FB Twitter

WEST DRUMCHASTLE

WEST DRUMCHASTLE

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


This very pretty small cottage stands on a rise by itself with panoramic view across the glen to Schiehallion. A wonderful peaceful hideaway where you can walk directly from the cottage.

Blissful.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful clean, cosy & very comfortable cottage with everything you could possibly need, & with amazing views from all the windows. Extremely peaceful yet close to amenities.

Rachel from Norwich, Norfolk stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2019


A perfect quiet location with beautiful scenery

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended, with a couple of caveats. It really is a beautiful cottage located on its own, surrounded by woodland with a stunning view of Schiehallion, both from the garden and also from the sitting room and main bedroom. The October autumn colours were incredible and a real sight to behold.

The bird feeders attract all sorts of birds, even a woodpecker who seemed particularly attracted to the peanut feeder. In addition, we had a daily visit of a male pheasant who hoovered up all the bits the other birds had discarded and scattered on the lawn.

The cottage is well equipped with all the mod cons and everything you would require, with excellent free WiFi and a wonderful wood burning stove which keeps the cottage very cosy indeed.

Our only gripe is that the bathroom was rather grubby and lets the cottage down and really needs a total refurbishment, especially the shower which has a very poor flow. In addition, the two-seater sofa, in the sitting room was rather uncomfortable.

Other than this we wouldn't hesitate to stay in this wonderful cottage again.


Frank from Westhill stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied 47 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in West Drumchastle and on the whole pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. I will add the bathroom to our list of see what we can do, although many do like the large bath there but we will certainly investigate how we can improve it as well as look at the flow in the shower.

West Drumchastle cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was very happy with my week long stay at West Drumchastle cottage which is in a great spot for lots of hiking with my dogs.

The cottage was very clean and warm with plenty of heaters. There was no need at all to use the wood burner despite the temptation to throw a lit match into the pre-prepared kindling and enjoy the fire burning.

The cottage has everything needed, it's very well equipped. I've stayed in other cottages which have had very basic unbranded equipment (plastic kettles, toasters, microwave, etc) but everything here was good quality which was appreciated.

I also appreciated how helpful Beatrice and Rose were in dealing with a couple of my requests which were probably out of the ordinary but it was no bother at all.

The only slight disappointment was the noise from a couple of mechanical diggers and quarry truck which spent the week working in close proximity to the cottage digging up big bolders and transporting them down the path. This started early and finished late (8:30pm working in the dark one night) which meant it wasn't really possible to sit out in the garden and enjoy the hoped for peace and tranquillity.

Having said that, I appreciate that it's a working estate and these things can happen. I guess I was just unlucky with the timing and it hasn't put me off wanting to return in future.

In terms of things to do. There's not much to add to all of the great info in the guides and visitor diary's but a couple of things I did that I didn't see mentioned were,

1. Visiting the quieter roads from Fortingall to Bridge of Balgie and then down to Kiltyrie.

2. Walking from Loch Rannoch to Benalder cottage. If you do this, make sure you turn right at the gate just past the small quarry which leads you onto an old footpath across the moor (rather than just following the track).

Oh, and don't forget to look out for the bats that live in the roof. These can be seen popping in and out of the ridge right at the top of the roof, even in broad daylight!

I'm looking forward to returning at some point - there are plenty of hikes that I had on my list and a week just isn't enough.

Thanks,

Andy.


Andrew from Ratcliffe On The Wreake stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied 47 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in West Drumchastle and pleased to hear on the whole that you were happy. I am sorry your peace and tranquility was interrupted by the work nearby, we were not aware they were starting the forest operations so soon. I hope we shall see you again so you can finish exploring the area.

Wonderful cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just the best place in the world! The peace and tranquility is out of this world. Everything you could need,home from home. We never want to leave.

Jacqueline from Kettering stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in September 2019


Beatrice replied 47 days ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in West Drumchastle, I know you enjoy the peace and seclusion up on the hill and yet not too far away from the village.

