FB Twitter

Lady Bluebell

Lady Bluebell

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Lady Bluebell is our ground floor apartment with 3 double en-suite bedrooms. It is named after Lady Bluebell Walker who owned Sandford along with her husband Sir William Walker from 1930 - 1960.

It is situated on the North West corner of the building and has a large private terrace outside. It is designed with a mixture of contemprary and antique furniture with lovely tweed Moon fabrics. The open plan living area is very spacious and has a wood burning stove to keep you cosy on the Winter nights.

The newly fitted kitchen has a dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, induction hob, electric oven, microwave, coffee machine and their is a another fridge/freezer in the hall cupboard.

The living area has a large leather settee and armchairs and has a 40" Freeview TV + DVD player. There is also a Bluetooth speaker which uses Bluetooth to play music through a phone or iPad.

The apartment has three bedrooms - bedroom one has a superking bed which can be split into twin beds and has an en-suite wet room. Bedroom two has a double bed and and en-suite shower room and bedroom three has a king size bed which can be split into twin beds and an en-suite bathroom. All en-suites are fully tiled and fitted with power showers.

The comfy beds have sumptuous duvets and pillows and the bedlinen is crisp white Egyptian cotton.

The entrance hall is spacious and has storage for coats, golf clubs and suitcases.

As this apartment is on the ground floor it is suitable for someone with mobility problems and we also accept one small, well-behaved dog in Lady Bluebell.

Weekend Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation with n beautiful surroundings. Great communication with owner. Would definitely recommend.

Laura from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in September 2019


Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 6 very relaxing days at Sandford staying in Lady Bluebell. The cottage was absolutely delightful, very well equipped, cosy, clean and comfortable very much home from home. Set in beautiful countryside with great golf, walking, shopping & restaurants nearby. Evelyn & Ralph have worked extremely hard to renovate Sanford and it shows in the very tasteful fixtures, furniture & beautiful William Morris wall coverings. We will be back and thank you for making us feel so welcome and the delicious welcome pack.

Lorraine from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in September 2019


A fabulous four days in the country.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were travelling from Canada and used Sandford Cottages as out home base for four days while we explored the East Neil. Evelyn and Ralph are quintessential hosts. Lady Bluebell was spacious and quiet, clean and welcoming (including a basket of essentials). It was fascinating to tour the house and understand the renovations over the years. We were accompanied by my guide dog and he met all the local Pups. We highly recommend this wonderfully appointed setting!

Sue from Toronto stayed at Lady Bluebell for 4 nights in September 2019


10/10

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb stay and a outstanding service from the oweners of Sandford Country Cottage. My warmest recommendation :-)

Steinar from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in September 2019


Another awesome visit

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandford House management team are absolutely outstanding. They continue to resolve all our problems promptly no matter how complex the issue.

Ellis from St Petersburg stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in August 2019


Excellent well deserved

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have marked this as excellent because I felt it was very well deserved. The attention to detail was so good even down to a pair of binoculars to watch the birds in their abundance. Bird feeders in plenty to encourage them. The apartment was spacious, Clean and warm with a wood burner if you wanted the luxury of a fire as well as central heating. Parking is plenty and convenient being right by the apartment. Should you fancy it there is plenty of interesting bits in the grounds including a hobbit house. The owners have provided leaflets of the many attractions around as well. They are also on hand for any help required , warm friendly but without being intrusive.

Kathy from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in August 2019


FAB-U-LOUS!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lady Bluebell is truly five star accommodation and not only met our expectations but exceeded them by a very long margin. The location is extremely tranquil and being situated in an elevated position the views are wonderful. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and with each bedroom boasting it’s very own en-suite there was never a queue for the bathroom. This was our first visit to Sandford Country Cottages and it certainly won’t be the last as we have already booked for next year.
Evelyn and Ralph are the most welcoming and accommodating owners and nothing is too much trouble and they too deserve a five star rating without a doubt. A quality welcome hamper is provided on arrival which was a lovely touch.





Celia from Holme upon Spalding Moor stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in August 2019


Wonderful base for family break

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous apartment with 5 star luxury in a glorious setting close to everything from fine beaches to historical wonders. A family of 5 are comfortable, happy and not in each other's way. Long walks, many varieties of birds and a superbly restored arts and crafts house. What more can you ask for. Definite 5 stars!

