FB Twitter

Dairy House

Dairy House

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 76 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Dairy House is a comfortable spacious two storey dwelling, sleeping up to five, with an Anvil Dowling multifuel burning stove, and central heating throughout.

Ross Bay Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a peaceful location with striking views. The nearby coastal walk was breathtaking. We will visit Ross bay again.



Sue replied 7 days ago
We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their first stay with us at Ross Bay, taking advantage of exploring the coastline in Winter.

Rossbay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my family can not fault rossbay retreat we really enjoyed are stay here well we have been 3 times now says it all really it's a really lovely place to relax and rewind in any weather winter or summer plenty to do round and about and you all ways get a warm welcome and a lovely big cake thanks sue and family will be back again thanks



Sue replied 27 days ago
It is lovely to receive a great review from guests who have stayed several times with us - thank you. Our area is so nice to explore with lots of places to visit, and things to see and do. We hope to see our guests return again.

Another lovely week at Ross Bay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Ross Bay and the Dairy House and again we were blessed with good weather. Sue once again made us very welcome and the chocolate cake was to die for. Ross Bay is a lovely place to visit and you can do as much or as little as you want. Some fantastic walks close by and only a short drive to some lovely coastal areas too. Would highly recommend it for a great time at a really good price. The Dairy House is lovely and is finished to a very high standard with all the home comforts you could possibly want. Excellent for star gazing with no light pollution. Hope to be back again soon.



Sue replied 27 days ago
Thank you for this super review, great November weather has been lovely, and we are glad that our guests enjoyed being out and about. We would look forward to seeing them again.

Fabulous break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent short break in wonderful location and beautiful house with lots of homely touches - even better we were allowed to take our dogs who had a fabulous holiday too



Sue replied 30 days ago
Family holidays and memories are what we like things to be about down here at Ross Bay, so glad that our guests enjoyed their visit.

exellent holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage in a superb location with a lovely welcome on arrival.(eg: Chocolate cake & a lovely cup of tea) . Thank you sue. X



Sue replied 34 days ago
Thanks for this lovely review, a good holiday and a nice arrival is what we like to aim for here at Ross Bay.

A great place to take a holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place, great accommodation for all the family. Cake was yummy as was the ice cream for when we arrived. Children just loved it and so did our Labradoodles.
We are back again for Easter 2108.

Handley Family




Sue replied 48 days ago
Thank you for this great review, October holidays ahoy! We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay and look forward to welcoming them back at Easter.

A cosy, comfortable and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable, exceptionally clean house with lots of character, Dairy House exceeded expectations. Great sized rooms with good quality furniture, bedding and kitchen equipment. Views are lovely. Sue gave us a lovely welcome and was very helpful with any questions we had. The chocolate fudge cake that was left for our arrival was delicious! Hot water aplenty with great shower pressure both upstairs and down. All in all, a cosy, comfortable and relaxing stay.



Sue replied 58 days ago
Cosy, comfortable and relaxing - that is lovely to hear as that is how we like our guests to feel when they stay here at Ross Bay. Thank you for taking the time to write us this review.

Immaculately clean and cosy cottage by the sea

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculately clean, warm and cosy. Remote and secluded location but within easy reach of all of Dumfries and Galloway. We had a lovely few nights away - especially the dog who loved swimming in the numerous sandy bays nearby. Thank you Sue for the amazing chocolate cake and local ice cream!



Sue replied 62 days ago
Thank you for this super review, we do try hard to have everything clean, tidy and cosy to make an ideal base for exploring our lovely region with its many sandy beaches.

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all want different things from our holiday, me, I want luxury, peace and quiet, beautiful setting, a warm and genuine welcome being treated like old friends, value for money and a Chocolate cake, since visiting Ross Bay retreat the chocolate cake has become an essential.In this corner of heaven even poor weather brings its own charm.Cosy and warm watching the storm over the sea, waves crashing and a hot chocolate or a wee dram
The welcome you receive here can not be faked, we never leave without re booking and have three holidays booked for next year.Plenty to do if you like to be active or have children.




Sue replied 65 days ago
Heaven on earth is a lovely review title - thank you so much. It is lovely to receive such a nice review from our guests who like they say are like old friends when they visit. We look forward to seeing them again soon

A blissfull holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most relaxing holiday we have had in along time .The house had everything we needed and more , quiet, warm ,it didn't feel cramped with 5 adults .The kitchen was very well equipped we cooked a good meal every night. Would go again.



Sue replied 67 days ago
Lovely title for this review from our guests - thank you very much. We are pleased that they had a relaxing time and enjoyed their stay with us here at Ross Bay.

Dairy house Ross bay retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing holiday. The facilities were brilliant Sue was lovely and her cake was gorgeous. It would be such good value for a family as we had two rooms we didn't use. The stressless chaires looking out over the bay were such a bonus would go back tomorrow if I could.



Sue replied 88 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Dairy House, and also thank you to our guests for their recommendation upon which we have received a booking. We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year, for hopefully another relaxing holiday with us at Ross Bay.

