FB Twitter

Achalic Beag

Achalic Beag

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like peace and quiet but don’t want to be too far away from Oban this is the place for you. Beautiful cottage, well looked after with spacious bedrooms and living accommodation. The kitchen is well stocked for self catering and the utility room is a godsend for drying wet boots and clothes in the unpredictable Scottish weather. It is well placed to explore the beautiful west coastline. We ate at the barn bar one evening which was lovely but cooked for ourselves most of the time. There is also a barbecue which i don’t think is mentioned on the website info. There are several supermarkets 10 minutes drive away. There is a washer and dryer in the utility but one thing to point out is that the water is quite discoloured (brown), which is explained in the information available in the cottage, so not good for washing light coloured clothing which I found to my cost. We would definitely return if visiting this area again

Janet from Sedgefield stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in July 2019


Achalic Beag

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Well appointed and comfortable. Stunning views from every window. Ideal location to explore Oban, the islands and the lochs and glens of Argyle and Bute.


Louisa from Bexhill On Sea stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in June 2019


Two Day Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely property surrounded by beautiful scenery . Pretty secluded, great for a short break. Would recommend.

Peter from Edinburgh stayed at Achalic Beag for 2 nights in May 2019


Great location, comfortable cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and i stayed for a week with our 2 year old son. The cottage is spacious and beautifully decorated, with wonderfully comfy beds, lovely furniture and a cosy log burner. It was a home from home - we had everything we needed, including washing machine and tumble dryer, and lots of practical things for staying with a toddler (high chair, bath mat, nightlight) as well as a fab selection of bedtime stories.
The kitchen is well resourced and we could easily and comfortably cook meals at the cottage.
The location is the really amazing thing - we could walk, jog or cycle along the quiet road past fields of lambs and horses, down to the marina, or go for walks in the hills from our door. The local pub is a half hour walk away over fields, and does pub grub. Even though we felt we were in the middle of the secluded countryside, we were just a 10-minute drive from the centre of Oban, which has great seafood restaurants, supermarkets and shops, and ferry access to the islands - we went on a day trip to Mull. A brilliant, active, comfortable family holiday spot!


Fiona from stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in April 2019


Idyllic Highland cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Achalic Beag is a beautiful cottage with plenty of space and a fabulous setting. The bedrooms are both very spacious, the master in particular, and the kitchen had all the bits and pieces we needed for a week of cooking (in terms of equipment I mean). The stove is lovely to have in the living room too and was really nice to snuggle up in front of. Would recommend staying to anyone.

Hannah from stayed at Achalic Beag for 1 nights in March 2019


Cottage by beautiful sea loch

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A bit of a find! Remote and beautiful cottage, sheep all around, but town and shops (M&S Food, Tesco, Aldi) an easy 10 mins drive, local bar and restaurant up the road (walkable). Particularly like the large boot room as you walk in can sit on a pew and leave walking boots here, put any muddy things straight into the washer. Also excellent WiFi = everyone happy. Very spacious sitting and bedrooms, log stove, kitchen stuff high spec and lots of it. V comfy beds, blackout curtains and blinds, some wild weather one night but very cosy inside. All in all highly recommended.

Lynda from stayed at Achalic Beag for 14 nights in February 2019


Perfect, spacious, clean and warm cottage in a stunningly beautiful spot.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this fabulous holiday cottage – beautifully situated in a quiet spot yet just a few minutes to town for daily essentials and a few luxury treats! The cottage is deceptively spacious with large bedrooms, kitchen and lounge and is very clean and comfortable. The furnishings and beds are very good quality and luxurious with thick curtains making for a restful night’s sleep. The kitchen is very well equipped and has nice personalised touches which make the place seem quite homely, unique and special. Another highlight is the nearby Barn Bar, which is an easy walk away for a drink or supper – particularly lively on a Friday night! All in all a great place to spend a week or longer as there’s lots to do in the local area and the cottage is a great place to just sit and unwind by the fire. We had a great stay and will definitely be back next year – we can thoroughly recommend the place.

Chris and the Wilson family, Perthshire


Chris from stayed at Achalic Beag for 9 nights in January 2019