It was like the last time a wonderful week, in this beautiful and cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
home from home, we had a few days of rain but the Cottage was very nice and warm and cozy.
The corrour walk throuhg Rannoch Moor and the hike with the train I can only recommend it was wonderful. We had a nice day in Aberfeldy in the cafe an in the Tay forrest. Also at the Art exhibition in Fortingall, Glen Lion and Ben Lawers Nature Reserve.


Ingeborg from Pullach Im Isartal stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in August 2019


Beatrice replied 111 days ago
It was nice to see you again on your most recent visit to West Drumchastle and you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you were busy getting out and about exploring the area.

Wonderful stay and perfect starting point to excursions

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Almost everything was perfect, especially the view to the munroe. We had a very good time and we recommend this cottage.

Ronald from Frankfurt Am Main stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in July 2019


Beatrice replied 111 days ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in West Drumchastle, happy to hear that it met with your needs and great that you enjoyed the great view of Schiehallion.

It was the best cottage for me and my dog we ever had.The few to the Schihallion amazing.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was so beautiful there. We come back in August. The little house is so cosie and well equipped. Breakfirst outside in the garden with the few to Schihallion amazing. There were so beautiful different birds.The walk from the cottage to Kinloch Rannoch and to the few point, to the waterfall so good for us. We walk on the Craigower, different routes in the Tay forrest, visited Dundee and different gardens. The rasberry ice with fresh strawberries in the cafe in Pitlochry,was very good.

Ingeborg from Pullach Im Isartal stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied 153 days ago
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in West Drumchastle and nice to hear that you are coming back in a few weeks. Your breakfast outside sounds idyllic in the garden. See you in a few weeks.

Little Gem with beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
West Drumchastle is a wee gem set in a wonderful location, for the two of us and our dog. The welcome pack and flowers a nice touch that make you feel very welcome. The garden is great for the dog and plenty of wildlife about. The walk into Kinloch Rannoch is great as it is off road all the way in.
We will definitely be back!


Fiona from Cupar stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied 159 days ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in West Drumchastle. Sounds like the wildlife did not disappoint and the walk into the village is indeed good for those with dogs. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

West Drumchastle

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love staying at this cottage wonderful views &excellent walks&pleanty of wildlife in the area.The cottage is very welcoming & cosy.

Guest from Hull stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied 180 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in West Drumchastle, hopefully you have returned home with your batteries recharged.

Outdoor vacation

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great stone cottage in remote location. Incredible views and great hiking posibilities around. We had deer and all sorts of birds visit around the cottage. Looking forward to the next visit.

Silke from Bad Nauheim stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied 180 days ago
Nice to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in West Drumchastle and good to hear the wild;ife around the cottage did not disappoint. Look forward to seeing you again the future.

Wunderbarer Ort zum Entspannen und Wandern

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ein wunderbar liegendes Cottage mit einem atemberaubenden Ausblick auf den imposanten Schiehallion.
Für zwei Personen mit Hund ist es der ideale Urlaubsplatz.
Das Haust ist sehr gut ausgestattet so das es an nichts fehlt. Ein wunderbarer Kaminofen erwärmt und verschönert die Abende.
Direkt vom Haus kann mit dem Hund loslaufen - nach Kinloch Rannoch ist nur ein paar 100 m.
Rotwild, Fasanen und verschieden Vögel kommen bis zum Cottagezaun.
Ein idyllischer Ort in einer außergewöhnlich schönen Landschaft !



Angelika from Mainhardt stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 14 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied 180 days ago
Happy to hear that you have enjoyed another nice stay in West Drumchastle. Sounds like the wildlife was in abundance around the garden to keep you entertained. Freut mich zu hören, dass Sie einen weiteren schönen Aufenthalt in West Drumchastle genossen haben. Klingt so, als ob die Tierwelt im Garten im Überfluss vorhanden war, um Sie zu unterhalten.

