FB Twitter

OLD POST OFFICE

OLD POST OFFICE

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


This delightful cottage looks across Dunalastair Loch to Schiehallion. Wildlife all around and a burn (stream) in the garden. The cottage sleeps 6 in three bedrooms and the garden is enclosed. There is TV and Wifi in the cottage and there is a lovely walk by the loch from the cottage. Deer can often by seen from the cottage as well as red squirrels and other wildlife.

my weekend at the old post office

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was an excellent place to stay and everything that was needed was there at hand and the facilities were excellent would highly recommend to friends and family

Scott from Stirlingshire stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in November 2019


The Old Post Office

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been staying on the Dunalistair Estate for some 20 yrs, and wouldn’t stay anywhere else. I love the place. The Old Post Office offers everything you need to enjoy a fabulous stay. Very comfortable accommodation, clean and beautiful view. Will be back next year.

Lynn C from Dumfries stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in September 2019


Beatrice replied 47 days ago
Great to hear you have had another good stay with us in the Old Post Office. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Very relaxing holiday in the shadow of Schiehallion!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Very comfy cottage with magnificent views overlooking Dunalastair water and Schiehallion. We had a fantastic week here just relaxing and watching the wildlife in the garden. It also helped that the weather was stunning for September.

If you want a holiday that gets you away from everyday life but still with home comforts, this holiday would be hard to beat.

Many thanks to Beatrice for all her help in arranging our stay. The welcome tray & flowers were a lovely touch. We hope to return.



Wendy from Cupar stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in September 2019


Beatrice replied 47 days ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Old Post Office. You experienced some lovely Autumn sunshine. Look forward to seeing you again at some-point.

Our September visit

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to The Old Post Office. We just love this place and the whole area. So much beautiful scenery and varied wild life, excellent walks and paces to visit. The cottage is so comfortable, just like a home from home and the people so welcoming. We have already booked for next year

Sheila from Glasgow stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in August 2019


Beatrice replied 90 days ago
It was lovely to see you again and great to hear that your stay was another enjoyable one, see you next year.

a wonderful fantastic peaceful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a wonderful fantastic peaceful holiday with my family and the dog everyone loved it roll on next year x

Steven from Liverpool stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in August 2019


Beatrice replied 90 days ago
Nice to hear you have had another enjoyable stay with us in the Old Post Office here on Dunalastair, look forward to seeing you again next year.

Stunning stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pictures can not express the atmosphere around Dunalastair estate. It is so relaxed and very private, a first class setting for a holiday. Beautiful cottage with everything you need. The nature surrounding it is beautiful. Could use some relaxing chairs for sittting outside. But those are minor things, otherwise a great place to visit and sleep!

Maarten from Hengelo stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in July 2019


Beatrice replied 111 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in the Old Post Office here on Dunalastair, it is indeed a great setting with a great view of Schiehallion so very happy you enjoyed your visit.

Pure relaxation

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The weather was wonderful so we were able to finish every day with sitting in front of the cottage looking towards the loch and drinking a glass of wine. We enyoyed every day so much!
The equipment in the cottage is almost complete!


Kerstin from Gelsenkirchen stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in July 2019


Beatrice replied 111 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us in the Old Post Office and good you manged to enjoy sitting out taking in the views of Schiehallion there with Dunalastair Loch in front.

A great place.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place. (I dont like write long reviews. I dont like write long reviews. I dont like write long reviews. Copy, .........................)

Manfred from Nürnberg stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied 132 days ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Favorite spot

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 3 wks touring Ireland and Scotland, and the Old Post Office Cottage was our favorite. Beatrice is incredible and very responsive. I highly recommend this venue ♥️

Gwendolyn from Grass Valley stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied 173 days ago
Thank you for your nice review and lovely to hear that your stay with us on Dunalastair in the Old Post Office topped your tour.

Disappointing.com

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cottage not without some charm. It was dirty- pet hair everywhere & hairs in the shower. Billed as a luxury destination, I failed to find anything akin to luxury during our stay. The bedrooms and kitchen are tiny, how 6 people could stay there is beyond me. The promised fishing a joke, we had to purchase permits for adjacent estate fishing.
Try advertising a warm and welcoming cottage and you might do better. Claiming luxury puts you in competition with proper luxury properties.


