FB Twitter

BRIDGE COTTAGE

BRIDGE COTTAGE

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 44 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Very secluded cottage by the water with its own boat. It sleeps 4 in two bedrooms and the rooms look out to the water. There is no TV but there is a dvd player and there is no wifi either. In spite of this, it is our most popular cottage because of the peace and quiet and surrounding wildlife, and the fact you can use the boat at any time (weather permitting). The walk behind the cottage to Macgregor's Cave is a must-do.

99%

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely time at Bridge cottage. Views, wildlife spectacular. Weather was very kind to us. Cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. We will certainly be back again.

Morag from Dunfermine stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2020


Autumn break

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first Autumn visit to Bridge Cottage. We usually visit in May. The cottage as always was peaceful, with glorious views across the loch. A truly marvellous place to stay. We shall return.

David from Church Stretton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2020


Wonderful location, nice people to deal with.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am a regular visitor to Dunalastair Estate. My friends and I have enjoyed the facilities and fantastic surroundings for twenty years now - every year - so that in itself speaks volumes.
Importantly, in my opinion, the estate management are lovely people to deal with. They honestly couldn't be more helpful and I greatly appreciate that.
If I'm spared, I'll be back next year as usual and I'm looking forward to it already.


A. from Tarbolton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2020


Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is perfect for us and we return every. We have been to most of the cottages and they are all great.
Beatrice and Rose are always on hand for any help required.


Stephen from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 14 nights in August 2020


Beatrice replied 29 days ago
Lovely to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us, look forward to seeing you next year, hopefully in more normal times.

Heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage offers an idyllic setting, surrounded by nature and wildlife, this is truly a little slice of heaven. The cottage had everything you could need and it was so warm and cosy. You couldn't get a better view and the customer service was great from start to finish.

Liane from Eastleigh stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2020


Beatrice replied 29 days ago
Great to hear that Bridge Cottage met with all your needs during your recent stay.

Fantastic Cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great Cottage in a remote location, beside the water. The wildlife comes to your door step. Red Squirrels, Deer and many types of Birds.
The nearest village has a good shop and a very good hotel restaurant.


J A from Nottingham stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2020


Beatrice replied 29 days ago
Great to hear the wildlife did not disappoint you on your recent stay with us and you enjoyed the cottage.

Our stay at Bridge Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd stay on the Dunalastair Estate was as perfect as the previous two, we’d recommend wholeheartedly.

Claire from Richmond stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 5 nights in March 2020


Relaxing week away

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This will be our 12th visit? Fantastic location, perfect get away from it all holiday. If you’re looking for isolation then this is the place to be.

Jane from Jedburgh stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in March 2020


Peace and Quiet

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay at Bridge Cottage, excellent location in the middle of nowhere. The cottage had everything you`d expect and more, the log burner was an added bonus. The kitchen was well equipped with added extras. Stunning views and scenery, great walks and the cafe in the village was excellent, well worth a visit. Just could do with a little updating but this didn`t put us off from visiting again.

David from Moffat stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in November 2019


Beatrice replied 273 days ago
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Bridge Cottage, people do book this as it feels in the middle of nowhere although not really being too far from the village. Good to hear that you will return.

Stunning Setting

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bridge cottage for a week I we half term , it is in a stunning setting , the only way I can describe it without pictures is that it is like being in a painting ! The views ,walks and wildlife around are amazing . The cottage itself is well equipped with what you will need . There is no central heating which didn't bother me but may some people . There are heaters on the walls that warm the place up and a log burner !! There is nothing around so you need to take all food etc with you unless you are willing to drive to shops . You can get Asda or Tesco delivery thou . We liked the fact that it was out the way . You can definitely get away from it all . Worth the drive for the views , tranquility and great walks ! We hope to be back !

J from Liverpool stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied 273 days ago
Happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us in Bridge Cottage. The storage heaters in the cottage are the central heating as these are in all rooms. Glad you enjoyed the peace and tranquility and nice to hear that you may visit us again.

