FB Twitter

EAST LODGE

EAST LODGE

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


This fascinating small castle is close to the River Tummel, where you can fish for trout, and is full of character with a view over the river to Schiehallion mountain. It sleeps 8 in four bedrooms. The master bedroom has a fourposter and overlooks the river. Down by the riverbank there is a bonfire site where you can gather fallen branches and sit around the camp fire of an evening with family and friends.

We had a nice short stay at East Lodge. Will be back.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For the third year in a row we stayed a short week at East Lodge with friends, during the deer stalking season. The house is located on a very nice location next to the river. The house has enough space, and is equipped well.

Freerk from Losser stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 54 days ago
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to East Lodge and we are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay. I hope your stalking this year was successful and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Fairytale castle in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay here. The cottage is warm, comfortable and has plenty of room to relax. It is well equipped for all your needs and we were provided with plenty of logs to keep the fire burning. The setting is very beautiful with an outlook to Schiehallion. We were a bit disappointed in the fishing as they weren't biting this week but that gives us reason to go back and try again.

Sally from Connah's Quay stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 67 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge here on Dunalastair. Soaking up the views of Schiehallion on your doorstep for the week. Sorry to hear that the fish did not accommodate you but maybe next time they will.

I'd give it 95 out of 100

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'm almost reluctant to review East Lodge as we feel it's our special place. We have been returning year after year and we have never been disappointed. Fishing, wonderful walks and shortish drives to Pitlochry and Aberfeldy should you feel in need of retail therapy. The perfect place to relax in wonderful scenery.

Guest from Chester stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 67 days ago
Thank you for your nice comments. I am glad to hear you had another enjoyable stay in East Lodge and look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Comfortable venue central to lots of diverse activities

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An great base for our re-union group's diverse activities of cultural visits, walking and fishing although there seems to be some attempt to inhibit fishing along the river bank due to inaccessibility through (unchecked / encouraged) overgrowth. Plenty of huge salmon running but advised against in the literature. Seven adult males found traditional self catering cramped, cookingwise. The sitting room was excellent for our post dinner, whisky tasting(?) discussions etc - cosy and comfortable without the need for fires even though the weather was generally poor. The stairs to the top twin bedroom are dangerous, per se, not just to young or informed - of the group of seven I was probably most active and able but still struggled, especially first time in stocking feet. Under normal traffic conditions the narrow road access would not pose a problem but there are current logging operations in most areas and extreme care is needed. As an aside I have spent 18years annually searching properties that catered for 7 or 8 in separate beds as even "sleeps 12" means sometimes only 6. I am suggesting now to agents that they include a criteria of "number of beds" irrespective of type. Booking was friendly and easy and we had a good welcome visit after arrival. All in all good value for money. The score automatically inserted above does not reflect the 80/100 that I would have given (3x100 + 3x75 divide by 600) but I can not change it - perhaps the key word identification needs reviewing or allow self entry of score.

Harry from Penrith stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 86 days ago
It was nice to meet with you all on my visit and I am happy to hear that your annual reunion was a success and that you on the whole enjoyed your stay with us in East Lodge. East Lodge, being a listed building, building works can be tricky and we can't unfortunately change the stairs to the tower room. We would not advise being in stocking soles only when going up and down these. It is interesting to hear of your sightings of the salmon in the river, we will certainly take on board your point regarding the undergrowth along the river and will look at ways to try to improve the access.

Family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again an excellent stay at the Dunalastair Estate. East Lodge was fantastic. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and we WILL be visiting again

Sheila from Glasgow stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 89 days ago
Glad you and all your family enjoyed your stay in East Lodge, it's a good cottage for a family get together. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit

Another beautiful part of the Dunalastair estate

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This well-equipped house is magical on the outside, and has all you need on the inside. Riverfront location adds charm - wonderful places to picnic and stroll just outside the door. Cosy living room. Comfortable beds. Very well-furnished kitchen. Altogether makes for a wonderful getaway.

Elizabeth from Laytonsville stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 100 days ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge with your family and thank you for your nice review. It is a unique property giving you the sense of staying in a small castle which perhaps gives it a magical feeling. Hope you all got back home safely and maybe see you at some-point in the future.

Very beautiful and amazing lovely place to be for a holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in east lodge was really amazing me and my partner loved it was so lovely everything was brilliant very clean equipped and comfy it was best 2 week ever in holiday it so beautiful and amazing senary and wildlife and lovely walks I cant wait to book it again soon

Heather from Dundee stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied 179 days ago
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair in East Lodge. We ensure that everything you require for a self catering holiday is supplied. It is in a lovely setting with walks by the river which you clearly enjoyed.

The kids Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great week, kids loved it, deer out by the river, hares, bats , slow worms.
Brilliant location for Schiehallion and Rannoch Moor or Pitlochry.
We will return


Nick from Mansfield stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied 194 days ago
Happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit to East Lodge, it is a a mystical castle for the kids and adults to enjoy. Good to hear the wildlife did not disappoint and kept you entertained as well. Maybe see you on your next visit.

A worthy birthday retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed with a few friends and family. Very quiet romantic place. Waking up to nothing but birdsong is bliss.
Splendid views up Shiehallion and back down to the lodge


Manfred from Rotherham stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied 201 days ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay in East Lodge on Dunalastair. You do indeed have great views of Schiehallion from there and I hope you enjoyed your walk up it as well, perhaps trying to spot East Lodge from the top?

Amazing place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property in a great location. The river and woodland that surround the cottage makes you feel as though you are the only people around. Plenty of activities and places to visit nearby. We had a magical holiday at East Lodge and will be returning!

Guest from Leominster stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied 214 days ago
Happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay in East Lodge. It is a unique property in a lovely setting as you say surrounded by the woods with the river running by. We look forward to seeing you again.

East Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family made yet another visit to East Lodge, its an amazing place to stay. The accommodation is really well equipped, the grounds are wonderful and the visiting wildlife spectacular

Sue from Leicester stayed at EAST LODGE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied 221 days ago
Glad to hear your family all had another enjoyable stay in East Lodge. It is a special place to stay.

A great winter break.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another gorgeous stay at Dunalastair Estate. This was our second stay at East Lodge. It is excellent to share with friends and family, and the new kitchen and bathroom (underfloor heating - ace) are great. The Old Post Office last year was also a gorgeous break, with fabulous views.

We always feel so well looked after with lovely fresh bedding and towels and a lovely welcome tray and note. Wood and coal are easy to order from Paul if we need extra, and delivered to the door. We all have busy working lives, and our time at Dunalastair is a genuine break away from it all; big sky and plenty of space and peace.

Cosy nights with the fire and time to switch off, watch television and chat are a real treat.


Deborah from Neston stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied 289 days ago
I am glad that you all had a nice time staying East Lodge taking in the views and getting away from the hustle and bustle.

East Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times but last year we were absolutely freezing. We emailed on our return and gave many pointers on how the heat could be improved. This year the radiator we pointed out as faulty was either replaced or fixed. The cottage had been heated for days before we arrived and there was extra electric heaters. It is great service when you are listened to and we all appreciated it. Another great holiday in an amazing place.

Michael from North Berwick stayed at EAST LODGE for 4 nights in February 2017


Rose replied 289 days ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and found the cottage warm and cosy. Apologies for the problem last year and we always appreciate our visitors' comments in helping us to improve what we offer. We look forward to seeing you next year. Thank you for your kind review. Rose