FB Twitter

Lady Bluebell

Lady Bluebell

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Lady Bluebell is our ground floor apartment with 3 double en-suite bedrooms. It is named after Lady Bluebell Walker who owned Sandford along with her husband Sir William Walker from 1930 - 1960.

It is situated on the North West corner of the building and has a large private terrace outside. It is designed with a mixture of contemprary and antique furniture with lovely tweed Moon fabrics. The open plan living area is very spacious and has a wood burning stove to keep you cosy on the Winter nights.

The newly fitted kitchen has a dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, induction hob, electric oven, microwave, coffee machine and their is a another fridge/freezer in the hall cupboard.

The living area has a large leather settee and armchairs and has a 40" Freeview TV + DVD player. There is also a Bluetooth speaker which uses Bluetooth to play music through a phone or iPad.

The apartment has three bedrooms - bedroom one has a superking bed which can be split into twin beds and has an en-suite wet room. Bedroom two has a double bed and and en-suite shower room and bedroom three has a king size bed which can be split into twin beds and an en-suite bathroom. All en-suites are fully tiled and fitted with power showers.

The comfy beds have sumptuous duvets and pillows and the bedlinen is crisp white Egyptian cotton.

The entrance hall is spacious and has storage for coats, golf clubs and suitcases.

As this apartment is on the ground floor it is suitable for someone with mobility problems and we also accept one small, well-behaved dog in Lady Bluebell.

Wonderful cottage stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, cottage has everything that's needed; really handy for Dundee & to see my son, daughter in law & granddaughter.will definitely be back.

Vivienne from Fairford stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in October 2017


A lovely weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Lady Bluebell cottage when staying with a larger group. The first thing we noticed on our arrival was the lovely bay window with the gorgeous views! The grounds around the cottages are beautiful and all link to a very picturesque courtyard. We hired a hot tub to use over the weekend - Evelyn was very accommodating with this - and it was a great little extra to have during our stay. The apartments were gorgeous, modern and fully equipped with everything you could need - we loved our little basket of goodies! Each apartment had an en suite bathroom which was perfect for us with us all getting ready to go out together at the same time! It's not far at all to get to St Andrews where we went for a day trip and enjoyed a walk along the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Sandford Country Cottages and will be sure to return. Thanks to Evelyn and Ralph for a wonderful stay and being so welcoming!

Kelly from Edinburgh stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in October 2017


Sandford Country Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third visit for us, we keep coming back because the accommodation is superb as is the customer service. This year we stayed in Lady Bluebell and we were not at all surprised to find it at the same beautiful standard as Valentines Cottage. I have no doubt we will book for next year too. Lots of things to do locally and Eden Mill distillery is well worth a visit - the gin tour was particularly good (get a taxi!! - four full measures of gin on the tour).

Jacqueline from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in August 2017


Great to return

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had the loveliest week at Lady Bluebell. The apartment is perfect for our family (lots of space, comfortable beds and good showers), and has a bonus of a fantastic view of the river in the distance. Generous and thoughtful hosts help make this the perfect holiday location. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Guest from Twickenham stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in July 2017


Our week in Lady Bluebell at Sandford Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandford's Lady Bluebell was a beautiful cottage, with lovely modern decor which still maintained a country cottage feel.
Fantastic accommodation for a family(which we needed with 4 kids) and we will definitely be back.
Handy for many activities in both Dundee and St.Andrews.
Lovely touch supplying a hamper style basket with some home essentials, among other things.
Owner/ Manageress was also very friendly and helpful.
For a local type of getaway it was perfect for us coming from Glasgow.
Lovely place which I would highly recommend.


Graham from Glasgow stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in July 2017


Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is tastefully decorated, very clean and really welcoming. It's location could not be more convenient and the surrounding area is just stunning.
We already recommended it to some of our friends and would definitely come back.
Lovely people and lovely place.


Bothaina from Dubai stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in June 2017


Lovely comfortable cottage, great location and welcome that made it feel like home!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really well appointed cottage in quiet location with lovely views great terrace for outside meals etc if the weather had been better. Super layout inside and very comfortable and clean so felt like coming home each day. Evelyn and Ralph very friendly and helpful. Such a good location for exploring east coast and centre of southern Scotland. You can have short trips or longer ones with ease so very relaxing. We certainly hope to return we enjoyed ourselves so much!

Wendy from Alnwick stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in June 2017


Delightful Arts & Crafts accommodation in a picturesque setting

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with our two labradors in Lady Bluebell Cottage. The restoration has been done to a high standard and the cottage was very well equipped. The views were stunning and the location was a short distance from St Andrews and Dundee.

Tanya from LONDON stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in June 2017


Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic long weekend for our wedding anniversary with dog in tow. Lovely welcome from Evelyn with a very nice welcome basket in the cottage. Beautiful cottage with views of the countryside, a real home from home. A huge thank you to Evelyn and Ralph for kindly driving us to the Peat Inn and arranging a taxi home for us. Will definitely be looking to visit again.

Clair from Troon stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in November 2016


Beautiful and peaceful haven

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandford is out this world. The cottage was very clean and had all the amenities you would expect as well as a very cosy feel to it it was very spacious. Very peaceful and rural location without being cut off. Loved our stay.

