FB Twitter

Overdale Cottage

Overdale Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Overdale Cottage is a delightful stone built semi detached cottage within the pretty village of Harome. It sleeps 4 guests, with a spacious sitting room leather Stressless chairs (two), and a leather settee with open fire, TV and DVD player, along with some books, board games. There is a lovely dining room, and separate kitchen which overlooks the large doggy proof back garden and countryside beyond. There is a dishwasher, washing machine, kettle, toaster, microwave with a ceramic hob and single oven, along with glasses, cutlery and crockery. There is a BBQ in the outside storage shed which can also store bicycles, fishing tackle or walking boots / wellies, or other bits and bobs!

a cosy retreat that ticks all the boxes.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overdale Cottage is fitted out to a high standard and has retained its cosy charm. Delightfully decorated and spotlessly clean, the cottage has everything you need for a good touring base of the area. a real home from home. We booked this cottage after staying at the other property in Ross Bay and it did not disappoint. We will definitely come again.

Pauline from Denbigh stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Sue replied 9 days ago
Thank you for this super review for Overdale Cottage. We and our housekeeper take pride in our guests enjoying their stay and providing a base for exploring all North Yorkshire has to offer.

Great 3 day Easter break!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay over the Easter break at this cottage. The weather was unbelievable for the time of year as it was blue skies and 24 degrees! There is everything that you need when staying here! The gardens are great for dogs as they are large! Dexter our dog loved being able to roam free and play. Our 2 sons played football which was good for them too as there was plenty of room.
The 2 local pubs were pleasant and friendly although the drinks and food were quite expensive I thought. Helmsley is a really nice town to visit and there is plenty of good walks.
The house is comfortable and has everything needed and was like home from home. The bag of logs and coal was a nice touch to experience an open fire. I’ve always had gas or a stove so this was good.
I would recommend this little cottage to anyone and would definitely book again in the future.



Ian from Liversedge stayed at Overdale Cottage for 3 nights in April 2019


Sue replied 19 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, sunshine always makes holidays better................The two restaurants in the village are both Michelin starred, so their special menus and fine dining experience may always be a little pricier than other "village pubs," but a special treat when on holiday just a short walk from the cottage (Marco Pierre White was even dining at The Star Inn this week!) We always like recommendations and returning guests, so thank you again.

Lovely cosy cottage and gardens

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfy and well furnished cottage with excellent facilities and a huge fully enclosed back garden, which was safe and spacious for all to enjoy. Lovely tranquil village location with easy access to Helmsley for shopping, walks etc., Would definitely recommend.

Emma from Darlington stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Sue replied 36 days ago
Thank you for this super review. We are glad that our guests enjoyed their stay in the cottage, the village and the area! Recommendations are always nice.........thank you.

Lovely week at Overdale Cottage, Harome.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently returned from a wonderful week at Overdale Cottage ('Helmsley Hideaway', how appropriate !), lovely accommodation, decor and such a peaceful location. Oh and those reclining chairs, how welcoming they were after a days walking to relax with a cup of tea or a beer to recuperate! As for our 2 golden retrievers they would retire to their beds in the dining room. They also had the time of their life in the safe and secure garden.
Spring, what a time of the year with daffodils adding to the charm of many villages. We particularly enjoyed our walks in Farndale, around Thornton Le Dale the circular walk along Sutton Bank taking in the 'Kilburn White Horse' and Castle Howard.
Loved Helmsley, Thomas The Baker, delicious meat!, Gepettos and The Feathers for a meal.
Will be back, so more we need to see and do!


Terence from Enfield stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in March 2019


Sue replied 41 days ago
We would like to thank our guests for their super review of their stay in Overdale Cottage and their experience of North Yorkshire with all its great places to visit. We would look forward to welcoming them back.

Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from another lovely stay at Overdale Cottage. It is an absolute gem of a place, offers a great base for exploring North Yorkshire or just relaxing in the pretty village of Harome. The Gods were kind to us and gave us great weather for March so our dogs had great fun racing up and down the garden while we humans took it easy and recharged our winter worn batteries. Sue (the owner) is very helpful and friendly and makes the whole experience a smooth one. We will be back soon.