Something for everyone!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Dairy House, a very well equipped and furnished house in a very peaceful location, we will definitely make a return visit. It provides for a holiday that offers something for everyone, you can do as much or as little as you want!
Many visitor attractions within easy reach, plenty of information is provided in the house but one of the most memorable things for me was gazing at the stars at 4am one morning - amazing!
Ross Bay Retreat is located a few miles away from local amenities, the pub in Borgue is about 3 miles but for us it didn't matter. Kirkcudbright is not too far away and has all the shops that you need. A very nice Deli, a small Tesco and Co op store, a very good Fish & Chip shop ( I can recommend the pan fried Halibut) , bakeries and many more.
A little further afield is Castle Douglas that has an amazing Artisan Bakery, fabulous Chocolate Brownies which we had with some Cream of Galloway Ice Cream!
We will be back!!




Sue replied 110 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this great review. Its a great review not only for us, but our area and fellow businesses who all contribute to making visitors so welcome and provide them with lots to see and do during their stay. It would be lovely to see our guests return.

A perfect retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two lovely weeks at Dairy House and would recommend the holiday home to all. Perfectly situated with lovely views. Natural sounds and farm business only sounds for the majority of our stay. Perfect hostess in Susan, all our needs were met. Her welcome cakes (and ice cream) are a wonderful treat and great way to start the holiday with a relaxing cuppa. No worries for parking as each cottage has a designated parking spot. Good wi-fi, mobile reception depended where you were in the cottage. Only thing we would have different would for the back garden area to be lawned but that would be our choice, as it is it is easier to maintain. We would recommend a stay here to anyone at any time of year.



Sue replied 112 days ago
A recommendation to all after a two week stay has to be pleasing - thank you very much for this lovely review, which speaks for itself.

Dairy House

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our lovely stay at Dairy House and would go back without hesitation.
We arrived at Dairy House to a warm kettle, an absolutely amazing chocolate cake and some ice cream.....wow!
The house is perfect, clean, welcoming, well equipped, homely. We found everything we needed during our stay, there was even a selection of games, dvds and books. There isn't anything to improve. The house was lovely and warm, the water hot and plentiful.
Sue the owner was friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother.
Dairy House is located in the perfect setting, quiet and relaxing with amazing views. We spent our evenings sitting in the sun room looking out over the bay, beautiful.
We didn't want to leave!




Sue replied 118 days ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write us this review for your first stay with us at Ross Bay. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay with us, just having a chill and time to relax for a while. Really glad they didn't want to leave!

Quality accomodation in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dairy cottage provided a perfect base to explore Dumfries and Galloway. It is exceptionally clean, beautifully furnished and well equipped. The views from the cottage are stunning and our host, Sue, was so welcoming and helpful. Thank you for a lovely holiday, we will be back soon.



Sue replied 145 days ago
Quality accommodation is what we aim to provide for our guests so that they can have a restful time here and be explorer ready here in the beautiful Solway, where there is so much to see and do. Thank you for this great review.

Home from home peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sue had thought of everything making sure our stay was as enjoyable or as possible. Cottage very well equipped with lovely furnishings and linen.



Sue replied 153 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this pleasing review. Home from home with peace and tranquility, what a lovely review title.

A very well presented property

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The presentation is absolutely first class,cleanliness is superb in the property also crockery ,pans and utensils spotless.cooker,fridge/freezer excellent. Sue the owner was very helpful and welcoming.a small complaint which is no criticism of the property is that it would be nice to have a sandy beach for a stroll on as unfortunately it is on the muddy side.there is however a small beach a few minutes car ride down the road.



Sue replied 173 days ago
First class, thats a lovely compliment to receive, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their return visit to Ross Bay Retreat. A sandy beach would be nice................ but we may not be a retreat if it was, and natures way always prevails!

Top Marks

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an unexpected find, a gem. Sue has put a great deal of effort into making guests welcome into a comfortable and well equipped holiday home. The setting is beautiful; a secluded bay with plenty of walks nearby. Kirkcudbright is a lovely town fifteen minutes away by car, but Ross Bay is set in the heart of the Solway Coast: there is so much to see. The house is more than comfortable, light and well equipped with excellent kitchen. The special touches: A personal welcome (and cake!), a goodbye and check that all was to our satisfaction, with generous notes about the area, dog -friendly and walker-friendly. We've stayed in many holiday cottages, this is one of the best.



Sue replied 179 days ago
It is really nice to be a pleasant unexpected find! We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and in the area, and thank them for taking the time to write us this lovely review, noting us as one of the best cottages they have stayed in.

Beautiful Dairy House

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and the dog (Jack) all had the most wonderful time at Ross Bay Retreat. The cottage was beautifully appointed and the views spectacular. We are all looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Sue and family for making us so welcome.



Sue replied 184 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review for Dairy House. A warm welcome is a must here at Ross Bay Retreat, and we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their time with us and look forward to welcoming them back.

A place to relax

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fourth time for us at Ross we love it and feel very relaxed. My idea of heaven to wake up to the sea.



Sue replied 201 days ago
A place to relax and get away from it all, just to listen to the sea lapping - thank you for this lovely review.

Sunshine in May at Ross Bay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very fortunate with the weather and had a wonderful time. The location is excellent - very quiet but with Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas just a short car ride away. The walks from the cottage are excellent especially the one to the ruined church past the bluebell woods. The accommodation itself was superb and well designed and maintained.



Fabulous stay at Ross Bay Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a fabulous week at Ross Bay Retreat staying in Dairy Cottage. The cottage itself is so clean, comfortable and well equipped with the most amazing views over the bay. A delicious chocolate cake was waiting for us when we arrived - what a lovely treat! Sue and David are brilliant hosts and couldn't do enough to make sure we had a brilliant time. Lots of lovely relaxing walks with our dog and some cycling too. Plenty of great places to visit nearby and the countryside around is absolutely breathtaking. We had the added advantage of wall to wall sunshine for most of the week.