Kevin from Newport-on-Tay stayed at Lady Bluebell for 14 nights in October 2016


Great holiday let and great hosts.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We almost always rent a holiday home rather than use a hotel. We've stayed in some really lovely places, both in the Uk and abroad. We're fairly choosy about what we're looking for, and so far it has always worked out well. That said, Sandford House really is exceptional. There was absolutely nothing we'd change, or that we think could be improved. Super living space, good sized bedrooms with extremely comfortable beds and excellent showers. The hosts were generous both with their time and hospitality. We were also delighted with the surprise view of the river from the living room!

We are originally from the area, and the apartment was also great for us hosting family and friends. How easy it was to get into Dundee, or St Andrews was actually a really nice surprise. It was quicker for us to get to central Dundee from there than our old house on the other side of the river.

We very much look forward to returning.


Audrey from Twickenham stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in October 2016


MRS Nancy Baggs

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation - beds were extremely comfy. A really nice welcome as well. Very handy for "being a tourist." You even managed to provide good weather for us. Hope to go back some day.

Robin from Paisley stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in September 2016


Amazing location, beautiful cottage, unbeliveable view, very relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Evelyn greeted us and showed us how everything worked. The hamper was well filled with artisan essentials, and we quickly discovered a farm shop to replenish our supplies. We loved our stay here. Internet not very good, but who needs it when you are on vacation? Outstanding!

Janet from Binningen stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in August 2016


Absolutely mint worked away for 28 years easily the best place I have ever stayed at

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing even up to the binoculars placed in window to admire the view never seen much of owner but wen we did she always so friendly just like all the Scottish people

Roz from Glasgow stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in July 2016


Everything was fantastic, we just didn't want to come home!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned (very reluctantly) from a wonderful stay in Lady Bluebell at Sandford Country Cottages. The facilities in the property and the quality of accommodation was of the highest standard - welcomed by Evelyn and Ralph when we arrived, and with a wonderful welcome pack filled with homemade and locally produced goodies, as well as the necessities like tea and coffee. The surroundings of the cottages are picture perfect, perched high on a hill beside tall trees, it is such a relaxing, beautiful setting.

The location of the cottages are great: near to St Andrews (c. 10miles) as well as the lovely coastal town of Newport. Well connected to motorway system and across the river from Dundee. We spent a lovely week travelling around the area, sampling everything good on offer from fresh strawberries from the nearby farm to beach walks in the lovely Tentsmuir Forest.

We had an amazing week away and would highly recommend the cottages and location to anyone travelling to the area. We're already looking to see when we can go back!


Melanie from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in May 2016


Lady Bluebell Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is immaculate in a superb setting with every home comfort provided. The owners have gone above and beyond with the standard of finish and the attention to detail. We couldn't have asked for a better place to have a relaxing break.

Alan from Aberdeen stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in May 2016


Simply the Best

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It really doesn't get any better than this. Both Evelyn and Ralph were very helpful and professional, taking perfect care of every requests.
Would highly recommend to anyone seeking great accommodation


Christopher from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in May 2016


Perfection. Exceptional luxury and total comfort in a rural, historic retreat with magnificent hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the privilege of staying in the Lady Bluebell holiday cottage at Sandford House from 1 March 2016 - 7 May 2016 during an extremely protracted house move. It has been perfection. Exceptional luxury and total comfort in a rural, historic retreat with magnificent hosts. The owners / proprietors, Ralph and Evelyn are two of the kindest, most generous, accommodating, thoughtful, hard-working, considerate and dedicated people we have ever had the privilege to meet. We now consider them our family friends. The attention to detail in the accommodations is consummate. The cleanliness standard is immaculate. The quality of the environment is impeccable. Exquisite quality linen, towels, mattresses, fixtures, fittings, fitments and provisions. The 5-star tourist board rating is hard-earned and totally deserved in this instance. Ralph and Evelyn have sensitively adapted and improved the accommodations of this very fine arts and crafts property, which is a sizeable and extremely attractive country house to be a rural idyll - a retreat, protected for generations to come. Ralph, Evelyn and Sandford House deserve to succeed, and we are pleased to provide our unqualified recommendation with our thanks.

Oliver from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 67 nights in March 2016


Loved It

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt at home from the minute we opened the door. Very comfortable and good quality furnishings. The log burner was a bonus on a chilly dark winter's day.

Kathleen from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in November 2015


Evelyn Hardie replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely meeting you all and we look forward to having you all here again in the future.

Last minute work accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with two other work colleagues for a week. The accommodation and location was stunning and the welcome we got was second to none. Was that impressed that I would love to return with the family for a break. Can't recommend highly enough.

Steven from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in November 2015


Ideal for family break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked a three bedroom apartment for a family break and had an excellent time here. The standard and quality of the apartment was excellent and the owners, who live across the courtyard, were always very helpful and accommodating. It's also is a lovely quiet spot, ideal for country walks, and yet easy commuting distance to St Andrews and Dundee both just a few minutes’ drive away.

Jim from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in September 2015