FB Twitter

EAST LODGE

EAST LODGE

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


This fascinating small castle is close to the River Tummel, where you can fish for trout, and is full of character with a view over the river to Schiehallion mountain. It sleeps 8 in four bedrooms. The master bedroom has a four-poster and overlooks the river. Down by the riverbank there is a bonfire site where you can gather fallen branches and sit around the camp fire of an evening with family and friends.

A week stalking

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Dec 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very pleasant and comfortable stay. Enjoyed the wild life. A washing up brush and pan scourers would have been useful.

Hugh from Stretton Grandison, stayed at EAST LODGE for 6 nights in November 2019


Lovely lodge in a picturesque location, it was the perfect place for our honeymoon.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was just perfect. We arrived to a chilled bottle of champagne which we enjoyed that evening next to the log fire.
Can not fault anything, the lodge and grounds are lovely, the views where Autumn at its best. We will definitely be revisiting.


Alan from St. Helens stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in October 2019


Autumn stay at East Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house set amongst lovely scenery.
Good location for touring Perthshire and beyond.
The house was very well equipped and cosy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Guest from Wishaw stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in October 2019


Magic

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a magical place which is why we have been going back for 15 years. I almost didn’t complete this review because we wanted to keep it as our secret! East Lodge is well appointed and comfortable, a lovely place to return to after a day in the countryside, kick off you boots and light the fire. The staff on the Estate are very helpful and the slightest problem is dealt with immediately. We feel part of the Dunalastair family now.



Margaret from Chester stayed at EAST LODGE for 14 nights in September 2019


Beatrice replied 47 days ago
Lovely to hear you have had yet another enjoyable stay with us in East Lodge and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

A little gem in a very peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit here with friends and we enjoyed our stay again.
The cottage has all the amenities we required and was clean and comfortable.
The boys were disappointed as the fishing was poor again (zero catch) though they enjoyed the location for casting a line in.
If we were to be really picky, some of the pillows really need changing (some of them are rather thin and a bit lumpy), and the window frames inside need a good clean-they were black in places. But the rest of the house was just lovely and we would definitely recommend it to others who want to get away from it all.


Sally from Whitford Holywell stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied 47 days ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in East Lodge and am happy to hear that on the whole you were happy. In our end of season check we will replace pillows that need changed. Sorry to hear no success with the fishing, as it gets colder I think it gets harder.

Magical cottage in stunning, tucked away location.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
East Lodge is an eccentric, fun and well equipped cottage with bags of history and intreague.
Accommodation is generally excellent and the kitchen well equipped.
The ground floor bedroom felt odd however and not as well done as the rest. It needs a proper wardrobe and chest of drawers and smelled unpleasantly damp. We lived out of our suitcases which wasn't ideal despite the room having two cupboards which we didn't use, concerned they might make clothes smell damp.
The seal between the shower panel and bath didn't sit correctly and was liable to make a puddle on the floor if care wasn't taken.
For a cottage able to accommodate 6, the hot water capacity seemed inadequate and we were perpetually running out of hot water - even if only 3 people showered in a row and others waited until later.
Apart from these points, East Lodge is good fun and comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.


Doug from Chipping Norton stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in August 2019


Left my heart in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A month in Perthshire was the best vacation of my life. East Lodge was enchanting. Looking up at Schiehallion every day was a spiritual experience. Beatrice, Rose, Carol, and the plumber were very responsive to our needs. The lodge was comfortable, clean, well-equipped and convenient to hiking, castles, restaurants and shopping. Very peaceful with the river flowing by and wildlife coming to visit. Cozy in the evening sitting by the fire.

Nancy from Santa Rosa stayed at EAST LODGE for 28 nights in July 2019


Beatrice replied 111 days ago
It was lovely to meet you and very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in East Lodge and it met with all your requirements.

A fabulous place to relax and explore

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at the East Lodge!!! The river at the back is a brilliant feature and the fire pit was immensely appreciated (it even scared the migges away!). Beatrice was very helpful as always! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Loredana from Chelmsford stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied 132 days ago
Great to hear that you have had another enjoyable with us here on Dunalastair Estate, this time in East Lodge. I am glad to here you made use of the fire pit and enjoyed your time by the river.

