FB Twitter

Byre by the Sea

Byre by the Sea

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Byre by the Sea is a comfortable sea front cottage sleeping up to four, with a multifuel burning stove and central heating from our biomass heating system.

The open plan kitchen / lounge / dining area has leather settees, round dining table, flat screen TV, DVD player, WIFI, some DVDs, board games, toys, books and magazines. The multifuel burning stove will have a basket of kindling and logs for those cosy nihhts in with that relaxing toasty feeling.

There is a well equipped kitchen with quality cutlery, glasses, bowls, serving dishes, ample crockery along with a microwave, coffee maker and integrated small dishwasher, washing machine, and a fridge / freezer. There is a fan assisted oven with electric hob, extractor fan, matching kettle and toaster.

You can prepare a tasty dish with the view of the sea and sound of the waves as the tide rolls in!

Amazing place, accommodation and owner!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday with everything we required, and more! Sue is great and a great beach within 15 mins walk.

Mark from Clitheroe stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in October 2020


Sue replied 17 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review and comments..........much appreciated. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their Ross Bay stay!

Wow, what a little gem! A total escape, with lots of walks& comfort to calm the mind during covid

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic spotless spacious cottage, peaceful surroundings with an amazing view. Credit to the owners.

Giuseppe from Hyde stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in October 2020


Sue replied 17 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea....... we look forward to welcoming our guests back in 2021.

So good I booked again

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is in a fantastic location for sea views from every window.
So much space makes it really comfortable.
Brilliant hol.


Garry from Bradford stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in October 2020


Sue replied 41 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea..................see you next time!

Very wonderful.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Scotland is wonderful, Dumfries and Galloway is wonderful, Ross Bay is wonderful, and I found Ross Bay Retreat and I keep going back for my holidays just how wonderful can life be? Very wonderful.

Guest from Birstall stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in September 2020


Sue replied 41 days ago
This is a lovely review for Byre by the Sea, our local area and Scotland! Returning guests is a lovely attribute.

A Hidden Gem !

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous property. A to-die-for outlook from the Lounge Diner. Well equipped with everything you could need, including microwave, washing machine and dishwasher. Every home comfort. Lots of good walks or strolls locally and the small but lovely Brighouse Beach 5 minutes away. And a large complimentary chocolate cake and ice cream waiting for us in the the fridgefreezer ! We have already booked to go back in 2021 !

Graham from Coventry stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in September 2020


Sue replied 41 days ago
Thank you for this great review for Byre by the Sea.............we really appreciate this review and are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay with us, we look forward to welcoming them back.

Perfectly Lovely......

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at the Byre in the space of 1 year. We love it there, as the title says it is "Perfectly Lovely". We have booked twice for next year and can't wait. Sue is a wonderful host and greets us at the start of our holiday, and calls round just before we leave to make sure everything was just right, and to say goodbye. It is so relaxing there and you can do as much or as little as you want. You can laze around all day taking in the beautiful scenery from the living room, go for a coastal country walk, or go for a drive to the different towns and beaches etc. There are plenty of shops, takeaways and supermarkets to choose from in the different towns as well. We always come across plenty of wildlife and watch the seabirds through our binoculars from our balcony. Thank you again Sue and family for a wonderful stay.

Sharon from York stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in September 2020


Sue replied 41 days ago
This review says it all really for Byre by the Sea, thank you. We look forward to seeing our guests in 2021.

Great holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, stunning location. Lovely walks and very peaceful. Sue and Dave very helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

Pauline from stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2020


Sue replied 83 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay at Ross Bay.

Superb stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been to Ross farm many times and stayed in all the properties - it really is impossible to fault. Relaxing stay in top quality stylish accommodation, we didnt want to leave. Sue is friendly and helpful as always. Going back again next year. Love it.

Martin from Ryton stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2020


Sue replied 83 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea..........we look forward to welcoming our guests back next year.

A 5 star experience

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time staying at Ross Bay Retreat and our first time in Byre by the Sea. Really loved this property which gives the most amazing views over the bay. Very spacious and clean. I can't rate it highly enough and thoroughly recommend a holiday at Ross Bay.

Elizabeth from Darlington stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in July 2020


Sue replied 83 days ago
Its really rewarding when our returning guests enjoy another stay with us and leave us a great review like this......thank you.

