nice location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with the accommodation and the fittings. The cottage is easy to manage and convenient for a pleasant shore and for a short drive in to Portree. It is a place of great calm. It would be nice for the outside "garden" to mirror the standard of the inside of the house but you can't have everything! We will book again.



A wonderfully cosy cottage in a superb location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully cosy cottage in a superb location. Everything you need to relax en enjoy the isle of Skye.



Nice cosy cottage with own multi fuel stove

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a nice cosy cottage with everything you need. We felt really comfortable and liked the hiking suggestions and books in the bookshelf. It was very clean and everything perfect expect the little mouldy smell. Neighbours are very friendly :)



A week in July

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a pleasant week here in July. The accommodation was exactly what we needed for the week. Nothing fancy but everything you would need for a week of walking. Cooked all our own meals easily in the kitchen, but Portree’s only a short drive away. It was clean and comfortable (bed was a bit lumpy but I’m quite fussy!) At 6”3 my partner’s head touched the ceiling in the shower (but not unexpected from a lovely old crofting cottage- just a warning for especially tall guests!) Would definitely visit again.



A lovey retreat from all the hassle

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is such a nice house in a very quiet neighbourhood. The interior has been well picked with a good sense for design. There are all facilities provided plus some extras like a baking oven, nice glases and even books.
The oven is not working properly, though. And the sleeping arrangements, a bigger bed or twin beds or at least two duvets would make this house perfect.




Cosy place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at a nice and cosy place. It's not far from Portree and still in a quiet place.

The fireplace was not in full function but we managed to use it although the handle was broken off.

The place was on the whole fairly clean but some of the pots and pans could do with a better wash.