FB Twitter

Spence Cottage, Birdham

Spence Cottage, Birdham

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.3


Quintessential British country cottage.

A very nice cottage, used as a base.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spence Cottage is a lovely property. Warm, cosy and rustic. A lovely garden area. Very well laid out. A great location for a base, a local shop only a 100 yards away. Petrol station very close by too. Well thought out interior, plenty of room in the spacious bathrooms. Great to have a washer AND dryer too. A very comfortable little cottage.

The down sides, the cooker was not clean. We ate mostly takeaways and cold food anyway, so it didn't really affect us too much.
But, the one use it did get made me reluctant to use it again.

Parking, for the 15 days that we were there, it wasn't too much of a problem. For a couple of days, the space opposite also belonging to Spence cottage was unusable as the neighbours had parked so far over, we would have been hard pressed to have gotten a bicycle parked in there. Again, it didn't affect us as we only had one visitor and I'm sure that if we'd said anything to the neighbours, I'm sure it would have been rectified.




Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied 113 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Spence Cottage. Please accept our apologies that you didn't find the cottage as you would have hoped, we are always quick to respond to any issues and would have been happy to send housekeeping straight out to you and to have contacted the neighbours had we known about the parking, I think they perhaps didn't realise guests were in the property. We have now had this issue resolved with housekeeping. We hope to see you back again in the future. Henry Adams Holiday Cottages

Excellent position for Chichester Harbour

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent position for exploring Chichester Harbour. Lovely house, on busy road but noise didn’t bother us. Only negative points were; new double bed needed (pointed out over several years!) and only a shower over bath, though plenty of hot water.
More tourist information in folder would have been useful.




Lovely comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is our second visit to Spence Cottage and, as we found on our first stay, we found it an ideal location for walks & exploring the area e.g Itchenor, Witterings, marina, Dell Quay. etc as well as Chichestor itself. Our stays have been ‘out of season’ but, knowing the area quite well, we are aware the main road does get very busy during the summer period and might get a bit noisy for some visitors. The cottage itself is very clean and comfortable with a pleasing mixture of contemporary & original features. Facilities are excellent providing everything you might need for a break.



A lovely comfortable and spacious cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable and contained everything we needed for a week’s stay with a small supermarket a few minutes walk away. The courtyard garden would seem to have been professionally landscaped and provided plenty of seating with a large table. The road outside can get busy sometimes at certain times of the day but we didn’t find any traffic noise a problem. Internally, the cottage has been designed & decorated to a high standard, providing a pleasing mix of the new with the old (e.g original wooden doors). It was light and felt quite spacious, and if anything, the photos didn’t do the cottage full justice.





Lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice week staying at Spence Cottage. Very clean, everything you , lovely tiny garden. Only downside was the traffic noise, but that can‘t be avoided. Short drive to the beach, lovely walks in the area and only 20 minutes drive to Goodwood (we came for the Festival of Speed).



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank for taking the time to review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately you were there one of the busiest weekends of the year :-) … but as you were staying for The Festival of Speed I hope you enjoyed it! Please do come back again if you are visiting Goodwood next year.

10 out of 10

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Birdham, Beautiful cottage in a good location!
Would definitely recommend and hopefully we will be back :-D




Good week's stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a good location for places to visit.



Lovely cottage with good public transport links

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage with good transport links. The contemporary interior has been well thought out.



Summer holiday in the south of England

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A gorgeous cottage with a lovely character where old is mixed with new. Very family friendly and child proof. Well equipped with everything you need. It had a shop only two minutes walk and the beach only five minutes drive away. The only downside I can think of is that there was only one bathroom/toilet. I highly recommend Spence Cottage to familys as well as two couples. Me and my husband stayed for a week with our son, his girlfriend and their 1 1/2 year old son.



Lovely cottage close to beach and town

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay for a week. Well equipped and newly refurbished. Both bedrooms reasonably large but only one loo in the one bathroom. It does have wi-fi but no dishwasher. Very small enclosed garden which is on the main road so quite noisy most of the time. This is not 'away from it all' as there is constant traffic to and from the coast. There is quite a large, well stocked Nisa 2 minutes walk away which was handy and a petrol station opposite. Good to be a short drive from West/East Wittering as well as straight into Chichester. There are 2 parking spaces but both are narrow so you have to be good at parking!!



Happy half term holiday at Spence Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The photographs on the website of Spence Cottage show a beautifully appointed cottage but I was prepared for it to be smaller than it looked - it is not smaller, it is bigger! To welcome us was a lovely chocolate cake and some milk for tea or coffee which was a lovely touch.
The kitchen is very well stocked with crockery, cutlery, glasses and cooking utensils, and once I had found the "hidden" cupboard (the blackboard is a door!) there were also many useful items such as condiments, herbs and cooking oil. I always bring these essentials as well as washing up liquid, tea and coffee but at Spence Cottage I didn't need to unpack these.
The cottage is very spacious with plenty of storage space.
We spent a very enjoyable week visiting the area including Chichester, East and West Wittering, Selsey, Goodwood, and Brighton. There are more places we have saved for another visit!
The only negative point is the traffic getting around Chichester but that is a common gripe with the local residents too.




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! Spence Cottage is in a great location to explore the surrounding areas and we are glad you had such a wonderful stay here. We look forward to you booking with us again.

Enjoyable week's holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For us an excellent cottage and well found for and for us also well situated. The owners really care and they gladly prove it.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. Spence Cottage is truly a wonderful cottage and we look forward to you booking with us again.