FB Twitter

Byre by the Sea

Byre by the Sea

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Byre by the Sea is a comfortable sea front cottage sleeping up to four, with a multifuel burning stove and central heating from our biomass heating system.

The open plan kitchen / lounge / dining area has leather settees, round dining table, flat screen TV, DVD player, WIFI, some DVDs, board games, toys, books and magazines. The multifuel burning stove will have a basket of kindling and logs for those cosy nihhts in with that relaxing toasty feeling.

There is a well equipped kitchen with quality cutlery, glasses, bowls, serving dishes, ample crockery along with a microwave, coffee maker and integrated small dishwasher, washing machine, and a fridge / freezer. There is a fan assisted oven with electric hob, extractor fan, matching kettle and toaster.

You can prepare a tasty dish with the view of the sea and sound of the waves as the tide rolls in!

Perfect Tranquility close to Scotland's Artists' Town

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Byre by the Sea on Ross Bay was perfect for a much needed get away from city life. Uninterrupted views of the shoreline with its bird life and wild flowers, the sound of silence, and the tides rolling in and out over the salt marshes each day. The cottage is a brand new conversion on Ross Bay Farm, it only opened to bookings in July 2019, so it is well equipped and everything is in good working order. It is also extremely spacious. Sue was a wonderful host, friendly and helpful, and her home baked fruit cake on arrival was really delicious. There was also a big tub of local ice-cream in the freezer as part of the welcome, which sadly we didn't discover till we were leaving!

Claire from Edinburgh stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 12 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea.........we are pleased that our guests enjoyed the peace and quiet along with the sound of silence.........

Getting away from it all

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning accommodation and the perfect location to get away from it all. David and Sue are fantastic hosts. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Jonathan from Darlington stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 14 days ago
Thank you for this super review which says it all in a nutshell!

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a week at the new cottage Byre by the Sea at Ross Bay Retreat and it did not disappoint. Our week there was so relaxing and enjoyable. The cottage is up to the usual high standard of all the cottages at Ross Bay - so clean, well equipped and comfortable and with the most amazing views over the bay! David and Sue are always on hand for any queries. We really had a wonderful holiday!

Peter & Katrina from York stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 28 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Byre by the Sea. Relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable holidays are what we aspire to provide for our guests when the stay here at Ross Bay.

A special wedding anniversary break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Ross Bay retreat several times and in all of Sue's houses.
They are all finished and maintained to a very high standard and Sue makes you very welcome.
We stayed in Byre by the Sea in July this year and were very lucky to be the first people to stay.
It has the most fantastic views of the bay and across the Solway to the Lake District and Skiddaw.
It is all on one level and ideal for anyone who has access difficulties with steps and stairs.
The living accommodation is superb and very well planned and presented.
We have already booked again for next year.


Ian from Sunderland stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in July 2019


Sue replied 33 days ago
Thank you for this great review for Byre by the Sea. The large glass windows certainly do give fantastic views of the bay, countryside and across the the Lake District. We look forward to welcoming our guests back.

Pretty much the best

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to find this property available in a place we really wanted to visit. The property has been recently converted to a very high standard, is very well equipped with good quality furnishings and no expense was spared in making us welcome. The views are fantastic and it is just a lovely spot to relax in. For me personally, being unusually and extremely short, the beds were too high and I needed help getting into bed which was a bit awkward, and we both found the mattress a bit soft. However, it must be impossible to furnish properties to suit every size and personal preference so this is not really a complaint. For future reference, for wheelchair users and bit more hard surface around the parking space would be helpful, especially in wet conditions. The help and attention we got from the owners was fantastic and we would like to thank them for a very enjoyable week.

Chris from Nottingham stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in August 2019


Sue replied 33 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea........at title of "pretty much the best" is a really nice one to receive.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views and peaceful location.beautiful holiday home.homemade cake and ice cream were much appreciated.hope to return soon.

Lorraine from Haddington stayed at Byre by the Sea for 3 nights in July 2019


Sue replied 37 days ago
Relaxing breaks are what we strive to give our guests.......thank you for this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming our guests back later in the year.

The Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed cottage with wonderful views Owners on site to help with anything and yummy home made cake waiting when we arrived A perfect place to relax with everything you may need

Sue from Mirfield stayed at Byre by the Sea for 7 nights in July 2019


Sue replied 50 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Byre by the Sea. We have enjoyed the renovation and trying to make another home from home cottage for our guests to enjoy some peaceful time away.