Cannot recommend highly enough! A** all round.




Sue replied 222 days ago
Great recommendations are much appreciated, and thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. Our area excels itself for wildlife, walks, cycling and places to visit so its great that we can provide our guests with accommodation from which to experience all our area has to offer.

Great stay at Dairy Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a really lovely place to stay. Clean, warn and comfortable with wonderful views. Chocolate Fudge Cake on arrival was delicious. Hope to return.



Sue replied 242 days ago
We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay in Dairy house, and thank them for taking the time to write us this review. We hope to welcome them back in the future.

A truly idyllic place

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best holiday cottage we've ever stayed in without a doubt. The house is truly amazing; clean, comfortable and has everything you could need. And the views really are stunning! Sue is friendly and helpful without being intrusive, and her cake is delicious!
We didn't want to leave, and will definitely be coming back again.




Sue replied 261 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this wonderful review, it fills us with pride that our guests enjoyed their stay so much and we look forward to welcoming them back in the future.

Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is such a beautiful, luxurious cottage in an idyllic remote location, with amazing views over Ross Bay in the grounds of the owners farm. The owner Sue is very attentative but not intrusive. It was so lovely to arrive to chocolate fudge cake, ice cream and a cuppa. Everything you need is provided for and more inside and outside the cottage and at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed our stay so much we are returning in October.



dairy house perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
me and my family were very satisfied with the condition, location, décor and overall ambiance of the property. we had a wonderful stay and can,t wait to visit again. it was so peaceful and relaxing with plenty to keep the children occupied with the most marvellous sunrises



Sue replied 298 days ago
Dairy House perfect.........................what a lovely review from our guests, thank you very much. The weeks sunrises have been amazing, and we are delighted that our guests have booked to return later in the year.

A Very Happy New Year

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please see my review of The Old Cheeseloft, all of which applies to the Dairy House. Our whofle family who shared tne 2 houses for the New Year would like to pass on their gratitude, love and best wishes for 2017 to Sue, David , Stephen and Philipafor for making our family get together so memorable



Sue replied 346 days ago
What a lovely way to start 2017 with a super review from our guests staying with us over the New Year. We are pleased that they had a lovely stay and enjoyed some quality family time together away from it all! The weather was kind too, cold but dark skies and great walking. Look forward to seeing you later in the year.

Super Moon and stay at Dairy House

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a magical stay. from start to finish. Great. welcome from Sue and a superb chocolate cake. Super moon over high tide over the bay. Lovely warm house with all mod cons,.very welcome in November! And lovely walks around the farmlands.
Sue and her family have performed miracles in less than three years. They are great hosts and we loved our stay. Thank you so much!! We shall certainly hope to return often.
Richard and Anne




Little gem

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from staying at The dairy house what a Fabulous place. we were met by Sue who was a super host from start to finish, she was so helpful but not intrusive.
we were blown away by the wonderful accommodation and fabulous views from the rooms,everything was catered for including a tasty banana loaf and ice cream on arrival.The area around the farm is breathtaking and we had some lovely walks and we mountain biked to the next bay.
Kirkcudbright is a lovely town with plenty of shops and a couple of supermarkets overall we would highly recommend staying at Ross bay retreat.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are blown away by this lovely review, thank you very much. Compliments always make me smile inside and feel that all the hard work is worthwhile to give someone else a great place to stay and enjoy our wonderful area.

Fantastic Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a stunning location. There is everything and more in the cottage it's just like home from home. Loved the chocolate cake and ice cream that there was to greet us.

Lots to see and do in the local area from watching the red kites being fed to collecting shells on the lovely beaches.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A home from home review is a pleasing thought! We do try hard to think of things which make our guests stay with us as special as possible, so that they can enjoy all that our beautiful Kirkcudbright has to offer.

A beautiful peacful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Ross Bay. Our welcome from Sue was very much appreciated, the kettle boiled and a fabulous chocolate fudge cake and ice cream waiting for us too. The cottage has been beautifully renovated and everything you could need provided even little packs of "just in case you forgot" in the kitchen and bathroom. The views from the cottage are breathtaking both during the day and in the evening. We were lucky enough to have clear skies and an unbelievable view of the stars. We will certainly be back again.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing this super review. We like to make sure our guests have a good welcome and a start to their holiday with us that they remember. Our weather this autumn has been fantastic, cold, dry and some clear skies with good star gazing from out on the balcony or the garden. It would be great to welcome our guests back again.

A short visit

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic short break in a lovely house and peaceful location. Lots of walks on the doorstep and plenty of wildlife.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review about your short stay here with us at Ross Bay. Look forward to welcoming you back in February!

Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect, the cottage, the very high standards of finish and cleanliness and the little things which make it homely, and lastly but not least the fabulous welcome. Oh, and the cake which was gorgeous.
This is our second holiday in Dairy House, we didn't want to go home it is that beautiful. The weather was perfect too. We enjoyed some lovely walks with the dogs in the local countryside and at the beach, there are plenty of places to walk and explore for us and the dogs. We can't say enough about the cottage and Sue and her family, its the most beautiful and welcoming place we have ever been to. So perfect for us that we have booked again!
Many thanks Sue
Liz, Nick, Bodie and Archie xx




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a pleasing review to receive for Dairy House! Thank you very much, it is so rewarding when our guests enjoy their stay in the cottage, the area, and book a return visit. Look forward to seeing our guests again soon.

