FB Twitter

OLD POST OFFICE

OLD POST OFFICE

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


This delightful cottage looks across Dunalastair Loch to Schiehallion. Wildlife all around and a burn (stream) in the garden. The cottage sleeps 6 in three bedrooms and the garden is enclosed. There is TV and Wifi in the cottage and there is a lovely walk by the loch from the cottage. Deer can often by seen from the cottage as well as red squirrels and other wildlife.

A great cottage in a first class location

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t fault this Cottage. All the facilities you could ask for and everything was of top notch. Would thoroughly recommend it. Ll

Brenda from Glasgow stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied 16 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in the Old Post Office here on Dunalastair, and everything met your needs.

A relaxing week

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a perfect family holiday at the o.p.o , we cannot fault any part of our stay at Dunalastair.The cottage,it's location and surrounding area were exactly what we wanted for a week "away from it all".The welcome we received was warm & the information provided very thorough about all aspects of our stay.
The cottage is very well equipped and makes for a perfect place to relax and take in the spectacular views and wildlife - countless birds come to the feeders in the garden and roe deer come very close in the evening !!!We loved the walk very close by along side the loch and up to the chiefs burial place - the views from here are amazing !!
There is also plenty to do in the area if you feel like it - we enjoyed golf , shopping & sight seeing and generally enjoying all this part of Perthshire has to offer .
The fishing was most enjoyable and brilliant that it is included with the rent of the cottage !! - many thanks to Jim (and Samson & Delilah !!)for being so friendly , helpful & welcoming.
We really cannot recommend this place enough for whatever type of holiday you want - either just "chilling out " or taking part in many of the local activities that are available - we are already working out when we can return next year !!
Many thanks for a wonderful holiday , Bev,Mark & Thomas(age 10).


Bev from Tamworth stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 9 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied 16 days ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in the Old Post Office and it was nice to meet with you all on your arrival. Good that you enjoyed the fishing, hopefully you were successful? Nice that were able to re-charge your batteries and look forward to seeing you again the future.

A wonderful week!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location with a warm and comfortable cottage.
Walks directly from the front door and if a birdwatcher, a feast of species.


Caroline from Nottingham stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied 16 days ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in the Old Post Office. Glad that the wildlife and birds did not disappoint.

A fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely February half term holiday at this cottage, exploring the local area. We hoped to find some snow for our children to enjoy and had several snow flurries during the week and also drove to higher grounds for more snow and sledging. We visited Aviemore (about 1.5 hours) and Pilochrie (30mins) and had lots of lovely wintry walks with our dog locally. Highly recommend and we’d definitely like to return!

Helen from Pewsey stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in February 2018


Beatrice replied 99 days ago
Nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your half term holiday in the Old Post Office.Snow did make an appearance for you although perhaps not as much as you would have liked. Good that you all enjoyed your scenic wintry walks and maybe we shall see you again in the future.

Brilliant location and enchanting cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous time in this lovely cottage, with marvelous views and everything needed in it! Beautiful walks and lovely villages around! Beatrice was great in assisting us with everything we needed! Highly recommended to anyone who loves nature and a calm pace!

Loredana from Chelmsford stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 6 nights in February 2018


Beatrice replied 99 days ago
Thank you for your nice review and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay taking in the countryside and relaxing atmosphere.

Relaxing stay in a beautiful part of the world.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 6 nights here over Christmas. Fabulous cottage in a wonderful location. Beautiful views right on your door step. Small and compact, but to a good standard, well equipped and comfortable. The hamper on arrival was a lovely though and Beatrice couldn’t have been more helpful. Would highly recommend.

Kim from Ambleside stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 6 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied 184 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your Christmas break here on Dunalastair. The Old Post Office does have great views of Schiehallion and Dunalastair Water just out the front door.

"Old Post Office" ist so wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the Old Post Office.
On the day of arrival Beatrice, the manager came to greet us and to clarify open questions. She is very nice and helpful.
The cottage is furnished with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The rooms are comfortably furnished. The kitchen has everything you need for a good menu.
There was a lot of information. Both about the cottage and the surrounding area, with tips on what to do, which trails there are and much more.
And finally, the location of the cottage is unbeatable. It never got boring to look out the window at the Schiehallion and Dunalistair Water. Directly from the house you can make a great walk to the lake and a ruin. This was great especially for our kids.
We had a great week, and we hope to come back.


Christel from Velen stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 254 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to the Old Post Office. The views across Dunalastair Water to Schiehallion are indeed lovely from the Old Post Office and with the good autumnal weather you had last week must have been at their best. Look forward to seeing you all again at some point in the future.

A wonderful cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend this cottage. From the outside, it looks sweet and traditional but when you step inside, it has all the modern comforts you could want. The cottage is clean and roomy:-The kitchen is well equipped, with a fantastic view over the Loch to Schiehallion. The bathroom has modern fixtures, the bedrooms are comfortable and the living room is relaxing. The personal touches such as the vases of real flowers and a welcome tray added to the experience.
Outside, there are plenty of walks including the short local one to the derelict Dunalistair House.
I would highly recommend this cottage!


Susie from Glasgow stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 4 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 275 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of your stay at the Old Post Office and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on Dunalastair.

