FB Twitter

Springwell , West Wittering

Springwell , West Wittering

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
3.3
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
3.4
Customer
Service
4.1


Cottage only a five minute walk to West Wittering Beach.

Lovely small cottage in an excellent location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely small cottage done up to a very high standard in a central location. Well equipped but small kitchen, lovely fittings throughout. Short walk to the West Wittering beach, saving on the daily parking charge!

(Very) steep stairs and the fact that the toilet is downstairs make this unsuitable for very young children or those who are not 100% mobile.




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied 120 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply. It is a very old little cottage so unfortunately the stairs are quite steep. There is a hand rail and we always make sure the hall is well lit. We hope the cute stairs add to the charm :-) So pleased you made use of West Wittering and the close proximity! Perfect way to avoid the summer queues.

Good location, generally nice accommodation with a few issues

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location - short drive or longer walk to the wonderful beach (too far to walk carrying deckchairs etc but lovely stroll of an evening). Location avoids sitting in the long traffic queues to get to the beach. Useful shop 5 minutes walk away.
Accommodation attractive inside and out. Shower room and toilet smaller than they appear in the photographs. Nicely furnished although double bed on small side. For self catering accommodation, the lack of any freezer section was surprising and inconvenient - not possible to freeze ice packs for taking food on picnics or to make ice. Although well equipped in many respects, with good quality crockery and equipment, there were a few basic things missing - a chopping board (other than a huge butcher's type wooden block) and a brush and dustpan (a pan was there, but no brush) - I ended up buying both to be able to cook and clean up properly. A doormat inside the door as well as outside, would help to keep the floor clean - the outside mat got drenched in the rain so served no useful purpose. Although there is a washing machine, there is only a very small drying rack attached to the wall outside so it would not be possible to dry anything other than a very few clothes.. It was hard to get towels dry inside the house - we were constantly moving them around on backs of chairs to dry them.

The property was generally clean, but still quite a bit of sand on the floor when we arrived, and we needed to plunge and remove gunk from the bathroom sink and shower to let the water drain properly. There was no water coming out of the hot tap in the kitchen when we arrived. The agents responded quickly after the weekend to arrange for a plumber to come in and restore the water. Unfortunately, that had a side effect of creating a problem with ants appearing on the draining board and other kitchen surfaces for a few days - this had settled down before we left.

It's a location we would be very happy to visit again but the issues with the property mean we wouldn't be keen to visit this one again. It would be fine if someone was intending to eat out most of the time and not fully self cater.




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied 120 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The kitchen is equipped with everything you will need to self cater during a stay, we understand the size is small in the galley style kitchen but this is due to the age of the property. We hope the quirkiness is a selling point :-) . Unfortunately there is not a freezer box but the cooling box should be enough to keep frozen items for a day or two unless very hot. If you want ice cream i can highly recommend the cafe just across the green. :-) I am so pleased you made good use of the close proximity to West Wittering beach.

Springwell Cottage Easter break

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and cottage for a short stay, shame the local pub has been closed for some time. Customer service for small problem with the hot water excellent.
Will almost certainly return.




Good location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location - it has its own parking and is within a 10 minute walk from West Wittering beach; a wonderful unspoilt sandy beach.
Nicely decorated and in good condition - neutral décor and wooden flooring.
We thought the property was perhaps a little smaller than we expected from the pictures. It probably lends itself better as a location to stay for a couple, or during the summer.
The kitchen was equipped with decent quality items such as the toaster, kettle and blender and the vacuum cleaner ensured we could clean up any sand bought back from the beach(!). It was also helpful to have stair gates too - there was a travel cot available although when we asked it didn't appear there was.
It would help to have a wider selection of games available in the trunk and perhaps some DVDs available for wet weather as well as more drying space.




Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful cottage,very stylish and is in a fantastic location. Just a few niggles... Firstly I was not cleaned very well,there was loads of dust under the beds and sofa,dirty tissue under double bed.the bathroom had toothpaste spilt down the cupboard and on the floor,bed room drawers could do with a wipe inside as they were dusty.shower could of been cleaner.only has a rain shower with no attachment so impossible to get under 5s clean if they don't like water in the face.floors could be cleaner.great parking and only 10 minutes walk to the beach.would be great cottage if your out all day but if you get stuck in with bad weather the leather chairs in front room look nice but uncomfertable to sit in to watch a movie.its by far the most stylish cottage iv stayed in but would pick comfort over style when you are with the family.kitchen packed with all the things you could possibly need to cook.a very nice cottage but too small for a family of 4 and very steep stairs.would recommend to the right people.



1 Springwell Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the cottage which is in an excellent location. The cottage is small but comfortable and makes an excellent base for exploring the area.
Ideal for a couple or a family with small children. The decor is lovely.