Simon from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in August 2019


Amazing

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Lady Bluebell was the most relaxing experience from start to finish, Evelyn and Ralph were most welcoming, it was great to see all their hard work from television programs, accommodation was 5 star , watching all the birds in garden was a great treat, we can’t recommend “The Sandford experience “ enough!
Thank you so much.


Yvonne from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 4 nights in August 2019


You couldn't ask for more

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Starting with a very warm welcome from Evelyn, we spent 2 weeks in the very nice Lady Bluebell apartment and enjoyed it very much. The location with nearby St. Andrews, Dundee or Carnoustie is excellent to explore the golf courses and all the other places of interest in the region.


Guest from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 13 nights in July 2019


Family golden wedding weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I found this perfect location for our golden wedding family celebration weekend with our three sons and their families plus Seumas our dog. Our group of eleven people stayed in both Lady Bluebell and Valentines cottage where we all had superb facilities and these cottages provided extremely comfortable ans spacious accommodation for everyone in the party.
Evelyn and Ralph are the perfect hosts, welcoming and friendly and did everything which we could have hoped for to make this special celebration a very happy and memorable one indeed.
Evelyn and Ralph have gone to tremendous efforts to re-create the arts and crafts building which Sandford House had been designed to be from the start. Their efforts have to be greatly envied and admired - sincere thanks and congratulations from a very grateful Reid family - we cannot thank them enough.
Having stayed in the East Neuk at various houses and locations over the last thirty-eight years from the time when our oldest son was only one year old we can honestly say that Sandford Country Cottages are certainly the best-appointed, comfortable and in a most beautiful setting that we have ever stayed in. We will most certainly be returning to Sandford very soon.


John from Aberdeen stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in June 2019


Our third visit and already looking forward to a fourth!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment beautiful peaceful location and plenty to enjoy around it as all directions very accessible.

Wendy from Alnwick stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in June 2019


Half term break at Sa dford

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Lady Bluebell, though we have also stayed at Bailey Scot and the Giddy Limit. All lovely but Lady Bluebell has the advantage of a lovely ground floor outdoor area for bbqs and dining. Being from Australia we do like to bbq! and there is a particularly good gas Weber. The occasion was summer term half term and we do also have a son at St Andrews who likes to bring his friends over for dinner, so Lady Bluebell works very well. The cottage is beautiful. Evelyn and Ralph have thought if everything. It is the most relaxing spot and the time always goes much too fast. We willl return soon!

Julie from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in May 2019


Johns 50th

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to Evelyn and Ralph we had the most wonderful 4 days to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. We rented 3 of the cottages and all were of the same high standard and were great for the family and friends that came.
It made his birthday. The location was fabulous and the scenery just wonderful.

Thank you so much for making it a special occasion.


Vanessa from Highclere stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in May 2019


Fantastic property

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely property to stay.The cottage was stunning and well equipped. The owners were very welcoming and friendly.
We would highly recommend this property.


Floma from Inverness stayed at Lady Bluebell for 4 nights in April 2019


Weekend with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place and surroundings. Evelyn was an excellent host. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. We were a party of ten sharing and we all had a great weekend. Definitely go back.

Pat from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in February 2019


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with great hosts.
Very comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing holiday.
..


Anne from Middlewich stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in November 2018


Half term at Sandford Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Sandford Cottages on a number of occasions. This time was half term for our younger son(17 ) and a chance to visit his brother who is a student at St Andrews. We live in Australia s. Looking very much seeing you even ev return I Mag.

Julie from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 10 nights in October 2018


A fabulous break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cant fault our stay at all .Would highly recommend it to everyone .The children had the best time ever .Everything was perfect even the weather Loved the log burners Beds v comfy Every mod con avaliable. Hosts so friendly Really 5 stars all the way .Thanks for a lovely holiday .

John from Denny stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in October 2018


Short break in Lady Bluebell Cottage .

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Lady Bluebell because our Westie - Poppy, could stay and it was an excellent choice. Lovely bedrooms and all en suite and a huge living room / kitchen area, all in immaculate condition. Would highly recommend it.