A sunny fishing weekend with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really nice long weekend In The Old Post Office. Six guys from Norway and five of them had never been in Scotland before. Good weather, beautiful scenery, good taxi service, nice food in Kinloch Rannoch and a nice house made the holiday worth the long travel. Visited the big Horse Show at Blair Castle Saturday - great fun. Have speeded many times on A9 on my way to the North and never had time to stopp so, at last I could visit Blair Castle. Had a day out on Dunalastair Reservoire but caught only two small fish.

Tom from Svelvik stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 303 days ago
Good to hear you all enjoyed your stay in the Old Post Office. It sounds like you had a jam packed weekend managing to do lots in a short space of time.

Our visit to the Old Post Office

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would recommend The Old Post Office to anyone or family wishing to visit and see Scotland and the amazing scenery and wild life.
The cottage was as described and very comfortable and the views simply stunning. From its windows we watched a wide variety of birds at feeder along with the red squirrels that were regular visitors. Roe deer were seen next to the garden every day and on Friday our last night a Red Deer Stag along with 4 hinds could be seen grazing about 100 metres away having come down from the hills.
It is simply a superb place to stay and chill out and you really do wake up somewhere very special !! There is so much to see and do that a week is not long enough and we will certainly be back and already planning our return


Robin from Aughton stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied 352 days ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair and managed to relax and chill. Good to know that the wildlife did not disappoint and kept you entertained during your week. Look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Superb location for a family holiday in the Highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in the Post Office in early July. The idyllic location soothes ones spirit within a day. The cottage has everything that you need, a well equiped kitchen and an adorable lounge. We really appreciated items like the dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid being provided. The wood burner stove with provided logs keeps the chill out in the evening. One of the sofas could do with being replaced in the lounge otherwise we were very comfortable during our week. The cottage's BBQ was used by us on several occasions. There are not many places to eat out locally for a large family so we tended to cook each evening, we did eat out at the Inn at the Loch near Tummel bridge which we can recommend it. We plan to return.



Christina from Lauder stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied 358 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair. We take on board your comments regarding the sofa and will look to replace it in the near future. Good to know you had an enjoyable meal at the inn at Strathtummel, it is always good to be able to recommend places to eat to other guests. Looking forward to seeing you on your return visit..

Old Post Office Delivers

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was just right for us, remote and private feeling despite the road past the front door. A perfect base to explore the area. Beatrice was a perfect and helpful host.

Robert from Golden stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay on Dunalastair. It is a good base from which to explore the area and delve into the history of the Robertson's.the Old Post Office has a lovely outlook looking across Dunalasatir Loch.

Brilliant rural cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need to enjoy self catering holiday.
All the appliances were top class especially satellite tv, hi fi, dish washer all the kitchen appliances, crockery, cutlery etc.
A lovely touch was dish washer tablets, cooking foils, bin bags soaps etc. everything was spotless, the beds were so clean and comfortable.
Well done to Beatrice for all her communications and Carol the cleaner.
The location was beautiful with views across the loch and we witnessed red squirrels, deer and large birds of prey hovering above the beautiful countryside.

Thank you..........Denis Doherty


Denis from Argyll stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 4 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us here on Dunalastair and everything met your expectations. Good to hear the wildlife put on a show for you and hope your fishing trips were successful.

spring break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
stunning location, property was outstanding. the owners have presented this property exactly as the brochure,i would recommend this property to anyone that asked

Robin from Stockport stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair in the Old Post Office and it met your expectations. It has a wonderful outlook looking out onto Dunalastair Loch and across to Schiehallion. You were blessed with a glorious week weather-wise.

Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location, the view from the front of the cottage was just lovely. Well equipped cottage. Would be helpful with 3 bedrooms to have an additional bathroom or separate toilet.

Jenny from Hereford stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
The Old Post Office does indeed have an incredible view looking over Dunalastair Water and across to Schiehallion. Sadly the layout of the property restricts the addition of a further bathroom, but it is something we may look at trying to do in the future. Happy you had an enjoyable stay.

Perfect for a weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great wee place for a small gathering of friends, where we could cook for ourselves in the well equipped kitchen, lounge and chat by the roaring stove, and the beds were very comfortable allowing for a decent lie-in (a rare treat). The views across the loch are stunning and the cottage is surrounded by wildlife allowing one to feel truly immersed in the countryside. How could anyone fail to be impressed? Beatrice checked-in to be sure everything was okay for our short stay and to let us know she was on hand if here were any issues. It is good to receive such a warm Highland welcome.

Joanne from Aberdeen stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your short visit with us in the Old Post Office. The views across Dunalastair Water towards Schiehallion do make it exceptional.

Lovely get away.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent week spent at Old Post Office. House had everything we needed and was in a great place to explore the area. Wonderful views to the front of the property with great walks right on your door step. Not many holiday attractions open at this time of year (Feb) but if you want peace and quiet this is an excellent place to stay. Access to Wifi means you don't feel too isolated. Lots of information of local places to visits and leaflets on local walks in the property. We saw lots of different wildlife right outside the property which even has it's own bird feeders you can fill, well worth doing as there were plenty of birds around including a woodpecker. We would highly recommend this property and our children enjoyed it as well.

Ian from Hemingbrough, stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review. The Old Post Office is in a good location for you to get out and about to explore the area. And it is nice to watch birds feeding at this time of year and I am glad they did not disappoint you.