FB Twitter

The Cider Mill

The Cider Mill

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


The Cider Mill is a gorgeous holiday house on one level surrounded by a beautiful and mature garden. It has 3 double bedrooms each of which has its own bathroom/shower room. The kitchen/sitting room is a stunning room with high vaulted ceiling and plenty of space. It over looks the beautiful garden where there is a south facing terrace with garden furniture and bbq. Walking from the door. Shared use of the playing field, rustic table tennis room and games room which are located in the outbuildings at Monnington House.

Lovely quiet location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We required a bolthole to escape the weird world we all seem now to be living in! This property fitted the bill and we had a very comfortable 3 night stay along with another couple, using 2 of the 3 bedrooms. The Cider Mill is in a tucked away location with virtually no passing traffic and with some pleasant walks around and about. The cottage style gardens are quite private and attractive, there is also plenty of parking. The lounge is large and has a pair of very comfortable sofas. The wifi speed was great here, however we were a little disappointed to find that the property was not equipped with a smart TV to watch streamed content or a stereo to listen to some music. The only other challenge we encountered was cooking in the rather small kitchen with a somewhat limited supply of pans and utensils. The location is great for exploring with beautiful countryside all around and there are a fantastic choice of historic cities, towns and villages within easy reach to visit. A special mention must be made for the Oakchurch Farm Shop in Staunton on Wye (a short drive up the road) which stocks and sells some of the most delicious local produce.

Vic from Wellington stayed at The Cider Mill for 3 nights in September 2021


Anna PG replied 17 days ago
Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted you would recommend the Cider Mill to your friends - its always good to know. The location is blissfully quiet and the walks from the door are an added bonus. Wifi is great which is a huge, huge plus today. Comments regarding the pans and tv are noted. Come back and stay with us again. Best wishes

A relaxing and secluded retreat. Comfortable bedrooms and beautiful outdoor space.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Mill offers comfortable accommodation in a quiet and secluded location. The en-suite bedrooms are well appointed and adequately spacious. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are well equipped. We appreciated the generous welcome pack and soon settled in. The gardens offered a quiet and peaceful place to appreciate the wildlife, shrubs and flowers. The dark skies provided an opportunity to enjoy star gazing. A most enjoyable and relaxing stay in this attractive part of Herefordshire. The nearby farm shop was a convenient source of supply for good quality local produce.

Ernest from Stroud stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in September 2021


Anna PG replied 41 days ago
What a lovely review - thank you for taking the time to write one. The Cider Mill is a 'relaxing and secluded retreat' and does have the most beautiful garden. I am glad you enjoyed the house and its facilities and and dark skies where you could star gaze. Come back and stay with us again soon. Best wishes

The Cider Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a really enjoyable stay at the Cider Mill. Lovely Garden, great facilities and a beautiful location.

Guest from Tonbridge stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in August 2021


Anna PG replied 54 days ago
Thank you for posting this review. Its lovely news you would recommend the Cider Mill to others - thank you.

Short stay at the Cider Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a short break Monday to Saturday at the Cider Mill. The place was very tidy and clean. COVID measures are taken very seriously, although this means you have to leave earlier and arrive later to accommodate this. You get a food welcome pack which is welcome.
Each room has en-suite which is a lovely touch and you just sink into the mattresses!
You are very secluded even though there are other properties close by you are not overlooked giving you a peaceful stay.
Anna is very helpful and a minor issue we had one evening was sorted out first thing the next morning.
All in all a lovely stay in a very well presented cottage.


Mike from Northampton stayed at The Cider Mill for 5 nights in July 2021


Anna PG replied 78 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and am delighted you would recommend us to your friends. I am so pleased you found the Cider Mill clean and tidy and gave us the full 5 and you noted we take COVID measures very seriously here. These measures are to protect our guests, our staff and our family and to keep us all safe. The beds are always commented on. I value a very good nights sleep in a large bed with luxurious linen. It does make a difference. I am delighted housekeeping were able to supply an additional soap dispenser quickly. Please come back and stay with us again. Best wishes

Lovely place and high standard of accommodation.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and surroundings were even better than our expectation from the website. Very quiet except for wonderful birdsong. (This was June, a good month for birds) A high standard of accommodation including delightful terrace with dining table and a sitting area with really comfortable seats. It's in a tiny hamlet, on a narrow lane and you can walk out of the gate and stroll around safely along the lane and some nearby paths. There's an excellent farm shop very close - walking distance but walking not advised as the route is a narrow road without a verge. While it's tempting just to stay around the house there are plenty of places to visit in the area and opportunities for serious walking. One slight warning: the travel cot provided is rather basic with a thin, hard mattress and sides not adjustable. It didn't work for the 5 month year old with us but might do for a toddler? . One odd condition is a charge for 'day visitors'. Not sure what exactly it means but if taking the house because of friends or family in the area it might mean you are supposed to pay extra every time they drop in for tea which seems a bit hard. Otherwise we would completely recommend it and hope to return ourselves.