Could be improved by offering a freezer, increased shower pressure and a hand basin in the toilet.





Excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We loved the location: within a few metres of an excellent dog-friendly cafe, selling consistently good coffee; good walks from the door; close to the beach; very close to bus stops, with buses to Chichester every 15 minutes.

This is a compact property, which proved ideal for two adults. The stairs are steep, and the concrete dining table would prove a worry with small children.

The cottage was in very good decorative order. The kitchen was well-equipped, with quality goods ( le creuset saucepans, dualit toaster, etc). Thick, fluffy towels were provided.

We had two dogs with us, and were grateful for the hard floors: no carpets to worry about. A small vacuum cleaner was provided, but in use it shedded debris instead of picking it up, so was useless. As there was no broom or dustpan and brush, there was no means of removing dog hair. In edition, there were no door mats. As the weather was dry, this did not present too much of a problem for us, but would have proved difficult if wet or muddy. Although the property does not have a garden, it is on the green so there is somewhere for early morning / last thing at night dog toileting. And a handy dog bin too.

Biggest grumbles: the double bed suffers from a lack of upholstery - every spring could be felt; no bedside lamps; microwave is dangerously situated, at above head height.




Lovely cottage great location

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cute cosy cottage on the doorstep to the beach. Well equipped comfortable. We stayed for a weekend shame it rained would stay again.



Easter Break

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place!Great Location.We will be back in the future and would book this place again.Wes Wittering must be one of the best beaches in this country.Stunning!!



Small, warm and perfectly adequate.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I stayed in Spring Well with my 15 year old daughter and our dog in March.
The cottage is very compact with 2 bedrooms upstairs, living / dining room, galley kitchen, shower room and toilet downstairs. The stairs are quite steep with a stair gate at the top and one at the bottom.
Space wise it was fine for the 2 of us but 4 adults would definitely struggle. Would be fine for a young family.
The kitchen is well equipped and it is tastefully decorated. It was lovely and warm and the gas fire made it feel very cosy in the evening. A couple of lamps here and there would be a nice finishing touch, particularly in the bedrooms.
It is situated on the green, opposite Landings café. There isn't any private area for the cottage but there are grass areas right outside.
There is a pub over the road too. I think it was called The Old House At Home. We didn't go there so I can't review it.
The road leading down to the beach is next to the cottage. The walk is probably a good 10 mins. If we went again we said we would like to have bikes as it would be ideal to cycle to the beach from there.
The shower pressure could have been stronger. We really struggled to wash the sand from the dog.
We really enjoyed watching dvds in front of the fire with our Chinese takeaway.
The information booklet was very useful.




Great for a few days stay. Comfortable and great location. Brilliant for a dog too.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely little cottage. Excellent and thoughtful fittings and tastefully furnished with quality furniture and bed linen. Children's room was very inviting with lovely little touches with quality soft toys to welcome little children.
I would like to point out, rather reluctantly in view of how much thought had gone into providing a quality home-from-home experience, that for myself and my husband both in our 70s, that the accommodation is not suited for older occupancy. We found it quite difficult during the night if we needed to use the toilet which is downstairs. The stairs are very steep and coming down them during the night, being slightly sleepy was quite dangerous. Also the design of where the toilet was in relation to the shower and hand washroom where one has to treck through the kitchen to wash ones hands after using the toilet is not practical nor hygienic. We were surprised that this has been passed by the local authority. We could see that good use had been made of the available space but at the very least a small hand basin needs to be installed in the toilet area.
Another point I would like to make. The absence of a freezer in a self catering cottage created problems for us. I particularly like self catering and came prepared with menus and ingredients some of which are frozen before I arrive. I had to throw away good quality meat for our meals and food I had prepared for the dog. Luckily the lovely resident next door came to the rescue and put some food in her freezer. I would imagine even young parents might freeze portions of baby food to make life easier away from home. And had there been a broom and mop I would have kept the floors clean. It did rain a lot and also there was no mat inside front door. These are just a few points that need to be mentioned in the renting info.
But I do emphasise it is a lovely cottage that the owners have put a lot of thought into. I mention these points merely as feedback as I feel sure the owner would appreciate it. I would certainly recommend to younger families.




Good location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Recently done up and good quality furniture. We had problems with the baby products - the cot was too small for a one year old and the high chair did not have a safety harness so rather tricky to manage. My husband was also too tall for the double bed (he is six foot so not enormous). The house was in a great location with a lovely coffee shop opposite. Some of the things promised were not there such as board games and a clothes rack for drying laundry.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your review. This is a traditional cottage so unfortunately there is no room for a double bed bigger than a standard double but I will certainly pass all feedback to the owner of the cottage. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Witterings. This cottage is certainly in a very special spot being so close to the beach! The Landing coffee shop opposite will be equally pleased with your review. Please do get in touch should you visit the area again.