Guest from Capel Dewi stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in May 2019


Rose La Terriere replied 177 days ago
Thank you for reviewing the Old Post Office and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have never had a report of 'pet hair everywhere and in the shower' before so this must have been a one off as our housekeeper is fastidious. Naturally if we allow pets it is impossible to remove every pet hair but I am sorry if on this occasion it was unsatisfactory. In your answers to our questionnaire left in the cottage you said the staff were helpful and the heating and hot water was excellent and the beds and sofas 'decent quality' and in your review you stated that the cottage could be described as 'warm and welcoming'. Luxury is a rather subjective word so it is difficult to know what it was that was missing as we do fully equip our cottages with everything visitors might need. The rooms are not as large as a new build might be but it is a Victorian cottage and we frequently have six guests staying there. In fact we have many guests who return year after year, the current guests are on their 8th visit. I apologise again if it was not as clean as it should have been and I assure you that this is not our normal standard.

Old Post Office visit

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to the Dunalastair estate for about five years now and have already booked for next year. The place is so beautiful and peaceful and just great value for money. The welcome from Beatrice is great and we look forward to it each year. Nothing is too much trouble! What a fantastic place to visit. Roll on next year !!

Sheila from Glasgow stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in May 2019


Short break at Old Post office

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayedvfrom Friday till Monday as a short getaway for my wife's birthday.
Wonderful cottage, lovely setting, great value for money and even the weather played ball!

Cannot recommend highly enough!


Neil from Glasgow stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in April 2019


Beatrice replied 202 days ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent short break in the Old Post Office for your celebrations.

Old Post Office

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing holiday as we always do on the Dunalastair Estate. The cottage is stunning with the most incredible view. Would highly recommend

Lynn C from Dumfries stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in March 2019


Beatrice replied 250 days ago
It was lovely to see you again and good to hear you have had another enjoyable stay with us.

The Post Office

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having driven past a few times we wondered what it would be like to stay at The Old Post Office. It was wonderful including the unseasonably mild weather. It has a real cosy feel to it although sleeps six. We loved the living room that had a homely feel. The kitchen had everything you needed and more! Very comfortable king size bed with plenty of storage in all rooms. We had birds visiting the feeders including pheasants and woodpecker. The red squirrel came by in the morning. The best bit...open the front door and see the view!

Heather from Hornchurch stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in February 2019


Beatrice Tainsh replied 272 days ago
Great to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair, this time in the Old Post Office. It does indeed have the most amazing view across Dunalastair Water across to Schiehallion. Sounds like you had a lot a of wildlife paying you a visit, glad they did not disappoint.

Our second stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay again at The Old Post Office. The refurbishment is fantastic. Everything was perfect for our stay. We will return.

S. from Moor End, Troutbeck stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in December 2018


Beatrice replied 327 days ago
Great to hear your second stay with us was enjoyable for you and you liked what has been done in the property since your last stay. Looking forward to seeing you on your future visit.

Get Away From It All

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at the Old Post Office for 3 nights to get some reading and writing done. The cottage was easy to find. and was wonderfully warm when I arrived. The cottage had everything I needed. There is ample parking. The sitting room has a wood burning stove, 2 sofas and an arm chair. The kitchen is well equipped, with all the utensils I would have expected. Milk was kindly provided for a cup of tea on arrival. The bed was very comfortable, and the house retained warmth well overnight for a property of this age. A good range of information was provided in the cottage regarding the property, the cleaning requirements prior to check-out, and the local area. The wifi was very good, and was more than adequate for emails etc. All in all, a very pleasant stay

Oliver from Edinburgh stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in November 2018


Beatrice replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your visit in the Old Post Office here on Dunalastair. Happy to hear that it had everything you required and hopefully you managed to recharge your batteries.

