FB Twitter

Old Lock Cottage, Birdham

Old Lock Cottage, Birdham

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Hideaway Cottage close to Chichester Marina.

Old lock cottage chichester

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time at the cottage everything we needed except for logs and you would need a fire going in the evenings so more logs for people staying thank-you so much for a lovely stay x



Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied 5 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Old Lock Cottage, I will make sure to pass your comments on to the owner and cleaners about the logs. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Spacious property in a superb location but some TLC required

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is very spacious, comfortable and is well equipped but the bathrooms really need updating



Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied 49 days ago
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Old Lock Cottage. I will make sure to pass your feedback on to the owner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Gorgeous comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and well equipped
cottage in a location right next to Chichester Marina, and close to walks. Easy drive to the Witterings and Chichester town. We had a lovely time there, but to improve I would like more towels as there was only one hand towel per person (no bath towels), and a more generous check out time of 11am would be better than thr current 10am considering the nightly cost. The cleaner arrived at 9.45am. Overall this was a peaceful and comfortable stay.




Location was amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house spacious and the location perfect for us. The only small criticism I would have is that the property is a little tired in areas, namely the showers, some paintwork and the front garden could do with an update. The cover over the pond did not seem adequate, especially if small children were running around the garden. The garden furniture could also be revarnished and cleaned. The house is amazing just a little tender care required.



A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we have stayed at Old Lock Cottage and we were just as impressed this time as for our first visit. We had a problem with a rental with another company and the staff at Henry Adams quickly came to our aid and helped secure our stay at Old Lock Cottage. The cottage itself is in a perfect location for walks in and around the marina. The cottage is well equipped with all the facilities that you need for a short or even long term stay. Would be happy to recommend and will certainly book again.



Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Mar 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay in this comfortable cottage. The location alongside a canal and in between two marinas provides some great walking opportunities in all directions. First rate facilities, comfortable beds and a cosy lounge area. Front garden with plenty of outdoor seating and morning sunshine. Would re-book without hesitation.





The cottage is in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is excellent with plenty of walks along the harbour foreshore. The cottage is spacious and perfect for a family.



A lovely base to go walking with friends

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are three couples who go on walking holidays each year. We all felt that this was the best accommodation we have stayed in. All three bedrooms are a good size and there are three full bathrooms, perfect for friends. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge spacious and comfortable. The heating came on late on the day of arrival, but after contacting the agents, this was sorted out the next day, while we were out. Old Lock Cottage is in a great position, a short walk from The Boathouse Cafe (more like a restaurant). The cottage is in a quiet location, but only a short drive from Chichester, Bosham and other lovely places to visit and walk.



Old lock cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although this was in an excellent location for our needs I felt it was overpriced. I felt the property had been empty for a while and would have benefited from a good airing. The bathrooms were clean but the floor was in need a of a good scrub. The garden furniture was dusty and full of cobwebs.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We are very surprised to receive this as you had left glowing comments from your previous stays. We will pass this feedback on to the cleaners of the property.

review

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Should have outdoor BBQ in a property of this quality. Facility on hob to simulate a BBQ would cause too much smoke etc. inside the house and be a nightmare to clean. Outdoor furniture hasn't been cleaned since last year by the look of it.



Ideal holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A very comfortable and very well equipped property in a super location. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would be more than happy to visit again.



Quiet, comfortable and near amenities in West Sussex

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I rented this cottage for me and my elderly parents. Each of us had our own bedroom and bathroom. One bedroom is on the main floor and is not directly attached to the bedroom although adjacent to it. The cottage is very comfortable and has everything that you need for a relaxing short holiday or like us, a longer two week stay. The cottage is surrounded by lovely walking opportunities and the buzz of Chichester Marina but once you close the gates, you are in your own private garden, complete with fish pond. We were awoken every morning with birdsong. There are books, SkyTV, wifi. The kitchen has a French press coffee maker and a Magimax nespresso machine plus any crockery you might desire! The decor is simple and tasteful and I am sure that you will have as pleasant a stay as we did. Our stay did include a bank holiday and we elected to avoid any unnecessary travel on those days- the A286 was very busy and had long queues. The A286 is your main way in and out. But, if you are well stocked, there are lots of pleasant walks and things to see in the area surrounding a cottage on a bank holiday. I would love to stay here again. My parents and I really enjoyed our visit.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Old Lock Cottage was wonderful.
The cottage is extremely well presented and very comfortable.
There is high quality linens and equipment.
The furniture and beds are new and comfortable.
The bathrooms are modern and well thought out.
The cleanliness is excellent.
The location of the cottage itself is perfect, at the end of a quiet lane, with its own fenced courtyard.
It is very convenient to be able to walk or drive to a lot of amenities.
All in all a perfect holiday cottage, that we shall inetend to return to in the future.




A great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
January 2018
We found the cottage to be clean and well equipped. Many lovely walks nearby.
We would definitely recommend this comfortable property, 3 bathroom to 3 bedrooms - a great bonus.




Oh we do like to be beside the seaside

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A quiet location at the end of a private lane with only waterfowl calls to hear. Out of the door you can set off walking along Chichester Harbour or into the town.

The house is spacious and extremely equipped for a rental. The wifi download was 4Mbps at best. Sky TV including cinema included in the price. Cleanliness was pretty good throughout.

We were there in November and it was beautifully warm with unlimited hot water.




Fabulous home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect home with everything you need and working WiFi!
Lovely surroundings
Parking challenging if you have a large vehicle but we managed.
Would def recommend




Summer holiday fun

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned after a lovely week, we even had great weather this year! Old Lock Cottage is an ideal holiday let, both location and facilities wise and we enjoyed a really comfortable and restful stay. We know Chichester Marina well and visit often but didn't know about Birdham Marina right next door, so that was a lovely surprise and we enjoyed exploring the beautiful local area. We usually stay in a beach front location but felt that where we stayed this time offered the best of everything and would highly recommend this property. We especially loved the hidden bathrooms! Thank you, we had a great time.



Old Lock Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely setting and a well equipped house. Parking would be an issue if we had brought more than one car as space is very limited. Couldn't one car park on the drive? The rubbish bins outside were rather an eyesore as they were completely full to overflowing when we arrived. One other slight complaint - it would be nice to receive a welcome pack on arrival, not just a jug of milk in the fridge.

By the way, one of the curtains in the lounge is hung inside out!!




Fabulous spot.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant time had by all. Very clean and plenty of everything you need, especially kitchen equipment. Great location for the marina and walks from the house. The little courtyard garden was lovely and we used it much more than I thought we would. Could be a trip hazard though for those less steady on their feet - old or young (we had parents in their 80's with us). Only downside was the neighbours rather smelly compost heap pretty close to the kitchen door area but there's not much that could be done about that and we were there when really hot so wanted all doors open, wasn't a great issue though.



A great place to stay in a lovely area

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Lock Cottage was an excellent place for three couples to stay - with a shower room each. Well equipped, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the local walks, the beach at West Wittering, Chichester and the short ferry ride across the estuary to Bosham (seasonal). The walk from the ferry to Bosham is lovely.



A quiet retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to stay with everything you need only a few miles away. Cottage is excellent with one exception the garden is just a very small patio with a pond and views blocked by huge hedge. Inside the cottage is very nice, with great facilities for someone unable to use stairs, every bedroom has an ensuite which is a good feature. Rooms are spacious, light and airy. No traffic noise. Close to marina, very short walk. Would definitely recommend it.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Old Lock is truly a great place to visit, and plenty of walks nearby. We look forward to you booking with us again.

great long week end close to the Marina

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
...
......................................................................................................................................................