Amazing place, stunning location and very relaxed stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time and I would happily give 10 out of 5! The Byre is beautiful decorated and so spacious, worked perfect for us (family with two boys 6 and 5 and dog). Everything over lounge, beds and bathrooms very comfortable and we felt quickly at home, especially with a delicious cake and ice cream waiting for us. The big windows are amazing, all with sea view.
Ross Bay is a stunning location and we never got tired of sucking in the views with the changing tides and weather. Most of the time the bay is muddy, but definitely the glorious kind of mud! The boys loved their freedom in exploring every corner, rock pooling, mud fight, shell seeking, and we as well, but also enjoyed watching them from the terrace with a coffee or wine. Lovely walks around and the next bay, Brighouse Bay is sandy and beautiful (25 min walk or 5 min drive). And NO MIDGES at all.
We stayed a lot in the area because most things were still closed, but that was fine with us, we will come back for some more exploring! Forest of Galloway is not far away and we spend a great day up there.
Sue was lovely and they did everything possible to make you feel welcome and also safe during Corona-times. The cottage was spotless and shiny clean. Cannot recommend it more!
If you love a peaceful place by the sea with open skies there is no better one. We could have stayed much longer.
Thank you Sue and family for sharing this special place!



Marion from Durham stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in July 2020


Sue replied 105 days ago
What an amazing review for Byre by the Sea from our guests on their first stay with us at Ross Bay. We are so pleased they enjoyed our cottage, and the surrounding area, we have to agree, we enjoy peace, the sea and open skies too! Thank you.

A Beautiful Escape From Reality....

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to The Byre, and again we were not disappointed at all. We thought we were not going to get our July holiday this year because it was cancelled due to the dreadful Covid 19, but at the last minute we were contacted by Sue, and were asked if we still wanted to go because the restrictions on self catering had been lifted and brought forward from mid July to early July. Of course we said yes! While we were there, it was as if there wasn't a pandemic going on at all. It was so relaxing. Sue greeted us as usual on our arrival, but stayed outside the Byre so that she was socially distanced from us. A delicious chocolate cake awaited us in the fridge along with ice cream in the freezer. The Byre was absolutely spotless and there were no worries of catching any germs because they are following the rules and cleaning protocols completely. The other cottages were full, and the neighbours were friendly and said hello and waved from a safe distance. We travelled around in the car exploring new places and lovely quiet beaches. We went for walks in the county side and went shelling and rock pooling on the beach in front of the Byre. There are plenty of supermarkets big and small to get your groceries, and a few days before we came home more things were opening up because more restrictions had been lifted. Things really felt like they were getting back to a kind of normality. Don't forget your face masks, it is mandatory to wear them in shops in Scotland. We had a wonderful time at the Byre, and the spectacular views from every window never disappoints whatever the weather. This was a real retreat and just what we needed. Thank you Sue for a fantastic holiday, and see you very soon for another week later this year. Sharon and family from York.

Sharon from York stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in July 2020


Sue replied 105 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea.........strange times this 2020, but we look forward to welcoming our guests back later in the year.

Great Location Great Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were recommended this cottage by friends and it was all that they told us it would be. Sue was lovely and the welcoming cake was delicious. The cottage has been refurbished to a high standard, with lots of space inside and out, where you can enjoy the stunning location.
The only thing I think I could add would be some milk in the fridge, as the cottage is so far from any shops that if you haven't packed any then you would have to go back out to get some before you could make a cuppa.
Would definitely return.


Jane from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at Byre by the Sea for 4 nights in March 2020


Sue replied 237 days ago
A lovely review for Byre by the Sea thank you very much. It is pleasing when our guests recommend our cottages and makes our job rewarding. We would look forward to welcoming our guests back again.

Grabing a few days,

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for the lovely welcome and stay at Byre By The Sea ,the view is wonderful & in the warmer months what could be nicer than sitting with a glass of wine on the terrace. It was a short stay but very relaxing , with thanks
Andrew & Jane


Jane from Alnwick stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in March 2020


Sue replied 254 days ago
Great review title for Byre by the Sea........we are pleased that our guests enjoyed a short relaxing break away with us at Ross Bay.

Absolutely brilliant place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Byre by the Sea was one of the best self-catering places we have stayed in. We have stayed in a lot over recent years. The view from the large lounge and bedroom windows is stunning - looking out across the bay, watching the tide rise and fall, and the birds feeding at the water's edge. The property was warm and comfortable with lots of space. Ideal for those who like a quiet holiday with lots of walking - from the door and further afield. A good base for exploring that part of southern Scotland. The price was very reasonable too.

