FB Twitter

Ty Lawr

Ty Lawr

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.5


A stunning, high quality former Fishermans Cottage, right on the harbour front, overlooking the sheltered sandy beaches of Cemaes Bay, on the North West Coast of Anglesey.Ty Lawr, 5* spacious self-catering holiday accommodation with stunning views, sleeps 8. Dogs welcome, Close to beach and Anglesey Coastal Path.

Perfect location in a quiet area.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is between two beaches. You can fish for crabs off the steps at the front of the house. The house is in a beautiful setting. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need. The bedrooms are all on suite. Lovely bedding. The beds are very soft and caused back pains to my husband. Some of the bathrooms need re- grouting. Also the fridge has several broken shelves and a new kettle is required.
The weather wasn't the best and a jacuzzi would be a great addition.




Family New Year at Ty Lawr

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic location and fabulous house. When I say house I actually mean home. We immediately felt at home and were welcomed by text and a basket of treats. Having en-suites to every room saved queues in the morning and the downstairs bedroom was ideal for our elderly Grandad. All the rooms were thoughtfully decorated and the kitchen was brilliantly stocked. We cooked at home mostly, however did venture into the Stag and the Hotel at the top of the hill. Both offered a warm welcome and good fare. The beach was fantastic for our dogs who are now sulking that we are home. The only criticism would be that the beds were very firm and would benefit from toppers and the corners of the foot of the double beds caused a few bruises. We would definitely book again.



Fabulous holiday let and Stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous holiday let and stunning location we have been renting holiday cottages for many years this is the best one we’ve ever stayed in it was very clean and lovely and warm on arrival and throughout our stay the welcome pack had everything you needed to get you started thank you
The location is absolutely fantastic you can listen to the sea and the movements of the boats in the harbour. The village has everything you need grocers which sells everything you could possibly need including news papers, butchers, deli, fish & chips shop and more 2 pubs with great beer and restaurants for fine dining the locals are very friendly and welcoming thank you so much for a wonderful holiday your house is a credit to you.




4th Visit

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4th year of visiting, a superb property in a superb location, albeit the parking can get on your nerves a bit !
Problems during the stay were quickly acted upon by the owners, and for one problem it appears a bnew dishwasher will now be installed so that will benefit guests immensely

Patio furniture not in the best of condition but I am aware that this is being completely replaced in August, so that is great

Otherwise, a freshening up of the interior paintwork wouldn't go amiss, but in the end it is the only place we would stay in Anglesey, and to that end we have already booked for next year - I think that says it all !





A beautiful cottage in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a beautiful place! This is the second time we have stayed here and we have already booked for next year. Everything you could wish for. The owners are very helpful and put a welcome pack at the cottage with all the essentials you need. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone, you will not be disappointed :)



Escape January blues!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As six friends and keen walkers this property was perfect. Not only was it well equiped it was roomy and comfortable for 6 adults



October break

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Ty Mawr with the needs of birdwatching, elderly relative in mind. The downstairs ensuite bedroom was perfect however grab handles in the shower would have been useful, and in the lounge perhaps a more traditional armchair. That being said this holiday home suited us very well, with no steps into the property and private parking. The upstair full window sea views take your breath away. A perfect location for the active holiday maker, with private access to the beach and in walking distance of an active high street. For a greater variety of sea birds, visit Cemlyn Bay and Red Wharf Bay.



3rd stay

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
3rd stay here, which probably says it all, especially as have now booked for 4th stay next year ! Superbly equipped ( bar ongoing lack of enough sharp knives ) and has clearly had a fair bit of refurbishment since 2017, all to the good.

Only downside of any sort - patio door hits edge of TV when entering (minor issue ) and the outside chairs are incredibly uncomfortable and far too heavy to move anywhere else, ( rather bigger issue ) so you have to sit in a line which makes conversation slightly less intimate. There is a very large table and benches as well ( presumably aimed at the fact that the place sleeps 8 ) but they don't have a proper sea view and are, again, incredibly uncomfortable. They are also in bad need of a repaint / refurb.

