FB Twitter

The Lodge Cottage

The Lodge Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 88 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The Lodge Cottage has masses of character and a particular welcoming feel to it. Nestled in the heart of Old Hunstanton, the cottage offers versatile accommodation over three floors. It has a safe and secure garden with BBQ and garden furniture.

Another family holiday at Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After our third family holiday at Lodge Cottage we all had a great .time
The cottage is so convenient for all the amenities , the cottage is so spacious for all of our family needs,
with having the hotel close by was a bonus (fab food).
We have all voted to come back again next year, so we will see you then.

Well done and a big thank you to all at the hotel.




Summer at the coast

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a great location for the beach and the hotel very handy for the fabulous food and drinks



Last minute weekend getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although it was only a weekend break, fell in love with the house upon arrival. Excellent location, and all you need for a relaxing break.
Would definitely recommend and would love to go back.




Large Balcony

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another enjoyable holiday at the lodge cottage with the big improvement of the extended balcony for sunny days!



Easter Break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Lodge Cottage was lovely and comfortable. It is a nice sized property for larger groups with three king sized beds and two reception rooms. It was great to be in such close proximity to the newsagents and restaurant. The beach is a five minute walk and shops ten minute drive. We had a wonderful time and would stay again. The staff were most considerate and helpful.



Wonderful property in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house for 2 families and a dog. Plenty of space, 2 lounges and lovely outdoor area with decking. Perfect location in the village, literally next door to the pub and shop. House is 5 minutes from the beach, 3 pubs and a Michelin star restaurant. Ideal base for exploring North Norfolk, right next to the bus stop too. Out fifth visit and we will be returning.



Fantastic home from home for family celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property in an ideal location, less than five minutes from Old Hunstanton beach, bang opposite the great Lodge pub/restaurant and within walking distance of two brilliant beach cafe's, not to mention the locality of the exceptional Hunstanton Golf Club!

Superbly appointed house, great facilities, and a superb base to explore the North Norfolk Coast, and inland attractions.

Four generations of the family stayed at the cottage, access to the top floor a little challenging for elderly, very young or infirm but ground and first floor bedrooms make this a non issue.




The Beach with Grandchildren

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge Hotel is one of our favourite getaways, and we decided to stay at the cottage for a week with our Grandchildren in the summer holidays.
As always the service and support from the Hotel staff during the booking process was first class, we were happy to use the Hotel on several occasions for meals in the dog friendly bar. Return of deposit was done by phone on day of departure, and one grandchild left an item of clothing behind which after one phone call was located and returned by post within 24 hours. Great service.
The cottage itself is equipped to a very high standard and was very comfortable with bedroom layout on three floors with plenty of bathrooms and showers for children and adults. Dog friendly and secure within compound. Great BBQ outside, and Astro turf lawn meant that children could play outside safely despite rainy periods - great idea. Balcony dining area very useful, though we were plagued by wasps - a national problem this year!
Some minor decoration issues - bannisters need a repaint at end of season. However the entrance gate to the property needs a major re think. Current gate is flimsy and difficult to secure to ground as bolt hole gets filled with gravel. Needs a new solid gate with raised recess for ground bolt.
Overall a great place to stay, private, self contained, close to beach, comfortable and well equipped. We all enjoyed ourselves and having the Hotel close by a bonus.
Well done and thank you.




Lodge cottage Hunstanton

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay in your roomy lodge cottage. Terrific showers and bathrooms and bedrooms. The astro turf was fantastic for our grandchildren. The decking was VG for our evening meals but would be tough for small children under 3. Local shop and play park suited us well. It is however on a very busy road.




Wonderful accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed with our grown up children, grandchildren and dogs for a week and had a wonderful holiday. The cottage was comfortable, clean and spacious with the decking and the garden being excellent for outdoor bbq's, games and drinks. The kitchen is fully equipped with quality appliances and the lounges and bedrooms very comfortable. So close to the beach could walk the dogs early each morning before coming back for breakfast. The Lodge just across the way, is a great pub, good food and atmosphere an easy place to collect the keys. Recommended.



Excellent quirky cottage in good location

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We [ 4 adults, 5-year-old and 2-year-old ] had a lovely week’s stay in The Lodge, Old Hunstanton. It was very comfortable, nicely furnished and spacious. The children had a great time, and enjoyed playing boules on the lawn. They also loved the small play park across the road. The post office next door was very convenient for daily newspapers and warm croissants and general groceries etc. The Lodge pub opposite was also very handy. Just one small negative comment ..... if you are disabled and struggle with steps you might have a problem, however there is large comfortable bedroom and shower room on the ground floor. One member of our party was disabled but managed with help when necessary. Altogether an excellent holiday in a perfect location.