A Good Trip to Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage is a lovly Cottage in a awsomearea. Thank you for allthe pleasantry you give tu us.
We´ll be back next year.


Ruediger from Reken stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 14 nights in September 2019


Beatrice replied 364 days ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Bridge Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage offers true peace and tranquillity. Lovely views and amazing bird life which can be observed from the cottage.
Pleasant walks from the cottage. We also enjoyed using the boat.
Lots to do in the area. Definitely recommend a visit.


Andrew from Edinburgh stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage and We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

Special place.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge cottage is a wonderful place to stay. Peaceful and with wonderful views. Wildlife abounds in the area and can often be seen from the cottage.

David from Church Stretton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 14 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you had another enjoyable and peaceful stay in Bridge Cottage and the wildlife did not disappoint. See you again next year.

R&R at its best.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most honest review I can give is, when you get there, park up, get out of your car,close your eyes, keep still and just listen and listen and listen. You Will, after about 5mins realise what I'm saying.
Open your eyes and look around. It's the most magical place.
Water side cottage.
Remote and homely.
Wonderful walks all close by.
Truly a must visit.


Brian from Leeds stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you have had another enjoyable stay over Easter at Bridge, and the magic, peace and tranquility of the location keeps you coming back.

Amazing location

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Want to get away from everything then this is the place to do it. Been coming here for 10 years or more, it is so peaceful and the wildlife is fantastic.

Jane from Jedburgh stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in March 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you have had another enjoyable stay in Bridge Cottage, it is indeed a very special secluded cottage where the wildlife never fails to disappoint.

Bridge cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great peaceful location if your looking to get away from it all but also close enough to all the main villages/towns in this beautiful area, would be happy to recommend Dunalastair estate and this very comfortable cottage.

Anthony from Glasgow stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 3 nights in November 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your stay in Bridge Cottage here on Dunalastair. It is indeed secluded enough to make you feel you are alone in the countryside but in reality only a few miles from the local village.

A perfect getaway from it all!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage is the perfect place to get away from everyday hustle and Bustle....you can't help but relax! With the Cottage being at the end of a track with no way through it means the only other people you may come across are the walkers who may be venturing to Macgregors cave. It may be an old cottage but the heating ensures it's cozy inside all the time and it's well equipped so that all you need is food and a few dvds (no TV signal) to ensure a relaxing time (we didn't even have to go out food shopping as Tesco delivered!) We took our 2 dogs who loved watching all the wildlife throughout the day and the walks that can be taken directly from the cottage. They even enjoyed a boat ride across the Loch to find the old Dunalastair house ruins.

Joanne from Turriff stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage here on Dunalastair Estate. It is a very popular cottage because of its seclusion and tranquility with many guests returning again and again. Happy to hear that the wildlife too did not disappoint.

holiday delight

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
bridge cottage was really amazing nice romantic get away so peaceful and quiet beautiful scenery fishing was good alot wildlife and cant wait till next year we be booking this cottage again next year cant wait .

Ronald from Dundee stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your stay in Bridge Cottage, it really is a hidden gem and the wildlife do always seem to put on a show for the guests who stay there. We shall see you again next year.

The retirement fishing trip

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet peacefull great for walking fishing was good look forward to future trips would like to have a shower cubicle
in Bridge cottage minor criticism


John from Aberdeenshire stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Bridge Cottage. We do state in our description how the bathroom is laid out and much as we would like to incorporate a separate shower cubicle the layout of pipework makes this difficult but we will investigate further and see if something can be done in the future.

Uncomfortable bathing facilities and poor river access for fishing.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
While the environment was quite picturesque, the bathing facilities were quite unacceptable if you are over 60 or over-weight, it was miserable to consider bathing.

As for fishing, that was also incorrectly advertised as access beyond Bridge Cottage to the river was not possible and trying to row a boat and also fish was not possible.

We where also without bathing and toilet facilities on Sunday night.




