FB Twitter

Troopers Barn

Troopers Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Accommodation Sleeps 11 in 5 bedrooms

Sleeps 11 – a sofa bed is available to sleep 12.


Ground Floor

Ground floor super king-size double and 1 single (zip/link, can be 3 singles on request) with TV,en-suite shower, basin and WC.

Two ground floor basin and WC.

Kitchen with breakfast bar.

Sitting room with dining area, dining table seats 12 and wood burner.

Staircase 1

First floor super king-size double with TV

Sofa bed on first floor landing

First floor Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC.

Staircase 2

First floor Bathroom with bath, basin and WC.

First floor king-size double with TV and en-suite shower, basin and WC

First floor double with TV and en-suite shower and basin

First floor childs twin (2x 3ft single beds) with TV

Garden

Hot tub in patio area

Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lot bigger property than we first thought. Well equipped. Lovely welcome gifts, the cake was very nice. Will definitely book again.



Excellent house for family groups

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend in Troopers barn with the Olde CowShed next door. This is our second visit and it didnt disappoint. Well furnished, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. All extremely clean.



Troopers Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent. Warm and cosy. We’ll equipped. Hot tub and welcome pack a bonus. Spacious. Thoroughly recommend.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have revisited Westhope many times and stayed in Troopers barn on this visit. All the accommodation is fantastic. On arrival a bottle of wine and freshly baked cake just give that bit extra to start your break. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and everything you need is provided. The location is so peaceful and just helps you relax and take in the fresh air. We will definitely be visiting again.



Another great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Just a few letdowns
Excessive wasps
Although in bad telephone area the Wi fi was not working so we could not use What's app




Lovely base to explore Shropshire

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was perfect for our group of 11 and in great condition with everything we required. Would Highly recommend.



Fab stay at Troopers Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just lovely - clean, comfy and well equipped in lovely peaceful countryside. Hot tubs were gorgeous.



Troopers barn

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing, we have had a wonderful weekend. The barn is fantastic, so much room, where you don't feel on top of each other. We came as a party of 22 over three barns, we all gathered in troopers barn on Saturday evening. There was room for us all, as we celebrated my husbands 70th birthday. We will certainly book again. Thank you. Sandra Edwards.



Great stay at Troopers Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location in close proximity to Ludlow and Church Stretton. Good facilities including hot tub. Very clean and well equipped. Wood burning stove is a good addition. Great list of items included with the a cake and bottle of wine being nice touches.



Fabulous stay !

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so pleased that we booked Troopers Barn for our family Christmas gathering -All e-mails leading up to our stay were answered quickly by the owner ,who greeted us upon arrival. The place had been decorated beautifully and homemade mince pies and mulled wine was left on the large dining table. (this proved to be the hub of our family activities)
Everything you could think of was supplied -As it was Christmas, I'd packed my own cooking trays ,roasting forks etc thinking we'd need them to do a full Christmas dinner but they had very well stocked cupboards and had plenty of everything.
The accommodation itself was lovely and roomy ,giving us all enough space to relax and enjoy ourselves.
The place was lovely and warm with nice bedding and pillows.
The hot tub was well maintained throughout our stay.
The Alpaca farm was a very short walk away and was an added bonus for 8mth old baby and 74 year old nannie who loved going to visit them.
Lovely walks just on your doorstep too.
We had booked the catering services (Jo at The Loft) for our first night and can recommend this - Jo turned up on our doorstep laden with boxes of fabulous meals that went down a treat (Extremely good value for money and really tasty and plentiful too)
The location is out in the sticks and has to be reached by very long narrow lanes (I'm not known for doing lanes !!) but even I got the hang of it by day two and would happily book again.




Family Reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend staying in Troopers. The layout of the barn meant that we could accommodate the little ones in the bedrooms at one end of the barn and the “oldies” at the other. There were 10 in our party but there was space for another 2. All the rooms were comfortable and very clean.

Downstairs the kitchen had everything you could need and the living room was roomy and great to get everyone together.
We took over Troopers and two other barns for our party and we had a great weekend. It really works well if your looking to find somewhere for a big get together.

The barns are a little in the middle of nowhere, so don’t run out of milk!!!