Ernest from Dungannon stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in September 2018


The most beautiful place to stay - we can't wait to go back!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first heard about Sandford House after watching the BBC programme Restoration Home and it was one of those moments where I just felt I HAD to stay there and immerse myself in the Arts and Crafts style that was being so sympathetically and so delicately restored to the house, following its various uses and eventual abandonment. It did not disappoint, and all the details the programme had picked up on were there, from the hand-made swan window catches, to the leaded windows, to the arts and crafts furniture. Evelyn's styling of each of the cottages balances both the old with the modern perfectly; smart TV, DVD player, dishwasher, washing machine, Tassimo coffee maker, comfortable leather sofas etc sit alongside solid oak furniture, antique style bathrooms, and stunning artwork on the walls. The cottage was IMMACULATE and the welcome gift was a wonderful surprise - but the place was also kitted out with much more than the bare basics you usually get on self-catering holidays. The cupboards were stocked with sauces and spices, a complimentary box of coffee pods, and full range of cooking implements. Sandford House itself is stunning (ask Evelyn for a tour), and a great base to visit Dundee, St Andrews and all the neighbouring villages (we were lucky to be there during the Pittenweem arts festival - a MUST). We couldn't praise this little gem more, and we hope that we will be lucky enough to be returning soon. We arrived as guests but left feeling like friends. Thank you so much Evelyn, it was worth every penny :) xx

Jennifer from Edinburgh stayed at Lady Bluebell for 4 nights in August 2018


Beautiful.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Lady Bluebell. The unit is very spacious and comfortable with everything one could possibly want to make it a perfect stay. The basket of goodies in the kitchen was a delightful surprise. The views are fantastic and the bird watching is wonderful. Especially the 4 Woodpeckers.

Patricia from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in July 2018


our second visit -just as lovely as our first

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, lovely welcome, very relaxing all round. Open plan living space very comfortable and so are beds. our second stay and looking forward to returning again next year

Wendy from Alnwick stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in June 2018


Third visit to Sandford

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay here at Sandford Cottages. This time in Lady Blueball. We very much enjoyed the terrace especially as we had great barbecue weather. Evelyn and Ralph have thought of everything and we had a look round Red Squirrel, the new one bedroom apartment. Really beautiful! Looking forward to returning in October.

Julie from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in May 2018


A wonderful weekend away with friends

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in the Lady Bluebell, Valentine's cottage and Giddy Limit. Evelyn is a wonderful host - she was very attentive to my various requests and incredibly friendly. She and her partner do a great job of being available for questions and being very friendly but also leaving you to your own devices. The views are incredible and we were blessed with good weather. We will definitely be back.

Rachel from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in May 2018


Beautifully decorated for Christmas!

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a family Christmas for 12 of us between the two apartments - Giddy Limit and Lady Bluebell. Evelyn and Ralph were so thoughtful and friendly throughout the planning stages and visit, helping us to meet the needs of our group aged 13 - 83 and even providing a lovely dog bed for Coco! Under their guidance, we enjoyed morning runs down the footpath to the lake, visits to Dundee and St Andrews, a meal at The View and the midnight service at Wormit Church on Christmas Eve! Everything about the apartments felt luxurious and we were even more impressed when we watched the DVD showing how they had restored Sandford House themselves! Thanks again to the hosts for making us feel so welcome

Theresa from Huntingdon stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in December 2017


Excellent Property

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here over New Year with family. The cottage was just what we were looking for and the standard was excellent. Will definitely be returning.

Guest from Inverbervie stayed at Lady Bluebell for 4 nights in December 2017


Beautiful spacious cottage - you’ll not be disappointed

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lady Bluebell is a beautiful and spacious cottage. Immaculate and comfortable beds and sofas - a Real home from home. Well stocked kitchen with lots of utensils and white goods and the little extras you’d have at home and always wish you’d taken with you!
We’d highly recommend staying there and enjoying the most relaxing setting and amazing views being only a few minutes drive to St Andrews or Dundee.


Dawn from Wormit stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in December 2017


Wonderful cottage stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, cottage has everything that's needed; really handy for Dundee & to see my son, daughter in law & granddaughter.will definitely be back.

