FB Twitter

The Old Lighthouse

The Old Lighthouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 44 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The Old Lighthouse is a holiday home with a difference! Built in 1666 on the cliffs of North Beach in Hunstanton.

Our Stay at the Old Lighthouse Hunstanton Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing week intending to visit lots of places but mostly just enjoyed the comfort of the panoramic lounge with sea views.

This venue is very well presented and we shall return in the future.

The bedrooms are very comfortable with excellent en-suites to all.

The view from the tower is excellent and well worth the 80 steps up and down.

All in all we can thoroughly recommend this venue.




Brittany Taberner replied 55 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review. It sounds like you loved it just as much as we all do. I hope you will be back to stay with us very soon. Kind Regards Brittany

A full circle for me and my family

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent childhoods at Hunstanton, walking past the lighthouse- so to get to stop there was a fulfilling moment for my family and me! The place was stunning, the pictures don’t do it justice!
Coastal path got us some onlookers but that can’t be helped! Worth it completely! Maybe the company could think about a come back offer when u have holidayed and could claim within a couple of months of stopping in any of their properties!!




BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIIONS

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Despite the poor weather (gale force winds, rain, sleet, lightening and sun) our family had another fantastic week. Great views and very well appointed. Our second visit and we will be returning again .Our only complaint was that we asked for NO feather cushions/pillows as our son is asthmatic, but upon arrival we had to move everything into the utility area as the cushions were feather. Thank you for a great holiday.



Perfect in everywsy

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit this year. Fabulous property to share with friends. Views and accommodation first class
Very obliging helpful staff at the lodge
We will be back again soon




70th birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took our family of 8 consisting of 3 children and 5 adults to stay for a week in The Lighthouse to celebrate my 70th birthday. The accommodation was just right for our needs. It comfortably sleeps 8 people and so much room we didn't feel in each others way at any time. Plenty of crockery and cutlery you were never short of any items even when the dishwasher was loaded.
The children loved roaming about going down the cellar and up to the top of the tower (with an adult at all times)
My favourite spot was sitting on the balcony in the evening with the sun setting over the sea, beautiful.
The weather also helped a beautiful hot sunny week until our last day when thunder and lightening struck.
We all agreed that this was one of the best holidays that we have had and celebrations certainly went with a flash and a bang at the end.




A great 70 th birthday celebration at The Old Lighthouse Old Hunstanton!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous venue with amazing views of The Wash and Old Hunstanton beach. Very well equipped and superb accommodation. Certainly has the Wow factor when you climb the stairs to the first floor living area. Our guests were delighted to share this iconic lighthouse with us and all climbed the steps to see the view from the top of the tower. Stunning.
The service from Norfolk Coastal Cottages was exemplary and we have booked another cottage with them for next year already!
We were very lucky with the weather so were able to enjoy the balcony and the garden but if it had not been the fabulous HD TV would have kept us amused for a while!
We would highly recommend The Old Lighthouse for a stay to any of our friends.




A unique location

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lighthouse is FABULOUS! Five minutes walk from great family beach.
Love all en suite bedrooms. Thanks




Idyllic

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of our favourite places in the world, simply wonderful. Have stayed many times and have already booked three more visits for next year!! Highly recommended and a perfect place to chill out.



Ideal for large gathering for 80th birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Splendidly positioned to appreciate the sweeping views of Hunstanton headland, and within easy reach of the beach and town. The property is a unique experience.



Old Lighthouse Review for stay between 18/05/18 and 25/05/18

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was one of the very best holiday lets we have used. The views looking out over the Wash from the lounge, balcony and tower were superb with some memorable sunsets during the spell of fine weather, over the first few days of our holiday. The property provides accommodation to an excellent standard and is very comfortable. Without doubt the Old Lighthouse is a great venue for a family holiday and for exploring the North Norfolk coast.



Just Go

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing sea and beach views, modern conversion, good easy parking. Some stairs eg to upstairs lounge. Good ensuite bathrooms, Lots provided eg dishwasher tablets, bags, bottle of wine and cake, tuperware, washing stuff - pretty much everything! Very helpful and friendly management staff. Recommended.
Close to pubs and small shop with places like Sainsburys a few minutes drive in Hunstanton.
This is our second stay here and we will be back.




Wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 06 May 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great week at The Old Lighthouse. It was spacious and comfortable and easily accommodated family and friends who came to visit for the day to celebrate a 50th Birthday. Plenty of things to do nearby and everyday a different view across the sea. The sunsets were spectacular as well.



Whatever the weather

Review submitted on Sun, 06 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another amazing week in this stunning property. 2nd time for us, don't miss the most amazing sunsets from the balcony



Perfection at The Old Lighthouse

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had stayed under the previous owner, and whilst the venue was unique the accommodation was very sad.
There is now only one word "perfect"
Ages ranged from 68 to 20 months and each one of us had a simply amazing time.
Highly recommended




Brittany Taberner replied 266 days ago
Thank your "perfect" review of The Old Lighthouse. I am so pleased that your whole party enjoyed themselves and I hope we will be seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

30th wedding anniversary at the lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in the lighthouse celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary with family and friends. The whole place was cosy even though at times it was cold outside. The beds were very comfortable, kitchen was well equipped and having cooked a roast for 6 there was nothing I was short of.
The views were stunning and ever changing and we often just sat mesmerised by the sea.
On our final full day the sun shine and the sky was blue and we got to sit on the balcony and the views from the tower were brilliant.
Having always gone to Hunstanton we never imagined we would be able to stay in the lighthouse and it has left us all with many fabulous memories.




Lighthouse stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful stunning and comfortable accommodation
Great stay with friends.
Needs additional cutlery xxx




The Old Lighthouse family get together

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Lighthouse exceeded our expectations as a venue for the family to get together to celebrate three birthdays and have a break away from home. The OL was very comfortable and warm despite the very cold weather and the surrounding area has many great walks and sights to enjoy. We took our dog and he enjoyed the beaches and wood walks. All the pubs and restaurants we chose were dog friendly and all provided great food and comfort. For us a 5 star break and will use again in the future.



Fabulous place to unwind

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is a beautiful property in a prime location. The owners provided lots of extra touches to make us feel welcome, a gorgeous Christmas tree, decorations, wine and cake; they even left some poo bags and chews for the dog. Even though the weather was freezing we were always warm inside. The views are amazing and it helped that there is a well positioned telescope. We got food delivered and ate out at the Lodge which was lovely.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. The Lighthouse is a great property with views that are second to none. I hope you will be back to stay in one of our cottages again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Amazing, well equipped house with fantastic views.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked this house as a venue for a family pre-Christmas catch up. There were 8 of us ages ranging from 16 - 66 and it was perfect. We had some cold weather but the house was always warm. The huge beds were extremely comfortable and all bedrooms had en-suite bath/shower rooms. The entrance hallways were useful for storing coats and wellies and our two dogs slept in the utility room. A lovely unexpected touch was the Christmas tree and decorations lit up when we arrived.
We had a great time and made good use of the fabulous well equipped kitchen even spotting seals on a sandbank using the telescope and binoculars.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. I am so pleased you and your party had such an enjoyable stay with us and made full use of the binoculars to look out over the sea. I hope you will be booking to stay in one of our cottages again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

A birthday treat!

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family visited the lighthouse in November for a family birthday weekend and were not disappointed at all! Having walked past it a year earlier and wondered what it was like we were so glad we booked it for our annual getaway. The location is amazing and the views are second to none! Lots of “wow” moments especially at sunset, beautiful. The house was warm and cosy (despite being someone who is always cold!) the beds were extremely comfy and very well decorated. Can’t recommend enough, we will be going back!



First class holiday let

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lighthouse has everything and more that you could ask for from a holiday let. Incredibly well appointed and the beautiful location and scenery a real bonus. We’ve already booked to return.



98

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Most enjoyable time and stay the lighthouse is the perfect location well set out and the renovation is excellent would have loved to stay longer time went to quick so we have booked again for April 2018 Carnot wait



Points re our stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The eight of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this well appointed house

Three minor suggestions;
more small glasses
some serving spoons
smaller wine glasses-the current ones are much too large for the dishwasher.

The policy of asking for a breakages/damage deposit with the initial deposit-in our case many months before we set foot in the place-seems mean.




