FB Twitter

St Marys, Hayling Island

St Marys, Hayling Island

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.4
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


St Marys is a homely three bedroom Bungalow located a 10 minute walk from the Hayling Island seafront and Hayling’s beautiful stretch of beach, perfectly situated for stunning views across the Solent.

Weekend Getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Check in was very easy.
The house is a great size, with a lovely garden and in a very central location , easy to get everywhere .
Very good customer service too.




Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied 40 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at St Marys, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Lovely Stay on Hayling Island (our Dad's childhood home)

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow is in an excellent location, with three bedrooms, a lounge diner and a garden. The kitchen is very small but usable and well equipped. The owner lives in front and is very friendly and helpful - he even let us hold a small gathering after a family memorial we travelled down for and offered to let our guests park on his drive.

A few tips that would make the holiday even better (keeping in mind that the bungalow already represents excellent value for money given its location and size):

There are NO hooks anywhere (other than the smallest bedroom to make up for the cupboard housing the boiler). If there was a row of hooks in the hallway for coats, and a few in the bathroom for towels, clothes, etc., this would make a huge difference for very little cost. A couple of hooks on the back of each bedroom door and on the side of the sink (for tea towels) would also be helpful.

The curtains were thin and light coloured. This means that they let nearly all the light in, including all through the night as there are street lights on both sides of the bungalow on the infant school site, and the public car park the other side. I strongly recommend investing in black-out blinds and/or curtains. it may also help to insulate the bungalow.

The bungalow sleeps 6 but there were only 5 tall glasses. The mattresses were adequate but had seen better days. The pine furniture is practical but looks old and out of keeping with a modern bungalow. The TV service was poor - it didn't even seem to include standard Freeview which was a shame with the children there.

Please don't take the above as reasons not to book - we had a great time and would book again! :)




Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied 40 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at St Marys, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! I will make sure to pass your comments on to the owner of the property.

A two week stay in a very nice location.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great for the shops, buses & take away meals etc. 10 min walk to the beach.....which is brilliant for picnics etc.



Trip to Hayling Island

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow is lovely, very clean; it is also spacious - there were 5 adults and it felt roomy and certainly not closed in! the Mattresses /linen/ towels and the cooking utensils were all of very good quality! There is a good sized bathroom & the garden a real bonus (weather turned lovely whilst we were there and it was lovely to be able to seat out)! Enough parking for 2 cars in front of bungalow; The location of bungalow is good; very easy walk to high street (less than a few mins) with a walk to the beech easily done; the avenue itself very quiet (we heard no noises in the time we were there); We would have no hesitation in returning to the bungalow, good location,/ good size and it is very well maintained!




It's O.K.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This property has 2 things going for it, the location (in the middle of the island) & there is a Co-op a few minutes walk away. The problem we had was that the beds and furniture were very uncomfortable, but someone else might find them O.K., we are all different afterall.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so please you enjoyed the location but disappointing to hear you found the beds uncomfortable. The beds are actually brand new, all i can think is that they are possibly a bit too firm still. We will take a look!