Terri from Whitwick stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in March 2020


Sue replied 254 days ago
Thank you very much for this super review for Byre by the Sea.......we are really pleased that our guests enjoyed seeing many of the natural things in life which are in abundance down here at Ross Bay.

Ross bay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love to come to Rossbay to relax and unwind. There is something very calming to be able to see the sea coming in and out and see the stars in the dark sky.

Catherine from Rochdale stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in February 2020


Wonderful Winter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday at Ross Bay Retreat. First time at Byre By the SEA. The wind howled. The sea churned and the fire burned merrily away. A beautiful new addition to Ross Bay, Byre has all the comforts of our previous visits but the glass front gives views across the bay that are without parallel .Thank you for the cake Sue and ensuring we had a wondrful time.

Irene from Harrogate stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in February 2020


Sue replied 271 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea...........we look forward to seeing our guests again later in the year.

Truly unique place

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Ross Bay Retreat and it certainly won’t be our last. This is truly an amazing location and property. Byre by the sea offers stunning views and very comfortable accommodation and very well equipped.

Christopher from Kilmarnock stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in February 2020


Sue replied 290 days ago
What a lovely review for Byre by the Sea.......we do hope our guests return to stay with us again and enjoy the Ross Bay Retreat experience.

Perfect weekend get away

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally designed to make the most of ever changing light, very warm and comfortable for the end of January despite the weather. Delicious cake, comfy bed, lots of hot water, walks from the door, we loved it.

Judith from Cockermouth stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in January 2020


Sue replied 290 days ago
We really like this review title - thank you. A lovely review from our guests who braved Storm Ciara down here at Ross Bay for the weekend.

Beautiful house in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't fault the accommodation and the facilities. Wonderful countryside, very much enjoyed out stay.

Jim from Edinburgh stayed at Byre by the Sea for 4 nights in January 2020


Sue replied 314 days ago
A lovely review title for Byre by the Sea..........we are pleased our guests enjoyed their stay with us at Ross Bay.

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start? The cottage was absolutely beautiful, the decor is so tasteful, everywhere was immaculately clean . The views from the full length views are stunning and it was wonderful waking up from our bedroom to see the sea each morning.
Sue was a fabulous host, her chocolate fudge cake was heavenly and small touches like arriving to the lights on and a warm kettle were lovely.
Watching the tides come and go, watching the weather change and the dark skies at night with all the stars was magical.
Only downside was leaving !
Will definitely be back.


Lisa from stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in January 2020


Sue replied 319 days ago
Thank you for this wonderful review for Byre by the Sea.........it is humbling to receive so many compliments but pleasing that we are achieving our goals of our guests having wonderful holidays and making family memories. We hope to be able to welcome them back to Ross Bay.

Fabulous winter break at Byre by the Sea.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my first stay at Ross Bay Retreat and would definitely recommend it to others. Great location. Views from accommodation are stunning whatever the weather! Inside the cottage was spacious, stylish, warm and comfortable. On arrival there was a warm kettle, delicious homemade cake and a tub of local ice-cream in the freezer. Cottage was very well equipped for both humans and dogs. Sue popped along to say 'hello' and check everything was okay. Reassuring to know that she and/or David were always nearby if required. Enthused about it so much that my mother has booked a cottage for next month! Hope to return myself if not fully booked as seem to be a lot of repeat clients which speaks for itself.

Judith from Kendal stayed at Byre by the Sea for 4 nights in January 2020


Sue replied 322 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea. In January we can certainly experience all weathers which usually involve some blustery wind, and wild seas with splashing waves............this was the case today as Storm Brendan moves in from the West. We are looking forward to meeting our guests mother next month, and hope she will too enjoy her stay with us at Ross Bay.

Byre by the Sea

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week for our New Year Holiday. The accommodation was amazing. Very spacious and light. It was very well decorated, clean and tidy. Chocolate cake on arrival and presents under the christmas tree. The location is great for walking and exploring the local area. Best of all was the views from the full length windows.

Vanessa from stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in December 2019


Sue replied 328 days ago
This is a superb review for Byre by the Sea. We are pleased our guests enjoyed their cake and presents as well as exploring and getting out and about - it really makes time slow down!

99/100

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’re really sorry we forgot to put a comment in the visitors’ book before leaving. Yet again we had a fantastic time with no complaints at all. Sue always goes that extra mile to make the holiday special.

