FB Twitter

Tigh Beg Croft

Tigh Beg Croft

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.7


Tigh Beg Croft self catering holiday cottage has to be one of the ultimate secluded Highland hideaways - there are no garden fences, only the open land and the sea to keep you in and amused.

Idyllic location

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptionally well presented holiday croft on a stunning setting. We were there in atrocious weather but thoroughly enjoyed doing very little. The road out to the croft is in terrible condition and caused some problems and an of road vehicle would be best. Gemma from West Coast Cottages went well beyond normal customer service to assist us.

Ian from Sydney stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 5 nights in January 2020


Sublime Location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is really out of this world: peaceful, secluded, remote but not far from Oban. It's incredible waking up to the sea and pebble beach right outside the door, and to hear no man-made sounds apart from the occasional boat or plane. I feel so grateful that this cottage is being let.
Inside wasn't as nice as the pictures led us to believe and it took a while for the cottage to warm up, but if you don't mind grey decor and singed, acrylic rugs, you won't care! Aesthetics are really important to me, so it's maybe unfair to expect what I'd hoped for...
On the plus side, the bath is brilliant and there's plenty of hot water, and the kitchen pans are a dream! So often the pots and pans in rental cottages are manky, but these were great and made cooking a pleasure.
The setting really is sublime. Thank you!


Em from Lockerbie stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 3 nights in November 2019


Perfect perfect getaway yes meant to say perfect twice

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
if your looking to get away from it all tigh beg is the perfect place peacefulness the morning mist on the Loch in the morning is something else spectacular scenery and cosiness of the log burning fire at night inside croft had it all "this place was absolutely surreal and no light pollution out there so we could see the night sky in all its wonder" we will definitely be back "good times" this place is off the scale

David from Edinburgh stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 3 nights in October 2019


A marvelous escape

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At arrival everything were perfectly ready and the inhouse facilities where much better than assumed. We had sunny weather conditions and were more outside, than inside. Only the road to the cottage was very bumpy, we had actually one touch down. The four days we stayed were a dream.

Janko from Schwerte stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 4 nights in September 2019


Would recommend Tigh Beg for peace, fantastic views, setting and wildlife.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stunning location, peaceful, fantastic views. Spotted sea eagles and an otter from cottage. Enjoyed open fire and watching 'Ring of Bright Water', which had the cottage in some shots.
Part of the track to the cottage needs resurfacing, but managed to negotiate with 2 wheel drive car.
Fun exploring the immediate vicinity, including a dip in the loch by the cottage and about 1 km of coast to east,with stunning views to Kerrera and Mull islands.
Enjoyed taking passenger ferry to Kerrera and Luing Islands and walking around them (10 and 16km respectively).
Economy 7 heaters and sofa tired.
No midges during our stay.
Collin very friendly, many thanks for a memorable holiday, Rob and Heather.


Rob from Newton Abbot stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in September 2019


Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was here for 5 days on my own and it is the most incredible place I have been.
This is soooo good for the soul.
I only had one problem... I could'nt leave.
Have to come back soon.


Annique from Gent stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 4 nights in July 2019


Wonderful stay in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're looking for a remote, isolated and very relaxing stay, than Tigh Beg is just excellent. A lovely croft cottage with stunning views, well equiped and very comfortable. Pub and restaurant at The Barn is within walking distance (3 miles), or just a short drive. Nearby Oban is the place to be for shops and restaurants, or ferries to the isles.

Mark from 3202 Rillaar stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 14 nights in June 2019


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in lovely setting. Very good service. Very well equipped throughout. Only minor point worth mentioning is a 4x4 would be useful for the road as parts of it might be difficult for a low down car.

Guest from Aberdeenshire stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in May 2019


A Few shortcomings

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent some time and experienced frustration about cooktop and oven operation until I located manuals in drawer. Please mention their location and other operation manuals location in your welcome notes or somewhere. Also could not use TV because could not understand directions for terrestrial TV operation. Thought cleaning out fireplace for next guest should be done by housekeeping staff although I complied with instructions.

