FB Twitter

Baillie Scott Cottage

Baillie Scott Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 46 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Baillie Scott Cottage is named after Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott, the architect who designed 'Sandford Cottage' for the Valentines family in 1902.

Downstairs there are two bedrooms, one with a king size bed, which can be split into two 2'6" singles and one with a double bed. Both bedrooms are en-suite, one with a bath and one with a walk-in shower, both are fitted with Trevi rainwater showers.

The comfy beds have sumptuous duvets and pillows and the bedlinen is crisp white Egyptian cotton. Microfibre duvets and pillows can be supplied if required.

Upstairs you'll find a spacious open kitchen/living/dining room with oak beams and posts, 2 x 2 seater sofas, a comfy chair and a dining table and 4 chairs. There is also a flat screen TV and an iPod dock. The kitchen has an induction hob, electric oven, fridge, dishwasher, microwave and coffee pod machine. Downstairs in the utility room you'll find a washing machine and a freezer.

Absolute class

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Sandford left us speechless.
Evelyn & Ralph have restored a gem.
Absolutely beautiful.


Iain and Sue from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 2 nights in October 2017


Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for a relaxing holiday in Scotland's Kingdom of Fife. Evelyn was the perfect host and we felt very much at home in a perfectly restored building.


Tanja from Haltern Am See stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 8 nights in October 2017


Excellent accomodation, hospitality from Evelyn & Ralph, splendid location. Faultless. Will be back.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Regular visitors to Scotland, always staying in self-catering accommodation.
Baillie Scott Cottage was best ever holiday home. Highest standard in terms of building, space and facilities.
Evelyn & Ralph were excellent hosts throughout our stay. Appreciated guided tour of the refurbished Sandford House.
Location ideal for visiting Fife and beyond, plus rail links nearby to Aberdeen and Edinburgh.
We will be back.


Edward from Clyro stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 10 nights in August 2017


A wonderful time

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Baillie Scott cottage and we can't wait to return.The location is excellent, just 20 minutes away from our son at St.Andrews and a host of other places of interest. The tranquil environment lends itself to a relaxing stay, (just what we needed). The Customer Service is exceptional and everyone is so accommodating. Sandford House is a gem, Evelyn and Ralph are true custodians of architectural heritage and their commitment and enthusiasm is infectious. I would without reservation, recommend Sandford Country Cottages.

Paul from St.helens stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Our second visit to Sandford - it won't be our last.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from our 2nd visit to Sandford Country Cottages where, this time, we stayed in Baillie Scott cottage. Beautiful craftsmanship, spotlessly clean, welcoming and very comfortable. We wanted for nothing whilst there - everything we might have needed was there on hand. There was lovely welcome basket upon our arrival, with bread, butter, milk etc...even a lovely bottle of wine. We saw the River Tay and the lights of Dundee through the trees on one side, whilst the balcony doors were south facing with a view over golden fields.
The location is great - 15 minutes from St Andrews or Dundee, and there is lots to see and do in Fife and the surrounding areas. Quaint harbours, castles, beaches, lovely walks, botanic gardens, great places to eat...
The owners of Sandford Cottages have created a fantastic place to stay and are very proud of their achievement - and rightly so. The quality of work, and the tasteful, thoughtful way in which all the cottages are furnished is fantastic. Lovely, helpful hosts Evelyn and Ralph have even shown us around their own wing at Sandford, which is a stunning home.

As mentioned, we have visited Sandford twice now, staying in Valentine and Baillie Scott. There are 5 cottages. Our only problem is now choosing which one we would like to stay in next time. And there WILL be a next time.


Jeffrey from Rossendale stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 6 nights in July 2017


Evelyn Hardie replied 114 days ago
Hi Jeff and Sue, thanks so much for the glowing review. It makes all the hard work and renovations worthwile to know that our guests have such happy times at Sandford and we look forward to seeing you again in Lady Bluebell, The Giddy Limit or Red Squirrel! Evelyn and Ralph

Magical and Relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my first trip across the pond with my husband and Sandford Country Cottages made it so magical for us. Set in the countryside, we were able to relax after a day of exploring. Evelyn had the cottage ready with a greeting gift when we arrived. She has information on the history of Sandford Cottages and lots of info on things to do in Scotland. Sandford Cottages is centrally located and was a perfect place for us to have our base. We had a 5 day break in our stay and were able to return to the Cottage and leave our excess luggage at Baillie Scott while we explored Ireland.

