FB Twitter

ROSE COTTAGE

ROSE COTTAGE

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


A cosy cottage with a Raeburn stove in the kitchen, it sits in a shrub filled garden with lovely views to Schiehallion mountain.

Our Rose Cottage holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were first impressed by the beautiful location of the cottage with views across to Schiehallion.
The cottage was lovely, homely, and we found it very clean and tidy. The kitchen had all the equipment you would require during your stay and, due to the Raeburn stove is particularly cozy.
It is very well located, with spectacular scenery and endless opportunities for walking, sightseeing, fishing etc.
We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and found this particular cottage a gem.
Looking forward to another stay in the near future.


Shona from Aberdeen stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 5 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied 54 days ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here on Dunalastair in Rose Cottage. Sitting in the heart of Perthshire it is a good location to get out and about and explore the area which sounds like you did. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Fantastic as always

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every time and every cottage we stay in at Dunalastair is always clean and tidy and we never have complaints.

Frank from Woodbridge stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 3 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied 54 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay in Rose Cottage, glad it met your expectations and we shall see you next time

Fabulous place

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another great week in Rannoch. Lots to do. The cottage is a great spot and you can spend much time just gazing out of the window looking at the wildlife.

Cosy authentic cottage which caters well for all your needs. The only thing that could do with updating is the shower.

Beatrice and her team do a great job.

We will return.


Pippa from LONDON stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2018


Beatrice Tainsh replied 103 days ago
Lovely to hear you had another enjoyable week here on Dunalastair . The wildlife at Rose Cottage does not disappoint with squirrels and woodpeckers making a regular appearance on the bird feeders. The bathroom we are looking at doing something this winter to improve it. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Cosey cottage in a wonderful landscape

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We directly felt at home in Rose cottage. Enjoyed the birds and red squirrels on and around the birdfeeder. Made great walks and tours from Cairngorms until Rannoch moor in the west and Aberfeldy in the south. We had a wonderful holiday.

Jan from Oentsjerk stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 14 nights in July 2018


Beatrice Tainsh replied 103 days ago
Great to hear that you felt quite at home in Rose Cottage, and you enjoyed getting out and about and taking in many walks. It looks like the birds and squirrels kept you entertained when you were in the cottage. I am happy that you both had a great holiday.

Charming cottage in a really beautiful location!

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Charming cottage in a really beautiful location! Breakfast and lunch in the garden a bit of a treat ... and lovely walk up to MacGregor's Cave, and view from opposite was just stunning in the early evening light.

Rebecca from Glasgow stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 3 nights in July 2018


Beatrice replied 144 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your short stay in Rose Cottage. You were blessed with the weather and you made the most of being outdoors as much as possible.

Gorgeous retreat location

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a few days and wished for more in this lovely and well-equipped cottage nestled in the highlands. Rose Cottage was our base for walking, hiking, birding and relaxing in this beautiful spot.

Lynn And Jay from St Johns stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 2 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied 166 days ago
Good to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us in Rose Cottage. It is indeed a good base for walking and hiking and good for bird-watching with the many different species visiting the feeders.

Haven on Earth!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rose Cottage lives up to its name and image it conjures up.
Location: About half a mile from the Kinloch Rannoch road. In a peaceful rural location next to a quiet farm apart from rather vocal cows on occasions the only other sounds come from birds and distant running water. View through the trees in front (South facing) are up to Schiehallion, to the left the hills over Loch Tummel and the right down to Dunalastair Reservoir. As there really isn’t much after Kinloch Rannoch, traffic is minimal.
Cottage: Old stone cottage with some modernisation. Good size kitchen (housed two Labrador beds) with all mod cons including washing machine and dryer which is useful. Old Rayburn but not on in June however could imagine it keep it cosy in winter. Sitting-room wonderfully cosy with 2 settees and an armchair. TV, DVD, CD and WiFi bit temperamental but does work. Wood burner and O/N storage heater......no shortage of heat or coziness. Downstairs bathroom functional. Water comes from own supply so has a peaty touch to it but is perfect safe. Don’t expect power shower! This is rustic but very clean. Upstairs there a 3 lovely eves bedrooms. A good sized twin to the East (Very peaceful feel) velux window and side window which open for air (can be warm in summer as in roof). A cozy single to the South with velux window and a lovely double with king size bed to the west again velux window which opens but side window does not. All very clean and tidy with extra blankets and heating in each room. Good hanging and drawer space. There is a hairdryer too!
Shopping and eating: there is a very useful folder telling you about local facilities. Pitlochry is a boy 30min drive away and is the last place for petrol. House of Breuer has great food Hall. Tesco also deliver which is useful at beginning of stay.
Entertainment: Fabulous walks all over, plenty of other outside sports available, great place to have a quite read or do a jigsaw, play games whatever takes your fancy....they provide all three.
All in all if you are looking for a rural getaway and enjoy the outdoors you would find it hard to beat. We went 7 days and extended to 10, think that speaks for itself. Enjoy.