A pleasant home in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Communication with Sue , the owner was great. On arrival she came very quickly to ensure that all was fine.
It was cosy and warm for our arrival. Everything we needed for our stay was at hand. The beds are comfortable and all rooms are a good size.
The welcoming Chocolate Cake and Ice Cream went down a treat over the next few days.
The views from the property are fantastic.....ever changing light and colour.
Although the property is on a working farm we were never disturbed by noise.
We would certainly use Ross Bay Retreat again.
PS. Make sure you have all your groceries as the nearest shop is about 7 miles away.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this complementary review for Dairy House. We try hard to ensure our communication from booking through to arrival and settling in are top notch and like to be on hand for our guests during their stay. Most people feel that they are miles away from anything when they stay at Ross Bay as it is so quiet (apart from some of the animals some of the time!), yet actually only a few miles away from beautiful Kirkcudbright and all the facilities it has to offer. We enjoy the scenic drive along the shore road to town!

More amazing memories created

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay, wonderful as ever - the cottage, warmth of the welcome and location are all second to none. We visited places which have become old friends, found new favourites and still haven't exhausted the possibilities - we have a list for next year already - yes, we have booked again. Not something we normally do but Ross Bay Retreat is a special place run with heart and soul by some of life's lovely people and it's both a pleasure and a privilege to return.








Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for this superb and humbling review. It makes running our cottages a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and already have plans for their next visit. Holidays are so much about creating memories, and we are pleased to be part of it!

Our 2nd home <3

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to Ross Bay. Our 1st was to Creel Cottage. 2nd and 3rd were to Dairy House. While we were there we had a little look around The Old Cheeseloft which is AMAZING sooooooo ... I'm sensing a pattern here ... we have recommended these cottages to a lot of our friends and family and several of them have stayed / booked already!

I can only go over the usual praises - the views, tranquility, surroundings, BEAUTIFUL cottages etc etc the list is endless. And Sue and her family are beautiful people; approachable, kind, friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The cake on arrival is like nothing I have ever tasted and ice cream from Cream of Galloway waiting in the freezer! Every year we have a trailer ride around the farm to see the place in all it's glory and it's all these little extra thoughtful gestures that contribute to this being the most wonderful place to stay.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Reviews from guests who have stayed with us before is wonderful. We feel it is so important to keep our standards high and very much appreciate great reviews like this one. We cannot really say much more apart from thank you for taking the time to write us this super review, and we are really glad you enjoyed your time here.

Top class

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I could not have wished for better accommodation or location, the house was spotlessly clean, well equiped and comfortable. Would have liked drawers in bedrooms but that is a personal thing as don't like living out of suitcase. Would recommend to anyone and will be going back.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Recommendations from our guests to others is always pleasing. We are pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay with us in Dairy House and intend to return.

Wedding Anniversary week away

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house set in beautiful surroundings. Unfortunately I had received back surgery the morning of our first day and when we first arrived after a long journey we were greeted with the biggest and tastiest chocolate fudge cake and local made icecream. Sue soon came to welcome us and instantly wanted us to make ourselves feel at home. We cannot thank Sue enough for her fantastic hospitality throughout the week, nothing was too much for her.
The house was beautifully decorated throughout to a very high standard. The little snug room with the reclining chairs looking out onto the sea was a fab little touch, which we took advantage of every morning and evening.
I could go on and on about the location, it truly is beautiful and waking up to the gentle lapping of waves on the beach and the singing of swallows was instantly relaxing. We are already planning our return next year!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. We try hard to have everything ready for our guests arrival in the hope that they have a cuppa, slice of cake and sit back, relax and think ahhh, we are on holiday! It is relaxing to hear the waves lapping, birds singing and hopefully the sun shining!

Excellent!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week, the house was really good, probably the best holiday house we have ever stayed in. Excellent care from Sue and David, clearly excellent planning and forethought had gone into all aspects of the house and contents, lots of lovely touches. We will be back! Thank you very much.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A super simple title which is perfect - thank you so much. It is lovely that our guests enjoyed their first stay with us at Dairy House, and pleasing that they would like to return.

A perfect retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an ideal place to stay if you want to get away from the pressures of the real world. It is quiet, relaxing and extremely comfortable. It is well situated for walking and the area has plenty of places to visit. Overall it is magic, and the chocolate cake is the ultimate pleasure.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely description for Ross Bay, it is a little bit of heaven on earth and we are pleased that our guests can describe it, enjoy it, and book to return to it!

Fabulous!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gorgeous house, everything you could possibly need and so comfortable. I shouldn't give too much praise or I might not get booked for next year ! Arrived to find to die for Chocolate Cake and Ice Cream. And then greeted by the owner Sue who is the perfect host. We came in June and are returning in September, what more can I say !!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We are delighted that our guests had a special holiday and look forward to welcoming them back in September.