Vivienne from Fairford stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in October 2017


A lovely weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Lady Bluebell cottage when staying with a larger group. The first thing we noticed on our arrival was the lovely bay window with the gorgeous views! The grounds around the cottages are beautiful and all link to a very picturesque courtyard. We hired a hot tub to use over the weekend - Evelyn was very accommodating with this - and it was a great little extra to have during our stay. The apartments were gorgeous, modern and fully equipped with everything you could need - we loved our little basket of goodies! Each apartment had an en suite bathroom which was perfect for us with us all getting ready to go out together at the same time! It's not far at all to get to St Andrews where we went for a day trip and enjoyed a walk along the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Sandford Country Cottages and will be sure to return. Thanks to Evelyn and Ralph for a wonderful stay and being so welcoming!

Kelly from Edinburgh stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in October 2017


Sandford Country Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third visit for us, we keep coming back because the accommodation is superb as is the customer service. This year we stayed in Lady Bluebell and we were not at all surprised to find it at the same beautiful standard as Valentines Cottage. I have no doubt we will book for next year too. Lots of things to do locally and Eden Mill distillery is well worth a visit - the gin tour was particularly good (get a taxi!! - four full measures of gin on the tour).

Jacqueline from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in August 2017


Great to return

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had the loveliest week at Lady Bluebell. The apartment is perfect for our family (lots of space, comfortable beds and good showers), and has a bonus of a fantastic view of the river in the distance. Generous and thoughtful hosts help make this the perfect holiday location. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Guest from Twickenham stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in July 2017


Our week in Lady Bluebell at Sandford Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandford's Lady Bluebell was a beautiful cottage, with lovely modern decor which still maintained a country cottage feel.
Fantastic accommodation for a family(which we needed with 4 kids) and we will definitely be back.
Handy for many activities in both Dundee and St.Andrews.
Lovely touch supplying a hamper style basket with some home essentials, among other things.
Owner/ Manageress was also very friendly and helpful.
For a local type of getaway it was perfect for us coming from Glasgow.
Lovely place which I would highly recommend.


Graham from Glasgow stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in July 2017


Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is tastefully decorated, very clean and really welcoming. It's location could not be more convenient and the surrounding area is just stunning.
We already recommended it to some of our friends and would definitely come back.
Lovely people and lovely place.


Bothaina from Dubai stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in June 2017


Lovely comfortable cottage, great location and welcome that made it feel like home!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really well appointed cottage in quiet location with lovely views great terrace for outside meals etc if the weather had been better. Super layout inside and very comfortable and clean so felt like coming home each day. Evelyn and Ralph very friendly and helpful. Such a good location for exploring east coast and centre of southern Scotland. You can have short trips or longer ones with ease so very relaxing. We certainly hope to return we enjoyed ourselves so much!

Wendy from Alnwick stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in June 2017


Delightful Arts & Crafts accommodation in a picturesque setting

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with our two labradors in Lady Bluebell Cottage. The restoration has been done to a high standard and the cottage was very well equipped. The views were stunning and the location was a short distance from St Andrews and Dundee.

Tanya from LONDON stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in June 2017


Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic long weekend for our wedding anniversary with dog in tow. Lovely welcome from Evelyn with a very nice welcome basket in the cottage. Beautiful cottage with views of the countryside, a real home from home. A huge thank you to Evelyn and Ralph for kindly driving us to the Peat Inn and arranging a taxi home for us. Will definitely be looking to visit again.

Clair from Troon stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in November 2016


Beautiful and peaceful haven

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandford is out this world. The cottage was very clean and had all the amenities you would expect as well as a very cosy feel to it it was very spacious. Very peaceful and rural location without being cut off. Loved our stay.

Kevin from Newport-on-Tay stayed at Lady Bluebell for 14 nights in October 2016


Great holiday let and great hosts.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We almost always rent a holiday home rather than use a hotel. We've stayed in some really lovely places, both in the Uk and abroad. We're fairly choosy about what we're looking for, and so far it has always worked out well. That said, Sandford House really is exceptional. There was absolutely nothing we'd change, or that we think could be improved. Super living space, good sized bedrooms with extremely comfortable beds and excellent showers. The hosts were generous both with their time and hospitality. We were also delighted with the surprise view of the river from the living room!

We are originally from the area, and the apartment was also great for us hosting family and friends. How easy it was to get into Dundee, or St Andrews was actually a really nice surprise. It was quicker for us to get to central Dundee from there than our old house on the other side of the river.

We very much look forward to returning.