Brittany Taberner replied 360 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a great time and that the holiday was enjoyed by all. On our website each cottage has an access statement which may be of use to you when booking with us again. This may have helped find a more suitable cottage for your disabled member. I hope we will be welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Brittany

Family get together

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had lovely time of course the weather helped Cottage in convenient place for everything this is our second year and already booked for 2019 we liked the improvements to the outside area see you next year



Enjoyed a great few days with the family and the 2 dogs.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is perfect and very handy with the pub and beach so close!
The only thing it could do with is a small patio table in the garden. The staff were friendly, courteous and accommodating and we will definitely be returning.




Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent quality accommodation here as at all Norfolk coast properties. Very spacious.Location convenient.



Quiet Break Before Summer

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week .Although cold and windy it never rained.Therefore spent endlessly hours on the awesome Beaches with our dogs.
Be back soon.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy a relaxing holiday before the Summer starts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Our favourite place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge cottage is a fabulous place to stay winter or summer. The facilities are excellent, lovely bathrooms, big bedrooms and the super king size beds are the best. It is great having the lodge next door, the food there is excellent. We had lunch as we arrived very early and I can recommend the super sized sandwiches. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful, it is a pleasure to deal with them. The beach and cafe are a five minute walk, and having the shop and the Coasthopper bus stop right next door is another bonus.
The cottage was decorated for Christmas when we arrived, it was warm and welcoming. Thank you!




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank your for your excellent 5/5 review of The Lodge Cottage. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your December break with us. The Lodge Cottage is a fabulous place to stay and I hope we will be welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

The Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent holiday break at The Lodge Cottage. Great location and excellent facilities to cater for all your needs. We must admit that certain areas are looking a bit tired now and are in need of a refresh. Any minor problem we did have was quickly resolved by the excellent staff in the Lodge Hotel.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Lodge Cottage. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that any issues were quickly resolved by our team. I hope you will be back to stay in one of our cottage again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

We would highly recommend the Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for people and dogs. Comfortable and well appointed. A haven close to the beach. Warm croissants for breakfast from the shop next door and good food at The Lodge. Highly recommended



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review with full marks across the board. I hope you will be back to stay in one of our cottage again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

ONE WEEK STAY LODGE COTTAGE

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THIS IS THE SECOND VISIT TO LODGE COTTAGE .STILL VERY GOOD VALUE. THE UPGRADE IN THE BATHROOMS IS EXCELLENT.



Great House

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here for a week but we wish it was 2 weeks. The house is lovely, 4 large double bedrooms,an enclosed garden (if you have a dog), a well equipped kitchen, 2 large dinning tables and 2 very comfortable living rooms. There is a lovely pub across the road which serves brilliant standard food. There is also an excellent beach just a short 5 minute walk away. For any large family or group of friends, who want to spend time together in comfortable surroundings, then this is the place for you.



100

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a wonderful time the cottage was big enough that everyone could have a quiet time if needed could do with a few more saucepans and an extra frying pan other than that all good thank you Mrs s bull



Great location but property needs sprucing up

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful family holiday-- a great location so close to the beach.Everything about The Lodge met our needs however the kitchen and downstairs living room needed sprucing and freshening up with a coat of paint and new equipment and there was a stale smell in the air. Outside on the balcony and in the garden the decking was slippery and green and seemed uninviting.Spacious enough to accomodate all our needs with ages from babies to grannies.With these improvements acted upon we would definitely return.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Lodge Cottage. Following you visit we did go over and ensure the property was fully aired and can assure you there is no smell there now. We have taken your comments on board with regards to the outside areas and there planning for this to be updated. Thank you once again. Brittany

Family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at lodge cottage it had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable.excellent location already booked our 2nd visit for next year



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such an excellent review following your stay with us. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you for your 2nd visit next year. Kind Regards Brittany

Perfect place to unwind.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at the Lodge and won't be the last. Short walk to a lovely beach and close to great eating places. An hours stroll down the beach and you're in Hunstanton. Having two lounges is convenient and the addition of the beer/wine cooler was a real bonus. Overall, great place to unwind in a lovely location.