All as described.overall very enjoyable

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay ,service was superb. Staying on a farm does mean a bit of machinery passing by. But no great problem.some nice walks . Great for dog lovers.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and we are glad our guests had an excellent stay and enjoyed the walks with their dog. As we are a working farm there are animals all around and some farm machinery with work in progress depending on the time of the year. It is pleasing though that these guests booked again for next year before they left.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in, service and cleanliness were fantastic. The decor was beautiful and relaxing, the stressless chairs were amazing. We had everything we needed and Sue's attention to detail was just perfect. The situation was excellent, quiet and relaxing, with lovely walks and stunning scenery. Overall a lovely relaxing experience, it was so good we have booked again. Many thanks to Sue and her family for such a wonderful place. The cake and ice cream were gorgeous too, such a fabulous welcome to a perfect week.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this perfect review! What can we say - is it lovely that our guests have felt that they can write us a review like this, and it is so much appreciated. We try hard to have everything as right as it can be and it is nice that this is noticed. We look forward to welcoming our guests back soon.

One of the best holiday cottages we've stayed in!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chanced across Ross Bay Retreats on the Internet when we were looking for somewhere to stay in Dumfries and Galloway. The photos on the website looked great and certainly helped with our decision making. It's very rare I can say this, but the photos don't do it justice! We stayed in the Dairy House which has the "wow" factor from the moment you step through the door. Light, airy and spacious. The interior decor and quality of furnishings and linens are excellent and perfectly compliment the wonderful surrounding countryside.

Walks from the cottage door are superb and simply sitting either in the relax room or out on the terrace watching the ever changing sea and tides is absolute bliss.

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough (and I must confess I was rather reluctant to write a review which means more people get to know about it!). We take approx 4 self catering holidays a year in the UK and this is up there with the absolute best. Huge congratulations to Sue and her family for creating Ross Bay Retreats. Superb!

Julie & Phil Cawood




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for writing us this superb review. This review captures our guests feelings when they arrived, not only to the cottage, but the area which is so beautiful. It is extremely complementary to be "up there with the absolute best", and really makes all the effort worthwhile to see that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

HEAVEN AT ROSS BAY

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous holiday at Ross Bay Retreat.Dairy house is comfortable cosy and very welcoming. Fabulous views complete this idylic location along with Sue scrumptious cakes paradise is achieved. we booked our third visit before we left. Highly recommended if you like peace quiet and beautiful surroundings along with top class accommodation this could be the place for you.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely, but humbling review. It is extremely satisfying when our guests not only enjoy the cake! It is pleasing if we can make someone's holiday special for them and that they wish to return to stay with us again. I am working on expanding on my choices of welcome cakes so...... just added lemon drizzle cake and carrot cake!!

Excellent cottage brilliant view

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at the Dairy House that alone should speak volumes. The cottage which is situated on a working farm is very clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The owners Sue and David are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Although the location may not be to everyone's liking, being 10 minutes drive to the nearest town of Kirkcudbright, it is our ideal, being located next to the sea, surrounded by green rolling hills and to be able to enjoy watching the ebb and flow of the sea from the comfort of a reclining chair with the mountains of the Lake District in the far distance is brilliant.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this superb review. We too find living at Ross Bay our ideal - 10 minutes away from the town of Kirkcudbright yet nicely away from it all with the countryside, animals, and seaside all here!

Stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was beautiful and very warm- very welcoming after the long drive! We couldn't have wished for a better location, the views over the bay are just gorgeous and the kids loved the geese just strolling past the patio in the morning. The area has such a lot to offer and we had the perfect base to explore from. I really didn't want to leave!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
With this lovely weather we have had some lovely views, great sunrises and sunsets here at Ross which our guests have enjoyed. The farm ducks and geese do like to have a wander around and a dip in the pond when they feel like it! We are lucky that our area has so many activities to do and places to visit that our guests can be spoiled for choice. Really glad that they didn't want to leave!!

Exceeded our expectations & looked forward to returning to it after long walks and visits to beach

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, house ticked all the boxes, luxurious but homely, view was awesome and it was very quiet but close to beach and shops - kids loved it



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This is a review to be proud of......what a super feeling to have exceeded our guests expectations! We do try really hard to have things right and welcoming so it is lovely to receive such a nice review - thank you.

Delightful Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had another lovely stay at The Dairy House, we are made so welcome and very very comfortable. We just love the Borgue and Kirkcudbright area and in finding The Ross Retreat have found the perfect combination having booked again in July and September.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This is a super review which we feel reflects the great area in which we live, and everything it has to offer. We are really glad to be part of our guests "perfect combination", and it will be delightful to see them again later in the year.

Another amazing stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
absolutely lovely, so quiet and the weather was great every day. The dogs just love going straight out onto the beach and we love the changing views from the windows. Sue and family are brilliant and we got to see the lambs being fed. My mum loved the decoration of the house and has ordered the paint and light fittings for her house! We will be back as soon as we can, I need my Ross Bay fix to keep me going!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. We have had a busy time here with the sheep lambing and the cows calving so there is always something different to see on the fields as well as out to sea! We look forward to welcoming our guests back again.

Out of this world! Fantastic cottage and location. Will be back

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole "experience" is fantastic. The cottage, the location and Dumfries and Galloway. It is an area I knew little about but has so much going for it. Never seen so many amazing sunsets and sunrises! Dog friendly and lots of walks from the house around the coast and to the beaches. Sue is so helpful and the chocolate fudge cake it to die for!!! I cannot fault anything and I have been to a lot of cottages in Scotland over the years!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review. We love the title, in fact the local saying is "out of the world and into Borgue!" Dumfries and Galloway as a region has so much to offer, as does our part of the Stewartry. The cottages have a great view of the early morning sunrises from the balconies and the setting sun from the rear garden areas. It is really rewarding that our guests have enjoyed their stay, along with their dogs too.

