FB Twitter

The Coach House

The Coach House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Coach House is a very spacious luxury detached cottage with its own private courtyard area. With 3 large en-suite bedrooms it is totally accessible for those with mobility issues. The cottage has underfloor heating throughout, and has a lovely large open plan living space with fully equipped kitchen, dining area, comfy sofas and chairs and a stunning wood burning stove.

Top quality and comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jan 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Being a wheelchair user makes it harder to fine suitable and comfortable situations for a relaxing break, however, this accommodation hits the mark. Warm, Roomy, Spacious and Clean, sums it up perfectly. The wet room is huge. The property would accommodate even the largest of wheelchairs easily. The site is up a steep hill but once there, there are no obstacles getting in and around the coach house, with parking outside. It is on the expensive side but if the three double bedrooms are occupied it works out.

Leonard from Thorntonhall stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in January 2023


Super cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautifully appointed, spacious, luxurious cottage in a lovely setting. Evelyn recommended The Coach House, which was ideal for my elderly Mom, as it has parking right outside, step-free access and is all on one level. Underfloor heating ensured a warm stay. Although not needed for us, one of the bedrooms would be ideal for a wheelchair user, with lots of space to maneuver and an en suite wet room. The cottages are a short drive to the excellent restaurants, coffee shops and delis in Wormit and Newport-on-Tay, about 10 mins across the Tay Bridge to the V&A in Dundee and close to the forest and beaches in the Tentsmuir Nature Reserve. A stunning place, in this very special corner of the Kingdom of Fife.

Alison from stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in November 2022


Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all 5 cottages for our wedding party over our wedding weekend and it was perfect! We used the coach house for getting ready as it is so spacious and bright. Fantastic service from Evelyn and Ralph and gorgeous location!

Katie from Jarrow stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in September 2022


Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the entire place to celebrate my mums 100th birthday with family from far and wide!
The cottages are all fabulous / beautifully renovated to a very standard and very well equipped.
Evelyn was lovely and helpful.
Our only recommendation would be that summer weight duvets on the beds would be great for the warmer months.


Valerie from stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in August 2022


I had a lovely time in the coach house, it meets all expectations

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful

Jean from stayed at The Coach House for 4 nights in August 2022


3rd staycation at Sandford

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at Sandford Country Cottages. We opted for The Coach House this time having stayed in The Giddy Limit and Lady Bluebell on our last visits. The Coach House is spacious and beautifully appointed. It was ideal for us. While we had planned to be more active, we spent time relaxing on the terrace enjoying the good weather. Evelyn and Ralph are great hosts and very welcoming. We are already talking about a return visit!

Kay from Glasgow stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in June 2022


FAB-U-LOUS!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this property is 5 star plus. Extremely comfy beds, beautiful bathrooms, luxurious bedding, high quality fixtures and fittings and top notch appliances. Lovely patio area for dining al fresco or just enjoying a glass of chilled wine.
Location very peaceful.
Lovely welcome basket on arrival. Evelyn and Ralph are the most genial hosts you could wish for and nothing is too much trouble. First time in this particular accommodation, (already stayed in Lady Bluebell in the past) and will be returning to sample the other accommodations on offer ( it would be rude not to).


Celia from Holme upon Spalding Moor stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in June 2022


Coach House, Sandford Country Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay in a well appointed and comfortable cottage. Good access to local attractions.

Guest from Gatehouse of Fleet stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in June 2022


Recent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 4, 3 being in their 80s. My mum is a wheelchair user and my dad has poor mobility. Thecoach house was perfect, all on a flat,wet room, spacious living area for them to move around in.
The unit had everything we needed tastefully decorated but very comfortable and relaxing.


Colette from Widnes stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in June 2022


Family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandford exceeded our expectations from first contact with booking until we left. Everything was quality, well thought out and well equipped. The space in the coach house meant our large family could fit in without feeling cramped even for eating.
The beds were the best I have ever slept in away from home and having en suite in every bedroom was a treat. We would congratulate the owners on creating such high standard cottages and we hope to be back soon. Thank you too for being so flexible.


Ian from stayed at The Coach House for 4 nights in February 2022


The best accommodation in the County by far!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has become a firm favourite. The accommodation is clean, cosy, comfortable and has character!
We value the privacy and the outstanding Covid measures in place.
This is not our first visit and will not be our last!


Guest from Dollar stayed at The Coach House for 4 nights in February 2022


Amazing and beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was second time at the cottages but the first in the coach house. It was sumptuous. Perfect in every way, marry Poppins would love it! We used for our base to gather everyone staying in the other cottages. We shared food with 16 round the table no probs. The beds are the most comfortable and the quilts are like clouds!

We used the grounds and the BBQ Hut ( need a better world to describe, so much more than a hut) for four days, delivering professional development for teachers. It was a joy.

Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.