Fred from Crestwood stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in May 2019


Magical!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location! Great place to go and get away from the rat race. We got lost finding the cottage but we got full support to locate it. Definitely need an SUV/4x4 - that track to the cottage seriously needs it but once you arrive you feel you are totally alone -lovely. Waking up to the beautiful views of the water and sheep in your back garden. Trying to get the cattle off the track so you can drive past all add to the experience. Did not want to leave and will be back one day!

Angella from Solihull stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 3 nights in April 2019


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay and very relaxing. Always easy to book. Highly recommend a 4x4 for getting to the property.

Guest from Aberdeenshire stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in October 2018


Idyllic Hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 7th year at Tigh Beg and we hope to enjoy it again and again. There is no place like this little cottage in its own private setting on the sea.
Every morning we took coffee out on the rocks exposed by low tide and watched the otter swim by us unconcerned. Hiking during the day was always an adventure and lunch on the point looking over at Mull was magical. In the late afternoon as the tide rose we would again sit on the rocks dipping our toes in the cooling water and enjoy a refreshing beverage. After supper a walk was restorative, sheep running along with us and beautiful countryside to be enjoyed.
One thing that the management warns of and is true is the road to Tigh Beg is a challenge with its rocks and ruts, so be prepared. We are country people and even for us we drive with care up and down the craggy bits. We are so happy to be at Tigh Beg that we tend to spend our time there and not out and about exploring the area thus avoiding too many trips on the road and never after dark.
The cottage is well cared for, clean and fresh every time. I do think the living room furnishings are getting a bit tired and worn. A refresh would make things much more comfortable but there is nothing to keep one from visiting and enjoying every minute of this special get-away-from-it-all place.


John from Stillwater stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in June 2018


A remote location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage and the location. It was delightful to be remote and feel the bustle of the world receding as we settled in.
We were very lucky to have three days of glorious weather. The cottage was cosy during the cold wet days. It is very well equipped. Any suggestions we would make would be to have a removable sail shade on the outside seating area, (it was very hot), and a tray would have been useful. We couldn’t get the tv to work.... we didn’t particularly mind but others may.
Thank you


Caroline from Beaminster stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in May 2018


A great escape

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tigh Beg is the perfect escape from the stresses of modern life. No internet and pot-holed approach means it is a place for devotees and nature-lovers. On this visit we saw deer, fox, buzzard, golden eagles (maybe), heron, cormorants, oyster catchers and many more birds that we could not name.

Only complaints: we broke our nails trying to open the key safe, and would have preferred linen teacloths to the chic black microfibres ones!


Fiona from Polegate stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in May 2018


Wonderful cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Tigh Beg Croft is such a truly special place & very difficult to leave it is magical.We were there 3 years ago only just got back after a month & can't wait to go back again it is very comfortable& cosy with wonderful log fires fantastic views especially from bed best place we've ever been.


Patricia from Clevedon stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 28 nights in January 2018


Tigh beg

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay at the cottage. It is a very special place, it never fails to amaze with its natural beauty and wild elements.we hope to return soon.

Patrick from London stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in December 2017


A lovely short, winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is lovely and had everything we needed. We stayed on a very cold weekend and the property was warm. We didn't even need to light the fire. The track leading to the cottage isn't for the feight hearted driver and the walk down was very muddy so boots and a torch needed

Sara from Kelty stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 3 nights in November 2017


No words

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just amazing ... Landscape, location, ... and last but not least services from West Coast Cottage ! I sent an email the day before our departure at 8 PM, I received a complete answer at ... 8.02 PM. Just a perfect service.

Once again, thank you so much for all the things, and see you soon !