Fantastic ross bay retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed this time in the dairy house and we have also stayed in creel cottage you would be a hard person to please if you could find any fault at all with ross bay retreat the dairy house is warm cozy clean everything you would expect because of the high standards sue and dave have set them selves looking forward to going back soon



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This super review makes us really happy. Our guests have enjoyed their stay in both cottages which is great as we do try hard to have things right and make the stays as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to seeing them again.

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful Cottage in a lovely peaceful location. The views from all 4 of the front facing rooms are amazing, looking out to see. Everything is provided, with some thoughtful finishing touches too - like a large chocolate cake on arrival.
Would definitely recommend




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review and super title which says so much. It is great to be recommended, and nice that our finishing touches are enjoyed.

A great short break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Dairy House, we couldn't fault a thing, spotlessly clean, lovely and warm, comfy beds excellent location and on arrival cup of tea and chocolate fudge cake to die for. what else can we say !!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this lovely review. It is great when our guests are able to appreciate the cottage and its seaside location, even in December with the rough sea and coastal winds!

Dairy Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dairy Cottage was a perfect weekend venue for Dad's special birthday celebrations with all the family. It is spacious and warm and is situated in the most beautiful corner of Galloway. Even on a cold and wet December day, the views out to sea could be enjoyed from the comfort of the cottage.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review, it is pleasing that great memories can be made from a stay at Ross Bay on cold, wet December days! There always seems to be something to see when you look out across the bay, even if it is how rough the sea looks!

Long weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky enough to stay for a long weekend. Beautiful setting and the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. First class welcome was the icing on the cake - oh and the home made cake - what a joy



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review. We are really pleased to offer short breaks throughout the winter months, so our guests can come and enjoy a little taste of what is on offer - glad the cake was enjoyed as well!

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location and scenery first class accommodation supplied with tasty welcome pack from Sue.
Kirkcudbright farmers market worth visiting with much to see and do in the area.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Even in November when things are colder, and the trees are bare, it is great that our guests can still enjoy the location and scenery around the Stewartry with plenty to do.

Just Perfect!!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best holiday home we have ever stayed in! everything is beautiful, the house is warm and clean with lovely furnishings and decoration, with a view that is out of this world. Kirkcudbright and the surrounding area is our most favourite place in the world and we have visited a lot in the past. Sue and family are lovely and welcoming and the homemade cake was delicious. We had only been back home for a day when I had to book again for next year! Thanks Sue for a great time.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this superb review! We are really pleased that it not only reflects on our cottage, but Kirkcudbright itself, and what a great place it really is, along with the effort the local people put in to make Kirkcudbright what it is! For example, the Arts & Craft Trail deservedly winning at the Scottish Thistle Awards regional finals. It is rewarding that our guests are choosing to return, and we look forward to welcoming them back.

Spot on

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice property. Very tastefully furnished. Warm and comfortable. Brilliant location. We stay in properties all over the UK and this was up there with the best of them.Spot on we'll be back!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This is a lovely simple review that says it as it is - thank you. It is great to know that we compare favourably to other self catering cottages in the UK, and we are pleased when our guests plan on returning.

A lovely cottage finished to a very high standard, beautiful location, and very warm welcome

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in Dairy cottage. We were welcomed by a delicious home baked chocolate cake with local ice cream , and the kettle was warm! The view is lovely and lots of excellent walks around about. The cottage has lots of welcome extras that you often don't get in a self catering cottage. Excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in recommending.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for giving us this super review. We feel that a warm welcome is the perfect way to start your break away, to relax and unwind! It is lovely to hear that our guests would have no hesitation in recommending Dairy House as a place to stay in the South West of Scotland.

A week at Ross Bay - Dairy House

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is in immaculate condition and contains everything one might need. The welcome from Sue couldn't have been warmer and the house is situated in a lovely spot. The nearest town Kirkcudbright is delightful, elegant houses, real trawlers pulling up at the harbour and the people really friendly. A holiday here is a truely tranquil experience.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review for us. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed the house and it's location, along with delightful Kirkcudbright. Freshly caught fish is available at the fish shop after the trawlers have moored - how lucky are we!

A little piece of heaven, a place to escape for a while.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ross Bay Retreat took our breath away Wow was the first word out of our mouths and Wow again when we opened the door to Dairy Cottage. The place is faultless, what a beautiful, tranquil place to stay not only is the place amazing but then you meet the owners Sue, David and their two children who are the kindest most helpful people you could meet, nothing to much trouble and always around if you needed anything not that you would Sue has thought about everything including the most amazing chocolate fudge cake to welcome you, that is worth the visit itself. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated with lovely inspiring quotes around each room and is wonderfully warm and cosy on those colder days. The little room with patio doors is a real treat where you can sit and relax. The Bay itself is a dream as if time stood still with views you imagine in your mind, it has it all the sea, the countryside, animals, wildlife, the views and lovely friendly neighbours who are lucky enough to live around the bay all year. It really doesn't matter if it rains or shines here you could never fail to be unhappy, if you love all of the above I have mentioned then you will have found a paradise. We will be returning as often as possible. Thank you Sue we loved it and so did the dogs.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this superb review. We have tried to make Ross Bay Retreat a place to relax, unwind and be inspired. We feel that a welcome cake, Cream o Galloway ice cream and a warm kettle for a cuppa ready when our guests arrive should give that "aahh we are on holiday feeling". The icing on the cake for us is returning guests, who enjoy all Ross Bay and Kirkcudbright have to offer.

