FB Twitter

BALMORE COTTAGE

BALMORE COTTAGE

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Balmore is a spacious cottage with sitting room looking out to fields and hills from the big picture window. Formerly two cottages but tastefully renovated to form one big cottage with two bathrooms and two bedrooms, it lies by a quiet road and is surrounded by stunning countryside. "We fell in love instantly, with the cottage, the countryside and the surrounding area alike. So much to see and so much to do - we plan to be back sooner rather than later..." A and D.

Nice personal touches

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had received very good directions but I didn’t follow directions very well. Rose had stopped by to greet us and was concerned, left fresh flowers, tea, milk, and a note. She checked in again in the morning to make sure all was well. We couldn’t have been taken better care of. Beautiful countryside!

Susan from Maryville stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2018


Beatrice Tainsh replied 18 days ago
Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear you arrived safely and enjoyed the surroundings of the area whilst here.

Balmore Cottage stay June 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage first week in June 2018 . We had never stayed on the Dunalistair Estate before but we were really surprised by the lovely cottage and the wonderful area it is in. The cottage was well appointed and very clean and comfortable. We are keen on wildlife and photography and found the area really good for this. The little extra touches provided in the cottage were very welcome. ie, Not having to bring kitchen roll or kitchen foil and condiments was very useful. It was also good to know that the owners and management were easily contactable and near by. Been welcomed by a member of staff to check all was well was very re-asurering . We also on our travels in the week saw some of the other Dunalistair properties and feel sure we will return and give on of the others a try.
Many Thanks for a pleasant stay.


Andrew from Barton Upon Humber stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied 81 days ago
It was nice to meet you both during your recent stay in Balmore and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the area good for wildlife. The picture window makes a good viewing point for the birds and squirrels that come to the feeder. Perhaps we may see you again in the future.

Stunning location and very comfortable well appointed cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Balmore is comfortable and well equipped, in a stunning location. We received very good instructions and directions and we appreciated that Beatrice made a special effort to check we were okay on the Saturday morning as we did not arrive until late Friday evening due to bad traffic on much of the journey.

The pack of bird seed provided was really good for attracting 'Eric' the pheasant and his partner into the back garden and the bird feeder attracted many different types of bird including ciskins, blue, great and coal tits, greater spotted woodpecker and chaffinches. The picture window in the living room meant we had fabulous views of the birds feeding.

From a purely personal point of view, here are few things would have made our stay more comfortable: Sharp kitchen scissors- the pair in the kitchen were extremely blunt and pretty useless at opening food packets. The pillows in the double bedroom are soft and we would have preferred firmer pillows. The duvet was a very heavy winter weight one and a much lighter summer weight duvet would have been much more comfortable for sleeping. These are personal preferences and I am sure that other guests would be happy with the pillows and duvet provided. A larger teapot (as the cottage is to sleep four and the current teapot doesn't hold enough for three mugs of tea) and a few more larger wine glasses (there were only two) may be worth providing.

A less personal part of the feedback: It may be time that the bathroom was refreshed, with a shower provided, as I don't think many people would be too enamoured with having to use the shower spray. We were very used to it having been without a shower for many years but I think most people would probably be taken aback by this. There were a few stains on the enamel bath which were not dirt but wear and tear to the surface. Again I think this would put quite a few people off using the bath, especially if they are used to a shower.



Mary from Sheffield stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied 81 days ago
Thank you for your review. On the whole I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in Balmore and you enjoyed being entertained by the many types of birds coming to the feeders. I am sorry to hear the pillows did not meet with your requirements, if you had said something at the time we could have tried to find firmer ones for you, and we have replaced the scissors. We will certainly look at what we can do with the bathroom to try to improve it in the future, however there is the separate en-suite shower in the twin bedded room.

A gem of a place.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balmore Cottage is a gem of a place. Our stay was the perfect retreat in stunning surroundings and wonderful wildlife. A great base to explore the beautiful are of Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch. We’ll be back!

Kevin from Menstrie stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied 81 days ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Balmore Cottage taking in the wildlife and scenery. Looking forward to seeing you on your return visit.

A comfortable stay in an idyllic rural setting

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the Perthshire area, and we chose the Dunalastair Estate for its central yet secluded location. The booking process was straighforward, and the website provided ample information on the cottages and their facilities.
The driving directions were easy to follow and the cottage was just as we had expected.
I especially enjoyed the large picture window - the resident pheasants are an entertaining lot. We saw various birds and once even a red squirrel.
The cottage had everything we needed, and was well equipped, with instructions on recycling rules and amply information on the estate itself and the surrounding area.
One week went by so quickly, and we're already hoping to be able to book another holiday in the same cottage.
It was the perfect place to relax and disconnect from the stresses of everyday life, I admit I slept like a baby - the four poster bed was sooooo comfortable!


Katie from Erpeldange stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2018


Beatrice replied 158 days ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your fist visit to Perthshire here on Dunalastair. The birds, wildlife and especially the pheasants do appear to put on a show in front of the picture window and I am happy to hear they did not disappoint. A week does seem to fly past and perhaps we will see you again here on Dunalastair.

Loved it !

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay at the cottage. Everything neded was there. The children loved the picture window. And when it snowed, the views were magical - not something us city dwellers get to see often. Customer service is excellent. Thank you.

Manika from Hounslow stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 5 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied 165 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us on Dunalastair. I think you saw all seasons while you were here and nice to hear you enjoyed taking in the snowy views.

Total peace

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have never seen such a variety of wildlife before. Red squirrel, pet pheasant, Amazing!!
Do need a new mattress in the big bed though!
Cottage warm and cosy and clean. Will definitely be back.