Clifford from St Neots stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2018


Rose La Terriere replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing Bridge Cottage. I was disappointed that you found nothing to your liking. The large deep cast iron bath is much loved by other guests. Unfortunately it is not possible to put a shower in the cottage as there is no space for it and we do not advertise it as having a shower. The fishing permit covers the boat fishing on the loch and the north bank of the river from Kinloch Rannoch almost to the Bridge at Tummel Bridge and there are many places along there that you can fish from the bank. Many of our visitors fish from the boat with no difficulty and I am sorry that you did not try that as you may have found it quite easy. As regards the water problem on Sunday night, we have had a three months drought and unfortunately the spring dried up (as you know the cottage is on private water supply). However as soon as you rang to let me know, I despatched a plumber immediately and the manager who brought you 20 litres of water to tied you over until morning. The plumber fixed up a temporary supply until the morning, when you were able to have a bath, and he fixed it more permanently in the morning putting a second pipe up to another stream. The manager visited you in the morning and sadly you were not very nice to her which was a shame when we had all done our very best to put the water problem right as soon as we could. I feel that a remote cottage was probably not really the kind of property you were suited to. It is actually our most popular cottage and is already well booked for next year. Anyway, I am sorry you did not enjoy your holiday and hope that you find somewhere more suitable for future holidays.

A hidden Perthshire Gem.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Though tucked away down a single track road, Bridge Cottage on arrival let's you know you are going to enjoy your stay there. Quiet, Rural, away from the humdrum of everyday life where you can chill out and feel a peaceful presence. All around you the wild life abounds and if you wish, you can take to the Dunalister Water in your very own boat.

Joseph from Erskine stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2018


Rose La Terriere replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you found a peaceful retreat at Bridge Cottage. It really refreshes the senses in its lovely situation.

Bridge cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge cottage was clean comfortable and very well equipped. It is in a beautiful peaceful secluded location. Whilst there we saw red squirrels in the garden and otters and deer nearby The stretch of river between the cottage and the dam is very pretty and we spotted a beaver whilst using the rowing boat provided I would recommend bridge cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful week away




Simon from Newark stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage. Sounds like you encountered a lot of wildlife which never seems to fail to please, and even the elusive beaver which to date in my time no one has mentioned seeing, you were lucky indeed.

A week in heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time here very impressed with everything the cottage was very well equipped
Relaxing isn't the word came home so chilled would recommend it to everyone
Ideal place for our dogs holiday she loved the freedom and the wildlife so abundant
Came home with some brilliant photos and memories


Gordon from Worksop stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to Bridge Cottage. Sounds like the wildlife kept you entertained during your stay and you went home feeling refreshed.

Summer holiday /fishing /relaxing /walking /cycling

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at bridge cottage it had all the equipment you need although we didnt need to use dishwasher or dryer. You could never tire of the view and the cottage was lovely. And the bed so comfortable. If we go back in the summer i would take an umberella for picnic table as it was extremley hot that week (prob wont get weather like that again tho!) I loved the peace and quiet and watching the wildlife, my husband was fishing a few days but quite diff loch with current. The tea rooms at rannoch station was a highlight of our trip. We also walked up scheallion, very rocky at top. All in all a great holiday and would go back. Thanks to staff concerned. The cottage was lovely and clean and was nice to meet beatrice the manager.

Lorraine from Ross-shire stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage. The weather was indeed exceptional during your visit and you certainly seemed to pack a lot into your week. Great to hear you enjoyed it and perhaps we shall see you again in the future.

Beautiful locatuon.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent Location. Beautiful nature. Lovely place to stay.
Booking is easy, the manager is very friendly and visit you the first day to welcome you.
We have enjoyed the silence of the surroundings. No TV, internet, what a joy.
A seperate showercabin would be nice. Not easy to shower in the bath (for the elderly)
The sofa in the livingroom is not very comfy (to old).
But the location is so good, we will book again sometime.