Storm in the tower

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Old Lighthouse, Hunstanton, in September 2017 during the first storm of the year, storm Aileen. Never before have we actually enjoyed rain and gale force winds whilst away on holiday ! The rain lashed the windows and the winds threw the garden furniture around the patio area. We felt safe and secure and were disappointed that we didn't actually experience any thunder and lightenening ! The accommodation is superb, beautifully appointed with every possible luxury provided. The beds are so comfortable we slept like logs throughout our stay. The views across the Wash were spectacular , especially from the top of the tower. Hunstanton is a lovely little place to visit, a trip to the Cherry Tree Chocolate shop is recommended , as is the Norfolk deli. We ate at the Lodge Inn which does an excellent Sunday roast. Hunstanton Sea Life Sanctuary was surprisingly enjoyable, but make sure you book your tickets on line first, as they are much cheaper ! Whilst the weather could have been better we really enjoyed our visit to the optimistically named " Sunny Hunny" . Our stay in The Lighthouse was an experience the whole family will never forget.




Beautiful property in the perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very attractive, spacious and comfortable place to stay in a wonderful location with fabulous everchanging views of the sea. It also had the added interest of the lighthouse tower to climb.

The house lacked for nothing and in fact had everything we could have asked for and we would certainly be more than happy to return. The only minor problems were the almost invisible step in the hall which several of us fell up and down, the squeaky bathroom door that caught on the floor and would not close, the loose door handle on the laundry room and the tumble dryer that had a mind of its own. However none of these detracted from a brilliant place to stay for a week.




Amazing stay in the Lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a week we had - stunning accommodation with modern deco. Really clean, superb views.
Spacious bedrooms, with everything you need. Was so lovely sat in the lounge and the kitchen taking in the lovely views and sunsets. Would recommend to others without a doubt.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Old Lighthouse. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will be back to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Lovely holiday house .

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic spot lovely and clean . Very comfortable. Only a short walk to beach . Local pub 10 minutes away . Lovely place to spend time chilling



Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location. So good to relax on the sofa and look out through the balcony doors to the sea.
Excellent views from the kitchen windows too.
Amazing sunsets right in front of us.
Accommodation exceeded our expectations, and we can't wait to come back.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope there will be many more to come. Kind Regards Brittany

An excellent holiday in outstanding accommodation.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent holiday in outstanding accommodation with interesting views including a view of the sea from most rooms.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will be welcoming you back to another of our cottages soon. Kind Regards Brittany

there was nothing which drew our critical attention.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
we stayed from Monday to Friday and the weather was as good as it could be.The all round views were a bonus as was access to the lighthouse itself.The spaciousness of the kitchen and lounge was much appreciated. The only hiccup was the return of our damage deposit. Conditional on returning the full damage deposit to my current account, was a request from your end for an authorisation code from my bank . My bank informed me that no such code .exists.So the deposit was transferred to my credit card account, and this caused me a lengthy conversation with my bank to have the £200 transferred to my current account it might be worth checking on the contracted out company who handles the transfers..



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review following your recent stay in The Old Lighthouse. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the added extra of some glorious weather. I am sorry that you had some troubles with your damage waiver being refunded. The PDQ machine asked for a referral which occasionally happens and is requested by your card issuer, this was also beacuase the refund was going onto a different card to the one used for payment. We then have to obtain an authorisation code through a voice authorisation call. Unfortunately this was bypassed thus your refund not being able to be refunded to your card. I am pleased we managed to get it refunded to the original card. I hope we will be welcoming you back to one of our cottages again soon. Brittany

I DO NOT WISH MY NAME OR DETAILS TO BE PUBLISHED OR PUT IN THE PUBLIC DOMAINE

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An enjoyable stay with my family which included two very young grandchildren. I do not think the old lighthouse is suitable for very young children. The excellent balcony has no gate leading to the metal stair case just a metal chain. We had to block entrance to the metal stairs with the garden furniture. The public footpath at the end of the garden gives no privacy with hundreds of people going by.NO CHILD SAFETY LOCKS ON WINDOWS. Apart these comments it is a great place to stay . The house keeper does an excellent job keeping the place clean and at my request made an extra visit to obtain a stair gate foe the children. The staff at the Lodge were polite and helpful