If you like wildlife.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage facilities.This area has a lot going for it as well as the fishing.The cottage faces Schiehallion and is great if you like seeing a mountain out of the front window.The loch is in front of the cottage,over the road and there are a lot of walks in the area a lot of which are not very arduous ie. the short forestry commission ones.Depending on the season there is a lot of bird life and other animal activity in the area.Red and Roe dear are easily spotted especially at dawn and dusk.Red squirrels in the garden at times.Barn owls,Buzzards.Jays,Golden Eagles in the area and ( I saw one sitting on a fence post by the road near Trinafour and can be seen from the cottage if they fly around the mountain.Binoculars and telescope are very usefull for seeing things at the foot of the mountain or on and over the loch. Cafe in the village and a post office /shop.Only pine martin I have seen was roadkill but my wife has seen them twice and a red deer swimming across the Tummel though that was at Bridge Cottage.It is as usual a hit or a miss with the weather whatever season it is as some days you will not see any hilltops due to mist.I like this area for the Autumn colour if you time it right too.

James from Carnoustie stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay in the Old Post Office. The wildlife around seems to have kept you occupied. Pine Martens are in the area, they have been seen by guests at Tuim, although they did have to encourage them with treats!

Enjoyable week in comfortable surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very helpful staff and we were checked on after the very heavy gales and rain when the electricity was lost for a short while, with offers of extra logs, and the collection of food if required.

Guest from Tatsfield stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your stay in the Old Post Office, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay even though you had to endure some adverse weather conditions.

Almost Just Perfect For Us...

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The "comfort" would have earned an "excellent" mark if all of the radiators had been working. Two did not work at all and others had controls missing. If the weather had been much colder this would have given us problems.
Overall this was a very good cottage in a very good location and we had a very enjoyable week.
The information folder gave lots of ideas for walks and places to visit.
We would use again if visiting the area.


Derick from Leicester stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your stay with us in the Old Post Office. If you had let us know of the problem with the storage heaters we could have resolved this whilst you were here, it turns out they required to be re-set and they are working fine. We have disabled the output flaps on some storage heaters as people tend to leave open all the time and by the evening all the heat has been lost and with them being storage heaters they only heat up from 10.30pm. We could also have supplied you with an additional portable heater. We will perhaps see you again.

Home

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a nice little palace on a magnificent spot and very kind neighbour.Feeled like home. Learned about the fam. Robertson and the graveyards.We have seen many beautifull places.

Herre from Alkmaar stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 14 nights in August 2018


Rose La Terriere replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased your enjoyed your stay and found interesting places to visit, and felt at home. This is what we aim for people to feel. We hope to see you again.

Great

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a family holiday in a beautiful region. Very well equipped, nice and cosy in a overwhelming area. Perfect and very professional service. Not our last visit!

Matthias from Bochum stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 8 nights in July 2018


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Old Post Office here on Dunalastair Estate. The cottage itself has a lovely outlook but the area as you is quite rightly say is beautiful. Glad that the cottage met with your expectations and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

A great cottage in a first class location

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t fault this Cottage. All the facilities you could ask for and everything was of top notch. Would thoroughly recommend it. Ll

Brenda from Glasgow stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in the Old Post Office here on Dunalastair, and everything met your needs.

A relaxing week

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a perfect family holiday at the o.p.o , we cannot fault any part of our stay at Dunalastair.The cottage,it's location and surrounding area were exactly what we wanted for a week "away from it all".The welcome we received was warm & the information provided very thorough about all aspects of our stay.
The cottage is very well equipped and makes for a perfect place to relax and take in the spectacular views and wildlife - countless birds come to the feeders in the garden and roe deer come very close in the evening !!!We loved the walk very close by along side the loch and up to the chiefs burial place - the views from here are amazing !!
There is also plenty to do in the area if you feel like it - we enjoyed golf , shopping & sight seeing and generally enjoying all this part of Perthshire has to offer .
The fishing was most enjoyable and brilliant that it is included with the rent of the cottage !! - many thanks to Jim (and Samson & Delilah !!)for being so friendly , helpful & welcoming.
We really cannot recommend this place enough for whatever type of holiday you want - either just "chilling out " or taking part in many of the local activities that are available - we are already working out when we can return next year !!
Many thanks for a wonderful holiday , Bev,Mark & Thomas(age 10).


Bev from Tamworth stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 9 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in the Old Post Office and it was nice to meet with you all on your arrival. Good that you enjoyed the fishing, hopefully you were successful? Nice that were able to re-charge your batteries and look forward to seeing you again the future.