Guest from Krommenie stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Bridge Cottage. Having no TV and WiFi makes Bridge a unique property to stay in and many enjoy the lack of communication to the outside world. The layout in the bathroom makes it difficult to accommodate a separate shower however we will look at this again to see if anything can be done. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

wildlife bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent an amazing week at Bridge Cottage with perfect sunny weather. The cottage warm and welcoming and set in the most fantastic location. We saw masses of wildlife and enjoyed local walks. Would love to return.

Guest from Bath stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Bridge Cottage. It is a great place to take in the wide variety of wildlife which did seem to put a show on for you. Perhaps we shall see you again in the future.

Another happy fortnight

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Bridge Cottage was very pleasant. We have stayed a number of times before and always have a good time. The location is perfect, wide views across the loch, very quiet and loads of wildlife. The availability of a boat and the opportunity to fish keep me occupied for hours. The cottage is well furnished and the log burner is great on the colder nights. All in all a great spot.

David from Church Stretton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 14 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had another good fortnight in Bridge Cottage. It is a special place which many, like yourselves want to come back to again and again.Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Easter Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we have had a wonderful stay in an amazing location. The peace and tranquillity of this cottage brush away any stress you may have.
There is a reason we keep going back and you need to go to experience this.
The wildlife and stunning scenery around this place is breathtaking.


Brian from Leeds stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you have enjoyed yet another stay at Bridge Cottage. It is a unique cottage which seems to entice back most who stay in it. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location totally relaxing holiday with superb scenery. The area is excellent for walking of all ability's will definitely booking again

Glenn from Skelton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us just relaxing and enjoying Bridge Cottage. It is a special place for so many of our guests and sound like you too have been captured by it. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

End is season holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we arrived at bridge cottage, this is our 8 th year I think, best location in the world, no phone, no computer, no tv.
Absolute bliss, weather was kind this week, so relaxing, a great place to recharge your batteries!


Jane from Jedburgh stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in March 2018


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage was the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. The location was stunning with beautiful views and sunsets. We would defiantly recommend the cottage for anyone interested in photography or just to sit back and relax.

Guest from Stourbridge stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you had an enjoyable and relaxing time in Bridge Cottage, it is a unique property to just sit back ,relax and take in the views, with the wildlife coming to your doorstep.

Bridge cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge cottage was everything we hoped it would be ! A cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings .. So peaceful watching the loch and wildlife . Thanks for a wonderful stay x

Scott from Falkirk stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 3 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that Bridge met your expectations. It truly is a unique cottage in a wonderful surroundings to take in the wildlife which frequently visit.

Our new favourite place...Stunning!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay at Bridge Cottage and frankly you’d need professional help if you didn’t. Arrived in total darkness so opening the curtains the first morning leaves you speechless because the views are simply stunning.

The location on the river and the reservoir is incredible, gives you a sense you are the only people on the planet as the cottage is totally secluded. The cottage itself has everything you need and we were impressed, very much so, by the cleanliness and levels of equipment including dishwasher, washing machine and separate tumble dryer which if you are going to take advantage of the location are very welcome.

From the booking process to supply of ordered items such as firewood and information supplied, I was more than satisfied.

Fantastic value for money.

Not a criticism but I would advise that if arriving in darkness (quite possible in winter) do NOT allow you dog to wonder freely and don’t do so yourself either until you have explored in daylight. To the side of the cottage the natural garden is undulating and slopes drop off to 3m drops into deep river water, it would be very easy to go in if you don’t realise what’s there. The website does state this is absolutely not a suitable cottage to take young children and I certainly agree. Great for dogs but let them explore in daylight first.

The area is stunning, so much to see and explore. Just endless superlatives here. We will be going back...again and again!

Guy & Shellane.


Guy from Dalgety Bay stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 3 nights in November 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and very happy to hear that Bridge Cottage is your new favourite place, it is a very special and a unique place to so many of our guests. We take on board your comments regarding dogs and exploration in the winter evenings, we do leave the outside light on for the darker night arrivals although it may not shine far enough the for more inquisitive dogs. Look forward to seeing you again the future.

