FB Twitter

WEST DRUMCHASTLE

WEST DRUMCHASTLE

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.1
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


This pretty cottage stands on a rise with panoramic view across the glen to Schiehallion. You can alk to the hills directly from behind the cottage or to the village, about a mile. The cottage has two bedrooms and sleeps 4 but as it is quite small and privately situated, it is ideal for just a couple. The garden is enclosed with roses growing up the walls. It has a woodburning stove and TV and wifi. The bath has a shower over.

Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our week's stay at the cottage - the views are absolutely stunning and the cottage was warm and welcoming (especially the small touches like milk in the fridge, tea & biscuits; flowers; logs in the basket - all added to the loveliness on arrival). Great location for getting around, lots of walks and loads of wildlife. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all and relax in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

Sara from Eynsford stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 54 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of West Drumchastle it does indeed have great views from the front door as it looks across to Schiehallion. Happy to hear the wildlife did not disappoint, you kept them enticed with topped up feeders.

lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a lovely stay in a cosy cottage. very clean and well equipped. If it gets a refurb at all would recommend more comfortable seating.


Linda from South Shields stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2017


Lovely, homely little cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved it! Very peaceful location - although it is a long drive to anywhere.
A little shabby around the edges but this just made it feel homely and relaxed. Cosy fire and great views.
Good enclosed garden for the dogs although they are small and could get under the gate! We blocked the gap with an old fence post so was no problem.
Extremely clean and well equipped.
Village a bit disappointing and shop definitely seen better days but lots to do in the wider area.


Lynne from Huddersfield stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 60 days ago
Thank you for your review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here on Dunalastair in West Drumchastle, which is a cosy little cottage. We will soon be coming into our quieter time where we can give the cottages a little extra tlc. We are fairly central to exploring the wider area, which most people seem to do when they stay with us.

Great holiday in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't fault this property. Hidden away but not totally isolated. Lots of wildlife to watch. Close enough for mountain walks and riverside strolls. Village shop is close by.
Our only issue was coming back to the cottage Thursday evening, to find 2 empty coffee cups (takeaway) on the doorstep. Photos taken of the cottage from the top of Schiehallion show people walking towards the cottage. Not sure if estate staff or deer stalkers, but felt it was an invasion of privacy if the first and worrying if the second.
Would definitely recommend this cottage to others, regardless of the above. Contains everything you need and ideal for either a relaxing holiday or an action packed one.


Dianne from Manchester stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 67 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of West Drumchastle. It is an idyllic spot with great views of Schiehallion and equally views of the property from Schiehallion as it would appear. We are in the process of investigating the mystery of the coffee cups.

Drumchastle cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place , a little piece of heaven , peaceful , quiet, relaxing, there is so much to do if you want to do it
We went for a few walks , with our dogs the scenery from this cottage was amazing . Schiehallion is a live picture ever changing from minute to minute the cottage was clean and comfortable,the wildlife you see around the place is fantastic.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone . We will be back


Cecilia from Westhill Aberdeenshire stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 110 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of West Drumchastle, it is a quaint cottage and does indeed have some stunning views of Schiehallion. I am glad you enjoyed your stay there taking in the scenery the wildlife and the walks around. Looking forward to seeing you in the future on your return visit.

Beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A small cottage fine for two. The secure garden was fine for our big dog. The poor weather meant a lot of time inside,the ikea Pyong chairs are not comfortable for long periods. A beautiful location and peaceful surroundings.

John from Nairn stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied 159 days ago
West Drumchastle is a typical But'n Ben and cosy for two. It does indeed have a good secure garden for dogs. We note your comment regarding the chairs and this is something we will certainly look at changing soon.

Location, location, location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The first thing that grabs you as you arrive at the cottage is the stunning view. The cottage itself is warm and cosy with everything we could possibly want. Lots of things to do around the area especially if you enjoy walking. Would definately recommend this little cottage to friends and family.

Judi from Enfield stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied 194 days ago
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. West Drumchastle does indeed have a glorious view looking across the valley to Schiehallion and many comment on that.

Nice short break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice cheap and cgeerful cottage, quiet clean and cosy. Be a bit cramped for 4 people but great fir a couple.

John from Kidderminster stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 4 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied 233 days ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at Dunalastair Estate. West Drumchastle is what we Scots would term as a typical "but and ben", a small cosy cottage to getaway from it all.

An awe-inspiring retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage which had some of the most inspiring views we have encountered from a country cottage. It's perfectly located for walking (we particularly enjoyed the train ride from Rannoch to Corrour and the isolated but stunning walk back). The cottage is well-equipped and warm and cosy - the fire works wonderfully and the fuel ordering is good value for money. A beautiful retreat from the pressures of city life.

Will from stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 5 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied 242 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in West Drumchastle it does indeed have wonderful views looking across to Schiehallion. There are lots of lovely walks in the area and the walk back from Corrour is quite spectacular. Good to know you managed to unwind and retreat here.

A tonic

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say! This cottage and location was just what the doctor ordered. So peaceful and amazing views, wild life a plenty.
The cottage was spotless and Beatrice the manager called to introduce herself and asked if we needed anything and if everything was to our satisfaction, also not to hesitate to contact her if we did come across anything.
Which I thought was lovely!
It's not the poshest of places, but what you do get is value for money, a spotless cottage, views a plenty, peace and quite (you may hear the occasional car in the distance) and wide life a plenty. Ten out of ten and we cannot wait to return next year.
What I would recommend to anyone booking, is have a Asda shop delivered. We arrived after a long drive and I'd forgotten the bread. It's not like the shop is round corner, it's a fair distance and even though we were blessed with good weather the roads need full concentration, narrow in places, deers on the road and at times big vehicle's approaching.



Maria from Rotherham stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied 256 days ago
Happy to hear you had a lovely time staying in West Drumchastle, it is the typical "but and ben" of the highlands with views looking across towards Schiehallion and comfortable with it. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit with us.