Julie from Spalding stayed at Overdale Cottage for 4 nights in March 2019


Sue replied 47 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, we are really pleased that our returning guests enjoyed a second stay. There is so much to see and do in the area, and Harome is a great quiet little village. We look forward to welcoming our guests back later in the year.

Quiet Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Overdale Cottage, it has everything that you need and is comfortable clean and cosy. There is secure parking at the front for two cars and the enormous enclosed rear garden is excellent for exercising the dog. The area is beautiful with many attractions a short drive away.

John & Ann from Darlington stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in March 2019


Sue replied 70 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review for Overdale Cottage, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay, and their dog enjoyed playing in the garden.

Our stay at Overdale Cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a lovely break at Overdale Cottage. It was very comfortable and was such a quaint place to stay. The cottage is decorated very tastefully (love Sophie Allport) and the beds were very comfortable. The open fire was great to relax in front of after a busy day exploring. The garden was so big and we loved watching a barn owl flying over the garden hunting. Harome is a lovely village and we had a drink in The Pheasant and The Star Inn. We visited Runswick Bay and Staithes. We had a super walk around Duncombe Park( great for Austin our springer spaniel) and we had a lovely day in Filey and Scarborough. The scenery is beautiful around Harome- Helmsley is a lovely place too. The market was nice to browse around on the Friday. We were so lucky to have had such amazing weather for February and our 2 teenage daughters didnt want to leave! We all just loved staying in the cottage! I also think the cost to stay at the cottage is very reasonable, thanks again.

Claire from Consett stayed at Overdale Cottage for 4 nights in February 2019


Sue replied 82 days ago
Thank you for this super review. We are really pleased our guests enjoyed staying in Overdale Cottage and exploring Harome, Helmsley and further afield. There really is so much to see and do in the local area for everyone.

Fantastic break in the countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in a great location in Harome, just a short walk up the road from the Star Inn and The Pheasant where we enjoyed two lovely meals, and 5 minutes drive to Helmsley. Large back garden for our dog Milo to have a good run around (all safely fenced in). Open fire and cosy feel throughout, we loved our stay and will definitely be back. Thank you!

Claire from Leeds stayed at Overdale Cottage for 3 nights in February 2019


Over dale Cottage - February 2019

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed last year in Ross Bay and were delighted. Stayed in Over dale Cottage this year as nearer home and it didn’t disappoint in any way. The dogs loved it - and the lovely open fire so we loved it too.

Guest from Great Longstone stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in January 2019


Sue replied 98 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, we are pleased that our guests and their dogs enjoyed their stay in Overdale Cottage and their stay here in Scotland last year too.

Christmas Break 2018

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently returned from Christmas in the Cottage & we had a fabulous Christmas!

The Cottage had everything you need, immaculately presented, every detail covered down to lovely Christmas decorations and gifts on arrival - finishing touches were lovely. We loved the fire - you can’t beat a roaring fire st Christmas.

Walks with the dog were lovely, and plenty of space for him to run around the secure garden.

Dinner at The Star is recommended - food & service excellent, as was lunch at The Pheasant!

Only wish the cottage was bigger as the rest of the family now want to come with us next year!

Highly recommended for a relaxing stay in a beautiful area.



Emma from Grimsby stayed at Overdale Cottage for 4 nights in December 2018


Sue replied 143 days ago
Thank you this super review. We are so pleased that our guests enjoyed making perfect memories at Christmas in Overdale Cottage, and the wonderful village of Harome. Dining out in the village makes for a perfect stay, just a stroll along the lane.........ahhh

Fantastic weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Overdale Cottage was absolute bliss. The cottage was so clean and cosy - everything you could need was provided and it was so warm, comfortable and spacious. The location was ideal and very peaceful (although it is situated in the village of Harome). The booking process was very straightforward and Sue was so helpful and friendly. I have already recommended to cottage to several friends I was so impressed by it!

Louise from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Overdale Cottage for 3 nights in November 2018


Sue replied 182 days ago
This is a lovely humbling review which fills us with pride. We are so pleased when our guests enjoy their stay and are happy to recommend us to their friends. Thank you so much.

Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was everything we could of wanted for us and our wee dog, villagers were friendly and lovely location for what we wanted, Was very well presented and clean and not to cluttered with furniture, will definitely go back as we love that part of Yorkshire

Paula from Dumfries stayed at Overdale Cottage for 4 nights in November 2018


Sue replied 191 days ago
Thank you for writing us this lovely review. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed being out and about in the village and the local area. It would be lovely to welcome them back for a return visit.

A-ma-zing

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful half term break at Overdale Cottage. It has everything you could want - and more - for a perfect family holiday. The village of Harome itself is very pretty and friendly, as is Helmsley where we enjoyed the wide selection of shops, bakeries, cafes and Gepettos, a very nice Italian restaurant. Overdale Cottage is perfectly situated for the North York Moors, the coast, York itself and further inland. We need to go back as there are some many things to do in the area - and we had perfect weather and were out every day, including swimming in the sea at Robin Hood's Bay!

Liz from Wigton stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Sue replied 198 days ago
Thank you for this super review, it says it all really about beautiful Yorkshire......It is also really pleasing that our guests have already booked again for their next visit in 2019!

Excellent from start to finish

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From our first contact to enquire about staying at this cottage we have nothing but praise for our whole experience. The owner, Sue, is friendly and extremely helpful, even answering our email queries whilst she was trying to have a day out herself. The area is beautiful, the village is peaceful and the cottage itself is an absolute delight, it is clean, very well furnished and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Our two dogs loved running and playing in the large, enclosed garden and we have had a very relaxing short break here, leaving completely de-stressed. We have been home less than a week and are already looking into booking another stay. We are a little reluctant to tell everyone just how good this cottage is, as it will mean we won't be able to book in whenever and as often as we would like to!

Julie from Spalding stayed at Overdale Cottage for 4 nights in October 2018


Sue replied 215 days ago
Thank you for this super review. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their whole experience of booking and staying at Overdale Cottage, and their dogs enjoyed their holiday too. We are pleased that our guests have booked to visit Overdale Cottage again next year, which is quite rewarding for us.

Quiet retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, lovely quiet village location, it couldn't have been a better place to spend a relaxing holiday. The cottage is of a very high standard, wonderfully equipped and beautifully furnished, the open fire was gorgeous to watch while we relaxed on the reclining chairs. The garden was great for the dogs they really enjoyed running up and down. We didn't want to go home, looking forward to visiting again next year.

Liz from Shifnal stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Sue replied 223 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed staying in Overdale Cottage and taking advantage of all it has to offer. I imagined the lovely open fire for our guests with the highland check curtains and relaxing on the Stressless chairs, so it is very rewarding for me when they experience and enjoy my vision. The large rear garden has been enjoyed by many a dog - so its a real winner for a pet friendly holiday too.

Excellent in all areas

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, homely, clean, top class furnishings and decoration. Beautiful village and many local visitor attractions, nearby Helmsley lovely independent shops and top class butchers and cafes.

Lynda from Ferryhill stayed at Overdale Cottage for 14 nights in September 2018


Sue replied 223 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review of Overdale Cottage and Helmsley itself. There really is a lovely holiday awaiting a visit to the sleepy village of Harome and staying in Overdale Cottage, with many days out exploring and relaxing in North Yorkshire.

Beautiful cottage, Idyllic location, Perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect relaxing week spent in the most beautiful cottage in a quiet,friendly, idyllic village. Having stayed already at Ross Bay Retreat Cottages many times, we decided to try this new cottage and Sue has not let us down, what a gem it is, her decor, plush furnishings with the most comfortable beds and the attention to detail are just perfect, everything you need and more. It is an excellent base for exploring the many historic towns and villages including Whitby, Goathland and York. Helmsley is just a ten minute drive and offers all you need with some great shops also plenty of quaint pubs and restaurants, Harome where the cottage is has two, The Pheasant Inn & The Star, both are Michelin starred, it even has the traditional village pond and charming church all you imagine an Englush country village to be. On days we didn't go out it was lovely to just cosy up and relax with the open log fire, our dogs had the best time in the huge secure garden which is great for sitting and watching dogs and children alike playing safely. The front has parking to fit two cars and is also secure. Needless to say we have booked again next year as there is so much more we want to see with the many Abbeys', Castles and stately homes. Castle Howard is a must see that we enjoyed, along with Rivaulx Abbey also the Yorkshire Lavender Fields. North Yorkshire has such beautiful countryside too with areas of outstanding natural beauty I found was breathtaking. The cottage feels far enough away to be peaceful in a pretty village but not isolated, yet close enough to explore without having to drive for hours to visit places. Its great that short breaks are offered too and would be perfect base for shopping trips to York especially around Christmas.....I'm hoping hubby is taking the hint. Wonderful time, can't wait to visit again. Thank you.