Great accommodation for a large party

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is in the middle of nowhere but once you get your bearings it’s very convenient for Shropshire Hills



Family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fabulous 3 night stay. Troopers barn was beautiful. The photos in the advertisement do not do this place justice it is far better. Had everything you needed for a self catering holiday. Would recommend this quality accommodation without hestitation. Just one point the barn is quite isolated so if you need a shop or pub it's about an 18 minute drive



A great week in a lovely setting

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely week in a well appointed house. Excellent location for walking and exploring the Shropshire countryside. Any problems were quickly and efficiently dealt with, friendly and helpful management. A great week.



Fantastic family weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful long weekend with family at troopers barn for husbands 50th birthday.The accommodation was amazing,cleanliness was 100%,an absolutely beautiful place to stay.The hot tub was a big hit! Had fun in the games room,and had some lovely walks with the dog.The owner and staff friendly and welcoming couldn't fault a thing about our stay-we didn't want to go home!!



Another great weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location set in rolling hills Very good amenities Slightly off the beaten track which makes for a restful stay



Perfect for a big group of families

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 4 of the houses for a big group of families and it was perfect. The houses themselves were all spotless and very nicely finished. There were lovely touches like a home-baked cake and a bottle of wine left in each house. The location is amazing - lots of places for long walks and beautiful rolling countryside all around. I highly recommend a stay!



a Big family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once we arrived having got a little bit lost the accommodation looked really welcoming, the buildings looked perfect in the landscape and once inside the space and facilities were excellent, we had every piece of equipment we required , the bedrooms were lovely with really comfortable beds and plenty of storage space, the outside space was lovely with lots of sitting down area, could have done with a few umbrella as the weather was really hot. It was lovely to look out of the window at the alpacas getting up to mischief and the sheep grazing . A really lovely few days which we all really enjoyed many thanks



Diamond Celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As our diamond wedding anniversary was fast approaching we were looking for a conveniently located venue that would accomodate a family gathering with people travelling from the USA as well as the north and south of England. Troopers Barn ticked all the boxes. A beautiful location in middle England, furnished and decorated to a high standard with an added bonus of the alpacas - a delightful surprise for the younger members of our party (and the oldies, too). Marianne and her staff were helpful, friendly and readily available. Even the weather smiled on us during our stay.
Well done to all.




Wonderful accommodation. Owner is so helpful & accommodating creating a relaxed comfortable ambience

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westhope Country Retreats is perfect for our annual family get together. 20 of us (and dogs) come together from different parts of the country to laugh, play games, walk, sightsee, eat and drink. Marianne and her team meet our needs brilliantly and oblige our requests to make the cottages as anti-allergy inducing as possible.



Ideal base to explore the Shropshire hills

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely converted barn in a quiet rural location. Cottage was well equipped and clean, with plenty of space for all 11 of us. The hot tub is great to wind down at the end of the day too. The cottages are quite remote, but only 30-40 min drive to a whole host of good attractions and beautiful countryside. The owners and staff at the holiday homes couldn’t have been more helpful. Would 100% recommend to anyone.



Great holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was perfect for a big group. It was also helpful that the layout had two upstairs areas - one with a single bedroom, another with 3. Kitchen, bathroom and living room facilities had everything we required. Hot tub was great. Couldn’t have needed more.



Troopers barn

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in troopers in January for our sons 30th birthday. Had a great time. Hot tub was great . It was so good we booked straight away for next year



Lovely big property in Shropshire countryside.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A family get-together which was a Xmas present from us to our children & grandchildren. The property was in excellent condition, very clean & tidy with plenty of room for 6 adults & 6 children. 5 bedrooms , most with en-suite bathrooms. Secluded area in a lovely part of the country with a field of alpacas opposite the property. The children loved them! A nice touch with a welcoming cake & bottle of wine & chocolate eggs! Big hot tub & barbecue with charcoal etc.in the rear garden. We had an excellent weekend & would do it again.



Beautiful Barn, highly recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked Troopers barn for a much needed break with friends. The barn is beautifully decorated and maintained and we loved our stay. The hot tub was just what we needed!