Audrey from Twickenham stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in October 2016


MRS Nancy Baggs

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation - beds were extremely comfy. A really nice welcome as well. Very handy for "being a tourist." You even managed to provide good weather for us. Hope to go back some day.

Robin from Paisley stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in September 2016


Amazing location, beautiful cottage, unbeliveable view, very relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Evelyn greeted us and showed us how everything worked. The hamper was well filled with artisan essentials, and we quickly discovered a farm shop to replenish our supplies. We loved our stay here. Internet not very good, but who needs it when you are on vacation? Outstanding!

Janet from Binningen stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in August 2016


Absolutely mint worked away for 28 years easily the best place I have ever stayed at

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing even up to the binoculars placed in window to admire the view never seen much of owner but wen we did she always so friendly just like all the Scottish people

Tom from Glasgow stayed at Lady Bluebell for 5 nights in July 2016


Everything was fantastic, we just didn't want to come home!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned (very reluctantly) from a wonderful stay in Lady Bluebell at Sandford Country Cottages. The facilities in the property and the quality of accommodation was of the highest standard - welcomed by Evelyn and Ralph when we arrived, and with a wonderful welcome pack filled with homemade and locally produced goodies, as well as the necessities like tea and coffee. The surroundings of the cottages are picture perfect, perched high on a hill beside tall trees, it is such a relaxing, beautiful setting.

The location of the cottages are great: near to St Andrews (c. 10miles) as well as the lovely coastal town of Newport. Well connected to motorway system and across the river from Dundee. We spent a lovely week travelling around the area, sampling everything good on offer from fresh strawberries from the nearby farm to beach walks in the lovely Tentsmuir Forest.

We had an amazing week away and would highly recommend the cottages and location to anyone travelling to the area. We're already looking to see when we can go back!


Melanie from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in May 2016


Lady Bluebell Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is immaculate in a superb setting with every home comfort provided. The owners have gone above and beyond with the standard of finish and the attention to detail. We couldn't have asked for a better place to have a relaxing break.

Alan from Aberdeen stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in May 2016


Simply the Best

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It really doesn't get any better than this. Both Evelyn and Ralph were very helpful and professional, taking perfect care of every requests.
Would highly recommend to anyone seeking great accommodation


Christopher from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 7 nights in May 2016


Perfection. Exceptional luxury and total comfort in a rural, historic retreat with magnificent hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the privilege of staying in the Lady Bluebell holiday cottage at Sandford House from 1 March 2016 - 7 May 2016 during an extremely protracted house move. It has been perfection. Exceptional luxury and total comfort in a rural, historic retreat with magnificent hosts. The owners / proprietors, Ralph and Evelyn are two of the kindest, most generous, accommodating, thoughtful, hard-working, considerate and dedicated people we have ever had the privilege to meet. We now consider them our family friends. The attention to detail in the accommodations is consummate. The cleanliness standard is immaculate. The quality of the environment is impeccable. Exquisite quality linen, towels, mattresses, fixtures, fittings, fitments and provisions. The 5-star tourist board rating is hard-earned and totally deserved in this instance. Ralph and Evelyn have sensitively adapted and improved the accommodations of this very fine arts and crafts property, which is a sizeable and extremely attractive country house to be a rural idyll - a retreat, protected for generations to come. Ralph, Evelyn and Sandford House deserve to succeed, and we are pleased to provide our unqualified recommendation with our thanks.

Oliver from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 67 nights in March 2016


Loved It

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt at home from the minute we opened the door. Very comfortable and good quality furnishings. The log burner was a bonus on a chilly dark winter's day.

Kathleen from Aberdeen stayed at Lady Bluebell for 2 nights in November 2015


Evelyn Hardie replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the great review. It was lovely meeting you all and we look forward to having you all here again in the future.

Last minute work accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with two other work colleagues for a week. The accommodation and location was stunning and the welcome we got was second to none. Was that impressed that I would love to return with the family for a break. Can't recommend highly enough.

Steven from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 3 nights in November 2015


Ideal for family break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked a three bedroom apartment for a family break and had an excellent time here. The standard and quality of the apartment was excellent and the owners, who live across the courtyard, were always very helpful and accommodating. It's also is a lovely quiet spot, ideal for country walks, and yet easy commuting distance to St Andrews and Dundee both just a few minutes’ drive away.

Jim from stayed at Lady Bluebell for 6 nights in September 2015