June 2019 Fishing/ birdwatching

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
East Lodge is a characterful, well equiped and comfortable property. Superb setting and was spot on for the interests of our group. The admin of the estate were easy to deal with and very welcoming on arrival. Would highly recommend , in fact they may be seeing us again.

Stephen from St Helens stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied 173 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your fist visit to East Lodge on Dunalastair. Sounds like the area and the cottage met your needs. Llook forward to seeing you on a possible return visit.

Home away from home - Spectacular views!!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived even if it was pitch dark, it was fabulous!

A very well equiped Kitchen, even on the last day we discovered items that we had not seen yet, the livingroom is spacious (we were there with three adults and three dogs) very cosy and lovely with the open fire at night. hallway is very suitable to hang wet clothes and boots. The bedrooms are spacious and airy esspesially the "tower rooms" downstaird middle and top, with fantastic views. Bathrooms have great showers. really your not wanting for anything.

After a great night sleep, we explored with our dogs (fabulous for dogs) before breakfast.

With the river this close walks to the left and the right they had plenty of space to run, one comment, as there are deer around and you bring dogs make sure they had a anti tick treatment.

At breakfast we met Beatrice, to welcome us, it is great to meet and great people and put a face to the name, also a point of contact.

This House (i think its to big to be called a cottage) comes with its own fishing licence so this is ideal for people that love fishing, the river is full of fish and only 50 meters from the front door!

There is so much to do and after 6 days we still had plenty left, I would not have minded at all to stay in the cottage for a few days, loads of walks every where one even more spectacular than the other. if you like to Bungee jump no problem just up the road, and white water rafting brilliant, not on Monday to Wednesday they are for fishermen, we had the added bonus of being with the captain and just two of us, Nellie was knowledgeable and fun, a few rapids and a guided tour very interesting too, beavers are on the river and while we did not see them it is very evident they are there. Kayaking/Canoeing will be a big thing too so for you that like bringing your canoe, there is even a competition course. After that why not go to the Highland Chocolatier, Iain Burnett, for a wee hot beverage with either chocolated or a bacon and cheese Muffin.

There are Saturdays and Sundays Markets too, the Beatrice Potter exhibition is close, Shopping, explore Pitlochry great fish and chips huge portions but pricey, or not to miss The House of Bruar, esspecially all the pies you will not be stuck to feed yourself!! also great fish and chips not to pricey they even have lobster and chips (priced accordingly) great place as they have car parking for dog owners.

Queens view point 5 minutes up the road well maybe ten.... spectacular view point, esspecially with sun down!! take your cameras everewhere, including in the garden, deer, and at the bird feeding station a wide selection of birds, Tits, finches, sparrows, jays, great woodpecker, several red squirrells and I was lucky enough to see a Osprey.

Make sure you take a trip to Rannoch Station, itsremote on Rannoch Moor, the station has a tea room and visitor centre
Take the train to Port William with a stop over and return its very picturesque. However the train from Port William to Mallaig is the Harry Potter train, the viaduct you see in the film when they go to Hogworth will be a fabulous view. this train is called the Jacobite a steam train from West Coast Railway, tickets will have to be booked way in advance we missed out on this but will do next time, its a 84 mile round trip takes you past a list of impressive extremes, Ben Nevis, it visits Britain’s most westerly mainland railway station, Arisaig; passes close by the deepest freshwater loch in Britain, Loch Morar and the shortest river in Britain, River Morar, finally arriving next to the deepest seawater loch in Europe, Loch Nevis! I think a trip of a life time.

I reall think if you want to stay somewhere fun, spectacular, this is the place to go to. If you need a smaller cottage we have seen some of the Dunalistair cottages and they all look fabulous, speak to Beatrice and she wont steer you wrong.

We had a fabulous time, to short and will return, I would like to say thank you to all in McAlistair to share these cottages (and in particular our mini Castle East Lodge) with us, thanks to Beatrice to make us so welcome, and believe me the web site does not do it justice. thanks again from me and Finne (the dog)


Vyonne from Kilmacow stayed at EAST LODGE for 6 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied 173 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely and comprehensive review of your recent stay in East Lodge. It was nice to meet with all of you and your dogs and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your stay sounds as though it was jam packed as you certainly managed to get a lot done in your six days I hope there is still some things left for you to do and look forward to seeing you next year.