Wonderful holiday in a little bit of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We simply could not have had a better holiday. Dairy House is beautiful, the reality surpasses the photos, and the location right on the Bay and the views are stunning. Spent a lot of time watching the tide roll in and out, and some beautiful clear nights when the moon made a path across the water. And I haven't mentioned the chocolate cake (it's a Bake Off winner) and the warmth of the welcome from Sue and the family. Lots of things to see and do nearby (bike riding, beaches, Laggan Outdoor - grass sledging and archery - sea swimming in wetsuits, Scottish Night, Tattoo and Maggie's Tours in Kirkcudbright, shell beach at Kippford and Cream o'Galloway). We didn't need to go far from the house, really slowed down and enjoyed just being. We saw loads of wildlife - red deer, red kites, herons, oyster catchers and an adder up in the hills. A very special place, and an absolutely wonderful holiday.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review, I had never thought of the "moon making a path across the water", but it is so true as it glistens over the sea. We have enjoyed many of the activities which take place over Summer here in Kirkcudbright and feel very privileged to be able to tell our guests how great they are, and even meet them there! It is really rewarding that our guests can relax, unwind and enjoy their stay with us here at Ross Bay, and even better when they book to return!

wonderful stay at ross bay retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We drove to this lovely place and first glance new it would be nice. The Dairy house is Delightful and very very clean, comfortable. decorated beautifully throughout the house . Large well equipped kitchen dinner.Three big bedroom. Very comfortable . Sea view amazing sit in sun room and watch birds and sea roll by and just after about 5 oclock watch the white ducks going for a walk very comical to watch. This is very a relaxing quite place. Owners very friendly and helpful .Lots of walk and place to vistit or just relax wonderful. There was a delicious choclate fudge cake made by the owner and creamGalloway ice cream in freezer. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday .



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased to have received this lovely review. First impressions are always important so we are happy that this review reflects that, along with our cake and ice cream! Our new duck pond seems to be working well, and the ducks set off before bed for a walk along the shoreline garden area in front of the cottages and walk back again, then have a swim before bedtime! It is perfect that our guests feel relaxed and have time to enjoy the peace and quiet during their stay at Ross Bay Retreat.

MY HAPPY PLACE

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
They say everyone has a 'happy place' - well Ross Bay Retreat is mine. From the moment of arrival (to home made chocolate fudge cake and 'Cream of Galloway' ice cream) to the time we had to leave (with heavy hearts) it does exactly what it says on the tin. Outstanding cottage set in beautiful landscape with absolutely amazing views what more could we ask. Plenty to do around the area and plenty of time spent simply watching the tide roll out ... and the tide roll in again!

The owners are lovely - more like friends, and cannot do enough for you. This is my second visit to Ross Bay Retreat and I have already booked again for next year - cannot rate this place highly enough.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for this amazing review, which is so thoughtfully written, and leaves me smiling inside! It is special to receive such compliments, and having been open with Creel Cottage for 15 months and Dairy House for just 4 months the learning curve continues for us and we thrive to help and hope our guests have a holiday to remember, time to make memories, staying in a place that they will never forget.

Comfortable and peaceful with lovely views

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and peaceful with lovely views and a welcoming hostess. Lots to see and do in the area for children and adults.
Gardens, bird watching and beaches.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this lovely review which encompasses both a stay at Ross Bay Retreat and Kirkcudbright as a whole. The area is superb with a plentiful supply of things to see and do for all whatever the weather.

Delightfully fairytale

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in a lovely house ,right by the shore we loved the little thoughtful extras ,great holiday ,look forward to returning next year .Thankyou Sue loved every minute .



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a super title for this review! It is pleasing that these guests loved their stay and are returning next year.

Dairy House Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, perfect accommodation. We had a fab stay for a week in this gorgeous place. Lots of coast and ozone, incredibly comfortable house, warm and snug, light and airy. Yummy chocolate cake and ice cream on arrival. We stayed with our three young boys who had a great time puddling around on the beach, climbing rocks and walking over the cliffs. A really lovely holiday. Thank you Sue and family.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review - thank you so much. It is amazing how much time can be spent on the beach, (although ours in not as sandy as others), beachcombing, rockpooling, digging and splashing around. We are really pleased to have been able to provide the accommodation so that this family could make the most of their holiday in Kirkcudbrightshire!

Beautiful Dairy House

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house in a fabulous setting, delicious home-baked cakes and fresh farm eggs. A very warm welcome from Sue and family. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely succinct review. We are glad our efforts are appreciated, the house, cake and eggs enjoyed, and a happy holiday had by all!

Dairy House, Ross Bay Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Ross Bay and our first at the Dairy House. As with Creel Cottage everything was spot on, the cottage was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and there was everything we could wish for to have a very comfortable relaxing holiday. We certainly made the most of the retreat room relaxing in the comfy Stressless chairs overlooking the bay watching the ever changing light and the tide coming and going. The area is very scenic with its gently rolling hills, craggy coastline and the quaint nearby towns of Kirkcudbright and Gatehouse of Fleet, ideal for walking or generally exploring. We will be booking shortly for our third visit and are already looking forward to it. Thank you to Sue, Dave and family.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this super review. It is reassuring when our guests return and enjoy themselves for a second time, and lovely that they have stayed in both our cottages. We try to maintain a high quality, and standard, as well as appreciating that continuity and consistency are important to our guests. We are always looking for new ideas, and bits and bobs for the cottages, to keep them coastal, pleasurable, and an idyllic easy living home from home to enjoy. We look forward to seeing our guests again.

