FB Twitter

Cottage 194 - Leenane

Cottage 194 - Leenane

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.3
Location
4.6
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.7


A well-presented two-bedroom traditional cottage located on the water’s edge close to Leenane Village in Connemara. Sleeps 4. Ideally located near activities and attractions. Short breaks available. Wi-fi included. A short drive to local towns of Clifden and Westport.

Lovely cottage and peaceful locatjon

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my partner in July 2020- cottage was very clean and well equipped. The owner, John is a lovely man, very friendly and told us the history of the cottage as well as recommendations for places to go. Pity the weather wasn’t great but the lovely scenery at the back of the cottage made up for it. I would stay again.



Sandra - Love Connemara Cottages replied 41 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review and detailed feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future

A nice stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A poor start in that the keys were not in the lock box. Had to ring the owner and had to sit around waiting for the keys. Entrance to property was not ideal as it was on a blind bend which allowed access from one side and proved dangerous entering and leaving.
On the plus side, very comfortable inside, everything thing you needed was there. Good tv selection. Location was idyllic backing onto the Fjord. Isolated within a cluster of trees. Good privacy. Access to Leenane ‘by car’ 5 mins. Weather was amazing which helped. Owner came promptly with the keys. Enjoyed the stay, would go back again.




Sandra - Love Connemara Cottages replied 52 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. We do ask that guests contact 48 hours in advance to arrange key collection details. Yes you will see from the cottage location it is located long a main road so caution is needed when entering driveway and leaving driveway. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and We hope you will return to the region in the future

Brilliant location & host

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
John was a great host. We stayed in the cottage for a week, really cosy with a working stove. The cottage is in a beautiful and convenient location, close to beautiful walks and just outside Leenane village. Tourist attractions are a short drive. Dog-friendly.



Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Us three ladies spent two nights in this beautiful little home. It was warm, welcoming ( a bottle of lovely red awaited us ) the beds were most comfortable. Yes it’s small - but quaint. Phone coverage was abysmal but that meant we spent our weekend talking!!! Central location for day trips to Kylemore ( great dinner there and very reasonable) Also a fab meal at The Seafarer in Letterfrack. Get to Leenane - this cottage experience awaits you!



Happy Stay in Leenane

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay. Lovely dog friendly cottage - even if it is close to the main road. Very comfortable and well equipped - stunning location with walks, beaches and amenities easily accessible. John Joe, the proprietor, a font of local knowledge and so helpful. Happy Days! We hope to return...



Sandra - Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to the region in the future.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice few days at the cottage. The scenery is fantastic and had a wonderful evening in the pub over the road, listening to music, poetry and song.



Sandra- Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact us

Geweldig

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have a very good time. And very beautiful place.........It's worth to come back..................



Sandra - Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact us

Snug with grest views

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The site of this cottage, on the banks of Killary Fjord, makes it a perfect place place to stay. It is clean & comfortable with a wood-burning stove to keep cosy and warm on chilly evenings. A great location to enjoy all that Connemara has to offer.



Sandra - Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact us

A cosy cottage in a beautiful central location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and tidy with all the facilities we needed. John the host checked in to have a friendly chat and ensure we had all we needed. He then left us alone to make the most of our time in this special place. It is in a beautiful quiet setting beside the Killary fiord and well removed from other buildings. It's location enabled us to explore the west coast of Ireland from Galway to Westport with Clifton and the Connemara National Park only a short drive away. Thank you Ireland and thank you John.



Leenane Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From our first contact with the owner by email, through to leaving the cottage, we were made extremely welcome. The location was amazing - right on the fjord with beautiful views across the water - with the mermaid by the bridge providing another interesting vista. The cottage was well kitted out with lovely comfy beds. When you are here, make the most of the easily accessible local attractions: walk up to the waterfall where the fight scene for "The Field" was filmed, take a trip on the boat on the fjord, visit the wool centre and cafe and also the bar across the road with live music on the Sunday evening. Altogether, a smashing cottage in a lovely position.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is just in front of Killary Harbour. Very nice places to walk around. Ashleigh Falls just 5 min. Leenane has good restaurants and pubs
Very warm welcome from John
The cottage is confortable with all we needed
We appreciated the beautiful surroundings : the hills, the fjord,
And Tom's Killary Farm is really a place to visit




Lovely comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely comfortable cottage. Beds were oke, shower was oke, wifi was oke most of the time. The view (at the back of the cottage) was beautiful. John was nice, we only saw him briefly, but we could reach him if needed. Very handy were the washing machine and dryer in the shed, perfect. Even a freezer. We had a very good stay.



