FB Twitter

The Cider Mill (6)

The Cider Mill (6)

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


The Cider Mill is a gorgeous holiday house on one level surrounded by an enclosed, beautiful and mature garden in the Wye Valley. It is located close to the River Wye, about 10 minutes by foot and has numerous walking trails straight from the door including the Bredwardine to Byford section of the Wye Valley Walk. It is surrounding by rural farmland and acres of cider orchards. It is peaceful and tranquil and yet surprisingly connected to nearby activities, market towns, galleries and pubs/restaurants.

It has 3 double bedrooms with super king beds (which can be split by arrangement) each of which has its own bathroom/shower room. The kitchen/sitting room is a stunning room with high vaulted ceiling and plenty of space. It has a lovely dining area with beautiful elm table from India and a separate sitting area with 2 leather sofas and a kelim ottoman surrounding a faux wood burner. It over looks the beautiful and mature garden. There is a south facing terrace with garden furniture. A large parasol and weber bbq are available during the summer months. A house badminton set is provided for use on the lawn.

There is a wonderful farm shop, Oakchurch only 1.8 miles from the house. It sells fabulous local produce including meat, vegetables and fruit and has an excellent selection of home made cooked food. A local italian catering company delivers home made food each Friday which should preordered 7 days in advance. There is a breadth of good eating pubs within 20 minutes drive including The Killpeck Inn, the Stagg at Titley and the Cider Barn .

Guests are never bored. The Weir Gardens which are built on the banks of the Wye are only 4 miles away. Hereford Cathedral and its marvellous Mappi Mundi always amazes everyone and how they perceived the world in those days. A visit to Hay on Wye with its independent shops, cafes, galleries and cinema is uplifting. Wild swimming, llama trekking, mountain biking, canoeing and fishing and more are all available nearby.

Lovely accommodation surrounded by tranquil, rose- filled garden

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Mill was a real find as a venue suitable for my elderly parents with limited mobility, but also offering great walks for me and my dog. Spacious and tastefully decorated , thoughtfully equipped, great location but best of all, surrounded by a lovely garden where we could simply sit and enjoy the tranquility, amongst the roses.

Susanne from Newport stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in June 2024


Anna PG replied 32 days ago
Thank you for posting a full 5 Star Review. It is hugely appreciated. So pleased you and your parents and daughter enjoyed The Cider Mill with its 3 en suite bedrooms all on one level. The beautiful garden is brimming with blooms and roses at the moment and the birdsong is vibrant. I am delighted you were all able to enjoy this very special location in the beautiful Wye Valley. The walking from the door and choice of trails available really is a bonus. Please come back and stay with us again. Best wishes

Thoroughly recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Mill is a beautiful cottage, amazingly fitted out with all you could possibly need. Three extremely comfortable beds with en-suites. The garden is very pretty plus the addition of a small field for the dogs to use. Property fully enclosed too, which is a bonus.

Monnington on Wye is a quaint hamlet, lots of walks from the door, plus many further afield. So many apple orchards, which looked lovely with the blossom out.

Oak Church Farm Shop is a short drive away, cakes are amazing and lots of vegetables/meat if eating in.

We visited Hay on Wye, which was lovely, albeit drizzly! We also did lots of longer walks further afield, also visited Woebley with its pretty black and white houses.

We had a fabulous break, played lots of board games in the evening, which were supplied.

Would thoroughly recommend.


Fiona from Wotton under Edge stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 4 nights in April 2024


Anna PG replied 70 days ago
What a gorgeous 5 Star Review. Thank you. You visited The Cider Mill when the apple orchards are in blossom. Its a really special time and it looks and smells so lovely. Glad you enjoyed the numerous walks available from Monnington on Wye, the superb farm shop at the top of the lane and explored the wonderful towns of Hay on Wye and Weobley. I hope you will come back again and explore more, there's plenty more to do and see. You completed the jigsaw of The Cider Mill! Weldone, its challenging!