There is a "private" sign on the gate which is totally worn and faded, and illegible, and needs replacing, as several groups of people came through it, thinking it was "the road to the beach". When it was (politely) mentioned that it was a private road, the belligerent response from one person was "how would we know ?", which was a very fair point.

But these are relarively minor gripes. The location is unbeatable and that's what counts. ( and it is 110 yards to the pub....)

Finally, the owners are now the contact points for any issues ( used to be the "agents" ) and on the recent stay they quickly and helpfully responded to a number of queries, which was appreciated

Overall, superb accommodation, unbeatable location, what's not to like ?




A cemaes cottage:luxury by the sea

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely luxury Cottage in a spectacular position overlooking the harbour in Cemaes Bay.Highly recommended for large parties or families.



A superb location

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay here, a superbly located property with an unbeatable position right on the harbour.

Spacious, well equipped (almost over equipped in TVs) and very comfortable with great views and pub and restaurant within very short distance

Only downside is the irritable fiddly parking and the need to continually open and close the gates.

Sadly the price for the equivalent week in 2018 has increased 60% so 2017 will be our last visit as we are now totally priced out of even vaguely considering it again.




perfect location,lovely house 4 star standard !!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 generations of our family stayed here over Easter we all loved it,right on the beach,walking distance to local shops,pubs cafes etc.
Coastal path in this area is stunning and there are some surprisingly good places to eat on Anglesey.
House very well-equipped and all bedrooms en-suite.
Cemaes Bay is a blue flag beach and very safe for young swimmers and bodyboarding although wet suits advisable at this time of year.we'll go again.




Perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A long weekend for 3 couples. Plenty of space, well equipped, near the sea, and close the several pubs and a shop. All bedrooms en suite and all have a TV. We'll be going back for a longer stay next time.



Gary replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. Ty Lawr is a fantastic Cemaes Bay holiday cottage, we look forward to your return.

STAY AT TY LAWR

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our 2nd time at Ty Lawr.
Family thoroughly enjoyed the cottage and location.
Would return when possible.
Only problem we had was the drain in the wet-room in the downstairs bedroom.
We reported it blocked to the general manager on the Friday and again on the Saturday but through out the week
no one came to sort this problem so on the Friday before leaving we phoned the Cleaning supervisor
and left her a message so we did not want the next holiday makers landed with this problem.
We were fortunate we could get upstairs to another bathroom.




another great week in Ty-lawr Anglesey for four lifelong friends {near 80 yrs old ex boy scouts}

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our 3rd visit and fulfilled all our expectations once again. The cottage, its fittings, all bedding, towels etc. were immaculate.
One small complaint, however. The shower outlet in the downstairs bedroom was blocked. The water would not drain away and the shower was unusable. We did not consider this to be an emergency and therefore, did not contact you directly. The other five mobile numbers which were listed for notification of any day-to-day problems were each 'phoned several times during our first two to three days. Some were sometimes unavailable, some were not answered and although messages were repeatedly left. nobody contacted us.




FANTASTIC VIEWS

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the position of the property, seeing the sea so close was really beautiful.
The property was decorated and furnished to a high standard.
Our only gripe was that all the other cottages we have stayed in always greeted us with either a bottle of wine,milk,flowers or even biscuits.It just adds a welcome addition.
Also there was a lack of rubbish bags (none),and we like to leave the properties as clean as when we arrive, but no cleaning products,no dustpan and brush, no bleach for the loos.
Apart from that we loved it!




Coastal Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ty Lawr and hope you found our service helpful when planning the trip! If we can assist with any future holiday plans please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Late summer break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We arrived to find the house had not been cleaned properly and a large bag of opened dog food smelling strongly from a kitchen cupboard. Pans were in a disgraceful state and the crockery in need of a good clean. No barbecue as stated in description either.
The house is perfectly situated and would be the most fantastic holiday rental if only it was prepped and looked after properly.