Thierry & family (Belgium)


Thierry from Roux stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in October 2017


Locatin, location, location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful place. Nature draws you in and you become mesmerised by the ever changing moods of the loch and the hills beyond. Wonderful skyscapes too.

The cottage is very well equipped and it very quickly felt like home from home. We were there as a couple which was perfect - our view is that it would be too cramped for 6 people but we like space.

It was lovely being able to watch the views from inside the cottage on rainy days and just pottering and ambling around the shore was soul soothing.

We had a wonderful time here. Next time we would bring less luggage. We found the handcart heavy and difficult to pull up the hill - particularly as the ground was very boggy after several days of rain. Having said that it wouldn’t have been a problem at all ten years ago!


Ruth from Penzance stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in October 2017


Superb property

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay - the cottage is in very good condition and exceptionally clean. Excellent service and communication at all times.

Guest from Aberdeenshire stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in September 2017


Ring of Bright water

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It's the very same croft used in the film, but done up to a very high standard. Utterly remote (miles from anyone else and you park up early and use a wheelbarrow to get down to the cottage) with beautiful views and set in acres and acres of land. Has everything you need. Bumpy track but our Vauxhall Astra just about coped. This is perfect for an off grid escape. We loved it.

Andrew from London stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in September 2017


Peace for the mind body and soul.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I could say plenty of things about this place, but would not do this cottage and surrounding private coastline and area justice..
As many before have come and gone, multiple times to Tigh Beg, that is proof enough that this is a magical peaceful and very private please to stay. It's takes you away from the joys of 21st century life !! And puts you in a place where the topic of conversation is, look at that Seal, Eagle, Sheep, or just wave at the passing fishermen as they go to sea. That is the hardest task of the day. Believe me. It's the simple life for me and a very grounding place to spend quality time with your family. See, I have said too much and not done it justice. It's perfect.. and the house and location soothes the soul, rain or shine, which is generally both in one day, but never a problem.


Sean from Leeds stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in August 2017


The Little Paradies

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage is beautifull and is in a little paradies. We love it!!!
Only the street is a bit adventrous.


Simone from Wuppertal stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in June 2017


tigh beg croft

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tigh beg is a wonderful place.so peaceful!
We love to come back!lovely scenery,nice cottage and comfortble


P from Wichden stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in May 2017


Great Place to be - once you get there

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
...we nearly lost hope on our way down the dirt road as it seemed to be soooo long. Maybe a small map would help. But that should not distract from the fact that we had an excellent time in the house which was in perfect shape for our group of 6 (grandparents, parents and kids) from 82-7. We had some small observations on some items in the household that we eventually never shared as they were no hassle to us - but maybe would be easier for the houseowner/managing company to have a simple report form or so, given phone signal is not so great at times.

Going to Oban from the croft takes some 20-30 mins, thus be prepared for this. All in all - beautiful location, plenty of things the kids could do around the house and on the small beach, lovely sheep on the terrace - full success.


Eileen from GP Rijwijk stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in April 2017


Excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you are looking for a secluded get away with no contact from the outside world then this is the place for you. Idyllic surroundings. Tigh Beg Croft is a well decorated tardis, small on the outside but deceptively spacious inside. Upkeep of the property is good. Very well equipped kitchen with good quality utensils and pots and pans and everything you need to cook every day.

Only negative for us is the very steep ladder up to the large loft room. Signal for your phone is at its best up there. We decided not to go up there after a few days as we were wary of slipping on the narrow treads down. There's no landline phone so you have to know where to stand to get a reasonable mobile signal (we are with O2). It's only gprs out here if you get a signal. Bit worrying if there was an accident and you needed help. This didn't bother us too much but the thought did enter our minds. Also if you don't like sheep at close proximity this is not the place for as there is sheep poo everywhere but it is the countryside and we loved being around the sheep and lambs. Be aware that you can't park close to the property so you park at the top of the hill and carry your luggage down in a large metal trolley. Hill is a bit steep but not impossible. Helps you stay fit! You also need some cash for the end of your stay to pay for electricity which for us didn't amount to much (£9.00 for the week). Logs etc are charged at £18 for the week if used.