Enjoyable Week In A Mini Castle!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at East Lodge and it won't be our last. The setting is idyllic on the river bank with easy walks in both directions and very easy for fishing in between rain showers! The bedrooms are quite big but storage/wardrobe space is a bit on the low side. The kitchen is large and equipment very good, although it would benefit from sharper knives and the squeaky floor is annoying. As a previous review mentions, the time is takes to refill toilets can be frustrating (low pressure) especially when everyone is getting ready to go out! The scenery from every window is very special, had lots of wildlife visiting (and a little deer near the kitchen window early each morning) and saw lots on the river, even an otter. We all had a fab holiday, including the dog who just loved no lead for a week and a massive woodland garden to run about in! We had Tesco deliver all our groceries on arrival so we only needed basics after that and the camp shop at Tummel Valley camp site approx 2 miles away is excellent.

Guest from Chorley stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied 180 days ago
Nice to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in East Lodge here on Dunalastair. We have had plumbers in to investigate the issue with the toilets however to no avail, but we will have them looked at again. Good to hear the wildlife around did not disappoint. Look forward to seeing you on your return.

Family time

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a week staying at East Lodge , weather wasn't perfect but the environment made up for it . Lots of places to visit nearby but enjoyed the privacy of the Lodge with it's own river on the doorstep . The Lodge offered everything we could wish for and more. Plenty of birds visited daily including our friendly Woodpecker. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked to return in August 2019.

Chris from Cumbria stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied 195 days ago
Great to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay in East Lodge. It was a shame the weather wasn't too good for you but it sounds like you managed to pack a lot into your week. Look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Very pleasant stay at East Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very pleasant stay at East Lodge. It has all the comfort you need and a wonderful atmosphere. The surroundings are beautifull. We felt very much at home.

Brigitte from Dreischor stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in April 2019


Beatrice replied 202 days ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in East Lodge here on Dunalastair. It is a an idyllic setting by the river and most people who visit like to have their own "castle".

A week in the Highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a group of 6 friends who come for the same week every year to Dunalastair and always stay in East Lodge.
The Estate is beautiful, the service is excellent and that is why we are already looking forward to coming back next year!


William from Halesworth stayed at EAST LODGE for 5 nights in January 2019


Beatrice replied 292 days ago
Good to hear you have had another enjoyable stay in East Lodge here at Dunalastair. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Magic East Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Part of our group want to keep East Lodge secret! Why? We don’t want to share this magical place with anyone else. They say location is everything and East Lodge has it all which is why we have been going back for so many years.

Margaret from Chester stayed at EAST LODGE for 10 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you had another enjoyable visit in East Lodge. Many, like yourselves return again and again to the idyll that is East Lodge. See you on your next visit.

Great base for exploring the highlands, then come home to a mini castle each evening!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely wonderful stay. Great base from which to visit Rannoch, Aberfeldy, Bruar, Aviemore and other parts of the highlands. Loved sitting on the rocks surrounded with conifers and birches on each riverbank watching the river tumble around the boulders with great force and energy.

Robert from Manchester stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in July 2018


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge. Sounds like you took advantage of its central location and to visit around and about. It is a peaceful location with the river running by in front which you seemed to enjoy.

A very comfortable private setting

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
East Lodge is one of a group of very nice refurbished cottages in probably one of the most scenic areas of Scotland. It is particularly interesting as it was the very ornate entrance lodge to the now ruined Dunalastair House, and has its own turret and grand archway. The rooms are clean and adequately furnished, and the lounge and kitchen/diner just big enough for eight people together. It has a cosy atmosphere, and enough logs for two fires (more can be bought). The beds are comfortable, and the equipment generally of a decent standard. The only two issues for us that could be improved is that both toilets take a very long time to refill, about fifteen minutes, so difficult with eight people sharing (was also the case in 2002-2004 when we stayed previously so unresolved), also the hot water timer/controller is ancient and could do with an upgrade. Ticks and midges are a significant issue this time of year, particularly as the property is in a woodland setting, however, a lot of work has been done recently to open up the grounds by the removal of trees and overgrown shrubs which helps. There's a great view from East Lodge over the river to Schiehallion now. East Lodge is a short drive from Kinloch Rannoch and Tummel Bridge with small village stores. Pitlochry and Aberfeldy are further away, but have better shopping facilities. It's very easy to access the A9 from this area, and there's plenty to do locally. It's a great place to base yourself. All of the Dunalastair cottages have fishing passes and access to a tennis court which is a bonus, and any issues during your stay are dealt with efficiently. You get a visit on arrival day to check that all is OK. I particularly enjoyed the river-side walks from East Lodge, and it is a lovely old building in a very private setting. Overall, its a nice cottage to stay in, full of character, and the Dunalastair cottages in general are worth seriously considering if staying in this lovely part of Perthshire.