A wonderful week!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location with a warm and comfortable cottage.
Walks directly from the front door and if a birdwatcher, a feast of species.


Caroline from Nottingham stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in the Old Post Office. Glad that the wildlife and birds did not disappoint.

A fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely February half term holiday at this cottage, exploring the local area. We hoped to find some snow for our children to enjoy and had several snow flurries during the week and also drove to higher grounds for more snow and sledging. We visited Aviemore (about 1.5 hours) and Pilochrie (30mins) and had lots of lovely wintry walks with our dog locally. Highly recommend and we’d definitely like to return!

Helen from Pewsey stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in February 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your half term holiday in the Old Post Office.Snow did make an appearance for you although perhaps not as much as you would have liked. Good that you all enjoyed your scenic wintry walks and maybe we shall see you again in the future.

Brilliant location and enchanting cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous time in this lovely cottage, with marvelous views and everything needed in it! Beautiful walks and lovely villages around! Beatrice was great in assisting us with everything we needed! Highly recommended to anyone who loves nature and a calm pace!

Loredana from Chelmsford stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 6 nights in February 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay taking in the countryside and relaxing atmosphere.

Relaxing stay in a beautiful part of the world.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 6 nights here over Christmas. Fabulous cottage in a wonderful location. Beautiful views right on your door step. Small and compact, but to a good standard, well equipped and comfortable. The hamper on arrival was a lovely though and Beatrice couldn’t have been more helpful. Would highly recommend.

Kim from Ambleside stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 6 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your Christmas break here on Dunalastair. The Old Post Office does have great views of Schiehallion and Dunalastair Water just out the front door.

"Old Post Office" ist so wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the Old Post Office.
On the day of arrival Beatrice, the manager came to greet us and to clarify open questions. She is very nice and helpful.
The cottage is furnished with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The rooms are comfortably furnished. The kitchen has everything you need for a good menu.
There was a lot of information. Both about the cottage and the surrounding area, with tips on what to do, which trails there are and much more.
And finally, the location of the cottage is unbeatable. It never got boring to look out the window at the Schiehallion and Dunalistair Water. Directly from the house you can make a great walk to the lake and a ruin. This was great especially for our kids.
We had a great week, and we hope to come back.


Christel from Velen stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to the Old Post Office. The views across Dunalastair Water to Schiehallion are indeed lovely from the Old Post Office and with the good autumnal weather you had last week must have been at their best. Look forward to seeing you all again at some point in the future.

A wonderful cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend this cottage. From the outside, it looks sweet and traditional but when you step inside, it has all the modern comforts you could want. The cottage is clean and roomy:-The kitchen is well equipped, with a fantastic view over the Loch to Schiehallion. The bathroom has modern fixtures, the bedrooms are comfortable and the living room is relaxing. The personal touches such as the vases of real flowers and a welcome tray added to the experience.
Outside, there are plenty of walks including the short local one to the derelict Dunalistair House.
I would highly recommend this cottage!


Susie from Glasgow stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 4 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your stay at the Old Post Office and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on Dunalastair.

A sunny fishing weekend with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really nice long weekend In The Old Post Office. Six guys from Norway and five of them had never been in Scotland before. Good weather, beautiful scenery, good taxi service, nice food in Kinloch Rannoch and a nice house made the holiday worth the long travel. Visited the big Horse Show at Blair Castle Saturday - great fun. Have speeded many times on A9 on my way to the North and never had time to stopp so, at last I could visit Blair Castle. Had a day out on Dunalastair Reservoire but caught only two small fish.

Tom from Svelvik stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you all enjoyed your stay in the Old Post Office. It sounds like you had a jam packed weekend managing to do lots in a short space of time.

