FB Twitter

The Wain House

The Wain House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


A delightful 19th Century barn conversion sleeps 6, consisting of three bedrooms:1 - Ground floor kingsize double with ensuite (separate shower, basin and WC)1 - First floor double1 - First floor twin.Hot Tub in patio garden.

Accommodation Sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms

Ground Floor

Ground floor kingsize double with ensuite, separate shower, basin and WC.

Kitchen/diner to dine 6

Sitting room to seat 6 with TV with Freesat and DVD player

First Floor

First floor double

First floor twin.

Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC.

Garden

Hot tub in patio area

A much needed break!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to The Wain House twice before, last years visit was cancelled so this year was so much more enjoyable. We will be back again. Not just the cottage but the lovely peaceful countryside nearby as well as easy access to The Long Mynd for stunning scenery and great walk. Also, the local town of Ludlow is wonderful.



Wonderful relaxing place to stay - home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 4 days, beautiful location (quite remote), excellent, homely accommodation. Host was just so lovely. Welcome pack on arrival, much appreciated. Would definitely recommend.

I would recommend going down to Craven Arms and then back to Westhope rather th turning left at Church Stretton




Wain House

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We booked this property because with the games room & hot tub it looked perfect for our 3 teenage children.
We were very disappointed not to have been able to move the date, as due to covid restrictions only myself & partner could go, as 2 kids were in lockdown at uni and 1 was told by school to self isolate.
Consequently we didn’t use the facilities & left on Sunday morning to get back to isolating teen hence I don’t feel we had value for money.





Great respite

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upon arrival we were welcomed with cake wine and chocolate which was a very nice touch and straight away made me feel relaxed.
The Wain house ticked every box that we required for our stay with our dog.




Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay at The Wain House. The wine, chocolate and home made cake was a lovely touch and the cake was delicious! The cleanliness of the house was superb, especially given these troubling times. I would recommend this place to anyone who’s looking for a nice break from the city or even just to get away for a few days for a change in scenery.



Staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a group of two adult couples in September 2020. We had a great time and enjoyed ourselves, making full use of the hot tub and the beautiful countryside around. Couple of downsides, it is quite far out in the middle of nowhere which was ok for us but might put some people off. Also we would recommend the owner puts some coasters on the living room and provides some fly spray as there were flies everywhere, particularly upstairs. Otherwise a very lovely stay and we would love to return.



Leaving the madness behind

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we approached the wain house what a wonderful sight a country house in the middle of nowhere
Creature comforts with the countryside around us
Beautiful




Very clean and well presented cottage loved the hot tub and views

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage great views clean and well presented with lovely hot tub and excellent games room for kids and adults to enjoy would definitely recommend this place to anyone superb



Family weekend together.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location. Very tastefully decorated and furnished. Private garden with hot tub was super. A nice surprise welcome cake and wine on arrival was a lovely personal touch. Within easy distance of Ludlow, Craven Arms and Church Stretton.



50th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing weekend celebrating my husbands 50th birthday. Lovely house, location and hot tub.



Value for Money.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good quality fittings, excellent support from the management, full range of cooking utensils, and equipment. The central heating and bathroom facilities, very good.

The only misleading information, was the distance to the nearest public house. It was a 15 minute DRIVE away.
I have given an Excellent rating for the directions to the property, but I used a road atlas!!!




Short getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved it. The house is beautifully decorated and the little extras were a nice touch- especially the lemon drizzle cake. It was amazing. Thankyou



Amazing!!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing gem of a place.
We all thoroughly loved our stay.
My daughters loved the hot tub especially.
Location is brilliant for easy access to all amenities (need to take the car)
Owner was great too and when we reported the hot tub controls was broken it was repaired within 24hrs.
We even got cake and wine on arrival.
Can’t wait for our next visit.
Also beds were so comfortable and cottage so well equipped.
Thanks for having us.




Fanfastic

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very quiet, hard to believe that there are 3 other cottages in same location. Will be back next year



Perfect for a big group of families

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 4 of the houses for a big group of families and it was perfect. The houses themselves were all spotless and very nicely finished. There were lovely touches like a home-baked cake and a bottle of wine left in each house. The location is amazing - lots of places for long walks and beautiful rolling countryside all around. I highly recommend a stay!



Birthday break away

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week away with you celebrating our 30th. The stay was so relaxing and enjoyable. The surrounding areas are so beautiful with lots to see and do. Thankyou we will be back



Good place for a family get-together.We

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We looked for somewhere suitable for a family get-together for 3 generations gathering from Kent and West Yorkshire. We wanted somewhere a bit special as we were celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The Wain House proved ideal. The hot tub was popular and the games room was used by some family members. The location was ideal, the scenery stunning and there were interesting places within easy reach.



A comfortable getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable getaway in beautiful countryside yet within reach of Ludlow. The cottage was beautifully clean and full of character. The welcome package was most appreciated as was the hot tub at the end of a hectic day.
Watching the Alpacas each morning was such a treat.




Recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant,plenty to do if weather is not in your favour, what with the games room and gym, hot tubs a great idea and very soothing, didn’t get to go out with alpacas as we were working.The cottages are well laid out and would recommend to anyone to book with you if they got the chance



Good accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in this comfortable cottage. Minor problems were quickly sorted. Everything needed was provided.



A second visit to this wonderful cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quite delightful cottage deep in the Shropshire countryside yet only 10 minutes drive from the town of Ludlow. One of the highlights is the unspoilt, starry night sky as viewed from the lovely hot tub. This really is a gem of a cottage.



Wain House stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely.Marianne made us very welcome and there was a homemade cake,wine and chocolates on our arrival.The hot tub was the best ever.It was a lovely place to go walking from,we liked the quiet secluded spot.
Although pubs & shops were a car journey away we did not mind that,it was a lovely stay all round.