Jane from Great Longstone stayed at Byre by the Sea for 14 nights in December 2019


Sue replied 328 days ago
Special holidays at Ross Bay Retreat are what we aim for.........so pleased our guests enjoyed their pre Christmas fortnight stay in Byre by the Sea.

What a place

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accommodation very well equipped and very very very clean fantastic views you can do as much or as little as you want. Delivery of food was all put away for me another bonus and cake and ice cream welcome pack another bonus. Cannot praise this byre enough look forward to going back

Sandra from Crook stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in November 2019


Sue replied 355 days ago
A great review for Byre by the Sea, and much appreciated. We are pleased our guests have enjoyed their experience at Ross Bay retreat, and we look forward to seeing them again next year.

Relaxing stay in a fantastic cottage by the sea

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Byre by the Sea is a fantastic cottage with amazing views of Ross Bay. We had previously stayed in two of the other cottages at Ross Bay Retreats, but the Byre was even better than expected. Sue and David's welcome was as warm as ever and the peaceful setting was just what we needed. We never tired of the view, whatever the weather. It is not easy to find luxury cottages which accept two dogs so Ross Bay has become one of our favourite destinations. Definitely deserved to win the regional Scottish Thistle Awards for self-catering accommodation. Good luck for the national competition!

Aileen from Macclesfield stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in November 2019


Sue replied 356 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea..........we really like the idea of being a "favourite destination" and enjoy accepting pets. We are introducing our new "dog welcome packs" in the New Year so our guests can have cake and ice cream as their welcome, and their pets will not be left out! Thank you also for the good luck for the Scottish Thistle Awards national final in March.........fingers crossed!

Panoramic views from Byre by the Sea

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday at Ross bay. What a location!! It is perfect place for rest and relaxation and if you want to do more, it is all available in the surrounding areas. The local towns are great to visit with some unique shopping offering so much more than the usual high street. There are some excellent walks and amazing wildlife to watch whatever the weather. It was our first stay in Byre by the Sea and we were not disappointed. The accommodation has been finished to very high standard and there was nothing we could want for. The panoramic views from Byre by the sea are amazing from sunrise to sunset, you never get bored of the view. There is always something new to see with the changing of the tide. Sue and Dave are wonderful hosts and as always the cake on arrival is a wonderful welcome treat. We never want to leave and look forward to returning next year. Just perfect!!

Diane from Walsall stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in November 2019


Sue replied 361 days ago
Thank you for this amazing review for Byre by the Sea..............it really says it all. We look forward to seeing our guests in Springtime.........

Holiday at the Byre.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was amazing. The interior had everything you could possibly need. Spotless clean and very warm. Excellent sea views and beautiful sun rises. Plenty lovely walks, and plenty back roads for driving to other quiet places. Perfect holiday place if you enjoy peace n quiet. Will definitely be back. 10/10.

Linda from Cumbria stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in October 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this superb review for Byre by the Sea...................we look forward to welcoming our guests back.

Wow!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning accommodation and setting. Spacious house which is beautifully furnished and equipped with top quality appliances. It was a joy to stay in Byre by the Sea with everything we needed and that stunning view. Sue, David and family are wonderful hosts and there is nothing that hasn't been thought of for a comfortable and first class quality stay. Can't wait for our next holiday there in April.

Liz from Shifnal stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in October 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review for Byre by the Sea, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming them back next year.

Best by far

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Of the last 9 self catering properties we have stayed in Byre by the Sea has been the best and most reasonable.
It is tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard, with quality fixtures and fittings. Comfortable beds and crisp white bed linen.
We were welcomed by Sue who left a lovely home baked cake and a tub of ice cream for us to enjoy.
We enjoyed our stay so much we booked to stay next year.


Karen from Paisley stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in September 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A title of "Best by far" is a lovely one to receive, so thank you very much for this super review for Byre by the Sea. We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year.

Amazing week away

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week location and accommodation was fantastic. Susan made us feel welcome and had a beautiful chocolate cake on arrival. Accommodate was beautiful done to high standard. We all enjoyed it will return.

Susan from Walsall stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased our guests enjoyed their holiday in Byre by the Sea, and it would be great to welcome them back for a return visit.