Alice from Glasgow stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in October 2021


A perfect family holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family, this was our second stay at Sandford Country Cottages, and we will certainly be back!
The Coach House is absolutely wonderful - spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and very, very comfortable. Evelyn and Ralph are the perfect hosts - helpful, kind, thoughtful and responsive. We appreciated all their advice and local knowledge, as well as the opportunity to use their amazing barbecue ‘palace’ for the whole family together.
The grounds are wonderful - red squirrels
and lots of bird life as well as a great place to play for little ones. Our youngest family members now see the treehouse as their ‘clubhouse’ and thoroughly enjoy playing there and enjoying the view.
Thank you, Evelyn and Ralph, for another wonderful stay in The Coach House, Lady Bluebell’s and Valentine’s cottages. See you again soon!


Julia from Ilkley stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in October 2021


Another Great Stag at Sandford

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had another great stay at Sandford, this time in the Coach House. Its a lovely big airy apartment ideal for family gatherings. Its well equipped and very comfortable. When the weather is fine there is a lovely courtyard to sit out though we actually spent more time in the grounds. Our grandson especially enjoys playing in the tree house. Evelyn and Ralph are ideal hosts and work hard to look after their guests. We have already booked to return!

Chris from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Coach House for 8 nights in October 2021


Stunning

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House is absolutely stunning and will no doubt be nicer than your actual home! The three en-suite rooms are are generous size and everything is in amazing condition as it's very new.
My family stayed in the Coach House as it was close to the Rhynd for my wedding and they loved it!


Alex from stayed at The Coach House for 2 nights in August 2021


Brilliant stay in The Coach House

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Coach House. It was cleaned and decorated to a high standard and was fully equipped with everything we needed for our stay. We loved the look of the building, including the skylights and wooden surfaces. Was great having the outdoor terrace too. Lovely surroundings. Really enjoyed exploring Newport on Tay and Broughty Ferry. Evelyn was very welcoming and provided all the information that we needed. We will definitely be back here again!

Emma from Glasgow stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in August 2021


Fantastic week long break with the family

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Sandford Cottages/Coach house in the 12 months and it didn't disappoint, This time with our daughter and son plus their partners and our baby grandson. The house is clean, comfortable and well equipped. A real home from home for sure. The location is an ideal base for travelling throughout Fife, Perthshire and Angus with Dundee, Perth and Edinburgh within travelling distance. Our family appreciated the tour of this grand old house and the work that Evelyn and her husband have put into it over several years. Evelyn, the owner, was the perfect host as always. We'll be back for sure.

James from Westhill stayed at The Coach House for 8 nights in August 2021


8 day stay in The Coach House

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
1st time staying in The Coach House and 4th time staying at Sandford Country Cottages.
The reason we keep returning is the superb quality of the accommodation and furnishings and the helpful and friendly welcome by the owners Evelyn & Ralph. They always follow up to ensure everything is in order for our stay.
A lovely welcome food hamper always awaits us on arrival.
We enjoyed the airy open plan feel of the Coach House, the enclosed private courtyard and the fact it was very well equipped including a good coffee machine!
We would not stay anywhere else in the area and have already booked another visit next year and plan to try out more of the wonderful restaurants in the area.


Krystyna from stayed at The Coach House for 8 nights in July 2021


Lovely welcome, friendly folks, great bird and squirrel life!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely airy, clean and well equipped properties; instant responses to questions and no problem too hard to resolve! We had a brilliant few days to celebrate being able to be a family together and Evelyn and Ralph tolerated our birthday celebration nonsenses with calm equanimity! Bird life and red squirrels were icing on our cakes!

Bridget from stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in May 2021


Luxury accommodation and great value for money.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I took my wife away for a short break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and birthday which are a day apart. I can honestly say this is the best self catering cottage I have stayed in in all my 56 years. The facilities were outstanding and in immaculate condition. Very spacious, clean and pristine with great attention to detail by our hosts, who made us very welcome. Sandford House is of historical significance and it was great to watch on YouTube how the building was painstakingly restored by our hosts who are the current owners. We will definitely be back; hopefully next time with our family who couldn't come because of current government covid restrictions. I would award 10 stars out of 10 and bonus 1 or 2 if possible.

James from Westhill stayed at The Coach House for 2 nights in October 2020


Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Coach House. It’s been ideal for a family stay with plenty of room to spread out and so much ground outside for the kids to happily run around.
Not to mention the great service by Evelyn and Ralph!


Bjoern from Aberdeen stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in September 2020


Stunning Accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous holiday at Sanford cottages, Coach House, not only was the house immaculate but it was spacious and airy. Our 2 dogs loved running around the field at the end of the drive and we were fortunate enough to get warm sunny weather which was an added bonus at this time of year. The hosts Evelyn and Ralph are naturals at making people feel welcome and put themselves out to provide extra touches to make your time at their cottages memorable.
This is the most relaxing holiday I have had in years and we had fun lighting the fire at night. Will definitely return.


Susan from Kincardine stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in September 2020