Quintessential English Country Garden close to the River Wye

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our Easter weekend staying at the Cider Milll. We chose the property based on the three main factors; the open bright open living space, enclosed garden (2 dogs) and location (easy to drive around but also walks from the front door) we were not disappointed. A really quaint, peaceful (amazing bird song each morning!), well equipped, and nicely designed place to stay. The recommendations for local walks and options for eating out were great!

Sharon from Postcombe stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in March 2024


Anna PG replied 102 days ago
What a great 5 Star Review. You have understood The Cider Mill completely. It has excellent accommodation with 3 en suite bedrooms and a spacious, light and bright sitting room, even during these past very wet weeks there is sunlight and joy. The pretty enclosed garden is beautiful and bonus is there is a choice of walking trails straight from the door. Yes, the birdsong is amazing and surprisingly powerful! Glad you enjoyed Sunday lunch at the Kilpeck Inn and also walked from the Cider Mill to Brobury House Gardens for brunch and on your return the dogs had a swim in the Wye. All sounds heavenly. Come back and stay again please.

Peaceful and relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the stars for this wonderful accommodation. Everything you could possibly want on your doorstep, great pubs, a town full of bookshops and a castle, peace and quiet and the most comfortable beds!

Tracey from Frome stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in February 2024


Anna PG replied 153 days ago
What a great 5 Star review. Glad you enjoyed the superking beds, they are super comfortable. Come back and stay with us again soon. Best wishes

Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had an extraordinary week here. The weather has been hot, in Sept. So we have had breakfast and dinner outside. The garden is lovely and peaceful. We were without transport for a couple of days and the neighbours were very kind and helpful. The house is incredibly well thought out and equipped. As forthe farm shop up the road...never found a better one and we have tried.

Jane from Greater Manchester stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in September 2023


Anna PG replied 311 days ago
What a simply wonderful 5 Star Review. Thank you. We all work hard to deliver so its wonderful to know our efforts are appreciated. You have been blessed with blissful weather this week and can imagine the lovely breakfasts and dinners you have enjoyed on the terrace whilst the birds chatter. Oakchurch farm shop is a dream. I have had some guests who have really got stuck into the outdoor activities available (canoeing,cycling, llama trekking) and not had time or energy to cook and bought homemade prepared foods for the week! Please come back and stay with us again...Best wishes

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay at the Cider Mill as a family of four plus our two dogs. It has a very well equipped kitchen area.
The bedrooms & en-suite facilities were excellent. In the lounge the sofas are very deep and not quite as comfortable as they look. The garden however is beautiful and it was lovely sitting outside in the evening & there are cushions for most of the outside chairs.
It was disappointing that there was no access to the Wye within walking distance, and the nearest pub is permanently closed. But the walk to Bredwardine was lovely.


Richard from Benfleet stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in August 2023


Anna PG replied 317 days ago
Hello thank you for posting your review. I am delighted you had a relaxing and pleasant stay at the Cider Mill. Good to know the kitchen is well equipped (we work hard at this) and you enjoyed our 3 luxury en suite bedrooms and the beautiful garden. Your comments regarding our sofas surprise me as they were specifically bought after thorough investigation, personal testing and after careful consideration of the reviews. We have not received any further comments on these sofas? Yes it is a shame the pub at the top of the lane has closed but the pub at Bredwardine which you can walk to (one hour) is great. Many of our guests walk here with their dogs. The walk is spectacular. Access to the Wye is available at Bredwardine which is noted on our website. With best wishes

A lovely place

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is a beautiful home from home accommodation in a wonderful spot to get away from it all with friends!