Our stay at the Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dairy House is in a super location, quiet and with stunning views. It is clean, well equipped and well thought through. The hosts are friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful week, would recommend it to anyone.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review which says a lot, our views and location are great, along with the peace and quiet except for some farm animals! We try to keep things clean, tidy and well maintained. Recommendations are always pleasing - thank you very much.

Superb

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely, warm house beautifully decorated with all facilities and a wonderful host. A superb quiet location off the beaten track. Looking forward to returning in the future.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this super review. We are glad that Dairy House is now cosy and warm with the use of our biomass heating system and we are pleased how it has turned out after all the work and planning. It is great to offer lovely accommodation to appreciating guests so that our great location can be appreciated by all who visit.

Recharging Batteries

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation and location for recharging your batteries. All rooms had been thoughtfully decorated and equipped with a great eye for detail. It seemed to us that Sue and family had given a lot of thought to needs of their guests. The little room off the kitchen was a great retreat. Enjoyed nothing more than sitting in the recliners watching the tides come and go with nothing between us at Ross Bay and the Cumbrian Fells. Superb!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review - it makes you feel relaxed reading it! We do think a lot about our guests and what would be nice for them, and what they may need to enable them to have a home from home holiday down by the seaside. We are always keen to hear of new ideas and suggestions of how we can improve things, but complements are always nice for what we have already done.

Dairy House

Review submitted on Sat, 23 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Dairy House was an absolute delight,5 star accommodation with amazing sea views.A warm welcome from the family and sue baked an amazing chocolate cake so good we greedily asked for another one.

Furnished to a very high standard, including toiletries we felt very pampered.

Booked a return visit before we left, just wish it could be sooner but it is full up.Highly recommended.

Irene and Bill Mcgivern




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review, we are really pleased that Dairy House is now up and running, and being enjoyed by our guests. Choosing the furniture and furnishings was great, contemplating what guests may enjoy and find pleasing - the Ekornes stressless recliner chairs with foot stools we feel are excellent to relax, unwind and take in the view from the retreat room, and Laura Ashley fabrics and furnishings are good to work with. Repeat bookings are perfect and it is rewarding to be recommended - thank you.

weekend of bliss at Dairy House

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I were recently lucky enough to spend the weekend in Dairy House down at Ross Bay.We love it here.(We spent a week in the equally gorgeous Creel Cotrage next door last summer.)After a stressful week at work I felt instantly relaxed the minute I saw the view.Even in yucky miserable rain the setting of dairy house is still glorious!
The house itself is absolutely stunning.Sue has impeccable taste and you truly get a 5 star experience the minute you walk through the door. It is a stylish ,comfortable ,contemporary home from home filled with everything you could possibly need.Sue really has thought of every detail...
An amazing chocolate fudge cake (freshly baked by Sue )was smiling at me on the kitchen table when we arrived.So delicious I have to confess my daughter and I even ate some for breakfast! You can walk it off though as there are a number of coastal walks in and around the bay....my daughter loves to plitter about on the beach in her wellies ...or you can just relax in the retreat room with a book, a glass of prosecco and another slice of cake!!
The house is spacious and boasts spectacular views from almost every window.I really could look at the view all day long. It is spotless and the beds were super comfy.I really didn't wan't to come home!!I Infact my daughter was keen to move in :)
Thanks again to Sue and her family who were superb hosts as usual.Can't wait to come back in July.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this superb review, it really gives us pleasure when people come here for a holiday and have a great experience - it is what holidays are all about. We enjoy it here even when the wind howls and the rain comes down as there is still so much to see, the sea and the tide are always busy changing the view of the bay. We have enjoyed the Dairy House project and hope that our other guests over the coming months enjoy their stays too. Returning guests are welcome, and it is great to catch up with them since we last met - see you in July!

5 star plus

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Newly and beautifully renovated, an idyllic spot right on the shore with panoramic views over the Solway to the Cumbrian mountains, a warm and genuine welcome, the best chocolate cake we have ever eaten, and the most wonderful hosts in Sue and her family. It's so good here that we booked a repeat stay in the summer on the day we arrived. Dairy House itself is stunning - beautifully decorated and furnished in a calm seaside palette, (with some funky touches - we loved the Jazzy chair) and everything thought of. Lambs and calves in the fields, gorse in bloom (and primroses and violets) and everywhere greening up. We very much enjoyed Cream o'Galloway, amazing views from Knockbrex, fish and chips in Kirkcudbright and the shell beach at Kippford.But perhaps most of all watching the tide roll in and out and the ever changing views, sea and bird life in the bay. Come, even if it means the Dairy House gets so booked up in the future that we can't. We'd like to keep it to ourselves, but enjoyed our stay and the area so much, and left feeling so refreshed that we honestly can't do that.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this super review - our first for Dairy House. We have thoroughly enjoyed renovating and refurbishing Dairy House, along with all those choices and decisions - kitchens, bathrooms, flooring, furniture, windows, curtain fabric and the list goes on. We are pleased how it has turned out and hope that our guests enjoy relaxing, dining, unwinding and just taking in the beautiful views from the retreat room, balcony, sitting room, or even having a cuppa in bed looking out to sea! How wonderful it is to be in beautiful Dumfries & Galloway with all it has to offer.