FB Twitter

Castleton , Chichester

Castleton , Chichester

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Lovely and very well appointed character two story annex, close to Chichester city centre and Goodwood motor circuit (perfect for Revival)

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Castleton, the previous one being in 2019. The cottage was as lovely as we remembered it, well equipped and comfortable, perfect for a visit to Chichester. Astrid and Richard are welcoming and the extra basket of treats was a lovely surprise. Would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.



Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied 3 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Castleton. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Weeks break

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a weeks break at Castleton. Our hosts could not have been nicer. They have a beautiful garden and home. A welcoming basket was laid out for us. The house is only a 5 minute drive to Chichester Town. Nice walks round the area and plenty sites to visit. Would stay there again.



Best holiday rental you could possibly wish for

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were blown away by Castleton with Richard and Astrid being the most amazing hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them. We loved the additional welcome touches - beautiful flowers, chocolates and biscuits. We stayed here for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. This is truly the first place I've stayed where I didn't need the extras I normally take with me - they really had thought of everything so for once cooking in a strange kitchen was a pleasure. It has a huge spacious bedroom (and very comfy bed!!). Can't recommend it highly enough!



Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It really is a lovely property with very conscientious and thoughtful hosts. We hope to see you again soon. Henry Adams Holiday Cottages

A welcome change of scene

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having both worked from home since mid March we decided to head to Chichester for a change of scene. We saw Castleton on the internet and booked it. We couldn't have been more delighted upon arrival with a lovely note and welcome treates from Richard and Astrid the owners, as well as some wonderful cut flowers from their garden. We immediately felt very relaxed and at home at Castleton. They are a lovely couple and were their for advice and any help we needed during our stay, but left us very much to ourselves to enjoy our break. Castleton is ideally situated for the town centre, shops, restaurants and the fabulous cathedral, which are all about a ten minute walk away, as is the Festival Theatre. There is a small convenience store just around the corner too which is handy. Castleton is also close to Goodwood and only twenty minutes by car from Portsmouth and Gunwharf Quays.
The accommodation is generous in size and the décor is very tasteful with neutral colours. The lounge is comfortable and cosy and there is a good kitchen. we cooked on several evenings and found every utensil we needed was there.
Upstairs is a and large and calming bedroom with a good size wardrobe and chest of drawers. An extremely comfortable and luxurious bed and great en-suite with a good shower. All areas have good natural daylight and the sun fills the lounge in the mornings. The area is also very quiet so sleeping with the windows open didn't disturb us. The white shutters at all the windows allow privacy as well as creating a light and airy feel to the rooms. Things like hair dryer, ironing board and iron and clothes dryer are all there. There is even a good selection of maps and books showing some great walks in the South Downs. We couldn't fault it and we've already decided that we'll make a return visit in the future and use it as our base to further explore this lovely part of the south coast. To find somewhere this good is rare when booking on the internet these days and it made our stay a real treat!




Delightful property

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was staying in Chichester visiting family. I've rented a couple of properties in Chichester before, but none were as comfortable and homely as Castleton. The property is a self-contained 'annex' over two floors, but feels like a little house in its own right. Downstairs is a kitchen and living room area. It contains a nice sofa and smart TV (with Netflix etc) as well as a table for dining and working. Upstairs is a vast double/ensuite bedroom. The property is tastefully decorated throughout and in excellent condition. The kitchen is fully-equipped. The bed is very comfortable. The owners made us feel very welcome, leaving an assortment of goodies. They were happy to help with any questions we had. I stayed because the property was convenient to my family, but if you are visiting Chichester for the first time then it's well situated; equidistant from the city centre and the beautiful Lavant/Goodwood walks/countryside to the north. Perfect for couples or single travellers.



Lovely people, lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Astrid and Richard couldn't have been nicer. Always cheerful and helpful when needful.
The place is charming and conveniently located. The garden is beautiful, as Astrid is a florist. Loved talking plants with her.




Lovely long weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Castleton is a lovely annex in walking distance of Chichester, but also well serviced by a bus for those less able. The annex had all the facilities we coukd ask for, and most importantly a lovely comfortable bed for an excellent night's sleep. The owners were on hand if we needed anything but did not intrude even though we were next door. All in all a lovely stay and I would recommend Castleton to anyone.



one week stay at Castleton

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, well designed, well stocked and easy to use kitchen, thoughtful extras, and very helpful owners next door.



A lovely stay at Castleton

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at Castleton in May this year. The accommodation was perfect for two people, very homely and tastefully decorated throughout. The Annexe was well equipped with everything you could need. The small issue we had with their toaster was resolved with an immediate replacement, which was a clear sign of the owners consideration for their guests. The owners were very friendly and helpful with lots of local knowledge and even offered us the use of their beautiful garden. The sunny patio was a lovely place to sit and have a drink.

The location was excellent for exploring Chichester town, only a 20 minute walk away. It also provided easy access to the South Downs and Goodwood, within minutes by car. Chichester Theatre is easy to visit, being a nice gentle stroll through the park.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Castleton and look forward to returning soon.




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time in writing your lovely review. Castleton is a perfect getaway and we cannot wait for you to book with us again.

A charming "home from home"

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Castleton, which in fact was a return visit. The property is beautifully presented and very clean. The owners, Richard and Astrid could not have been more accommodating or helpful. Throughly recommend this property!



First Class

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely convenient accommodation with great facilities and delightful hosts who were very welcoming and couldn’t do enough for us. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Castleton very highly.