Alastair from Liskeard stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in August 2018


Comfortable castle

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Like staying in a private mini-castle, but much more comfortable -- fully equipped kitchen with induction range and dishwasher, large bedrooms, comfy couches. Views across the river Tummel (50 yards from the front door) to Schiehallion, roses and honeysuckle growing right outside, a fire pit (great for toasting marshmallows), walking trail along the riverside (with blueberries). Manager very friendly and helpful.

A little remote -- groceries and a couple of eateries in Kinloch Rannoch (15-minute drive), but the nearest sizeable towns are half an hour away -- we particularly liked Aberfeldy. There's lots of hiking -- Tay Forest Park, Schiehallion, the Black Wood of Rannoch, Glen Lyon, Glen Tilt, the Birks o' Aberfeldy, and Killiecrankie are all within half an hour's drive, as are several castles and gardens; also fishing, boating, white-water rafting, etc.


John from Dobbs Ferry stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
It was nice to meet you during your recent visit with us here on Dunalastair in East Lodge and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it and seem to have packed a lot into your week's stay.

Best holiday ever

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The week we spent at East lodge was bliss, we didn’t want to leave, everyone has to stay in East Lodge at least once lol, a few people on my Facebook have asked for the booking link so hopefully more people get to enjoy it too and hopefully we’ll be back soon x

Anne from Clydebank stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you all enjoyed your recent visit in East Lodge and it was lovely to meet you all. Good to hear that some of your friends had inquired via your Facebook, it can be one's own castle. Maybe we shall see you again in the future.

We come again.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We, three friends and me, had phantastic holidays at East lodge.
We were there for the second time and it was superb again.

We enjoyd the House and the nature around.
The booking was very easy and we had any help we needed.

I`m sure we`ll come a 3rd time.

Best regards Marcus


Marcus from Weinheim stayed at EAST LODGE for 6 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your second visit with us here on Dunalastair Estate. Happy that the house and the wildlife fitted the bill for you, and look forward to seeing you for a third visit in the future!

Lovely Property

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with children, grandchildren and dogs and everyone loved it. The scenery is spectacular and the house well equipped and welcoming.Plenty of room for everyone to spread themselves out! Great walks from the doorstep and wildlife all around. We will definitely be back.

Denise from Banbridge stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in April 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us in East Lodge. It is an ideal property for a family get together which many of our guests come to do. Looking forward to see you again in the future.

A very relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eight guys came for a relaxing two days away. Great fun was had, plenty of space to cook, eat, sleep and enjoy ourselves. I would definitely go back.

Craig from Edunburgh stayed at EAST LODGE for 2 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you all enjoyed your visit with us and East Lodge fitted the bill for you. Perhaps we shall see some of you again.

Wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thrilled to find East Lodge, a gem of a place. Warm, comfortable and reasonably priced. The Country Store in Kinloch Rannoch provided our food order that Beatrice very kindly collected and had put away. The local bacon was divine. Quiet area with wonderful wildlife, red squirrels, deer and golden eagles. Rannoch Station for afternoon tea was delicious and a very beautiful special place. We plan to return to East Lodge for another relaxing break. Thank you for all your warm welcome and hospitality.

Guest from Cheltenham stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in March 2018


Another great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The heating is much improved and everything was great as usual.
The only tiny observation is that there isn't any sharp knifes. Even one small sharp paring knife would be great. Thanks


Michael from North Berwick stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in February 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Nice to hear you have had another enjoyable stay in East Lodge and that it was nice and cosy for you. We do supply a knife sharpener in the cottage but next opportunity we have we will sharpen them.