Margaret from London stayed at The Cider Mill for 10 nights in June 2021


Anna PG replied 123 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review - "lovely place and high standard of accommodation". Its great to know you will recommend the Cider Mill to friends and intend to return soon. This says it all. I must endeavour to improve the photos to demonstrate how truly lovely and special the Cider Mill is. The Cider Mill was launched in March 2020 and because of the pandemic photographs have been taken by me. They are obviously not good enough! The travel cot is suitable for 0 - 3 years. A very young baby might prefer to sleep and feel more secure in its own small moses basket? We now no longer accept day visitors to the property as there are shared facilities on site. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Lovely stay at The Cider Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing stay at The Cider Mill, a lovely house, beautiful gardens, and a peaceful location with walks right from the door. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor space and playing football and cricket in the field. The house is very clean and comfortable with 3 en-suite bedrooms. We hope to go back soon!

Guest from Coventry stayed at The Cider Mill for 4 nights in April 2021


Anna PG replied 188 days ago
A full 5 star review from guests staying as we reopen after lockdown. How wonderful and thank you. I know you loved the walking from the door, the safe outside space and the beautiful garden. Thank you for noting the house was very clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes

Great Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this last minute having been let down by a previous booking elsewhere and it was lovely, in a beautiful location, garden enchanting. First morning there we watched a squirrel dig a shoulder depth hole on the lawn to bury an apple. They came most days to forage nuts etc off the lawn. We even had a parrot with us which was accommodated, which was great. There were lots of birds in the garden as well, so you could just sit and watch. Lovely quiet area. Plenty of parking. We had a lovely meal in the Portway Inn at the bottom of the lane, especially as there were three coeliacs in the party. Hope to return at some point, preferably when things are back to normal as a lot of places were still closed. Definitely recommend

Vivienne from Newton Aycliffe stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in September 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review thank you! Delighted to hear you enjoyed watching the squirrels eating the fallen apples and the abundance of birds who love the garden. The garden reflects is a blissful pocket of nature at its best and is so peaceful and beautiful. The Cider Mill is a wonderful holiday home where you can recharge the batteries and relax particularly during these challenging times. Come back and stay with us again please.

Fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is delightful and very comfortable and is ideally placed for long walks. The local farm shop has everything one could possibly need and is less than two miles away.

Guest from Bishopthorpe stayed at The Cider Mill for 10 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Another full five star review for the Cider Mill. Another guest who has had a 'fabulous stay' in this very comfortable mill house with beautiful garden. It has fabulous and numerous walks from the door and a farm shop which is superb for those who like cooking and if you dont like cooking the 'ready prepared food' is equally as good. Hope to see you return. Best wishes

A lovely week

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing week at The Cider Mill. Great location right by the river, where we swam and did kayaking. Absolutely brilliant farm shop close by so no need for other supermarket shopping. Fantastic Italian style ice creams made on site. Would recommend and stay again in the future.
Thank you Anna for seeing us through the new COVID guidelines. All very easy.


Jane from Harpenden stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review. These are our second guests and they state 'they would recommend to friends and would like to stay again'. That says it all really. I know the weather was good; the sun shone; excellent local food was sourced and kayaking and wild swimming in the Wye was enjoyed. Bliss. Come back and stay again soon. Best wishes Anna

First Stay at the Cider Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Mill boasts a superb location, situated as it is close to the River Wye and in the beautiful village of Monnington-on-Wye. The sweeping and perfectly manicured driveway leads to a garden filled with an abundance of bright flowers, comfortable seating and dining area and an enchanting cider mill. It is a haven of tranquility for the city-weary visitor. The three large bedroom cottage has a rustic charm with all the modern amenities: a very well stocked and workable kitchen, tasteful furnishings, and washing/drying facilities placed in a separate outhouse. Our week’s stay was far too short as we explored Monnington’s noble avenues of lawns, labyrinth of bridle paths, and idyllic river banks. The cottage is perfectly located and in easy reach for all those who wish to stroll around the bustling town of Hay-on-Wye or for those who enjoy easy walks/invigorating hikes across stunning landscape. We thoroughly recommend the spacious but homely Cider Mill for all travellers – and look forward to returning.

Michael from Bristol stayed at The Cider Mill for 7 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased our first guests have left us the FULL FIVE STARS. Such a relief to know my efforts have worked and they have loved and enjoyed the Cider Mill and wish to return. I agree, it is haven, the garden is beautiful and of course this pocket of the Wye Valley is dreamy. Walking by the Wye is so relaxing. The roses in the garden were in full bloom and obviously appreciated by themselves. Come and stay with us next year. Best wishes Anna