Cottage - 194 Leanne

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved this little cottage in its beautiful location. A couple of things let the experience down and if sorted would, I feel, ensure that there was a lot more repeat business for this owner. The cleanliness of the cottage needs more work. The bedrooms and Kitchen were well equipt. However new linens are needed.

The sofa and the chairs in the sittingroom are old, lumpy,smelled and need replacing. A sofa bed would also be an asset. The stove would not work as there is no draught on the chimney so a aluminium pipe up the chimney and a fitting on top to create a draw might sort same. As it is an old irish cottage, bring able to light a fire adds to the atmosphere although the insulation and heating in the cottage was very good.

The only other area some work is the bathroom. Some tongue and grove paneling half way up the walls would take the rough look off the room and give it a cottagey look. That with a fresh coat of paint and a good clean would sort same. Replacing the two doors into the kitchen/Bathroom and replacing with similar doors to the ones in the bedroom would be more in keeping with the look of the cottage.

As I say, we loved this cottage and despite the above comments, enjoyed our time there. There was lots of good points as well such as the lovely neat kitchen, old world feel of the house, the lovely bedrooms, great facilities and the stunning location and would rent again if upgraded a bit.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming and accommodating host. Cottage was very clean, well equipped, cosy and comfortable. Would definitely recommend to friends.



Comfortable, well-equipped,centrally heated cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at this cottage for a week whilst fishing the river Erriff. The fishery is only a minute's drive away so could not be more convenient. The cottage is small but entirely adequate for two. It is comfortable, especially the beds, well-equipped and centrally heated. We ate out most nights, driving into Leenane just a few minutes way. Importantly for us, there was plenty of hot water at the cottage. The owner looked round on the first evening to see if we needed any help and was thoroughly welcoming.



Great touring location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a great location to tour both Galway and Mayo or just to sit, relax and enjoy the surrounding scenary. The cottage is simple and comfortable with everything provided. A compIementary bottle of wine was there to welcome us. I had a really enjoyable holiday here and would go back again.



Set in time

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful house and location. From the owner to the people of Leenane it felt like home,what views will be back.



review

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A pleasant, simple little cottage, in good condition, a friendly host and good instructions.
Good matrasses, kitchen OK ( a bit small), shower OK.

However, the price was, even after a small reduction in a last miute situation,relatively high : 399 Euro for 3 nights, and only 2 full days, esp. for a cottage that is located directly at the road (and not a quiet local road, but the N59), which was not made clear to us in advance. On the other hand, the surroundings are great, and Leenane forms a very good starting point for discovering Connamorra.

We had all in all a very pleasant stay.





Our most enjoyable week away in years.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My children and I spent a week at this beautiful cottage enjoying the spectacular scenery of the area. John the owner was pleasure to deal with.  The cottage is beautifully clean and has a location second to none. Open the back door and enjoy the sights of the Fjord filling and decreasing with the daily tide. The cottage is only a 2 minute drive from Leenaun Village where you can avail of some of the nicest seafood I have ever tasted. An Carraig Bar is just across the road and the Trad evening Sunday is one for the calendar. The scenery around the Killary Fjord area is breathtaking and the cottage is perfectly located to enjoy it all. You would be forgiven for thinking you are on holiday in Scandinavia such is the scenery. Glassilaun Beach, which you might expect to find in Greece, is a pleasant drive away and a trip from nearby Cleggan to Inishbofin is a must. We will definitely return and would recommend the cottage highly.