Beautiful cottage with breathtaking views.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third stay with Dunalastair Estates. First time at West Drumchastle Cottage. The location of the cottage is breathtaking with uninterrupted views over the glen to Schiehallion. The cottage itself is fully equipped and very spacious for 3 adults and a dog. The enclosed garden is safe and secure for a dog (or small children) and if you are very lucky you even get to see deer when they appear from the nearby woodlands at dusk. A short walk away is the beautiful village of Kinlock Rannock. The whole area is abundant with wildlife and extremely peaceful and quiet. I would thoroughly recommend any of the Dunalastair Cottages should you wish to visit this amazing part of the world.

Carl from Northampton stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in April 2019


Beatrice replied 201 days ago
Lovely to hear you had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair, this time in West Drumchastle. It has exceptional views of Schiehallion which you mention. Glad the cottage met your needs.

Peaceful Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited the cottage last year and loved it so much ! Returned last week for 3 nights with my daughter enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night . We have already booked the cottage again. Beautiful views and very comfortable.

Gwen from Newport On Tay stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 4 nights in March 2019


Beatrice replied 250 days ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay last year and again this year. Looking forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My first visit to an area that is very special to my brother. I wasn’t disappointed.
The cottage was beautiful, well equipped and in a stunning location.
I can’t wait to visit again


Helen from Llandysul stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 6 nights in December 2018


Beatrice replied 292 days ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in West Drumchastle here on Dunalastair. Good to hear the cottage met your expectations along with the views. Perhaps we will see you again.

Lovely short break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming, well equipped, cosy & comfortable Cottage. Fab location. Easy booking and great service. Will definitely return. Great as a base for walking & cycling.

Ruth from Kirkcudbright stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 5 nights in November 2018


Beatrice replied 292 days ago
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in West Drumchastle. We are indeed in a good area for walking and cycling. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Replenish the spirit.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Within half an hour we had the woodfire stove roaring, tea and biscuits served, feeling very comfortable and at home.

Evelyn from Shrewsbury stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in November 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in West Drumchastle and nice to hear that you felt at home.

A really lovely stay at West Drumchastle

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My partner and I have recently had a lovely stay at West Drumchastle cottage. The cottage itself was so cosy and welcoming, with everything very clean and tidy. Location was fabulous with great views. Wish I could have stayed longer and I do hope to return in the future. Host was very helpful.

David from Ware stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 4 nights in October 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you both enjoyed your recent stay in West Drumchastle and nice to hear that you may return.

A special week

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week, the location is spectacular especially in autumn with stunning colours to be seen.
The cottage is ideal and has everything you will ever need.
There is endless things to see and do in the area.
Can't recommend enough :)


Alex from Huntingdon stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in West Drumchastle here on Dunalastair. Please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Autumn colours did not disappoint.

The best in Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An old visitor to the estate and cottage. Wouldn't keep coming back if the location and cottages were not ideal.i have occasionally stayed elsewhere in the area but they were nowhere near the standard of Dunalastair.

Robert from Dagenham stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 14 nights in October 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your most recent stay here on Dunalastair, pleased to hear you enjoyed it and we shall see you on your next visit.

Remote and quaint country cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a quiet and remote cottage, this is the place to be. Far away from the city buzz. Next to small village of Kinloch Rannoch.
The cottage is small, but efficient. It is cosy and allthough old, very well equipped.
Good working woodburner gives that romantic touch at nighttime.
Nice lay-out of the rooms, goodworking kitchen with all you might need. Bathroom is a bit old, but everything is working and all is very clean and well maintained.
Secluded garden, lots of birds and wildlife (deer) to be seen.





Martin from Leeuwarden stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay in West Drumchastle. It is a quaint property which has met all your requirements

not long enough

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the only problem was we were only there a week. It is a truly amazing place with so much to see and do on your doorstep

Chris from Cumbria stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your stay In West Drumchastle, sounds like you did not manage to do everything you planned so perhaps you will visit us again to complete. We are in a great location to get out to explore.

Beautiful area, warm comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Views wildlife, and area were perfect.
Information provided was perfect.