Janette from Stafford stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in August 2023


Anna PG replied 336 days ago
Thank you for posting such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear you all appreciated the quality and style of furnishings at the Cider Mill located in this very beautiful location in the Wye Valley. Come back and stay. Best wishes

Superb!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in such a lovely, comfortable & spacious cottage in a perfect, tranquil setting.
It was everything we needed & more.
It is a small hamlet which offers a great deal of interest. We recommend a visit to Oakchurch Farm Shop, Hay on Wye & to explore the walks direct from the door along the Wye Valley Way.


Barbara from Leicestershire stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in July 2023


A wonderful time!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in this spacious and very comfortable house, equipped with everything you need. It is tastefully decorated and a pleasure to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The garden is beautiful too! So a barbecue is a must especially with a very good farm shop just up the road. Cider Mill us an excellent place to share time with special friends or family.

Geoffrey from Bedford stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in July 2023


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely full 5 Star Review. Thank you. The Cider Mill as you have said provides spacious and very comfortable accommodation and is beautifully decorated. Its surrounding and location are special too. The team works hard maintaining the garden which thankfully our guests appreciate. Oakchurch the excellent farm shop is a winner every time. So pleased you enjoyed our accommodation with your family and special friends. Best wishes

The Cider Mill offers everything you need for a relaxing time away.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tucked away in the quiet hamlet of Monnington on Wye sits the wonderful Cider Mill. It is well laid out inside and beautifully decorated. Everything you need is here, luxury bedding and towels, it's warm and cosy. With lovely views out onto the pretty garden, which is full of spring flowers at the moment. To sit and listen to the many species of birds is idyllic. With lovely walks on the doorstep and Oak Church Farm shop (it's far more than just a farm shop) just a short distance away.
We hope to return later this year to enjoy The Cider Mill again.


Judith from Cheltenham stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in March 2023


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for giving us the full 5 Star Review. I am so pleased you have enjoyed all the comforts at the Cider Mill - the quality of the beds, the luxurious linens, the well equipped kitchen and the fantastic garden which is blooming at the moment. Yes I completely understand how you enjoyed coffee or wine on the terrace listening and watching the birds come and go. It is therapeutic. I look forward to welcoming you back later in the year. Best wishes

Country escape

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleasantly surprised. Incredibly comfortable, beds with fine linen, well equipped kitchen with sharp knives (what joy) warm, clean, stacks of hot water. Harden will look lovely in a month or two. Highly recommended

Bethell from Kintbury stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in February 2023


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review. I am so pleased you and your family and dog enjoyed staying at the Cider Mill at the end of February. Good to see you appreciated the sharp knives in the kitchen! There is great produce in Herefordshire especially at Oakchurch Farm shop which is only 1.8 miles from the house. Come back and stay with us again! Best wishes

Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property situated in Monnington on wye and surrounded by the Apple orchards and plenty of walks straight from the front door .
The Cottage is spacious and beautifully decorated with all the amenities and gadgets you need.
Local farm shop is superb with loads of choice and treats.
We stayed over Christmas and the cottage was decked out with tree and swags and looked lovely and inviting.
Would definitely recommend this cottage. Owners very helpful through the booking process and deposit returned in a timely way.
My only very very small request would be for a hover to be available - I understand people maybe don't want to hover when on holiday but we had a 10 stay with a dog and a hover would have been good - we did find and used a broom though so it was ok.
This was a very minor issue and would not deter me from recommending or staying again
Thanks Anna and Hugh for a lovely stay


David from Middlesbrough stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 10 nights in December 2022


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for submitting a detailed review. Its good to know you appreciated all the Christmas decorations which were made locally in Herefordshire. The walking available straight from the door is such a bonus to all our guests who stay with us. Point noted about the hoover. Come back and stay with us again.

The Cider Mill - November 2022

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was comfortable, clean and in a lovely setting. It was warm and well furnished and the beds were very comfortable.
Although the weather was varied, we enjoyed the garden and visiting local sites and exploring the surrounding countryside.
The main issues were the complete absence of any instructions on the use of the cooker and other white goods, the boiling hot water, which could be a health and safety hazard, as it was almost instant, and the very slow toaster. However, apart from these problems, which we overcame, we had a very enjoyable, relaxing break.