Caroline from Thirsk stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 10 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied 166 days ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and it was lovely to meet you both as well as Midge and Tarka. Great that everything met your requirements and you enjoyed the cosiness of the cottage.

A great esape break

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super spacious cottage with great character. It was spotless, well equipped and had all the comforts we like. The views were stunning and the surrounding area has plenty to offer for those looking for peace, great walking, good food and a variety of outdoor activity. We hope to return soon.

Marcia from Aberdeen stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 4 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied 166 days ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Rose Cottage here on Dunalastair Estate and that everything was fine for you. You do get some good views from Rose Cottage with it being slightly elevated sitting above the Home Farm. Looking forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Beautiful rural location.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and well furnished the Beds were Immaculate, kitchen had everything even dishwasher tablets thank you.
One small criticism is the old front door has gaps underneath causing loss of heat and allowing various creepy crawlies to enter.
Caught some nice fish thanks for the boat.
Loch Rannoch was not very welcoming with only one launching slipway that was locked and a silly rule limiting the outboards to four horsepower, mine has five.
Thanks Beatrice for the warm welcome, the tray with tea, sugar, milk etc was lovely.

Denis and Martin Doherty


Denis from Argyll stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 5 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied 166 days ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Rose Cottage and it was nice to meet you. The door we will look at to see if we can draft proof in any way to prevent the bugs from coming in and to to keep the heat in. Great that your fishing was successful.

Wonderful break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best part of Scotland making it the best part of the UK. Lovely cottage in wonderful location. Will return asap.

Stuart from Leicester stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 7 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied 312 days ago
Nice to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Rose Cottage. I think you managed to have all weather during your stay with just a spattering of snow to make it picturesque. Look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

Stalking

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exactly what I was looking for rustic remote and cosey. I went deer stalking with Niall which was 10 out of 10 and also took the train from Rannoch to Mallaig with the familly superb.
See you again next yr.


Brian from Lesmahagow stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 3 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied 334 days ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your short break in Rose Cottage, it is as you say a cosy rustic cottage full of character. Great that you had a successful stalking trip with Niall and you picked a good day for your trip on the train up to Mallaig it has some great views. And look forward to seeing you again next year!

First time at Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful weeks break over New Year and my birthday. The cottage was warm and comfortable, the kitchen well stocked with everything we needed. The location was stunning (the snow helped set the scene lol) and I could have sat watching the birds and the red squirrels from the kitchen window for hours. The WiFi was a big hit with my 14 year old and helped to divert several teenage strops!!! Highly recommend Rose Cottage for anyone looking for a peaceful, cosy break

Lynda from Dunfermline stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 7 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied 334 days ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your first stay in Rose Cottage. It is a cosy rustic cottage full of character but with broadband to bring it into the modern era. The squirrels and birds just outside the kitchen window make it a big hit with many of our guests.

Dream Vacation!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in the Rose Cottage! We are Clan Robertson descendants and were very happy to be staying on Clan land.

Frances from Hurt stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair exploring your Clan Land.

Great stay as always

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying in the cottages at Dunalastair Estate - we come shooting twice a year and the cottages are always clean and the service is very good. There was some grime on the bath taps and there is no markings on the oven knobs, but other than that it was perfect.

Frank from Woodbridge stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 3 nights in September 2017


Rose replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you had a good time and enjoyed your stay and the shooting. Apologies about the shortcomings and we will take this on board and make sure it doesn't happen again. We look forward to your next visit in January. Best wishes, Rose and Beatrice

Magical location AND comfortable

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, private cottage. Incredibly comfortable and welcoming. I look forward to the next visit!

Peter from stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 5 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Rose Cottage which is indeed lovely and quiet. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Great time

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Whole family enjoyed the time in a wonderful place in a wonderful landscape.
Really helpful 'people'
Only the house needs a kind of 'makeup '
from the floor to the kitchen equipment.
Thx
M


Michael from Berlin stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 24 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay in Rose Cottage. It is a cosy cottage with lovely views which you seem to have appreciated. We will take on board your comments and we will see how we can improve it for future guests.

A very enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rose Cottage has everything needed for an enjoyable stay in this beautiful area. It is very dog friendly and sits in a lovely secure garden. It is ideally situated for exploring the surrounding Perthshire countryside.I would highly recommend this property!

Gillian from Galston stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you and your dog enjoyed your recent stay in Rose Cottage. It does have a lovely secure garden for people with pets and a nice area to sit outside and take in the views.

Great time

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in a great area. Although the weather was poor one day it snowed we enjoyed the cottage. The walk up the valley was well worth then the time

Colin from Chelmsford stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the area with us. It was a shame the week you were here was quite chilly with there sometimes being three seasons in one day.

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great weekend exploring Loch Rannoch and the surrounding area with the family. Lovely at the end of the day to get back to the cottage, light the stove and relax.

Sophie from Edinburgh stayed at ROSE COTTAGE for 2 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed exploring the area around Loch Rannoch and it would have been nice to get back to the cottage and be relaxed and cosy around the log burner.