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent scores following you recent stay in The Old Lighthouse. We take all your comments on board in relation to the balcony and as a result have amended the property description on our website. I am pleased that this did not hamper your experience and I hope we will be welcoming you back to stay in one of our cottages again in the future. Kind Regards Brittany

The Light House, brilliant, beautiful place to stay in with sea views putting the icing on the cake.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Light House met all our expectations. Wonderful picture windows which were clean so the views were brilliant. The balcony was lovely, managed to sit outside several times during our stay watching the sun set over the sea. The bedrooms were all beautifully decorated and spacious.

The little touches gave a lovely welcome, bottle of wine, and cake, plus ice cubes, and lots of other little extra bits which we didn't expect. The whole package was excellent, thank you.

The distance to the beach and the town was excellent. As we took our 2 German Shepherd dogs with us we did lots of walking, and eating out.





Loved it so much we've booked again

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Six adults and one dog stayed in March for my Dad's 60th birthday.

The property is vey imposing on the outside. It is beautifully set on the cliff edge with a large garden. There is also a large drive which we easily fit our three large vehicles on. The gates can by shut to secure the property.

The lighthouse tower was fun to explore although hasn't been refurbished.

The house itself is beautiful and finished to a very high standard.

Each bedroom has an ensuite and proper hair dryer provided. The beds were really comfortable.

Upstairs the kitchen again is finished to a high standard and had high end Joseph Joseph equipment. The views from the kitchen are stunning.

There is a spacious open plan dining room/living room. This had a large table and sofas along with a cosy fire and huge tv with sky. There is also a big balcony but this was awaiting completion when we were there (we were informed before hand) and it was a bit chilly to sit out anywhere.

The location was really good for exploring and the local pub was excellent.

We enjoyed our stay so much we've booked to go again next year!




Family Weekend of Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You'd be lucky to find another such location, very well equipped property, loved the balcony, glass of wine....perfect.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable birthday weekend. Maybe next time you could enjoy the whole week! Thank you once again. Kind Regards Brittany

Well worth staying here for the views!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love the location - our first winter break here - quite a difference in the beach life compared to the summer months. It has been sympathetically renovated to a good standard. Would thoroughly recommend staying here.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Old Lighthouse. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The views are indeed fantastic from the cottage and I hope you will be back again soon to enjoy them some more. Kind Regards Brittany

A Stunning 'Old Lighthouse' in a Stunning Location...

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite simply, a beautiful Old Lighthouse in a stunning location. Everything about the experience of having stayed in the 'Old Lighthouse' leaves me wishing it was my own property.

I booked the Old Lighthouse within a month of the property having changed ownership. It was in desperate need of some serious TLC, I just knew that the new management would not disappoint. 10 Months of waiting and it was all worth it. From the moment that we arrived at The Lodge to pick up the keys to the moment we left, this has been one of the most memorable experiences of our lives.

From having some friends over for my Birthday party to having a couple of days to myself, this Lighthouse leaves you wishing it was your own. The quality of refurbishment to the level of service, it is all what you come to expect from such a well organised business. Even the BBQ was brought in a few months early for our party!!! Prior to our stay at the Old Lighthouse, we have also been lucky enough to stay a few times in the Coal Bunker and The Lodge Cottage - all offer quite different experiences, but none quite like the Lighthouse.

The moment you enter the driveway, open the door, and discover all of it's rooms, you will be left speechless (at-least, I was.)

Words and pictures do it no justice. If you want a totally luxurious holiday in a unique lighthouse on the North Norfolk coast, look no further...

Simply Brilliant!

Thanks from myself and all of my guests...

