FB Twitter

Harbour

Harbour

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


A newly refurbished pretty cottage with 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. It is located at the Colonsay harbour and has views over the harbour from the upstairs bedrooms. It has WIFI.

Perfect location for a peaceful island retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Harbour cottage is perfect for a couple (plus dog); more than this might find it a squeeze, with the one bathroom and a tight kitchen. The upstairs bedrooms are accessed via a very steep open staircase, unsuitable for small children or older folk, or those with impaired mobility. The cottage was beautifully clean and well-equipped, with wi-fi, though no television or radio (not a problem for us). We were lucky with the late summer weather and were able to make use of the sunny and secluded outside seating area for breakfast and evening drinks. The garden is well-fenced and the good-sized lawn was perfect for the dog to scamper in. The cottage is a stone's throw from the harbour and quayside, which gets busy once or twice a day when the ferry comes in, but because it is set back off the road behind a barn you never feel overlooked and it is always quiet. It's also very exciting to go down to the shore and watch the CalMac boat appearing in the distance and then manoeuvring into place; the quay comes alive briefly and then returns to complete calm. We had our best nights' sleep for ages this week; the bed (downstairs double) was comfy, the dark was total, the silence was utter and the temperature was just right. The village is incredibly well-provided with facilities - shop, post-office, gift shops, wonderful cafe ("The Pantry"; ask Gavin for his cooked breakfasts) and just along the road the amazing Colonsay Hotel, which would be an asset to any village, let alone one as remote as this! The bar, restaurant and reception areas are all welcoming and restful; the food was lovely and the service outstanding. We particularly enjoyed the regular "Music Evening" event, where all-comers turned up with a variety of instruments, including voices (to which we added our own) and hunkered down for an evening of ad hoc music-making. The high point of a delightful week on this very special island.





















Colonsay, harbour cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
An Internet hub was installed but, no service provided. Night storage heaters and stove in poor condition. Overall condition of cottage very tired.



October break

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our first time at Harbour in 11years of visiting Colonsay. Good place to stay, almost too close to civilisation by island standards!
Beingh close to Hotel, Pantry and shop was good for a week of poor weather.




Harbour Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in Harbour Cottage. It is ideally situated as you just come off the ferry and also perfect for the local shop and bar. It had everything we needed for an excellent family holiday.



Another week on Colonsay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd trip to Colonsay, so must be good. This time at Harbour Cottage which is perfectly located, right in the centre of the “action” in Scalasaig. Not that there is much action, but sometime the sheep forget what time the ferry comes in which can lead to grid lock in the harbour car park. Easy walk from the cottage to The Pantry (50 yards), The Village Shop (100 yards) or The Colonsay Hotel/pub (300 yards). All excellent and the centres of the social life on the island. Only advice about the cottage is that when they say steep stairs, they mean very steep. The upstairs bedroom are a good size but definitely not for elderly/infirm.



Kendall party

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything at the cottage was as we needed for a relaxing stay on Colonsay. The staff and management at the hotel were so helpful sorting out fishing for our party, even supplying us with Bread when we had missed the shop. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay you should be very proud of your staff.



Great cottage in a good location for those travelling without a car

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose this cottage as we were travelling without a car and it is very handy for the ferry terminal and all facilities. The cottage is very private and well furnished, clean and tidy. The kitchen is small but was well equipped and fine for just the two of us. There was no TV (as expected) but a few more games or perhaps a radio or some form of music player would have been good if the weather was poor - but luckily it was fine for the whole of our week there. We only used the downstairs (double) bedroom. The two upper twin bedrooms are accessed by steep steps that I wouldn't like to use frequently - so anyone intending using those rooms for very young children might want to take extreme care. We hired Archie's bikes to help access the many walks we did without too much road walking. For those who are beach lovers - most are a few miles away - but the lovely and hidden Queens Beach is just a mile walk over the other side of the monument. All in all a great holiday on this magical island.



Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Engineers were working on the Island at the Fire Stations. Accommodation needed to be booked at short notice and this was not a problem,

Will definatley use again.




Happy :)

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable stay............................................................................ :) !



Revisiting Colonsay,

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've stayed in the past in many other cottages all over the island and decided we wanted a more central location this time. Harbour Cottage was perfect, especially in view of the appalling weather. Visits to the shop, post office, Pantry and hotel were easy and being near the Village Hall for the music festival concerts was a bonus.
We found the cottage comfortable and well-equipped. Instructions for using the wood burner would have been helpful but Wattie came to the rescue and from then on we had a cosy room. Our last visit to Colonsay was 23 years ago so the provision of washing-machine, drier and microwave were a novelty!
We'll be back!
Aileen Laurance (nee Glendinning) and Kirsty Harper