Rhoda from Sunderland stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied 165 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay here on Dunalastair. I am happy to hear that the wildlife kept you entertained whilst sitting in the cosy cottage. We shall certainly look into your comment regarding the bed.And look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really welcoming experience when arriving, cottage was warm and inviting and some tea & coffee and milk was provided. Nice touch.
cottage outlook was great for observing some of the wildlife especially through large picture window to rear of property which had seating in it.
cozy and comfy cottage with everything you could need included,
would certainly return. well done Dunalistair :)


Jim from Larkhall stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 3 nights in March 2018


Balmore cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home from home. Rannoch stole my heart when I was 11 and I’ve been visiting ever since. The cottages in Dunalastair are truly lovely. I couldn’t t recommend enough.

Lynn from Dumfries stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied 207 days ago
Lovely to hear you have had yet another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

A lovely week with snow and sunshine

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Balmore with snow and sunshine. We were a party of four with two in their eighties. The cottage was warm - often it was too hot to light the stove - and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and there was a choice of either a shower room or bathroom.
The directions were good - and the Tesco delivery driver had no trouble finding us.
The countryside was wonderful with deep snow on the hills and views from the cottage in all directions.
We enjoyed watching the birds on the nuts including regular visits from a woodpecker.
We will hopefully return for another visit in early summer.


Rosemary from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in February 2018


Exceeded our expectations .

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in Balmore Cottage for 4 nights and we had a lovely relaxing stay. Although we were snowed in so couldn't venture out we had all we needed to enjoy our holiday. The beautiful scenery in the snow was amazing to watch. The dogs loved running around the grounds bounding in deep snow. The cottage itself exceeded our expectations it was so big and so comfortable and cosy. We have stayed in 3 different Dunalastair cottages now and each one we have been more than happy with. I did prefer this one for it's size although hubbie's favourite it Tuim Cottage being by the river for his fishing. We will be booking again soon for the Autumn.

Shona from Denny stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 4 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied 239 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Balmore and by the sound of things you stayed in the warm. We had a lot of snow during your short stay with us but I'm glad you still enjoyed it, it does make everything look very pretty. Look forward to seeing you again later on in the year.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been to this cottage three times
Love it amazing views
Clean and tidy
Would recommend this to any one


Andrea from Winchburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 5 nights in December 2017


Beatrice Tainsh replied 249 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Balmore and it met your expectations.

Very much surprised - much better then our time share

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used to stay in our time share in the area for more then 30 years. Due to a change of our activities we booked this cottage and were pleasently surprised. We will certainly book again.

Felix from Alzenau stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 339 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Balmore and pleased to hear your comparison to your timeshare. Look forward to seeing you again on Dunalastair.

Just Lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage in a great location for exploring. Facilities were superb and the cottage itself was very cosy. Staff were very professional and courteous.
The wildlife was in abundance and we especially enjoyed hearing the stags beginning to roar. The trees were beautiful in their autumnal colours.
Will be back again next year.


Vivian from Perthshire stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 361 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of Balmore Cottage. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us taking in the wildlife and scenery in and around Dunalastair. See you again next year.

Perfect home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Balmore Cottage in late June and it was perfect for us and our dog - peaceful, cosy and everything we had hoped. Lots of places to visit in the surrounding area and good restaurants and coffee shops too! The weather could have been kinder, but that didn't matter because the Cottage was very cosy. We particularly enjoyed relaxing while watching the birds feeding, either from inside through the huge window, or outside. If you're looking for peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings, this does the job.

Debbie from Nr Olney stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in Balmore. You certainly seemed to enjoy your visit with us exploring the area, and being fairly central in location it is a good base to get out and about. The birds too seemed to keep you entertained during your week.

It is a nice stay for different tours , walking, bike, drive to castles or gardens, to see the lochs

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is also good for a family. All equipment you need is there. It`s nice to sit outside. Also with a dog it is a good place.


Ingeborg from Pullach Im Isartal stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in June 2017


Rose replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. However, we will take up the cleanliness with our staff as it was apparently not up to our usual standard and we apologise for that.

Another wonderful stay at a Dunalastair cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in 4 of the cottages now and as always have had a wonderful stay! Balmore was comfortable, clean, well equipped and so peaceful. There's not a single negative thing to say! Loved it and will be back again and again.

Colette from Edinburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Balmore and good to know you will return, look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Lovely stay in Balmore Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in wonderful setting, we had a very good stay. The cottage was clean and comfortable and was perfect for our stay.

Fiona from stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 3 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Balmore. It is a cosy cottage to sit back and enjoy watching the wildlife through the picture window.

A magical place.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balmore Cottage is set in a wonderful location with superb views.
From the kitchen window,the "Fairy Mountain" - Scheihallion is an imposing sight.
From the lounge window you'll see the birds on the feeders,squirrels,pheasants,sheep,cows etc. depending on the season of your visit.
Situated in Dunlastair,you can find plenty to do and places to visit locally, or you can strike out in any direction to see however much of Scotland you wish.


Ray from Sheffield stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Balmore is indeed lovely and sits in the ideal location. Good to hear the wildlife kept you entertained and you found plenty to do in and around the area.

Comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We felt very well in this cottage. We like the typical Scottish cottage in beautiful nature. It is an wonderful place to relax.
Unfortunately it is not completely suitable for disabled people because of the shower. The only suitable cottage at Dunalastair Estate is Old Laundry, but it only has 2 sleeps - not for a family.
We like, that dogs are permitted, because our next trip will be with our dog. It is very difficult to find an accommodation suitable for disabled people and where dogs are permitted.
We´d like to come back again.


Siw from Zeulenroda-triebes stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I am happy to hear that you found Balmore comfortable for your stay here on Dunalastair. We will investigate the possibility of changing the shower there in the future,however it depends on how the pipes are set out but it is something we can look into. We look forward to your next visit to Dunalastair.