FB Twitter

Red Squirrel Apartment

Red Squirrel Apartment

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


A luxury one bed apartment with fabulous views of the Fife countryside to the north, south and east.

The best break I have had for ages!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Sandford Country Cottages was absolutely heavenly. Simply put, it was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and immaculate. There were such thoughtful touches, such as the bread, milk, cereal, coffee and biscuits alongside gorgeous extras like the toiletries in the bathroom. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, we had everything we needed to cook and it was well stocked with dishwasher tabs, hand soap and washing up liquid. No need for us to provide anything! The bed was superbly comfortable and I personally really appreciated the quality of the bedding and the towels provided. Thick, soft and lovely. I would go back to stay again in a heartbeat and am already thinking that I'd like to book for Christmas! The Fife countryside is like nowhere else in terms of beauty. Evelyn could not have been more helpful or done more for us. Such a wonderful stay.

Chloe from stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 2 nights in September 2021


A week at Sandford House

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment in arts and crafts period property, very luxurious very friendly owners- Evelyn and Ralph. Handy for many trips incl St Andrews, Pitlochry, Hermitage waterfalls, Glen Clova, Dundee V&A. Could do with instructions for dishwasher, hob and coffeemaker!

Neil from Christchurch stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 7 nights in September 2021


Perfect in Every Way!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Red Squirrel apartment for one night. It far exceeded what we were expecting for the very reasonable price. Everything was spotless and of such high quality. The apartment was full of charm and had been renovated so sympathetically. We had a lovely breakfast selection, excellent coffee and delicious biscuits.
We felt completely safe because of the extra attention to detail re cleaning in these Covid times. The bed was super comfortable with luxury bedding.
Ralph and Evelyn were wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble.
We do not have anything negative to say about this venue and will definitely be recommending it to our friends. If you want peace and quiet in beautiful countryside but also only a short drive to bigger towns, this is ideal!


Colin & Mandy from stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 1 nights in September 2021


Wedding night stay

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Red Squirrel on our wedding night after getting married at The Rhynd. It was a perfect location for a private space with beautiful views over the countryside in a modern but extremely homely setting. Would highly recommend staying here.

Alex from stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 3 nights in August 2021


A great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Squirrel apt at Sandford Country Cottages is a fabulous place for a short break. It is elegantly designed and the owners, Evelyn and Ralph, have carefully considered what their guests need for a relaxing stay - from the welcome pack of basic provisions to the fluffy bath robes and comfy bed everything is of the highest quality. Wonderful views from every window too. We saw red squirrels hiding in the tall pine trees. We Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Cathy from Rochester stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 5 nights in July 2021


A beautiful setting and fantastic accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
1.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
It was lovely to spend a week there in the peace and quiet. The area offers lots of things to do, and each time I go, I find something new. Thoroughly recommended.

Marion from St Albans stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 7 nights in June 2021


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived Evelyn was there to great us and was so warm, friendly and helpful. The red squirrel apartment was spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly want for your stay. We can’t fault anything we definitely want to back and visit again Evelyn & Ralph have done an amazing job on renovating this beautiful property you won’t be disappointed. 10/10

Andrew from Blandford Forum stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 5 nights in June 2021


Superb apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartments was beautifully furnished, and really comfortable. They are set in wonderful grounds, and the the barbecue hut is truly fantastic. The owners were incredibly friendly, and very helpful. I would certainly recommend it, and will certainly be back.

David from Edinburgh stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 3 nights in May 2021


Red Squirrel Apartment Review

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here to celebrate a special birthday and it didn't disappoint. Evelyn and Ralph were very welcoming and the complimentary basket of food was a lovely touch. The standard of the equipment in the apartment is very high and comprehensive and the level of cleanliness cannot be beaten. The surroundings are beautiful and very quiet, which is what we wanted. However, it is very central for exploring Fife and nearby Dundee and its environs. A little gem.

Guest from Paisley stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 6 nights in October 2020


Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. Evelyn and Ralph are perfect hosts. Cant wait to return in October. Would recommend to anyone that enjoys the peace and quiet.

Lisa from Penrith stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 3 nights in August 2020


An architectural gem, beautifully presented by the owner

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners passion for the property is obvious. The tour of the house and it’s very varied history is worthwhile.