Such a wonderful place that we have already re booked for next year to avoid disappointment. Husband wants to go back in October but I'm not sure about the rainy weather at that time of the year.


Sharon from Fleet stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in May 2017


excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a charming place for holidays, only in the rainy season it can be a very arduous journey to the Cottage.

Ostrei from Helmstadt stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in April 2017


Time to relax

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic location. Great cottage. Saw sea eagle and otters. Only negative we had to leave and flat tyre on wheelbarrow with no way to inflate it.

Sarah from Penryn stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 4 nights in January 2017


The ultimate get-away

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our short stay in this awesome place. The house is really comfortable and warm, and had everything we could need. The farm track is not for the faint hearted. On the up side, it does help add to the feeling of getting away from it all.

Susanna from Carnforth stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 2 nights in December 2016


Just Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were looking to 'stop the world and get off' for a few days and this is just what Tigh Beg is all about. Not a house, not a person in sight; no phones, no internet, no noise - and yet with all mod cons and everything you could ask for in a small cosy cottage on the edge of a sea loch in the middle of nowhere! It was utterly perfect.
We spent a week relaxing, walking, fishing but mostly sitting on rocks and watching the wildlife. We saw an otter, seals, deer, porpoises, eagles and a wonderful array of seabirds. The views and autumn colours were spectacular and with the weather being surprisingly good we had a wonderful week.
it was perfect for two people. It would accommodate 4 easily and although it sleeps 6 I think it would feel a little cramped with that many people especially if the weather wasn't good - as there is only seating for 4 in the living area and only 4 chairs at the kitchen table.
Booking was easy; we were sent all the relevant information, any questions we had were answered promptly and the cottage was exactly as they said it would be. Didn't really understand having to pay for electricity as an additional cost - that one was new to me but it wasn't much as the heating is very efficient and paying extra for firewood seems standard.
If you are looking to get away from it all I cannot recommend Tigh Beg Croft highly enough. We loved it. We will certainly be back


Jo from Penrith stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in November 2016


Secluded bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, well equipped cottage in a beautiful and quiet location yet still only a short drive from Oban. My friends and I loved it!

Ryan from Choppington stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 3 nights in November 2016


Look at the stars.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you want to escape the rat race just for a while this is the place to stay.
The location is stunning, the cottage is cosy, the stars are amazing and the peace is bliss.
Wether you simply sit outside and enjoy the view, or drive to little islands unchanged by time you couldn't find a better place to be.
Try it.... youll be back!


Guest from Hexham stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in October 2016


Stunning Location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This croft cottage gives you the perfect Scottish Highland experience. Just 10 mins from Oban but the cottage is so private with stunning views, lovely private beach perfect for a beach fire whilst enjoying the sunset. Cottage very modern inside with all the mod cons.

Nicolette from Auray stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 2 nights in October 2016


Absolutely stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had originally planned this holiday with my father as we had a family holiday close to the croft that was fabulous, he unfortunately died in a car accident, so I made the decision to still go
What a fantastic place to reflect, have time out and enjoy the peace and solitude. The croft had lots of space with the loft conversion creating another fabulous room!
The scenery was amazing and waking up looking out the windows was gorgeous.
I would recommend this for anyone, family, couples retreat, singles wanting time out


V from Ashbourne stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in October 2016


Peaceful break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing stay at Tigh Beg. As soon as we had navigated the track and getting our stuff down in the trolley, we shut the door, lit the fire and took in the amazing view. Waking up to that view and the peace and quiet each day was heavenly. If you don't want to see another person for a week you can bolt yourself away, wifi free and totally relax. The cottage was very clean and tidy (I always inspect for cleanliness and the standards were excellent) and it is also very well equipped with everything you might need for a week away from home. We'll definitely be returning for another 'away from it all' week.