Feels like coming home

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again we had a lovely stay at the Bridge Cottage. Which is become ,after so many years of visiting, as our second home.When we arrive for the holidays it always feels like coming home. We can't get enough of this cottage with his stunning location and the wildlife around it. . It's like a fairy house in a fairytale forest.

Jos from Sint Joost stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage. Bridge does seem to have its regulars, coming back year after year like yourselves it is a very popular cottage. The peace and tranquility there set on its own makes a very special place.

Amazing location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place. Didn't want to leave, can't wait to go back. Living without wifi.....what a joy......

Tracy from Nr. Cullompton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Bridge Cottage is an idyllic place for those who want to get away from it all.

What place,

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bridge cottage is equipped with the things you need, its very clean and so peaceful and relaxing,it's location for us was almost perfect it won't be to everyones taste as it is so secluded and private,the view out of the front windows changed every time you looked it. With the different shades of blue,grey and greens, and due to its location the amount of wildlife you see is unreal,

Nigel from Nuneaton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in Bridge Cottage. It is the place to go to get away from it all and take in the views looking up Dunalastair Loch.

Amazing place!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Had everything you need and could have happily moved in. Only regret is that we couldn't stay for 2 weeks. Love the location and saw plenty of wildlife. We'll definitely be returning in the future.

Therasa from Basingstoke stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like the wildlife did not disappoint and we look forward to seeing you back sometime in the future.

Bridge Cottage Dunalastair

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was one of the most beautiful locations we've ever encountered, and the cottage itself was just perfect for our 9 days stay. Manager of the estate Beatrice created a warm welcome and directions to the cottage were excellent - they needed to be because it is out of the way somewhat. Our opinion is that if you want a break from the crazy outside world, where the scenery is breathtaking, the wildlife plentiful, and the solitude healing, then the Bridge Cottage is your destination.

Robert from Figtree stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 9 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Bridge Cottage and it was lovely to meet with you. Bridge is a very popular cottage and its location appeals to many along with all the wildlife that visits.

Lovely remote cottage with own boat.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything excellent apart from the shower. Only take baths if you go here as shower is only a hand one and not meant for using as a proper shower as it covers the bathroom with water and takes ages clearing up.

This is the only gripe as cottage lovely, remote and very comfy and also has the added advantage of own boat for sole use of Bridge Cottage guests.

Great for dogs too as easy walk along lane to cottage beside loch - no traffic of course.


Kenneth from Tiverton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time in Bridge Cottage. It is a retreat for many who enjoy getting away from it all. The bathroom, with its coombed ceilings makes it difficult to put in a shower however we will certainly look at how we can improve this.

Bridge Cottage - Peace, Tranquility and a haven for Wildlife

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage is one of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed. The cottage is secluded, through a gate at the end of a long driveway which runs along the shore of Dunalastair Loch. Beautiful views down the Loch from the front of the cottage, the river runs past the side of the cottage with a small woodland at the back. At the other side of the cottage, there is a path which leads to McGregors Cave, a nice short walk. The property is clean, comfortable and relaxing and the wood burner fantastic for a cosy night in. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might require including a washer and dryer. Beds are comfortable and warm with extra blankets for colder nights. If you are looking to get away from it all, for peace and tranquility and/or love wildlife, this is definitely the cottage for you. The only noise you will hear, is the sounds of nature. There is no light pollution, so on a clear night, stargazing is a must. There are red squirrels playing in the woodland at the back door of the cottage, otters in the river at the side of the cottage, deer roaming on the land within the gate of the cottage, fish jumping out of the water, buzzards and kestrels flying overhead, smaller birds on the bird feeder at the front window, owls and bats in the evening and if you are up early enough, or go for a walk in the evening you will see the mountain hares. There is no TV (bliss) and limited mobile signal (even more bliss), although if you really need it, a short walk along the drive towards the gate will give you full signal. The village of Kinloch Rannoch is about a mile down the road and has a store if you need supplies There is a lovely cafe with good food and fresh home baked cakes which also sells beautiful handmade gifts, books and cards, there is a gallery and the Dunalastair Hotel in the village square which serves food. There are many nice gentle walks in the area, both hill and forest, but if you are looking for something a little more energetic, there is a Munro, the Schiehallion, which is five minutes drive from the cottage. A relatively easy climb most of the way, but a proper scramble at the top which is completely covered in boulders. Unfortunately we were surrounded by cloud at the top, so no views....pick a good clear day. There is a rowing boat provided at the cottage if you want to fish or just go for a paddle around the Loch or down the river. We take our own kayaks so have never actually used the boat, but it's there for you to use if you want. This was our third year staying at bridge cottage and still remains at the top of our list of best holiday cottages. If you just want to get away from it all, this cottage is the place to be.