See you soon ,-)




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review of The Old Lighthouse. It was so lovely to read such positive comments about the recent refurbishment and your whole experience staying there. I hope you will be visiting us again very soon. Thank you again Brittany

Superb place to stay for a restful week

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in late January, although the weather was cold, the Lighthouse was warm ,cosy, homely and very comfortable, brilliantly comfortable bed and the living area was similar, add on the wonderful views over the beach, the sunrise and sunsets both visible from the living area ( but not at the same time. Doh ). Sitting at the breakfast bar watching the Oyster catchers on the beach through the bins and scope provided, was just the thing to start the day. The kitchen is very spacious and well equipped, and the general very up market design and delivery were superb. There is comfortable parking on site for 4 cars. The walk up the Lighthouse steps and the view are worth trying, and the Lighthouse when automatically lit up at night is awesome, particularly on the dark nights you get at this time of year, and one nights the stars came out to play as an extra service. The Lodge who manage the site were excellent in dealing with any problem, and a visit to thLodge for a meal and a drink is well worthwhile, but although it is in walking distance, we decided a drive on a cold dark night was worth one of our group desisting from a drink. The Lighthouse happily copes with the 8 possible occupants, and once the Balcony and steps are finished, it will be an ideal family holiday place, the very large TV and the ?light/fire bring a centre to the living space, as well as the large 8 seater dining table. So worth the money, definitely yes, a place to unwind defintely yes, a place to return to, definitely yes.



WOW! Absolutely recommend a stay in this iconic building

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was so excited about our stay in a building I had been in awe of for over 40 years. It totally exceeded our expectations. Recent renovations are exceptional and completed to a very high standard. Felt so comfortable we really didn't want to leave and already booked it for this Christmas. Wish it was mine!



Dog Walking Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay, we always have a week in October with Norfolk Coast Holidays and have stayed at four of their cottages. They are all lovely and having the Lodge Hotel near by is the cherry on the top. Our stay was perfect , the lighthouse was ideal and we had a few family members venture to the top to look at the view.
Have booked for next year, looking forward to it as its all being re-furnished and redesigned and knowing how the other properties are can't wait to see the end result !!




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. I hope the new refurbishment will be well received when you stay with us again next year. Kind Regards Brittany

Excellent family holiday and wonderful location.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really enjoyable family holiday at The Lighthouse. The garden was spacious and this suited the four young children as they could play in the garden safely.

The children also enjoyed the spiral staircase to the top of the lighthouse.

Old Hunstanton cliff walks and beaches were also good and the sunsets were a bonus.

All aspects of the holiday met or exceeded our expectations.




Brittany replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Old Lighthouse. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. At the end of October we will be carrying out a full refurbishment of the cottage so be sure to book another week with us soon as it is sure to be even more popular. Kind Regards Brittany

Fantastic time had by all

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Old Lighthouse in June. Very close to the beach, beautiful views and close to the centre too - what more could you ask for? Looking forward to visiting once the renovations have been carried out.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to book again soon as the renovations are sure to make it even more popular. Kind Regards Brittany

Lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent location with wonderful views of the sea from the main bedroom and lounge. The children loved being in such an unusual place. The window in the kitchen leaked badly in the awful weather we had. 35 mph winds every day but as my 7 year old grandchild said "You can't blame the place for that". We would all go again. An en suite in the main bedroom would have been welcome. Rooms were much bigger than we expected and the cake and wine were a lovely surprise.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us especially during our "British Summer". The Old Lighthouse is actually be refurbished at the end of October and some of the rooms will boast an en suite. I do hope you will stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Who doesn't dream of living in a Lighthouse? This holiday cottage is an incredible find!
The kitchen is a bit small, yet there is a seperate living room upstairs that hosts all visitors comfortably.
Fantastic views from all the sea facing rooms. Walking distance to the beach, which lends itself to long walks or lazy afternoons in the dunes. The owners are very friendly and accomodated all our requests!
Go and book your next holiday.




Brittany replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of our newest addition The Old Lighthouse. The selling point for this cottage is simple...its a lighthouse. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look out for pictures of the refurbishment which commences the beginning of October. Kind Regards Brittany

A flagship for Norfolk Coast Holiday Cottages' portfolio!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The rooms are large, comfortably furnished and equipped with many nice touches. Even a zester in the kitchen. Despite the gale on our arrival, the lighthouse was warm and cosy. Garden secure for large dogs. Impossible to read a book with the ever changing views over the coast and sea totally distracting.



Brittany replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Old Lighthouse. The large windows upstairs provide an amazing place to sit and watch the tides and I am so pleased that you enjoyed them. Kind Regards Brittany