Anne from Olney stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in October 2022


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting a review. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay at The Cider Mill. There are now detailed instructions on site explaining how to use the extractor which I know you found challenging. Best wishes

Lovely accommodation in quiet location

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable accommodation. Sociable open plan living. 3 bedrooms with en suites. Well equipped kitchen. Walks from the door.
An information folder would have been useful - of things to do in area, walks from door, how to use oven etc. An ordnance survey would have been useful too.


Guest from Horsham stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in October 2022


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting a review. I hope you appreciated the extra efforts we went to to accommodate your requests during your stay. Our website details local activities and pubs to visit and were detailed in the email before you arrived. Best wishes

Little gem of a place

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our short stay at the Cider Mill. Lovely and quiet, nice walks and relaxing cottage and gardens. The cottage is very spacious, well equipped and well laid out.
A visit to the excellent Oakchurch farm shop is a must. Everything you need locally.
Also a visit to Hay-on-Wye just 20 miles away a good day out.


John from Congleton stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in September 2022


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting such a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed the Cider Mill which is such a lovely 5* property. I like you love shopping at Oakchurch and a visit to Hay on Wye. Come back and stay with us again. Best wishes

Lovely 3 bed accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful little house with well equipped accommodation
Comfortable and own garden
Highly recommended
Beautiful area of herefordshire


Guest from Barnet stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in July 2022


Fabulous House with an amazing garden

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 couples and a dog, this house was ideal. We each had our own en-suite with a very comfortable bed. The open plan kitchen, diner and lounge was perfect. The garden was beautiful and we were lucky with the weather and made great use of the outdoor seating.

Fiona from Chester stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in May 2022


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a great 5 star review from you. Its good to know 3 couples enjoyed their own bedroom with super comfortable bed and luxurious linen plus their own en suite bathroom. I also am very pleased the dog enjoyed it too. Our dogs love Monnington and enjoy the numerous walks available. Please come back and stay with us again. Best wishes

Great place to stay especially with Monnington House

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were part of a large group at the main house so this was perfect. The Cider Mill has everything for us to be independent with high quality fittings and equipment throughout. The beds were exceptionally comfortable.

Malcolm from Chinnor stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 4 nights in April 2022


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review - thank you. The Cider Mill is a superb property and can be taken independently as a sleeps 6 or as in your case together with Monnington House and Garden Cottage where the total number of sleeps is 24. I know your extended family enjoyed all our properties and you chose to stay in the Cider Mill. I am glad you appreciated the high quality furnishings and the quality of the beds and linen. Visit England recognised this and awarded the Cider Mill a 5 Star Gold award which we are delighted with. Best wishes

Lovely quiet location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We required a bolthole to escape the weird world we all seem now to be living in! This property fitted the bill and we had a very comfortable 3 night stay along with another couple, using 2 of the 3 bedrooms. The Cider Mill is in a tucked away location with virtually no passing traffic and with some pleasant walks around and about. The cottage style gardens are quite private and attractive, there is also plenty of parking. The lounge is large and has a pair of very comfortable sofas. The wifi speed was great here, however we were a little disappointed to find that the property was not equipped with a smart TV to watch streamed content or a stereo to listen to some music. The only other challenge we encountered was cooking in the rather small kitchen with a somewhat limited supply of pans and utensils. The location is great for exploring with beautiful countryside all around and there are a fantastic choice of historic cities, towns and villages within easy reach to visit. A special mention must be made for the Oakchurch Farm Shop in Staunton on Wye (a short drive up the road) which stocks and sells some of the most delicious local produce.