Eric from Bishop Auckland stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in August 2018


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in West Drumchastle. Great to hear you enjoyed it taking in the wildlife visiting the garden and the splendid views from the cottage.

Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for a getaway, good range of local walks. Superb scenery. Property well equipped, warm and secluded.

Jacqueline from Stoke On Trent stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in August 2018


Rose La Terriere replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As you say the location is ideal for walking and the scenery. We hope to see you in the future.

Wonderful on all counts.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the location—walking distance to the village and the Craig Varr trail, among others. We loved the cottage—cozy with everything we needed. And we loved all there was to do and see in the area. Three cheers for the staff, too.

Guest from Lexington stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in July 2018


Wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you require,like home from home. Splendid isolation but not far from amenities. Restores your equilibrium and peace to your soul.

Jacqueline from Kettering stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in West Drumchastle. Glad you again enjoyed the cottage and it's surroundings and that you managed to re-charge your batteries.

This years stay at West Drumchastle.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed this visit as the last. Had a lovely week chilling out the sun shone all week. Saw lots of wildlife deer, eagles, red squirrels and much more. Hope to be back next year.

Christopher from Stafford stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in West Drumchastle. Sounds like the wildlife put on a decent show and the sun shone for you, although this year has been pretty good weather wise so far, long may it last. Looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing stay at West Drumchastle. This is our second visit to this very cosy welcoming cottage. The location is very private on the edge of the a forest where there is much wildlife to be seen. Plenty of good walks in the area with a view of
Schiehallion from the sitting room window. Although the cottage is a little tired it did not spoil our enjoyment of staying here. We will be back!


Christine from Hungerford stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in April 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in West Drumchastle and happy to hear you had another enjoyable stay there taking in the seclusion and the wildlife around. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Peace personified!!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wellequiped cottage,even a washer/dryer and dishwasher!. A tray was left ready for us and even milk in the fridge. Be prepared for total darkness at night and the hoot of the owls. A dozen deer come to say hello at dinner time,even a pheasant or 2. A week of heaven even the weather was good and this was April. We are going back again at the beginning of Oct and can't wait.!!

Jacqueline from Kettering stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in April 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in West Drumchastle here on Dunalastair. I am glad that it met your expectations and the wildlife put on a show for you. Looking forward to seeing see you in October when you return.

Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage in great location with beautiful views. Kitchen was very well equipped and very clean and tidy .The stove kept the lounge nice and cosy and was so easy to light. Really loved the cottage and hope to go back for 2 weeks next spring.

Gwen from Newport On Tay stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us on Dunalastair. West Drumchastle is indeed a cosy little cottage with the great views of Schiehallion. I look forward to seeing you again next year.

Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our week's stay at the cottage - the views are absolutely stunning and the cottage was warm and welcoming (especially the small touches like milk in the fridge, tea & biscuits; flowers; logs in the basket - all added to the loveliness on arrival). Great location for getting around, lots of walks and loads of wildlife. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all and relax in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

Sara from Eynsford stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of West Drumchastle it does indeed have great views from the front door as it looks across to Schiehallion. Happy to hear the wildlife did not disappoint, you kept them enticed with topped up feeders.

lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a lovely stay in a cosy cottage. very clean and well equipped. If it gets a refurb at all would recommend more comfortable seating.


Linda from South Shields stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in October 2017


Lovely, homely little cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved it! Very peaceful location - although it is a long drive to anywhere.
A little shabby around the edges but this just made it feel homely and relaxed. Cosy fire and great views.
Good enclosed garden for the dogs although they are small and could get under the gate! We blocked the gap with an old fence post so was no problem.
Extremely clean and well equipped.
Village a bit disappointing and shop definitely seen better days but lots to do in the wider area.


Lynne from Huddersfield stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here on Dunalastair in West Drumchastle, which is a cosy little cottage. We will soon be coming into our quieter time where we can give the cottages a little extra tlc. We are fairly central to exploring the wider area, which most people seem to do when they stay with us.