Helen from Haslemere stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in September 2016


Wonderful location, perfect for our group of 5 adults, beautiful landscape, prefect to relax

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
there is not more to say than in the summary above: simply terrific!

Thanks to near by Pub - Barns - with its polite staff and good meals help to reduce our cooking effort!


Konrad from Uhldingen Mühlhofen stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in September 2016


A special location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked last-minute a few weeks before travel (unbelievably!) for a week's holiday with my wife and two kids (2 +4). Once we'd negotiated the rather exciting off-road section of final stages Of the approach, we parked at, what seemed to be, the end Of the road. I explored the rest Of The steep path on foot and there was Tigh Beg. An incredible view and one that's never been bettered in my experience.
The property itself is fairly comfortable with good amenities. However, it's a bit weird it sleeps 6 and seats just 4! We peeped up into the top bedroom but closed it off as the stairs were definitely not for preschool children (slightly less arduous then a rope ladder) and just used the downstairs for the full duration.
We were very lucky with the August weather and spent a lot of time outside as a result. The kids loved the little rocky beach and I loved the birdwatching. We even made a fire down there in an existing shallow and cooked marshmallows. The fishing wasn't a success though. I tried spinning for mackerel but lost all my tackle on the many rocks off shore. I would advise float fishing and a pair of non slippy shoes to negotiate the rocks.
I saw the otter on one morning and a Marsh harrier on another day but no eagles (we had to go to Mull for that) having said that a pair of good binoculars is a must.
It's 20 mins on a good day to get to the main rd but once you've done that it's two mins to Oban where you'll find all the shops you'll ever need.
All in all a great find and somewhere we'd definitely return to but we'd probably wait a few years till the kids were a bit older (we didn't let them out of our sight for the week due to rocks and open water).
Negatives were general cleanliness Of The place, could have been better and lack of internet but some may see this being off grid as a plus. Also the electricity bill at the end of the week was a bit strange as well.
Positives was the situation you're in. The views. The wildlife. The best bit though, is that you're completely alone-priceless in this day and age. A wow place that will live with us for ever.


Mark from Sunderland stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in August 2016


Amazing Place

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always (this is our third visit) an amazing place. So peaceful and tranquil. We had 2 good days of sunshine (June). This really is far from the "madding crowd". We enjoyed trips into Oban and on the Jacobite Railway.
You have to pay for your electricity before you leave, and we would rather this cost be included in the cost of the cottage initially.
You have to be prepared to drive about 20 mins from the main road to the cottage, but this adds to the beautiful isolation of it.





Linda Jane from Lymington stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in June 2016


One of a Kind Get-away

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth year at Tigh Beg and we were not disappointed. This is a one of a kind accommodation, certainly not for everyone but perfect for the two of us.
Every morning we woke to bird song and lambs calling for their mum. The North Sea calmly comes in and goes out and enjoying the evening sitting on the rocks, dangling your feet in the cool water, was pure joy for me. Lunch was often on a point looking over at the Isle of Mull and once we were even entertained by otters catching and eating their lunch along with us. Supper might, if weather permits, be on the patio overlooking a gorgeous view.
On the downside, coming and going to this lovely seaside cottage is not always easy and the upstairs bedroom is only reached by a sturdy wooden ladder.
I cannot recommend Tigh Beg enough if you are fit and enjoy nature. It is well kept, comfortable and as private as any self-catering property can be.


John from Stillwater stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in June 2016


Wonderful week

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Tigh Beg was magical, helped by the best weather ever. Wonderful views wherever you look, great walking, and the cottage as cosy and welcoming as ever.

Fiona from London stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in May 2016


Great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic holiday. Lovely setting with very clean and extensive facilities. Very good customer service. Will certainly visit the cottage again in the future.

Guest from Aberdeenshire stayed at Tigh Beg Croft for 7 nights in April 2016