Martin from Doncaster stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 4 nights in September 2019


Perfect couples hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet, luxurious and wonderfully situated. If you want to hide and read or watch birds it's ideal. If you want to use this as a base to explore- also perfect.

Simon from stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 7 nights in August 2019


Our stay in Red Squirrel

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Squirrel apartment is the perfect base for exploring the Dundee area. It is stylishly furnished, well equipped and immaculate. Evelyn and Ralph were perfect hosts, providing a warm welcome and generous basket of provisions and even a tour of their delightful house. We will certainly return!

Judith from Beverley stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 3 nights in July 2019


Weekend Visit

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have booked to stay with a Evelyn and Ralph at Sandford over our Wedding Weekend next year, and when the opportunity came up to stay with them for another wedding near by, we couldn’t resist. Sandford is situated in a beautiful location with stunning views. Each time we have visited we have felt so welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, cottage was so clean, comfortable and cosy. A relaxing weekend with many memories made. We can’t wait to go back.

Lauren from Montrose stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 2 nights in May 2019


Cosy, friendly well equipped

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extended stay whilst house hunting . Evelyn and Ralph were super hosts and the love and care they both put into thisi Art & Crafts architectural gem is clear throughout. All of this makes it a great place to spend time.



Jacqueline from Newport-on-Tay stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 38 nights in January 2019


A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully appointed apartment, in a good location, with a very warm welcome from the owners. Thoroughly recommended.

Tony from Retford stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 5 nights in August 2018


Lovely apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment. Friendly and very helpful hostess. Catered for gluten free dietary needs. Most welcoming.

Gerard from Arbroath stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 1 nights in August 2018


High standard of stylish comfortable accommodation.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome with knowledgeable assistance and service, which was definitely not intrusive. The cottage was beautifully furnished with nice touches but still had a relaxed feel and was very comfortable. The bed and shower were fabulous and absolutely spotless. The courtyard and gardens are stunning and the welcome pack was more than adequate. Would definitely recommend.

Guest from Wishaw stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 3 nights in July 2018


Lovely apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in the apartment. It was just as lovely as our first time. The apartment is so beautifully decorated and comfortable you immediately feel at home, every comfort is taken care of, including groceries to start you of - very practical when arriving late. We wouldn't think of going anywhere else.

Fiona from Nuremberg stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 5 nights in June 2018


Baillie Scott would be happy

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As an Arts and Crafts enthusiast, I'm convinced that Baillie-Scott would be happy with what Ralph and Evelyn have fine with the house. He would also be impressed by the extension and what Ralph and Evelyn have done with that. It's a delight to stay there. The cottages are very comfortable and retain that Arts and Crafts feel. Thoroughly recommended!

Michael from Huddersfield stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 3 nights in April 2018


A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Red Squirrel, Sandford Country Cottages for a few days. It was absolutely delightful - from Evelyn’s warm welcome (including breakfast foods, coffee, tea and biscuits) to the very comfy bed and lovely, beautifully designed living area. It was also very peaceful. Strongly recommended by us for a holiday all year round.

Rae from stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 5 nights in October 2017


The flat was lovely, tastefully decorated and in pristine condition, very comfortable and welcoming.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay very much, and have already booked to return next year.
The apartment was beautifully furnished and well-equipped and
excellently appointed. Also in a lovely old building that has been restored with
great care and attention. Close to St. Andrews, Edinburgh and Dundee, so
very convenient


Fiona from Nuremberg stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 5 nights in September 2017


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay and Evelyn and Ralph could not do enough for us. Thoroughly recommend staying here it was fantastic

Loretta from Perth stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 3 nights in August 2017


Red Squirrel

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation is simply gorgeous, as are the other Cottages. We really enjoyed looking around the whole property, including the owners part. The owners, Ralph and Evelyn are warm and welcoming. There's plenty to see and do locally if within a short drive. Falkirk wheel and Stirling Castle we well worth a visit. You have to go to Arbroath to try the "smokies". A great spot for a short break or longer holiday. Christmas here would be beautiful. The views from the Cottages is stunning.

Jacqueline from stayed at Red Squirrel Apartment for 5 nights in August 2017