Vic from Wellington stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 3 nights in September 2021


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted you would recommend the Cider Mill to your friends - its always good to know. The location is blissfully quiet and the walks from the door are an added bonus. Wifi is great which is a huge, huge plus today. Comments regarding the pans and tv are noted. We have upgraded the tv to a Smart TV. Come back and stay with us again. Best wishes

A relaxing and secluded retreat. Comfortable bedrooms and beautiful outdoor space.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Mill offers comfortable accommodation in a quiet and secluded location. The en-suite bedrooms are well appointed and adequately spacious. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are well equipped. We appreciated the generous welcome pack and soon settled in. The gardens offered a quiet and peaceful place to appreciate the wildlife, shrubs and flowers. The dark skies provided an opportunity to enjoy star gazing. A most enjoyable and relaxing stay in this attractive part of Herefordshire. The nearby farm shop was a convenient source of supply for good quality local produce.

Ernest from Stroud stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in September 2021


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review - thank you for taking the time to write one. The Cider Mill is a 'relaxing and secluded retreat' and does have the most beautiful garden. I am glad you enjoyed the house and its facilities and and dark skies where you could star gaze. Come back and stay with us again soon. Best wishes

The Cider Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a really enjoyable stay at the Cider Mill. Lovely Garden, great facilities and a beautiful location.

Guest from Tonbridge stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in August 2021


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting this review. Its lovely news you would recommend the Cider Mill to others - thank you.

Short stay at the Cider Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a short break Monday to Saturday at the Cider Mill. The place was very tidy and clean. COVID measures are taken very seriously, although this means you have to leave earlier and arrive later to accommodate this. You get a food welcome pack which is welcome.
Each room has en-suite which is a lovely touch and you just sink into the mattresses!
You are very secluded even though there are other properties close by you are not overlooked giving you a peaceful stay.
Anna is very helpful and a minor issue we had one evening was sorted out first thing the next morning.
All in all a lovely stay in a very well presented cottage.


Mike from Northampton stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 5 nights in July 2021


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and am delighted you would recommend us to your friends. I am so pleased you found the Cider Mill clean and tidy and gave us the full 5 and you noted we take COVID measures very seriously here. These measures are to protect our guests, our staff and our family and to keep us all safe. The beds are always commented on. I value a very good nights sleep in a large bed with luxurious linen. It does make a difference. I am delighted housekeeping were able to supply an additional soap dispenser quickly. Please come back and stay with us again. Best wishes

Lovely place and high standard of accommodation.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and surroundings were even better than our expectation from the website. Very quiet except for wonderful birdsong. (This was June, a good month for birds) A high standard of accommodation including delightful terrace with dining table and a sitting area with really comfortable seats. It's in a tiny hamlet, on a narrow lane and you can walk out of the gate and stroll around safely along the lane and some nearby paths. There's an excellent farm shop very close - walking distance but walking not advised as the route is a narrow road without a verge. While it's tempting just to stay around the house there are plenty of places to visit in the area and opportunities for serious walking. One slight warning: the travel cot provided is rather basic with a thin, hard mattress and sides not adjustable. It didn't work for the 5 month year old with us but might do for a toddler? . One odd condition is a charge for 'day visitors'. Not sure what exactly it means but if taking the house because of friends or family in the area it might mean you are supposed to pay extra every time they drop in for tea which seems a bit hard. Otherwise we would completely recommend it and hope to return ourselves.

Margaret from London stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 10 nights in June 2021


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review - "lovely place and high standard of accommodation". Its great to know you will recommend the Cider Mill to friends and intend to return soon. This says it all. I must endeavour to improve the photos to demonstrate how truly lovely and special the Cider Mill is. The Cider Mill was launched in March 2020 and because of the pandemic photographs have been taken by me. They are obviously not good enough! The travel cot is suitable for 0 - 3 years. A very young baby might prefer to sleep and feel more secure in its own small moses basket? We now no longer accept day visitors to the property as there are shared facilities on site. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Lovely stay at The Cider Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing stay at The Cider Mill, a lovely house, beautiful gardens, and a peaceful location with walks right from the door. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor space and playing football and cricket in the field. The house is very clean and comfortable with 3 en-suite bedrooms. We hope to go back soon!