A Hidden Gem.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views as we drove up to the Byre were amazing, and the Byre itself was fantastic. Everything was immaculate. A high standard of decor, furniture and appliances. A delicious chocolate fudge cake awaited us on the counter top, some Cream O' Galloway ice cream was in the freezer, and even the kettle was warm, ready for a cuppa. Soon after we arrived we were welcomed by Sue (the lovely owner of Ross Bay Retreat). Sue goes the extra mile with the tasty treats and all the little touches, and it does make a difference, it makes your stay feel "extra" special. The Byre is spacious and has everything you need and more. My husband, our daughter, myself and our little dog were always warm and very comfortable. The beds are comfy, the chairs and sofa are really comfy too. There are views from both bedrooms and the living/kitchen/dining room (which has huge windows). The balcony off the dining area of the Byre is a great look out point, and so is the large patio area at the entrance of the Byre which has sun all day. On clear nights the stars are so big and plentiful because there is hardly any light pollution, they look like they are just above your head. You can go walking, explore the different beaches along the coastline and visit the nearby towns. This was a wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable holiday, and we have already booked twice for next year. Thank you Sue.

Sharon from York stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in September 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this superb review for Byre by the Sea. We are really pleased that our guests enjoyed their first stay with us at Ross Bay, and we are pleased that they have booked twice for next year...........we look forward to welcoming them back.

Perfect Tranquility close to Scotland's Artists' Town

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Byre by the Sea on Ross Bay was perfect for a much needed get away from city life. Uninterrupted views of the shoreline with its bird life and wild flowers, the sound of silence, and the tides rolling in and out over the salt marshes each day. The cottage is a brand new conversion on Ross Bay Farm, it only opened to bookings in July 2019, so it is well equipped and everything is in good working order. It is also extremely spacious. Sue was a wonderful host, friendly and helpful, and her home baked fruit cake on arrival was really delicious. There was also a big tub of local ice-cream in the freezer as part of the welcome, which sadly we didn't discover till we were leaving!

Claire from Edinburgh stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea.........we are pleased that our guests enjoyed the peace and quiet along with the sound of silence.........

Getting away from it all

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning accommodation and the perfect location to get away from it all. David and Sue are fantastic hosts. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Jonathan from Darlington stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review which says it all in a nutshell!

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a week at the new cottage Byre by the Sea at Ross Bay Retreat and it did not disappoint. Our week there was so relaxing and enjoyable. The cottage is up to the usual high standard of all the cottages at Ross Bay - so clean, well equipped and comfortable and with the most amazing views over the bay! David and Sue are always on hand for any queries. We really had a wonderful holiday!

Peter & Katrina from York stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea. Relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable holidays are what we aspire to provide for our guests when the stay here at Ross Bay.

A special wedding anniversary break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Ross Bay retreat several times and in all of Sue's houses.
They are all finished and maintained to a very high standard and Sue makes you very welcome.
We stayed in Byre by the Sea in July this year and were very lucky to be the first people to stay.
It has the most fantastic views of the bay and across the Solway to the Lake District and Skiddaw.
It is all on one level and ideal for anyone who has access difficulties with steps and stairs.
The living accommodation is superb and very well planned and presented.
We have already booked again for next year.


Ian from Sunderland stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in July 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review for Byre by the Sea. The large glass windows certainly do give fantastic views of the bay, countryside and across the the Lake District. We look forward to welcoming our guests back.

Pretty much the best

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to find this property available in a place we really wanted to visit. The property has been recently converted to a very high standard, is very well equipped with good quality furnishings and no expense was spared in making us welcome. The views are fantastic and it is just a lovely spot to relax in. For me personally, being unusually and extremely short, the beds were too high and I needed help getting into bed which was a bit awkward, and we both found the mattress a bit soft. However, it must be impossible to furnish properties to suit every size and personal preference so this is not really a complaint. For future reference, for wheelchair users and bit more hard surface around the parking space would be helpful, especially in wet conditions. The help and attention we got from the owners was fantastic and we would like to thank them for a very enjoyable week.

Chris from Nottingham stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea........at title of "pretty much the best" is a really nice one to receive.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views and peaceful location.beautiful holiday home.homemade cake and ice cream were much appreciated.hope to return soon.

Lorraine from Haddington stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in July 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Relaxing breaks are what we strive to give our guests.......thank you for this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming our guests back later in the year.

The Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed cottage with wonderful views Owners on site to help with anything and yummy home made cake waiting when we arrived A perfect place to relax with everything you may need

Sue from Mirfield stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in July 2019


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea. We have enjoyed the renovation and trying to make another home from home cottage for our guests to enjoy some peaceful time away.