Joanne from Darwen stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Sue replied 245 days ago
Thanks for this fabulous review, there is not much I can really add except we are pleased that our guests enjoyed Overdale Cottage as a base from which to explore wonderful Yorkshire. Thank you for booking stay next year!

Delightful foodie holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay very much, loved Helmsley which was just a short drive away, the cottage was to the usual high standard of Ross Bay Retreat which we have visited many times. Harome is a lovely quiet village, The Pheasant Hotel is excellent we had lunch and dinner there both we really enjoyed, The Star Inn was quite good too.
We will certainly be back.


Kathleen from Morpeth stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Sue replied 245 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, Harome and Helmsley are such pretty places with lots of fine places to dine. We look forward to our guests returning and seeing them at Ross Bay too.

A truly luxurious and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot recommend this cottage and the area highly enough. The owner, Sue put every effort in to make sure our stay was as relaxing and as hassle free as possible. The cottage itself is beautifully cosy and fully equipped - we especially loved the rain shower, the bedding and the huge garden is an absolute joy for young children. The area is a great base for exploring and we will certainly be returning at some point in 2019.

Scott from Dunfermline stayed at Overdale Cottage for 6 nights in August 2018


Sue replied 261 days ago
Thank you so much for this super review for Overdale Cottage. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay in the cottage, and had some relaxing and hassle free family time. The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of places to visit and things to see and do..

Our holiday at Overdate Cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This review may be bias, as this is Sue, and we have stayed in our Overdate Cottage for our weeks holiday! We enjoyed our stay in the pretty village of Harome with some lovely walks and days out.
We visited the city of York for some shopping...........enjoyed a lunch at The Star Inn the City, visited Flamingoland, Thirsk races, went clay pigeon shooting at Cottondale, a trip for me to the Verbena Spa in Helmsley (shhhhh, while David took the kids to the cattle market in Malton!!) and the Steam Train from Pickering to Whitby to do some sightseeing and crabbing!!
There are so many lovely places to dine we were spoilt for choice but during this stay we enjoyed meals at The Sun Inn, Normanby, The White Swan, Ampleforth, The Staypleton Arms, Wass, Gepettos Italian, Helmsley, Feversham Arms in Farndale, and the famous Star Inn, in Harome!
Looking forward to our next stay........more days out and food (we do like our food!)
We hope our guests enjoy their time in Overdale Cottage as much as us.


Sue & family from stayed at Overdale Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Loved my stay at Helmsley Hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had the privilege of being the first person to stay in the cottage after Sue put the finishing touches into the the cottage. I was down to take some new photography for the website, and extended my stay in order to enjoy a few days exploring the Yorkshire countryside. I managed to pack plenty in... a drive through Dalby Forest and a walk to Bridestones rocks (kids may prefer to stop at Go Ape though!), a visit to the charming seaside town of Whitby (everything you imagine a seaside town to be!), with drive back over the windswept moorland. I could easily have spent longer there.

The wee sleepy village of Harome where Overdale Cottage is sited is just lovely and is a nice contrast to the bustle of Helmsley a few miles away; though I didn't quite manage to make a visit to its 2 fab looking local pubs instead collapsing into the stressless chairs with a beer... next time maybe.


Guest from stayed at Overdale Cottage for 12 nights in July 2018


Sue replied 286 days ago
After a frantic time getting everything in place it was great to have the photos taken and for our photographer to test things out in Yorkshire and have an explore. It sounds like she packed lots into her visit to Yorkshire and took some nice photos of the area for our gallery! Also seemed to have time for a relax and a beer!!!