East Lodge Winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a magical place. Great for the dog and we were lucky enough to have snow which made it even more special. Very homely - was sad to leave. Hope to come back soon. Customer service was excellent - great advice regarding walks etc, tractor came daily to clear the snow off the drive. Would definitely recommend.

Elin from Carmarthen stayed at EAST LODGE for 6 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in East Lodge. You were here at a quite a snowy time which made everything look beautiful although sometimes hard to get around and we try to keep the tracks as clear as possible for our guests.

Little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love staying on the Dunalastair estate. The east lodge was fantastic to have Christmas in, even more so with kitchen and shower room upgrades.
Customer service is also excellent as always.
It was spotless when we arrived and also a lovely welcome letter and a little Christmas hamper which we weren't expecting!
Already booked to stay again into summer.


Emma from Liverpool stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas and look forward to seeing you again in the summer!

Pre-Christmas family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
East Lodge is a dog friendly rather than high-spec holiday cottage. Although delightful and full of character it would benefit from some investment in the lounge furniture and a make-over of the main bathroom. The kitchen and downstairs shower room were lovely.

There were a few issues with appliances but these were rectified very promptly and Beatrice was delightful.

We were disappointed with the absence of any Christmas decorations especially as we stayed the week before Christmas and had paid a premium rate accordingly. This would have made an enjoyable stay even better.

Just a final recommendation, when there is snow on the ground it would be beneficial to mark the parking area with sticks as we managed to ground our car on the stone markers which were obviously hidden. Luckily it was a hire car and no visible damage done!


Clive from Bodmin stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I am happy you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge. The upstairs bathroom we are planning to make some changes this year to improve it. And we will look at the parking area and try to make it safer in wintry conditions. With regards to Christmas decorations, we have had folks in the past who have wanted to get away from the idea of Christmas, in future with any bookings we will ask the guests prior to arrival.

We had a nice short stay at East Lodge. Will be back.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For the third year in a row we stayed a short week at East Lodge with friends, during the deer stalking season. The house is located on a very nice location next to the river. The house has enough space, and is equipped well.

Freerk from Losser stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to East Lodge and we are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay. I hope your stalking this year was successful and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Fairytale castle in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay here. The cottage is warm, comfortable and has plenty of room to relax. It is well equipped for all your needs and we were provided with plenty of logs to keep the fire burning. The setting is very beautiful with an outlook to Schiehallion. We were a bit disappointed in the fishing as they weren't biting this week but that gives us reason to go back and try again.

Sally from Whitford Holywell stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge here on Dunalastair. Soaking up the views of Schiehallion on your doorstep for the week. Sorry to hear that the fish did not accommodate you but maybe next time they will.

I'd give it 95 out of 100

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'm almost reluctant to review East Lodge as we feel it's our special place. We have been returning year after year and we have never been disappointed. Fishing, wonderful walks and shortish drives to Pitlochry and Aberfeldy should you feel in need of retail therapy. The perfect place to relax in wonderful scenery.

Guest from Chester stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice comments. I am glad to hear you had another enjoyable stay in East Lodge and look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Comfortable venue central to lots of diverse activities

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An great base for our re-union group's diverse activities of cultural visits, walking and fishing although there seems to be some attempt to inhibit fishing along the river bank due to inaccessibility through (unchecked / encouraged) overgrowth. Plenty of huge salmon running but advised against in the literature. Seven adult males found traditional self catering cramped, cookingwise. The sitting room was excellent for our post dinner, whisky tasting(?) discussions etc - cosy and comfortable without the need for fires even though the weather was generally poor. The stairs to the top twin bedroom are dangerous, per se, not just to young or informed - of the group of seven I was probably most active and able but still struggled, especially first time in stocking feet. Under normal traffic conditions the narrow road access would not pose a problem but there are current logging operations in most areas and extreme care is needed. As an aside I have spent 18years annually searching properties that catered for 7 or 8 in separate beds as even "sleeps 12" means sometimes only 6. I am suggesting now to agents that they include a criteria of "number of beds" irrespective of type. Booking was friendly and easy and we had a good welcome visit after arrival. All in all good value for money. The score automatically inserted above does not reflect the 80/100 that I would have given (3x100 + 3x75 divide by 600) but I can not change it - perhaps the key word identification needs reviewing or allow self entry of score.