Pleasant second stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Please remember that men drink beer out of pint glasses. Coffee maker would also be a boon.
Staff in Pub were very helpful throughout the week. Some difficulty with shower pressure when all three were in use at the same time.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Lodge Cottage. Next time you stay with us we will be sure to put some pint glasses into the property for you. Kind Regards Brittany

our 5th stay at the Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
thanks again for making our holiday so nice and pleasant, the usual great welcome pack of fresh flowers, wine, fruit cake and treats for our cockapoos (thanks), probably the best location in Hunstanton only minutes walk to a lovely beach, the pub across the drive which serves some fine traditional ales and very tasty food, we have already booked our 6th holiday for 2018 and look forward to seeing you all again, kind regards john and sharon



A review of our recent stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Really liked the location and layout of the cottage and have stayed before,I'm sure there will be many more visits too.
However did feel the ground floor is getting tired and the outside paintwork could do with attention.To save weather damage outside.
Staff as usual where excellent.
See you all again soon.




Brittany replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Lodge Cottage. I will be sure to look into the points you raised and I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again. Kind Regards Brittany

A great week

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge Cottage is the perfect location and had everything we needed for a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly return.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent top scoring review. I am delighted you had such a fantastic time and I hope we will be welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Getting a little older

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This venue was great for our repeat visit. We've been a couple of times and will visit again.

The price has gone up by 10% for next year so it's not such good value.




Mrs R Holmes

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great mothers day weekend. All a girl could want. The hotel was next door, there was 3 restaurant/ pubs you can walk to and of cause the beach is within 3min walk. The cottage was very clean and a down stair bedroom was great for my mother in law who couldn't get up the stairs. Thank you



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable mothers day stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Fantastic cottage in excellent location!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was wonderful for enjoying my birthday celebrations with my family. We will be back - Perfect!



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful 5/5 review. I am delighted you had a great birthday with us and I hope we will be booking you in again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Lovely stay with friends and dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One couple had been before so we knew it would be good. A comfortable stay with a well equipped kitchen (but more mugs please), we all had a relaxing 4 nights in the cottage. Even the weather proved to outshine the forecasts and we managed to sit in the garden a couple of times drinking our morning tea. The beds were cosy and all the white linen and towels is an excellent choice, you can see how clean things are! A 5 mins walk to the sea, a 1 min walk across the road to the hotel for an evening meal (or breakfast or lunch) means the location is perfect. Will definitely stay again.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review of The Lodge Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Excellent Family Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found the Lodge Cottage very accommodating for our Family visit to Norfolk 6Adults & 2Dogs & the location & facilities were excellent for all our needs. Shop next door, Pub across the road that allowed the dogs in and Beach a short walk away what more could you want.



One week stay at The Lodge Cottage in February

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at The Lodge Cottage was a great experience. The house is lovely and spacious and as it has two roomy sitting rooms, three bathrooms and an extra toilet, it made a family holiday, of mixed ages, unexpectedly harmonious! The staff at the nearby hotel were very helpful and it's such a short walk to Old Hunstanton beach, the location is perfect. I really enjoyed our stay and would love to go again.



Excellent location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge Cottage is in an excellent location, next door to the post office/shop and pub and a 5 minute stroll down to the beach.

You can easily walk to Hunstanton on the beach and the local hopper bus stop is just outside the cottage.

The Christmas decorations and hamper for us and our canine friends were much appreciated!

Lovely break, thank you.

Diana Weston.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review of The Lodge Cottage. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the hamper went down very well with all. I hope you will book to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Fabulous as ever

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth stay at Th e Lodge Cottage which says everything about how great it is. We have also stayed at Salt Rock which I can also highly recommend. The cottage was decorated for Christmas so looked even more welcoming than usual. The new bathroom refurbishments were brilliant, especially the new showers. Wonderful service from everyone we dealt with as usual. Had an excellent Sunday lunch in the Lodge, only suggestion would be that a vegetarian 'nut roast' option would be a welcome addition to the roast dinner menu. Already thinking about next booking...



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review following another stay in one of our cottages. I will certainly make a suggestion to the Lodge chefs with regards to a nut roast on the Sunday specials. I hope we will be welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge Cottage was everything we look for in a holiday home, it was welcoming, great beds, great bathrooms, nicely furnished, really well equipped and the big bonus is it's only a stone's throw from The Lodge - perfect. We all felt extremely comfortable in this beautiful house and highly recommend it.



Amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for my 30th celebrations....the cottage was fantastic. We used the chef and butler service which was amazing the guys could not have done enough for us. We stay at the lodge regularly and the staff are always attentive, friendly and helpful.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. I am so pleased you had such a great birthday with us and that the chef and butler service went down so well with your party. I hope you will be back to see us again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

our 3rd visit to the The Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
our 3rd visit to the Lodge and first visit in the Cottage, what a lovely homely place to stay, never felt so comfortable and relaxed on holiday before, brilliant pub across the drive serving fantastic food and some tasty guest beers, all the family including the grand children found lots to do visiting Hunstanton and the attractions, they booked a boat ride in The Wash and saw the dolphins, can't wait to coming again next year, already booked hooray, see you all again soon.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank your for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. I am pleased that after 3 visits the cottage and is still living up to expectations. I hope you will be booking again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Family fun

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is a great place for a beach holiday with children, just a short walk to the sea. I like to cook and found that the kitchen lacked serving and cooking dishes. Take away food from the Lodge.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. Thank you for also mentioning the lack of serving and cooking dishes, we are now in the process of ordering some more to ensure it is fully equipped. I hope you will be back to stay in one of our cottages again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

a week in september

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really good stay in Old Hunstanton, Lodge Cottage is an excellent place to stay, very convenient to everything, with excellent outdoor seating for the lovely weather we had most of the week



Our stay at the Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This spacious property was ideal for our family having areas suitable for all family members together or in groups. It was extremely well equipped although we would have found more food storage space useful. The bedrooms were comfortable and had plenty of space. We appreciated the toiletries provided and the" welcome" gifts. Unfortunately the garden area was not really suitable for our active toddler.
The property was in a good position for walking to the beach especially with the wonderful weather while we were there. The shop next door was really useful for oddments and fresh baked goods! We also enjoyed Sunday lunch at the Lodge Hotel.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review following your stay with us in the Lodge Cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the location. I hope we will be welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Pleasant cottage, well located

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
So nice to have upstairs and downstairs lounge for a large party. Enjoyed the garden and balcony. S-I-Ls enjoyed the pub opposite which, like the village shop next door was convenient without being intrusive. We were not bothered at all by it fronting directly on to the road as we mostly came and went through the garden.
Wonderful wide and comfortable beds and well equipped kitchen though I think a larger fridge is needed in the property housing 8. The fridge door was sometimes difficult to shut. We liked the garden and covered barbeque area but the lively 2 and 3 year olds in the party managed to push the wooden gates open so could not be left to play securely in the garden. A more effective fastening for the large wooden gates would be helpful. We had a very good holiday and would certainly recommend this cottage, this is a really lovely part of the country also with so much to do without having to drive far. Try the walk through Hunstanton Hall grounds open on Thursday only.




Exceptional Holiday, Location and House

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the area and we could not have made a better choice. The house is fantastically equipped (the showers are amazing!!), and with two lounges there was so much space to spreed out in. Then there was the Lodge restaurant 50 yards away, with excellent food and service too, and finally the beach, 5 minutes walk to beautiful sandy beaches.We had a fantastic holiday in a fantastic place - we will definitely be going back again.



2nd stay already booked for next year

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family this house is excellent - bus stop right outside so never touched our car.
Stunning beach 5 minute walk away.
House has everything you need.
Only gripe is the doggy smell in downstairs area.




Weeks holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage fully equipped with many personal touches. Ideal location short walk to the beach and excellent food and drink available next door at The Lodge who have the most helpful and friendly staff.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review following you recent stay in Lodge Cottage. I am pleased that you enjoyed everything the cottage and Old Hunstanton has to offer. I hope we will be welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Brittany

Good value family accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property. A little short on some kitchen and dining equipment ie decent frying pan and casserole type dishes. Not enough mugs and cutlery to do breakfast and lunch without using the dishwasher. Minor quibbles. Very comfortable sitting rooms and bedrooms.





Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. I have already spoken to the head housekeeper about getting a new frying pan as suggested by you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Great base for exploring

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I picked this place because it's great as a base for doing so much. It's not far to the sea, the bus stops outside and the pub is across the car-park! What's not to like?

We had a great time and will be back.




Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. I am thrilled you had such a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Brittany

Lovely cottage well located

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good cottage and facilities. Bedrooms and bathrooms lovely. Kitchen could do with extra serving dishes. Lounge areas ample and outdoor seating ample for 8 guests



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recent review review of The Lodge Cottage. I will be sure to look into the amount of serving dishes in the kitchen and ensure there is ample. I am hope we will be welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Brittany

Family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay here. Spacious accommodation with excellent facilities and great location. Additional sitting area on ground floor handy during the day. Lovely modern bathrooms throughout.



You can't get better than this

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage offers a wonderful relaxing 'home from home' environment, with all the treats and standards you would expect from a top hotel. Fabulous position for beach walks and mooching around the Norfolk coastal villages. We also enjoyed some great meals at the Lodge restaurant, which is dog-friendly. We will definitely be going back.



Brittany Taberner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Brittany

Holiday with 4 legged friends!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy cottage with lots of features, in a perfect location our dogs loved been so close to the beach!
Perfect cottage for our 2 year old lots of room for him to run about and he liked the sitting room upstairs.




Brittany replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Lodge Cottage is such a beautiful place to holiday in and I hope we will be welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Brittany

Excellent cottage in great location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Lodge was fantastic. We regularly go away as a family for weekends and this cottage was the best we have stayed in. The layout of the property, the location (right next to the pub/restaurant and 5 minutes walk from the beach), the furnishings and the equipment provided are second to none.
We had our two dogs with us and were pleasantly surprised by the outdoor space available and the heated porch area which was ideal for leaving the dogs to dry out before letting them into the cottage after a run on the beach.
I would definitely recommend The Lodge Cottage to anyone.




Brittany replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Brittany

Our Favourite Place

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in The Lodge Cottage now on several occasions, and love it for so many reasons: It's location, The Lodge for scrummy food, the beds are so comfy, the local walks, the locals, the restaurants, Fishers Fish and Chips….the list goes on. We tried to book for our usual week in February, and it was already booked, as it is for most of the next 6 months, which just goes to show how popular this lovely cottage is. But therein lies our only small issue. I think with so many guests, certainly the downstairs is beginning to look a little tired, and could do with a refresh. However, this will not stop us booking again later next year, we love it so much, and recommend it to our friends and family.



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent and fair review, I am delighted to love our Lodge Cottage and want to return. We appreciate the popularity of the property and each year do some kind of refurbishment; this is planned and as the property runs at approx. 90% full we take the cottage out of service; this year it is closed from today for just under 3 weeks and will see 2 full bathroom refurbishments, a full top to bottom redecoration as well as minor repairs and renewals throughout, its an exciting time for us and the property and we look forward unveiling the improvements soon! See you again we hope, kind regards, Gavin

Third stay, we love it here

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous week with the family in Lodge Cottage. Old Hunstanton is one of the best places to stay in North Norfolk and the lodge is perfectly placed to enjoy it. Having the shop and the hotel adjacent is very handy! We ate in the Lodge Hotel twice and the food as usual was excellent. Service here and for the cottage is always good, the staff are really friendly and helpful.
Four spacious rooms, three bathrooms and super king sized beds makes for very comfortable accomadation. The kitchen isn't the biggest to supply and cook for 8 but we manage.
It's a shame that dogs aren't allowed on the first floor as it means that we only use the downstairs lounge, having two is a bit of a luxury though so this isn't much of a hardship!
We discovered Eric's at Drove Orchards Thornham, great to find somewhere that sells fish and chips until 9. Would recommend eating in there too.
Hoping to book again early next year, although it is getting too popular and there are not many spaces on the calendar...





Outstanding Birthday Celebration Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Lodge Cottage as a joint birthday celebration with three other couples. From the first phone call to our last conversation the staff could not have been more helpful in making our stay the resounding success that it was. On the Friday night we enjoyed the excellent bar food and musical entertainment and on the Saturday as our 'party night' had the pleasure of the Chef and Butler service. This was brilliant, tremendous fun, the food was excellent and both members of staff were both pleasant and entertaining without being intrusive. We wished we could have stayed longer, with the weather firmly on our side the beaches are a short walk from the cottage and a joy to behold. We are already planning a return trip next year and would have no hesitation in recommending both the Lodge and the Cottage to anyone.



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
We are so very appreciative of your kind reviews and words, you had truly the best time and reading your review makes me want to be a part of it. Please do come and see us again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

a very good base for exploring the west coast of Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very inviting and a welcome bottle of wine and local cake awaited us. The 5 minute walk to the beach the dogs loved for their morning and evening walks.
Lots of interesting things to do in the area, Houghton Hall being a highlight for us. Great beaches and pubs that welcome the dogs with some very good real ales to try. Thoroughly recommend the location and the cottage.