Guest from Coventry stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 4 nights in April 2021


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
A full 5 star review from guests staying as we reopen after lockdown. How wonderful and thank you. I know you loved the walking from the door, the safe outside space and the beautiful garden. Thank you for noting the house was very clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes

Great Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this last minute having been let down by a previous booking elsewhere and it was lovely, in a beautiful location, garden enchanting. First morning there we watched a squirrel dig a shoulder depth hole on the lawn to bury an apple. They came most days to forage nuts etc off the lawn. We even had a parrot with us which was accommodated, which was great. There were lots of birds in the garden as well, so you could just sit and watch. Lovely quiet area. Plenty of parking. We had a lovely meal in the Portway Inn at the bottom of the lane, especially as there were three coeliacs in the party. Hope to return at some point, preferably when things are back to normal as a lot of places were still closed. Definitely recommend

Vivienne from Newton Aycliffe stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in September 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review thank you! Delighted to hear you enjoyed watching the squirrels eating the fallen apples and the abundance of birds who love the garden. The garden reflects is a blissful pocket of nature at its best and is so peaceful and beautiful. The Cider Mill is a wonderful holiday home where you can recharge the batteries and relax particularly during these challenging times. Come back and stay with us again please.

Fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is delightful and very comfortable and is ideally placed for long walks. The local farm shop has everything one could possibly need and is less than two miles away.

Guest from Bishopthorpe stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 10 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
Another full five star review for the Cider Mill. Another guest who has had a 'fabulous stay' in this very comfortable mill house with beautiful garden. It has fabulous and numerous walks from the door and a farm shop which is superb for those who like cooking and if you dont like cooking the 'ready prepared food' is equally as good. Hope to see you return. Best wishes

A lovely week

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing week at The Cider Mill. Great location right by the river, where we swam and did kayaking. Absolutely brilliant farm shop close by so no need for other supermarket shopping. Fantastic Italian style ice creams made on site. Would recommend and stay again in the future.
Thank you Anna for seeing us through the new COVID guidelines. All very easy.


Jane from Harpenden stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review. These are our second guests and they state 'they would recommend to friends and would like to stay again'. That says it all really. I know the weather was good; the sun shone; excellent local food was sourced and kayaking and wild swimming in the Wye was enjoyed. Bliss. Come back and stay again soon. Best wishes Anna

First Stay at the Cider Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cider Mill boasts a superb location, situated as it is close to the River Wye and in the beautiful village of Monnington-on-Wye. The sweeping and perfectly manicured driveway leads to a garden filled with an abundance of bright flowers, comfortable seating and dining area and an enchanting cider mill. It is a haven of tranquility for the city-weary visitor. The three large bedroom cottage has a rustic charm with all the modern amenities: a very well stocked and workable kitchen, tasteful furnishings, and washing/drying facilities placed in a separate outhouse. Our week’s stay was far too short as we explored Monnington’s noble avenues of lawns, labyrinth of bridle paths, and idyllic river banks. The cottage is perfectly located and in easy reach for all those who wish to stroll around the bustling town of Hay-on-Wye or for those who enjoy easy walks/invigorating hikes across stunning landscape. We thoroughly recommend the spacious but homely Cider Mill for all travellers – and look forward to returning.

Michael from Bristol stayed at The Cider Mill (6) for 7 nights in July 2020


Anna PG replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased our first guests have left us the FULL FIVE STARS. Such a relief to know my efforts have worked and they have loved and enjoyed the Cider Mill and wish to return. I agree, it is haven, the garden is beautiful and of course this pocket of the Wye Valley is dreamy. Walking by the Wye is so relaxing. The roses in the garden were in full bloom and obviously appreciated by themselves. Come and stay with us next year. Best wishes Anna