Great holiday in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't fault this property. Hidden away but not totally isolated. Lots of wildlife to watch. Close enough for mountain walks and riverside strolls. Village shop is close by.
Our only issue was coming back to the cottage Thursday evening, to find 2 empty coffee cups (takeaway) on the doorstep. Photos taken of the cottage from the top of Schiehallion show people walking towards the cottage. Not sure if estate staff or deer stalkers, but felt it was an invasion of privacy if the first and worrying if the second.
Would definitely recommend this cottage to others, regardless of the above. Contains everything you need and ideal for either a relaxing holiday or an action packed one.


Dianne from Manchester stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of West Drumchastle. It is an idyllic spot with great views of Schiehallion and equally views of the property from Schiehallion as it would appear. We are in the process of investigating the mystery of the coffee cups.

Drumchastle cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place , a little piece of heaven , peaceful , quiet, relaxing, there is so much to do if you want to do it
We went for a few walks , with our dogs the scenery from this cottage was amazing . Schiehallion is a live picture ever changing from minute to minute the cottage was clean and comfortable,the wildlife you see around the place is fantastic.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone . We will be back


Cecilia from Westhill stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of West Drumchastle, it is a quaint cottage and does indeed have some stunning views of Schiehallion. I am glad you enjoyed your stay there taking in the scenery the wildlife and the walks around. Looking forward to seeing you in the future on your return visit.

Beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A small cottage fine for two. The secure garden was fine for our big dog. The poor weather meant a lot of time inside,the ikea Pyong chairs are not comfortable for long periods. A beautiful location and peaceful surroundings.

John from Nairn stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
West Drumchastle is a typical But'n Ben and cosy for two. It does indeed have a good secure garden for dogs. We note your comment regarding the chairs and this is something we will certainly look at changing soon.

Location, location, location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The first thing that grabs you as you arrive at the cottage is the stunning view. The cottage itself is warm and cosy with everything we could possibly want. Lots of things to do around the area especially if you enjoy walking. Would definately recommend this little cottage to friends and family.

Judi from Enfield stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. West Drumchastle does indeed have a glorious view looking across the valley to Schiehallion and many comment on that.

Nice short break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice cheap and cgeerful cottage, quiet clean and cosy. Be a bit cramped for 4 people but great fir a couple.

John from Kidderminster stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 4 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at Dunalastair Estate. West Drumchastle is what we Scots would term as a typical "but and ben", a small cosy cottage to getaway from it all.

An awe-inspiring retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage which had some of the most inspiring views we have encountered from a country cottage. It's perfectly located for walking (we particularly enjoyed the train ride from Rannoch to Corrour and the isolated but stunning walk back). The cottage is well-equipped and warm and cosy - the fire works wonderfully and the fuel ordering is good value for money. A beautiful retreat from the pressures of city life.

Will from stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 5 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in West Drumchastle it does indeed have wonderful views looking across to Schiehallion. There are lots of lovely walks in the area and the walk back from Corrour is quite spectacular. Good to know you managed to unwind and retreat here.

A tonic

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say! This cottage and location was just what the doctor ordered. So peaceful and amazing views, wild life a plenty.
The cottage was spotless and Beatrice the manager called to introduce herself and asked if we needed anything and if everything was to our satisfaction, also not to hesitate to contact her if we did come across anything.
Which I thought was lovely!
It's not the poshest of places, but what you do get is value for money, a spotless cottage, views a plenty, peace and quite (you may hear the occasional car in the distance) and wide life a plenty. Ten out of ten and we cannot wait to return next year.
What I would recommend to anyone booking, is have a Asda shop delivered. We arrived after a long drive and I'd forgotten the bread. It's not like the shop is round corner, it's a fair distance and even though we were blessed with good weather the roads need full concentration, narrow in places, deers on the road and at times big vehicle's approaching.



Maria from Rotherham stayed at WEST DRUMCHASTLE for 7 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you had a lovely time staying in West Drumchastle, it is the typical "but and ben" of the highlands with views looking across towards Schiehallion and comfortable with it. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit with us.