FB Twitter

Cottage 118 - Cleggan

Cottage 118 - Cleggan

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


3 Bedrooms - sleeps 7. Ideal family holiday cottage at Cleggan, Connemara with wonderful ocean views. Great value all year round.

Very basic

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Needed more cutlery, mugs and glasses for a family of five. No broom or vacuum provided for cleaning.



Sandra - Love Connemara Cottages replied 52 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback. We will pass your feedback on to the owners for review. Should you wish to return to the region please do not hesitate to contact us

A lovely location with a fabulous view

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here recently despite the misty grey weather! The house was very spacious for 7 adults and lovely location with view of the sea and nearby beaches. Problems with the hot water lead to many cold showers but was being looked into with good customer service. Would love to stay here again!



Sandra - Love Connemara Cottages replied 91 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. We hope you will return to the region in the future

Nice and value times in Connemara with the complete family.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful time in this very nice cottage 118 and we enjoyed the silence and the view of the sea.
Every thing was fine and the equipment of the cottage was perfect too.
It was, with its 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms big enough to spent nice times with our hole family.

If we come back to stay for holidays in connemara, we will book at "love connemara cottages" again.




Sandra - Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your email and your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future

A bit of heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The O'Malley's cottage is magical. The most beautiful possible setting imaginable, overlooking the Cleggan harbor, and surrounded by heathered fields, this is a clean, comfortable, and luxurious house. Our caretaker Mary was so helpful. Our group of five adults used the cottage as a departure point for hiking and biking and it was great to return to such a pleasant and warm home at the end of the day. Cleggan is a sweet town with great restaurants and pubs; for fresh fish, seek out the local fisherman for same day catch (ask at the grocery store). Thank you for a great stay!





Cleggan's beauty and hospitality are unmatched

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This comfortable, welcoming home is in an incredibly beautiful location. Cleggan and its residents were wonderful. We cannot wait to book again!



A very comfortable home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage offered really good, comfortable accommodation which our family enjoyed. The rooms were light and airy, and offered good views. Living accommodation offered plenty of space and the large dining kitchen was brilliantly equipped which meant we could easily enjoy family meals together. The whole place was very well kept and was very clean, meaning we had a really relaxing stay.
The positives were definitely the size and space offered, cleanliness, views, facilities and comfort. Access to a decent sized TV was great for the kids, and there were board games, books and distractions that kept us occupied. The log burner and central heating were assets on rainy days. It was very dark and quiet at night which was a bonus for light sleepers! Two showers and toilets were helpful, and there was plenty of storage space for bikes, boots and outdoor equipment. Being close to Cleggan we were in easy reach of excellent pubs with great food. We hadn't realised how popular Inishbofin Island was, and the harbour for the ferry was a hive of activity. The Island is well worth a visit. The beaches in the area were beautiful and unspoilt and the surrounding area was gorgeous.
There were few downsides. Whilst also being a positive, we felt the location was a bit of a negative. It was really windy! No matter what direction the wind was in, the exposed location meant we felt it. Even the locals said it was windy there! It wasn't bad enough to be a problem by any means, and we did experience some unusually windy weather, but it jut took some time to get used to. It was also a bit of a walk into Clegggan, which we did on several occasions but also got wet a couple of times. Something difficult to avoid in Ireland! Minor faults were that the wifi was no longer available (quite a good thing, although phone signal is also poor) and the DVD players were not working. Rubbish collection was difficult to work out as the collection location wasn't clear, but I guess this is a common problem.
Overall, this cottage made for a fantastic holiday. We would absolutely recommend it to others, as it provides comfortable accommodation in an stunningly beautiful area. We all returned relaxed and happy, which made it worth it.




A stunning location for a great cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Feel at home in a great cottage with stunning view and perfect comfort.
Close to the ferry to Inisbofin Island and to the Connemara national Park. It is the perfect location to explore Connemara.
We stayed 3 nights and wished it was longer!




Spacious cottage with stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great week staying here, with our 9 month old.

All rooms offer lovely views over the moorland and the bay out to Inishboffin Island, so even in rough weather you can enjoy a cuppa but still feel like you're out in the Connemara.

Bedrooms, bathrooms, lounge and kitchen diner are all on the ground floor, which was really convenient for us. The lounge is a nice size, allowing our son the chance to learn to crawl that week! There is a tv with dvd player (& a small dvd collection), and a small cd player (no line-in though).

The kitchen diner is nice and big and open, with a table big enough for six. There is an electric hob and oven, which were good enough for us, but not amazing. The utensils provided were very adequate.

The boiler, required for the central heating, let off a gassy smell. It was in a utility room, so the door could be shut to keep the worst out, but still a little off putting with a young child.

There is technically some outdoor space with the cottage, but it's pretty windy a lot of the time I imagine, so the washing line is probably the best use of the space.

The key pickup was really easy, the caretaker was friendly and left us to enjoy the week. The cottage was very clean and all in very good condition. We had a great week staying here, and enjoyed the feeling of being in the wild moorland and views out to sea. It is an easy 10 minute drive over to Clifden for supplies etc, and in a great position to visit various locations in the Connemara.




A grand spot

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage in a wonderful spot. A stones throw away from the harbour & a short drive from Clifden.
The property was immaculate. Great size with all mod cons. Highly recommended.