FB Twitter

Byre by the Sea

Byre by the Sea

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Byre by the Sea is a comfortable sea front cottage sleeping up to four, with a multifuel burning stove and central heating from our biomass heating system.

The open plan kitchen / lounge / dining area has leather settees, round dining table, flat screen TV, DVD player, WIFI, some DVDs, board games, toys, books and magazines. The multifuel burning stove will have a basket of kindling and logs for those cosy nihhts in with that relaxing toasty feeling.

There is a well equipped kitchen with quality cutlery, glasses, bowls, serving dishes, ample crockery along with a microwave, coffee maker and integrated small dishwasher, washing machine, and a fridge / freezer. There is a fan assisted oven with electric hob, extractor fan, matching kettle and toaster.

You can prepare a tasty dish with the view of the sea and sound of the waves as the tide rolls in!

Panoramic views from Byre by the Sea

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday at Ross bay. What a location!! It is perfect place for rest and relaxation and if you want to do more, it is all available in the surrounding areas. The local towns are great to visit with some unique shopping offering so much more than the usual high street. There are some excellent walks and amazing wildlife to watch whatever the weather. It was our first stay in Byre by the Sea and we were not disappointed. The accommodation has been finished to very high standard and there was nothing we could want for. The panoramic views from Byre by the sea are amazing from sunrise to sunset, you never get bored of the view. There is always something new to see with the changing of the tide. Sue and Dave are wonderful hosts and as always the cake on arrival is a wonderful welcome treat. We never want to leave and look forward to returning next year. Just perfect!!

Diane from Walsall stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in November 2019


Sue replied 5 days ago
Thank you for this amazing review for Byre by the Sea..............it really says it all. We look forward to seeing our guests in Springtime.........

Holiday at the Byre.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was amazing. The interior had everything you could possibly need. Spotless clean and very warm. Excellent sea views and beautiful sun rises. Plenty lovely walks, and plenty back roads for driving to other quiet places. Perfect holiday place if you enjoy peace n quiet. Will definitely be back. 10/10.

Linda from Cumbria stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in October 2019


Sue replied 46 days ago
Thank you for this superb review for Byre by the Sea...................we look forward to welcoming our guests back.

Wow!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning accommodation and setting. Spacious house which is beautifully furnished and equipped with top quality appliances. It was a joy to stay in Byre by the Sea with everything we needed and that stunning view. Sue, David and family are wonderful hosts and there is nothing that hasn't been thought of for a comfortable and first class quality stay. Can't wait for our next holiday there in April.

Liz from Shifnal stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in October 2019


Sue replied 57 days ago
Thank you for this great review for Byre by the Sea, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming them back next year.

Best by far

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Of the last 9 self catering properties we have stayed in Byre by the Sea has been the best and most reasonable.
It is tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard, with quality fixtures and fittings. Comfortable beds and crisp white bed linen.
We were welcomed by Sue who left a lovely home baked cake and a tub of ice cream for us to enjoy.
We enjoyed our stay so much we booked to stay next year.


Karen from Paisley stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in September 2019


Sue replied 78 days ago
A title of "Best by far" is a lovely one to receive, so thank you very much for this super review for Byre by the Sea. We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year.

Amazing week away

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week location and accommodation was fantastic. Susan made us feel welcome and had a beautiful chocolate cake on arrival. Accommodate was beautiful done to high standard. We all enjoyed it will return.

Susan from Walsall stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 82 days ago
We are really pleased our guests enjoyed their holiday in Byre by the Sea, and it would be great to welcome them back for a return visit.

A Hidden Gem.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views as we drove up to the Byre were amazing, and the Byre itself was fantastic. Everything was immaculate. A high standard of decor, furniture and appliances. A delicious chocolate fudge cake awaited us on the counter top, some Cream O' Galloway ice cream was in the freezer, and even the kettle was warm, ready for a cuppa. Soon after we arrived we were welcomed by Sue (the lovely owner of Ross Bay Retreat). Sue goes the extra mile with the tasty treats and all the little touches, and it does make a difference, it makes your stay feel "extra" special. The Byre is spacious and has everything you need and more. My husband, our daughter, myself and our little dog were always warm and very comfortable. The beds are comfy, the chairs and sofa are really comfy too. There are views from both bedrooms and the living/kitchen/dining room (which has huge windows). The balcony off the dining area of the Byre is a great look out point, and so is the large patio area at the entrance of the Byre which has sun all day. On clear nights the stars are so big and plentiful because there is hardly any light pollution, they look like they are just above your head. You can go walking, explore the different beaches along the coastline and visit the nearby towns. This was a wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable holiday, and we have already booked twice for next year. Thank you Sue.