Walks in the fields behind Baillie Scott were amazing! One night we watched the sunset from up high. Any questions we had were answered by Evelyn promptly. You feel like family when staying at Sandford Country Cottages, I feel like I have a home to come to when I return to Scotland! Thank you Evelyn and Ralph


Holly from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 9 nights in July 2017


Very nice and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandford Country Cottages are a very nice place to spend one's vacation. The buildings are really nicely refurbished with a great dedication to details. In "our" cottage there were two bedrooms on the ground floor, each with a private bathroom. A small but fully resourced kitchen was found on the upper floor and was kept open to the large living room. The roof beams were kept as well visible as were the supporting wooden posts. In the family room there is a dining table in one corner and two convenient sofas plus another chairn in the center. This loungs suite is located to be able to look at the fire in the woodburner if needed during cool evenings. However, the entire cottage is also equipped with a very well working central heating. From the big windows close to the dining table you've got a nice view at your own terrace, which provides a further table and chairs to have lunch or dinner outside. It goes without saying that the cottage is equipped with a lcd Tv set, a stereo set and free WiFi. The cottages are surrounded by trees, fields and meadows, however, by car one can reach Newport-on-Tay and Dundee within a few minutes.

Thomas from Emerkingen stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 5 nights in June 2017


Definitely five star accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in Baillie Cottage which looked really inviting from photographs on line. It was charming and luxurious and in such pleasant surroundings, in part of a beautifully designed building. No thought is spared - everything you could possibly need for self-catering is there including a welcome basket of provisions. We highly recommend Sandford Cottages and will definitely be returning.

Aileen from Canvey Island stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Lovely family break in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would wholeheartedly recommend this place. We had such a lovely 3 night stay at the Baillie Scott cottage with our 2 young kids. Evelyn kindly showed us around when we arrived and provided a very generous welcome pack. The stair gate was very handy with young kids and the kids loved running around outside in the garden. We loved everything from the views, the comfy beds, the spacious interior and its location - it was close to St Andrew's and Cairnie Fruit farm which are great days out as well as Dundee for shopping. We hope to be back soon.

Christina from London stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in April 2017


Another wonderful stay at Sandford

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay at Sandford. I can truly say that the apartments are the best self catering properties that I have stayed in . Everything is so well organised and Evelyn and Ralph are very welcoming.

Gill from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in March 2017


Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was lovely - beautifully finished and furnished. We really enjoyed our stay. Log burning stove a great asset during a cold and wet weekend.

John from Edinburgh stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning property in a fabulous location. On arrival we were greeted by the owners who couldn't be more welcoming.
The accommodation is fantastic, beautifully restored, full of character and charm yet with all the modern touches to make it a Perfect Retreat.
Spacious,bright and very comfortable, plenty of room for us all - a family of 4.
Evelyn and Ralph were the perfect hosts and have done the most amazing restoration on this property and it was a joy to be there.
We will definitely be regular visitors.


Robert from London stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 5 nights in December 2016


Best sel-catering accommodation in the area

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hosts very welcoming and the house has absolutely everything you could possibly want. Property renovated beautifully using wood and quality furnishings. Great for groups and families. Location although requiring a car is a short drive from Dundee, St Andrews and Newport.

Margaret from Arezzo stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Bliss

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
How can you truly describe a wonderful, relaxing, fascinating and beautiful place an do it justice. You can't, you just have to go and try for yourself. We will definitely return for a longer stay.

Paul from . stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in October 2016


Short stay at Baillie Scott Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose to stay at Baillie Scott Cottage while visiting our son at St Andrews. Sandford Cottages are close to Dundee and St Andrews and a short drive from Wormit, and Newport where there are some good restaurants and coop which bakes fresh bread daily.

The cottage is really very well kitted out, warm and comfortable with a wood burning stove in the upstairs sitting room and plenty of hot water. The bedrooms are downstairs and all windows look out onto beautiful countryside. The kitchen is excellent and Evelyn left us a basket of supplies (bread, butter, milk, cereal, coffee, tea, wine home made jam etc) so we were able to make breakfast on the first morning without doing a shop.

I would like to have stayed longer and we plan to go back again in May. Evelyn and her husband have done a great job of restoring their arts and crafts house and will show anyone round who is interested. We are looking forward to many more visits. I can't imagine a better place to stay.


Julie from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


Old House in excellant new condition

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
IT was very nice stay there.We liked the nice and proper house with lots of space for us four.
Evelyn was perfect and very friendly. The restauration was very successful.


Peter from . stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 6 nights in October 2016


Excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in an idyllic setting.beatifully maintained and presented.
Highly recommend it for visiting Dundee / St Andrews area


Anne from Cranage stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 8 nights in October 2016


A Home from Home...

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My 89 year old dad and two friends (from the Netherlands) stayed in the cottage for 5 days when they were visiting us to attend our wedding in Newport on Tay. They found the cottage very comfortable and clean. They really appreciated the woodland setting of the building, which is in rural Fife but close enough to St Andrews, Dundee and Edinburgh if you're interested in a more city experience. The cottage has beautiful views across the rolling country side. The nights around the cottage are very quiet apart from the odd night creature rummiging in the underground and shouting out for its pal. If you are a keen stargazer then this place has the ideal setting - high up and pitch dark skies. Plenty scope for long walks along the river Tay. And last but not least, Evelyn and Ralph are the most warm and helpful hosts you can imagine. The cottage is not cheap but certainly worth it!!