Harry from Penrith stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
It was nice to meet with you all on my visit and I am happy to hear that your annual reunion was a success and that you on the whole enjoyed your stay with us in East Lodge. East Lodge, being a listed building, building works can be tricky and we can't unfortunately change the stairs to the tower room. We would not advise being in stocking soles only when going up and down these. It is interesting to hear of your sightings of the salmon in the river, we will certainly take on board your point regarding the undergrowth along the river and will look at ways to try to improve the access.

Family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again an excellent stay at the Dunalastair Estate. East Lodge was fantastic. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and we WILL be visiting again

Sheila from Glasgow stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you and all your family enjoyed your stay in East Lodge, it's a good cottage for a family get together. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit

Another beautiful part of the Dunalastair estate

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This well-equipped house is magical on the outside, and has all you need on the inside. Riverfront location adds charm - wonderful places to picnic and stroll just outside the door. Cosy living room. Comfortable beds. Very well-furnished kitchen. Altogether makes for a wonderful getaway.

Elizabeth from Laytonsville stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge with your family and thank you for your nice review. It is a unique property giving you the sense of staying in a small castle which perhaps gives it a magical feeling. Hope you all got back home safely and maybe see you at some-point in the future.

Very beautiful and amazing lovely place to be for a holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in east lodge was really amazing me and my partner loved it was so lovely everything was brilliant very clean equipped and comfy it was best 2 week ever in holiday it so beautiful and amazing senary and wildlife and lovely walks I cant wait to book it again soon

Heather from Dundee stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair in East Lodge. We ensure that everything you require for a self catering holiday is supplied. It is in a lovely setting with walks by the river which you clearly enjoyed.

The kids Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great week, kids loved it, deer out by the river, hares, bats , slow worms.
Brilliant location for Schiehallion and Rannoch Moor or Pitlochry.
We will return


Nick from Mansfield stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit to East Lodge, it is a a mystical castle for the kids and adults to enjoy. Good to hear the wildlife did not disappoint and kept you entertained as well. Maybe see you on your next visit.

A worthy birthday retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed with a few friends and family. Very quiet romantic place. Waking up to nothing but birdsong is bliss.
Splendid views up Shiehallion and back down to the lodge


Manfred from Rotherham stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge on Dunalastair. You do indeed have great views of Schiehallion from there and I hope you enjoyed your walk up it as well, perhaps trying to spot East Lodge from the top?

Amazing place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property in a great location. The river and woodland that surround the cottage makes you feel as though you are the only people around. Plenty of activities and places to visit nearby. We had a magical holiday at East Lodge and will be returning!

Guest from Leominster stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay in East Lodge. It is a unique property in a lovely setting as you say surrounded by the woods with the river running by. We look forward to seeing you again.

East Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family made yet another visit to East Lodge, its an amazing place to stay. The accommodation is really well equipped, the grounds are wonderful and the visiting wildlife spectacular

Sue from Leicester stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear your family all had another enjoyable stay in East Lodge. It is a special place to stay.

A great winter break.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another gorgeous stay at Dunalastair Estate. This was our second stay at East Lodge. It is excellent to share with friends and family, and the new kitchen and bathroom (underfloor heating - ace) are great. The Old Post Office last year was also a gorgeous break, with fabulous views.

We always feel so well looked after with lovely fresh bedding and towels and a lovely welcome tray and note. Wood and coal are easy to order from Paul if we need extra, and delivered to the door. We all have busy working lives, and our time at Dunalastair is a genuine break away from it all; big sky and plenty of space and peace.

Cosy nights with the fire and time to switch off, watch television and chat are a real treat.


Deborah from Neston stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad that you all had a nice time staying East Lodge taking in the views and getting away from the hustle and bustle.

East Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times but last year we were absolutely freezing. We emailed on our return and gave many pointers on how the heat could be improved. This year the radiator we pointed out as faulty was either replaced or fixed. The cottage had been heated for days before we arrived and there was extra electric heaters. It is great service when you are listened to and we all appreciated it. Another great holiday in an amazing place.

Michael from North Berwick stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in February 2017


Rose replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and found the cottage warm and cosy. Apologies for the problem last year and we always appreciate our visitors' comments in helping us to improve what we offer. We look forward to seeing you next year. Thank you for your kind review. Rose