Sharon from York stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in September 2019


Sue replied 84 days ago
Thank you for this superb review for Byre by the Sea. We are really pleased that our guests enjoyed their first stay with us at Ross Bay, and we are pleased that they have booked twice for next year...........we look forward to welcoming them back.

Perfect Tranquility close to Scotland's Artists' Town

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Byre by the Sea on Ross Bay was perfect for a much needed get away from city life. Uninterrupted views of the shoreline with its bird life and wild flowers, the sound of silence, and the tides rolling in and out over the salt marshes each day. The cottage is a brand new conversion on Ross Bay Farm, it only opened to bookings in July 2019, so it is well equipped and everything is in good working order. It is also extremely spacious. Sue was a wonderful host, friendly and helpful, and her home baked fruit cake on arrival was really delicious. There was also a big tub of local ice-cream in the freezer as part of the welcome, which sadly we didn't discover till we were leaving!

Claire from Edinburgh stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 96 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea.........we are pleased that our guests enjoyed the peace and quiet along with the sound of silence.........

Getting away from it all

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning accommodation and the perfect location to get away from it all. David and Sue are fantastic hosts. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Jonathan from Darlington stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 98 days ago
Thank you for this super review which says it all in a nutshell!

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a week at the new cottage Byre by the Sea at Ross Bay Retreat and it did not disappoint. Our week there was so relaxing and enjoyable. The cottage is up to the usual high standard of all the cottages at Ross Bay - so clean, well equipped and comfortable and with the most amazing views over the bay! David and Sue are always on hand for any queries. We really had a wonderful holiday!

Peter & Katrina from York stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 112 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea. Relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable holidays are what we aspire to provide for our guests when the stay here at Ross Bay.

A special wedding anniversary break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Ross Bay retreat several times and in all of Sue's houses.
They are all finished and maintained to a very high standard and Sue makes you very welcome.
We stayed in Byre by the Sea in July this year and were very lucky to be the first people to stay.
It has the most fantastic views of the bay and across the Solway to the Lake District and Skiddaw.
It is all on one level and ideal for anyone who has access difficulties with steps and stairs.
The living accommodation is superb and very well planned and presented.
We have already booked again for next year.


Ian from Sunderland stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in July 2019


Sue replied 117 days ago
Thank you for this great review for Byre by the Sea. The large glass windows certainly do give fantastic views of the bay, countryside and across the the Lake District. We look forward to welcoming our guests back.

Pretty much the best

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to find this property available in a place we really wanted to visit. The property has been recently converted to a very high standard, is very well equipped with good quality furnishings and no expense was spared in making us welcome. The views are fantastic and it is just a lovely spot to relax in. For me personally, being unusually and extremely short, the beds were too high and I needed help getting into bed which was a bit awkward, and we both found the mattress a bit soft. However, it must be impossible to furnish properties to suit every size and personal preference so this is not really a complaint. For future reference, for wheelchair users and bit more hard surface around the parking space would be helpful, especially in wet conditions. The help and attention we got from the owners was fantastic and we would like to thank them for a very enjoyable week.

Chris from Nottingham stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 117 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea........at title of "pretty much the best" is a really nice one to receive.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views and peaceful location.beautiful holiday home.homemade cake and ice cream were much appreciated.hope to return soon.

Lorraine from Haddington stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in July 2019


Sue replied 121 days ago
Relaxing breaks are what we strive to give our guests.......thank you for this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming our guests back later in the year.

The Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed cottage with wonderful views Owners on site to help with anything and yummy home made cake waiting when we arrived A perfect place to relax with everything you may need

Sue from Mirfield stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in July 2019


Sue replied 134 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea. We have enjoyed the renovation and trying to make another home from home cottage for our guests to enjoy some peaceful time away.