Jan from Newport-on-Tay stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 5 nights in September 2016


Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Sandford. We cannot praise the accommodation enough. Everything was perfect for our stay from the comfortable beds to the welcome pack of groceries. Evelyn and Ralph were very hospitable and helpful.

Gill from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in September 2016


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sanford Country Cottages. The service was excellent, the accommod

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sandford Country Cottages. The service was excellent and the accommodations were amazing!
I'd recommend staying in these cottages to anyone!


Gale from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in August 2016


Great accomodation

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for touring(Angus/Perthshire/Fife/etc.)
Welcoming hosts.
Very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Would certainly return and recommend highly.
Janet. Australia.


James from Victoria 3134 stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Bailie Scott

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place and this was our second time visiting, we will be back to stay and just love the house. Family loved it too and thought it was certainly worth five stars.

Stuart from Stoulton stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in June 2016


A fab stay........

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Baillie Scott was perfect. From my initial phone call, to checking out on the last morning Evelyn made sure everything was as it should be. Thank you.
Will definitely be back!


Alita from Arbroath stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 4 nights in May 2016


Lovely cottage & host

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long weekend at the Baillie Cottage. Although it was only the two of us the cottage easily accommodates 2 families. The cottage is beautifully converted with a great open living space upstairs and a terrace with bbq outside. The cottage is set in idyllic surroundings perfect for those looking to get away from it all. Evelyn was really welcoming and friendly and was always on hand when we needed her.

Dirk from London stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in May 2016


Relaxing Stay at Baillie Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my third visit to Baillie Cottage and it just gets better and better. So peaceful and relaxing. Evelyn has it just perfect and has everything you could need or want.



Guest from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in May 2016


Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in early Feb, so the weather was terrible, but the cottage with its wood burning stove, comfortable and well appointed seating, helped us while away the winter day. We had everything we needed to prepare meals and simply enjoyed our brief 'home away from home.' It couldn't have been a nicer way to spend the weekend.

Debbie from Glasgow stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 2 nights in February 2016


Superb - as good as we'd hoped

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful spot, lovely property, high-spec finish and very comfortable. The owners were helpful and friendly, and with no fuss happily accommodated our 2-year-old (cot, stair gate, high chair), who also had a great time. Highly recommended - we hope to be back.

Douglas from Edinburgh stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in October 2015


All good

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything just worked from the kitchen equipment to the central locationof the property. Hesitate to recommend it in case it gets too popular and we can't get back!

Ron from Edinburgh stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 6 nights in October 2015


Fantastic getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't recommend this cottage highly enough. Everything was perfect. Beautiful accommodation, attention to detail in everything. The perfect hosts in Evelyn & Ralph, who have made a fantastic job of the renovations (they even gave us a tour of their beautiful Arts and Crafts house). Fantastic place, lovely people, we will definitely be back.

Archie from Paisley stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in September 2015


A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the Perfect location with scenic views.
The cottage was warm and inviting it was very clean with comfortable beds. Overall a superb place for a get-away.


Sheila from Uxbridge stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 2 nights in September 2015


Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful stay with my wife in the Baillie Scott Cottage. Evelyn gave us a warm welcome and showed us around. The Cottage has been finished to an extremely high standard with top quality fittings and fixtures. Both the bedrooms were en-suite, one with a free standing shower and the other with a shower over the bath. Luxury towels are provided along with hand soap in the en-suite and the shower was like a deluge - fantastic.
The Log Burner in the Living Room was a nice homely touch and adds to the country cottage feel. There has been no expense spared converting the Sandford Hotel into Luxury Cottages so well done to Evelyn and her husband for bringing the Sandford back to life.
Great Cottage - Great location!
Thanks for a great stay.
Steve & Cassandra


Stephen from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 2 nights in September 2015


A great spot to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We so enjoyed the sanford cottages, what a perfect spot in the country, yet close to town. Evelyn, the owner, did above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. We wanted to stay longer. Thank you again!

Patton from Silver Spring stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in September 2015


Excellent accommodation in a lovely area

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was to a very high standard with all of the fittings,furniture etc of excellent quality.The surrounding gardens were lovely with a patio and private garden for our own use.We would stay again.

Ray from Harrogate stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accomodation has the wow factor and owner was wonderfully helpful and welcoming.
For a peaceful break in high quality and spacious accomodation it was perfect.


John from Harrogate stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 4 nights in August 2015


excellent 8 day summer holiday stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is top class for a family stay. Location, cleaness and comfort. Situated vlose to most torrist attraction plsces. The onwers are nice and pleasent people.

