FB Twitter

The Cider Mill

The Cider Mill

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 4 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


Great Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this last minute having been let down by a previous booking elsewhere and it was lovely, in a beautiful location, garden enchanting. First morning there we watched a squirrel dig a shoulder depth hole on the lawn to bury an apple. They came most days to forage nuts etc off the lawn. We even had a parrot with us which was accommodated, which was great. There were lots of birds in the garden as well, so you could just sit and watch. Lovely quiet area. Plenty of parking. We had a lovely meal in the Portway Inn at the bottom of the lane, especially as there were three coeliacs in the party. Hope to return at some point, preferably when things are back to normal as a lot of places were still closed. Definitely recommend

Vivienne from Newton Aycliffe stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in September 2020


Anna PG replied 159 days ago
What a great review thank you! Delighted to hear you enjoyed watching the squirrels eating the fallen apples and the abundance of birds who love the garden. The garden reflects is a blissful pocket of nature at its best and is so peaceful and beautiful. The Cider Mill is a wonderful holiday home where you can recharge the batteries and relax particularly during these challenging times. Come back and stay with us again please.

Fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is delightful and very comfortable and is ideally placed for long walks. The local farm shop has everything one could possibly need and is less than two miles away.

Guest from Bishopthorpe stayed at The Cider Mill for 10 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied 200 days ago
Another full five star review for the Cider Mill. Another guest who has had a 'fabulous stay' in this very comfortable mill house with beautiful garden. It has fabulous and numerous walks from the door and a farm shop which is superb for those who like cooking and if you dont like cooking the 'ready prepared food' is equally as good. Hope to see you return. Best wishes

A lovely week

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing week at The Cider Mill. Great location right by the river, where we swam and did kayaking. Absolutely brilliant farm shop close by so no need for other supermarket shopping. Fantastic Italian style ice creams made on site. Would recommend and stay again in the future.
Thank you Anna for seeing us through the new COVID guidelines. All very easy.


Jane from Harpenden stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied 212 days ago
What a lovely review. These are our second guests and they state 'they would recommend to friends and would like to stay again'. That says it all really. I know the weather was good; the sun shone; excellent local food was sourced and kayaking and wild swimming in the Wye was enjoyed. Bliss. Come back and stay again soon. Best wishes Anna

First Stay at the Cider Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Mill boasts a superb location, situated as it is close to the River Wye and in the beautiful village of Monnington-on-Wye. The sweeping and perfectly manicured driveway leads to a garden filled with an abundance of bright flowers, comfortable seating and dining area and an enchanting cider mill. It is a haven of tranquility for the city-weary visitor. The three large bedroom cottage has a rustic charm with all the modern amenities: a very well stocked and workable kitchen, tasteful furnishings, and washing/drying facilities placed in a separate outhouse. Our week’s stay was far too short as we explored Monnington’s noble avenues of lawns, labyrinth of bridle paths, and idyllic river banks. The cottage is perfectly located and in easy reach for all those who wish to stroll around the bustling town of Hay-on-Wye or for those who enjoy easy walks/invigorating hikes across stunning landscape. We thoroughly recommend the spacious but homely Cider Mill for all travellers – and look forward to returning.

Michael from Bristol stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied 220 days ago
I am so pleased our first guests have left us the FULL FIVE STARS. Such a relief to know my efforts have worked and they have loved and enjoyed the Cider Mill and wish to return. I agree, it is haven, the garden is beautiful and of course this pocket of the Wye Valley is dreamy. Walking by the Wye is so relaxing. The roses in the garden were in full bloom and obviously appreciated by themselves. Come and stay with us next year. Best wishes Anna