FB Twitter

Spence Cottage, Birdham

Spence Cottage, Birdham

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.6
Location
4.5
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.2


Quintessential British country cottage.

A lovely comfortable and spacious cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable and contained everything we needed for a week’s stay with a small supermarket a few minutes walk away. The courtyard garden would seem to have been professionally landscaped and provided plenty of seating with a large table. The road outside can get busy sometimes at certain times of the day but we didn’t find any traffic noise a problem. Internally, the cottage has been designed & decorated to a high standard, providing a pleasing mix of the new with the old (e.g original wooden doors). It was light and felt quite spacious, and if anything, the photos didn’t do the cottage full justice.





Lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice week staying at Spence Cottage. Very clean, everything you , lovely tiny garden. Only downside was the traffic noise, but that can‘t be avoided. Short drive to the beach, lovely walks in the area and only 20 minutes drive to Goodwood (we came for the Festival of Speed).



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied 134 days ago
Thank for taking the time to review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately you were there one of the busiest weekends of the year :-) … but as you were staying for The Festival of Speed I hope you enjoyed it! Please do come back again if you are visiting Goodwood next year.

10 out of 10

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Birdham, Beautiful cottage in a good location!
Would definitely recommend and hopefully we will be back :-D




Nice property though with small room for improvement.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jan 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nicely presented property in the village of Birdham which has great amenities and is perfect for exploring the Wittering peninsula. The property itself has a good kitchen with plenty of utensils and white goods (though a dishwasher would be nice at this level of rental and we couldn't get the extractor fan to work!). The living area is nicely presented and the owners had kindly decorated it for Christmas, along with leaving a hamper of festive treats - both very nice touches. There is ample parking.

As others have said however, the property is located on a busy road junction and noise is an issue in the main bedroom, nearest to this. There would certainly be limited enjoyment from the tiny garden in the Summer, given it is also right next to the junction.

The property is marketed as 5 persons. The 5th occupant has to put up with a dubious camp bed-style bed, to which sleeping on the sofa became preferable after the first night. It would be more accurately marketed as up to 4 persons. The double bed is appalling, with a rickety cheap frame and a mattress which is incredibly soft and well past its best! The two single mattresses in the rear bedroom are not much better.

Overall, the property is fine however, having stayed in a similarly priced property at Chirstmas last year within half a mile of this one, we know that there are much quieter, better equipped and more spacious "5 person" cottages in the area. We would not return to this cottage though it would be suitable for a couple or 2+2 family who are not fussed about being on a road junction like this one.




Good week's stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a good location for places to visit.



Lovely cottage with good public transport links

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage with good transport links. The contemporary interior has been well thought out.



Summer holiday in the south of England

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A gorgeous cottage with a lovely character where old is mixed with new. Very family friendly and child proof. Well equipped with everything you need. It had a shop only two minutes walk and the beach only five minutes drive away. The only downside I can think of is that there was only one bathroom/toilet. I highly recommend Spence Cottage to familys as well as two couples. Me and my husband stayed for a week with our son, his girlfriend and their 1 1/2 year old son.



Brilliant thank you

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Spence Cottage is a fantastic place to stay, the modern decor and kitchen was lovely. Power shower and laundry room were unexpected bonuses. Location is great, near to beaches and country walks. Lots of nice eating places on the doorstep. The only negative points were the untidy garden and noise from traffic but neither of these spoilt our holiday.



Lovely cottage close to beach and town

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay for a week. Well equipped and newly refurbished. Both bedrooms reasonably large but only one loo in the one bathroom. It does have wi-fi but no dishwasher. Very small enclosed garden which is on the main road so quite noisy most of the time. This is not 'away from it all' as there is constant traffic to and from the coast. There is quite a large, well stocked Nisa 2 minutes walk away which was handy and a petrol station opposite. Good to be a short drive from West/East Wittering as well as straight into Chichester. There are 2 parking spaces but both are narrow so you have to be good at parking!!



Happy half term holiday at Spence Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The photographs on the website of Spence Cottage show a beautifully appointed cottage but I was prepared for it to be smaller than it looked - it is not smaller, it is bigger! To welcome us was a lovely chocolate cake and some milk for tea or coffee which was a lovely touch.
The kitchen is very well stocked with crockery, cutlery, glasses and cooking utensils, and once I had found the "hidden" cupboard (the blackboard is a door!) there were also many useful items such as condiments, herbs and cooking oil. I always bring these essentials as well as washing up liquid, tea and coffee but at Spence Cottage I didn't need to unpack these.
The cottage is very spacious with plenty of storage space.
We spent a very enjoyable week visiting the area including Chichester, East and West Wittering, Selsey, Goodwood, and Brighton. There are more places we have saved for another visit!
The only negative point is the traffic getting around Chichester but that is a common gripe with the local residents too.




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! Spence Cottage is in a great location to explore the surrounding areas and we are glad you had such a wonderful stay here. We look forward to you booking with us again.

Average to Good

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was beautifully appointed, the kitchen in particular and location was excellent.

The downsides were an uncomfortable sofa in the living room. The double bed in the master was incredibly uncomfortable, poor quality and the mattress is worn out. The duvet was also of poor quality.

The 2 single bed mattresses apparently (my 2 teenage girls slept here) were also worn out, thin and appeared to be of poor quality also.

It does seem a shame for the beds to be so under par as the rest of the house is absolutely lovely. Just a bit more money on the bed situation and this would be a 10/10 house!




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We will pass this on to the owners, and we appreciate every feedback we get to help improve our guests stay. We hope you had a lovely holiday in Birdham and look forward to you booking with us again.

Enjoyable week's holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For us an excellent cottage and well found for and for us also well situated. The owners really care and they gladly prove it.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. Spence Cottage is truly a wonderful cottage and we look forward to you booking with us again.