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for an outstanding review of our property. We really do appreciate your feedback and hope we can score 5/5 across the board next time, we would love t welcome you all back again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

Great Cottage close to the beach

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at The Lodge Cottage. The cottage is in an en excellent position close to the lovely Old Hunstanton beach & has the fantastic Lodge as its neighbour. The local shop next door is an excellent place to stock up on lovely cheeses, fresh bread & wine, as well as other essentials if you want to self cater. Great now the big table has been moved to catch more of the sun in the garden!



Overall a good property, with a couple of areas of improvement needed.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge Cottage is very comfortable, plenty of space and well equipped. It is in an excellent location and the staff at The Lodge are very helpful. I have a couple of criticisms, the first being the biggest.

The kitchen/dining floor was filthy. To the extent that there is mould growing on it. It it sticky to touch in several places. We'd been in the property only 20 minutes and I noticed that my sons socks were black from the floor. It clearly hasn't been mopped in months!

My second point is that the ground floor (lounge area in particular) smells awfully of dogs. I appreciate that dogs are allowed on the ground floor, but feel that more effort is needed to keep these areas clean. We stayed in Sept last year and gave feedback that the downstairs lounge rug needed cleaning / replacing because it reeks of dogs and it appears that nothing has changed! The downstairs sofas smell a bit too. I understand that dog smells is hard to get rid of, but feel that more effort is needed if you are allowing dogs in the property.

Unfortunately, these points are giving us serious consideration about whether or not to stay again next year.

Not a complaint, just a comment - we felt that the main bathroom could do with being refurbished . Shower still doesn't function very well and the room is looking a little tatty. For the money we pay, we feel a nicer main bathroom would be great.

I would possibly recommend the property to others - would probably give them the above info first. I would probably recommend to someone wanting to take their dog.





Gavin Wyetgh replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recent online review, we really appreciate your honest and frank review and your generous 4.2/5 score. I have spoken with the shift manager who took the keys back from you on Friday and understand that none of the contents of the review was mentioned at the time, or indeed during your stay with us so we really weren’t given an opportunity to put anything right for you which seems a terrible shame; I hate to think that you stayed in a property that wasn’t up to standard. I can assure you that the floors are mopped by the housekeepers weekly, I will discuss a more thorough deep clean with our Head Housekeeper on Monday when we next see one another. I am sorry that the floors were not up to our usual standard, cleanliness is really important to us in the hotels and cottages alike. The rug was valeted in May this year and since your comments last year we are more pro-active in getting this professionally cleaned by CleanTech our local upholstery cleaners; naturally we will now look closer at the rug this Friday when the property changes over again and if necessary remove the rug for cleaning again. The 2 sofa’s on the ground floor were in fact replaced on Friday, we’ve gone for full leather so this should help with maintaining them. We are unaware that the shower in the main bathroom doesn’t function very well, now this has been brought to our attention, our plumber can take a look on Friday. The main bathroom is ready for a refurbishment and this will be done in due course. I feel we invest heavily into our properties, far more than most of our competitors; In the last 3 years The Lodge Cottage has had a brand new kitchen with built in dishwasher, washing machine and fridge/freezer, new window from the kitchen to the large decked area, new boiler and hot water tank, a new bedroom and en-suite on the ground floor (taking the property from 3 beds to 4 and 2 bathrooms to 3), new mattress in the first floor bedroom, new BBQ and new garden furniture for the decked area and 4 new chairs for the balcony. In addition to this, on Friday we had the decking area professionally cleaned, a plumber in to sort the water leak in the dining area, our maintenance chap to replace the balcony hand rail and the decorators in to make good where the fireplace was removed during your stay. We appreciate there is a cost to maintaining holiday accommodation, in particular old buildings like The Lodge Cottage; your review leaves me with a feeling that you may question how much we listen to our guests and that there is perhaps a lack of attention or care – please please rest assured this is not the case at all. There is clearly an issue with the floor in the kitchen/diner, it is quite porous I’ve noticed but I am confident we can get the issue resolved moving forward. There are some fantastic self-catering properties around and by all means try out another, I believe ours in well priced and well looked after. We continue to learn and improve and guest feedback is key to our success. We would be delighted to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future and hope you will give us another try, your repeat custom is appreciated and most valuable to us. Please do feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss anything further and thank you again for taking the time to review our business. Kind regards, Gavin

Excellent Holiday Cottage within easy walking distance of beach

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Within easy walking distance of the beach and local amenities this is an ideal base for a family. Well equipped, clean and comfortable accommodation over three floors. The Staff at the Lodge Inn were exceptionally helpful.