Kathryn from Glasgow stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that you had another enjoyable stay at Bridge Cottage and you managed to see the Red Squirrels again. It truly is a special place with all the wildlife it attracts and the views up the loch. I will hopefully see you again in the future with it being your favourite.

Seclusion and natural charm

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage is secluded without being too remote, and wonderfully peaceful. The cottage is warm, comfortable and well-provisioned, and has a large front window where you can lose hours just watching the weather and the light change across Dunalastair Water and the surrounding hills. The artlessly natural garden is full of birds and red squirrels (make sure you bring food for the feeders with you to avoid being guilt-tripped by the chaffinch who checks them hourly, and can't quite believe it if they're empty!), and we spent hours just sitting in the garden watching them.

Taking out the rowing boat was excellent fun, although it turned out to be a mistake to try to row up the loch against the wind. It's much easier to go from side to side. Our labrador proved not to be a keen sailor - she preferred to splash about on the little beach by the jetty. One's own personal loch must be a labrador's idea of the perfect holiday.

Walking in the area is very good, especially around Rannoch Station. We also did lots of forest walks (Carie, Allean) on warmer days because the dog gets too hot out in the sun, and the shady birch and Scots pine paths are better for her. Don't forget the midge spray though.

Aberfeldy is a pleasant little town, with nice tearooms, shops and an excellent delicatessen that does ready meals if you don't feel like cooking. It's also quiet, in keeping with the peaceful solitude around Dunalastair and Rannoch. In comparison, the crowds in Pitlochry were a bit of a shock, although the sense that there were crowds was a very relative one that only served to emphasise how quiet the forests and hills once you head away from the A9 corridor.

We certainly hope to return to Bridge Cottage to do all the things we didn't quite get around to this time.




Catherine from Grantham stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bridge Cottage, it is indeed the cottage people seem to choose to get away from it all without being too remote as you point out. It is very popular and folks do return again and again and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Return to Bridge Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another 2 weeks spent in the peaceful surroundings of Bridge Cottage. We had a very pleasant stay. Managed to catch a fish on the loch, after many failed attempts. Wildlife plentiful, Roe deer in the garden and lots of birds. We will be returning next year to this very special place.

David from Church Stretton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 14 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility in Bridge Cottage it truly is a magical place. Good to know you got your fish eventually and the wildlife kept you entertained. See you next year!

A well earned rest at Bridge Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time booking one of the cottages on Dunalistair Estate. The really positive reviews and being booked well in advance peaked our interest. We seemed to have all four seasons in the four days but this just made the landscape all the more dramatic.

Inside, with a log fire burning, we enjoyed the comfort of such a beautiful cottage. There is a lot to be said about not being able to access wifi or your phone. With the distractions of social media out the way you bring to take notice of the beauty of simplicity and the wonder of nature.

We were there for 4 days but plan 7 next time!


Thomas from Clydebank stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 4 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit at Bridge Cottage. It is the place to be if you want to get away from it all. Look forward to seeing you again.

Stress free at Bridge Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been here many times now and it is still amazing, the location, cottage, views, fantastic.
De stress here for a week and you won't be disappointed.


Jane from Jedburgh stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Bridge Cottage, and good to know that you have gone home feeling de-stressed. It was nice to meet with you and look forward to your next visit.