Our visit to the Old Post Office

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would recommend The Old Post Office to anyone or family wishing to visit and see Scotland and the amazing scenery and wild life.
The cottage was as described and very comfortable and the views simply stunning. From its windows we watched a wide variety of birds at feeder along with the red squirrels that were regular visitors. Roe deer were seen next to the garden every day and on Friday our last night a Red Deer Stag along with 4 hinds could be seen grazing about 100 metres away having come down from the hills.
It is simply a superb place to stay and chill out and you really do wake up somewhere very special !! There is so much to see and do that a week is not long enough and we will certainly be back and already planning our return


Robin from Aughton stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair and managed to relax and chill. Good to know that the wildlife did not disappoint and kept you entertained during your week. Look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Superb location for a family holiday in the Highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in the Post Office in early July. The idyllic location soothes ones spirit within a day. The cottage has everything that you need, a well equiped kitchen and an adorable lounge. We really appreciated items like the dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid being provided. The wood burner stove with provided logs keeps the chill out in the evening. One of the sofas could do with being replaced in the lounge otherwise we were very comfortable during our week. The cottage's BBQ was used by us on several occasions. There are not many places to eat out locally for a large family so we tended to cook each evening, we did eat out at the Inn at the Loch near Tummel bridge which we can recommend it. We plan to return.



Christina from Lauder stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair. We take on board your comments regarding the sofa and will look to replace it in the near future. Good to know you had an enjoyable meal at the inn at Strathtummel, it is always good to be able to recommend places to eat to other guests. Looking forward to seeing you on your return visit..

Old Post Office Delivers

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was just right for us, remote and private feeling despite the road past the front door. A perfect base to explore the area. Beatrice was a perfect and helpful host.

Robert from Golden stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay on Dunalastair. It is a good base from which to explore the area and delve into the history of the Robertson's.the Old Post Office has a lovely outlook looking across Dunalasatir Loch.

Brilliant rural cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need to enjoy self catering holiday.
All the appliances were top class especially satellite tv, hi fi, dish washer all the kitchen appliances, crockery, cutlery etc.
A lovely touch was dish washer tablets, cooking foils, bin bags soaps etc. everything was spotless, the beds were so clean and comfortable.
Well done to Beatrice for all her communications and Carol the cleaner.
The location was beautiful with views across the loch and we witnessed red squirrels, deer and large birds of prey hovering above the beautiful countryside.

Thank you..........Denis Doherty


Denis from Argyll stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 4 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us here on Dunalastair and everything met your expectations. Good to hear the wildlife put on a show for you and hope your fishing trips were successful.

spring break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
stunning location, property was outstanding. the owners have presented this property exactly as the brochure,i would recommend this property to anyone that asked

Robin from Stockport stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair in the Old Post Office and it met your expectations. It has a wonderful outlook looking out onto Dunalastair Loch and across to Schiehallion. You were blessed with a glorious week weather-wise.

Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location, the view from the front of the cottage was just lovely. Well equipped cottage. Would be helpful with 3 bedrooms to have an additional bathroom or separate toilet.

Jenny from Hereford stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
The Old Post Office does indeed have an incredible view looking over Dunalastair Water and across to Schiehallion. Sadly the layout of the property restricts the addition of a further bathroom, but it is something we may look at trying to do in the future. Happy you had an enjoyable stay.

Perfect for a weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great wee place for a small gathering of friends, where we could cook for ourselves in the well equipped kitchen, lounge and chat by the roaring stove, and the beds were very comfortable allowing for a decent lie-in (a rare treat). The views across the loch are stunning and the cottage is surrounded by wildlife allowing one to feel truly immersed in the countryside. How could anyone fail to be impressed? Beatrice checked-in to be sure everything was okay for our short stay and to let us know she was on hand if here were any issues. It is good to receive such a warm Highland welcome.

Joanne from Aberdeen stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 3 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your short visit with us in the Old Post Office. The views across Dunalastair Water towards Schiehallion do make it exceptional.

Lovely get away.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent week spent at Old Post Office. House had everything we needed and was in a great place to explore the area. Wonderful views to the front of the property with great walks right on your door step. Not many holiday attractions open at this time of year (Feb) but if you want peace and quiet this is an excellent place to stay. Access to Wifi means you don't feel too isolated. Lots of information of local places to visits and leaflets on local walks in the property. We saw lots of different wildlife right outside the property which even has it's own bird feeders you can fill, well worth doing as there were plenty of birds around including a woodpecker. We would highly recommend this property and our children enjoyed it as well.

Ian from Hemingbrough, stayed at OLD POST OFFICE for 7 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review. The Old Post Office is in a good location for you to get out and about to explore the area. And it is nice to watch birds feeding at this time of year and I am glad they did not disappoint you.