Guest from Mussanah stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 8 nights in August 2015


Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Evelyn and Ralph were the perfect hosts from the moment we arrived. They were incredibly helpful and thoughtful but not in any way intrusive. Their house is stunning and well worth a visit! The location of the cottage is a good base for exploring the area and heading up to Dundee or South to Edinburgh. We had a wonderful, relaxing holiday and would definitely like to return in the near future. A perfect way to unwind in a peaceful setting!

J from Cambridge stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


The stay was fabulous and Evelyn and Ralph were absolutely fantastic hosts.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was very neat and the location was just perfect. Very comfortable rooms and well appointed too. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers and everything else worked very well. Evelyn and Ralph were incredibly helpful with showing us around town, getting us acclimated to the place and all that. The internet connection was sporadic and slow and this is one thing that could use some improvement..!!

Guest from Gibsonia stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Lovely people lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been several times before and will go many times again

Guest from Cockermouth stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 5 nights in June 2015


Baillie Scott Cottage, Sandford

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our experience was very pleasant and most relaxing. The cottage was of a very high standard and the owners were extremely hospitable. Location was very central for sight seeing. Highly recommended.

Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 6 nights in June 2015


A delight from start to finish.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The facilities and the overall presentation are outstanding. The cottage reflects the high standard of the owners, whose warmth and welcome contributed to a most enjoyable stay. Nothing was a problem. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and a delight to work in. The bed linen and bathrooms were of the highest standard.

The location was ideal for both St Andrews and Dundee. We shall certainly return when in the area.


Guest from Stoulton stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 5 nights in May 2015


A beautiful place to stay in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Sanford House! It was just a beautiful place to stay and was extremely well equipped for anything you could think of. The owners were so warm and welcoming and felt like family. We have relatives in the area, and will stay any time we get the chance to go back! It is the perfect place to relax, unwind, and feel pampered by your surroundings.

Guest from Staunton stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 8 nights in May 2015


Evelyn Hardie replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely review Lynn, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here in Scotland and look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Perfect Break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I have just spent four days at Baillie Cottage, it was perfect. Evelyn and Ralph were the perfect hosts and we were delighted to be shown round their home and on other on going work on two other cottages, huge task but the pleasure and joy of seeing it all coming together shone from them both. To hear their ideas and plans for the future was so nice, quite in awe of them both.

Baillie Cottage is finished to a very high standard and so comfortable to stay in. A beautiful hamper to greet us was so thoughtful, fresh bread, home made jam, lovely coffee and a very welcome bottle of wine.
Lovely little coutyard entrance to the cottages which will be beautiful in a few weeks time with all the flowers coming through.

We will certainly be going back again.


Guest from stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


Incredible few days!!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I begin?! A wonderful Art Deco house in a secluded location. Baillie Scott cottage is separate from the main house, beautifully furnished and very well appointed, the welcome basket was an unexpected bonus with a selection lovely 'essentials'!
I had great stay & will definitely be going back.

A.


Guest from East Kilbride stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in February 2015


Home from Home

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a stay at Baillie Scott Cottage to visit universities and meet up with family. It was an excellent choice, we were sad to leave and are planning a return! Ralph and Evelyn are the most hospitable and welcoming people, helping you to make the most of your visit. The care, quality and attention to detail in the cottages shines through. The location is fantastic, quite and peaceful but near the roads leading to the Tay bridge/Dundee and to the South, St Andrews and the fishing villages of East Neuk of Fife. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Guest from Port Ellen stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 6 nights in April 2015


Katrina & Dan

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying in Ballie Scott Cottage, it actually exceeded expectation! The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We felt like we had privacy yet also easy access to help from Evelyn if required. Care has obviously been taken to ensure guests are happy and comfortable. We really appreciated the basket of provisions and all the information contained in the folder.
We do expect to return as we have close family in the area and Sandford offers a great solution. My only hope for next time is that there is a fence around the two small cliff drops (to the side of Ballie Scott and by the parking going down to the pond) as this just makes me a little nervous with a small child.


Guest from North Vancouver stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 9 nights in March 2015


Evelyn hardie replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the great review Katrina and Dan. It was lovely having you stay with us and we're glad you enjoyed your holiday. The fence around the patio area is one of the next things in the to do list so we should have this up in the next week or so. Hope to see you all again. Ralph and Evelyn

Outstanding

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay at Baillie Scott Cottage was outstanding. A beautiful cottage, tastefully decorated to a very high standard yet maintaining a homely feel. What a very generous welcome basket from Evelyn & Ralph. We will be back.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Baillie Scott Cottage for 3 nights in February 2015


Evelyn Hardie replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for the lovely review and thanks so much for leaving Baillie Scott Cottage so clean and tidy. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again in the future. Evelyn and Ralph