Love Old Hunstanton

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another quality stay in Old Hunstanton.

Lodge Cottage was good, although the outside areas are in need of refurbishment.

Lodge Hotel excellent as always we have stayed three times now.

The area is wonderful and fantastic if you Love Dogs!

Many Thanks

George & Lynn Osborne




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review, we are glad you are such fans of what we do here between the hotels and cottages. The Lodge Cottage exterior has a more rugged, cottage garden almost shabby chic feel about; we don't intend it to be immaculate and perfect. However, I believe the gardeners were due a visit on the Friday changeover just gone. Hopefully we will see you again soon, kind regards, Gavin

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in lots of cottages all round the country, and this is one of the best. The cottage was very well equipped and furnished to a high standard. I also found the staff in the Lodge pub very helpful and professional on more than one occasion.



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. We are delighted you had such a lovely time and made full use of the facilities both at the cottage and The Lodge Inn just next door. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Gavin

The Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this cottage and holiday was very much enjoyed by our whole family - We only have one real gripe which we advised the manager when we checked out - this was the overpowering smell of dogs on the ground floor and stairs. We would be happy to have booked again but there seems to be a big hike in prices for next year (2016).



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Lodge Cottage. I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your break away and appreciate your generous scores. I am naturally disappointed that the ground floor had an unpleasant odour during your stay, if this would have been mentioned earlier than the day of your departure I am sure that we could have nipped the problem in the bud; having said that we have now ensured the property is as one would expect. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. As mentioned by telephone, a subsequent email and now in this response to your review; prices do vary in date and price bands from year to year; the same week next year fall's on a half term school holiday and therefore the rate is increased as the demand is higher. It is fair to point out that our rates, demand and availability are monitored year on year and rates do actually fall as well as rise - this is all 100% transparent via our tariff's and you can see for yourself. I am confident that your budget could be catered for at The Lodge Cottage out of half term weeks (as your stay was this year) or at one of our other (smaller) properties. Kind regards and thank you again for your review. Gavin

50th Birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Sun, 03 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family and friends stayed during to week to celebtrate my 50th Birthday. The cottage was perfect. Everyone had their own room and space. The bed linen was changed when requested for our next visitors. There was nothing we needed that wasn't in the Cottage although a better can opener would be appreciated!
Its ideally situated for lovely costal walks which we all loved and our dogs were exhausted by the end of the week. Nice walks to pubs on the Coastal Path and Peddars Way.
Fabulous shop next door which provides little essentials.

We are booking again for later in the year as we loved it so much. Fabulous!




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Another fantastic review, thank you! I'll take a look at that can opener and see what we can do.. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

Fabulous Easter week at The Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant time had by all, great location, beautiful weather, extremely comfortable and well equipped. The only slight draw back was the shop next door having deliveries around 7am every morning- but so comfy it was easy to doze off again! We'll be back...



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your outstanding review, we are of course delighted with a 5/5 score! I've had a word with the shop and hopefully they will make deliveries a bit further away from the ground floor window, glad you love the beds though. See you again soon we hope. Kind regards, Gavin

nice north norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and well presented there was quite a major problem with the boiler/central heating which was dealt with very quickly by the management. The property offers in walking distance a shop various places to eat and drink and access to the beach (5 mins walk). Hunstanton town is about 20 mins walk. Parking at the property could be better but is ok. All in all i would reccomend this property and area



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your generous review of The Lodge Cottage following your recent stay. Unfortunately the boiler broke down half way through your stay and needed a complete replacement, in addition a problem with the hot water tank caused a leak; it never rains but it pours! I am so very grateful for your understanding and am glad we accommodated you all so that you could continue your stay. Every cloud has a silver lining, the property now boasts a brand new boiler and a larger than ever hot water tank. We look forward to your return stay, kind regards, Gavin

Great Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great family weekend at The Lodge Cottage. Enjoyed the food at the Lodge Inn,so convenient! With a shop just round the corner and the sea a short walk away. Perfect. We will definitely visit again!!



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the initial booking to the day we left, you could not happier with the service we received. The house was wonderful, great location and would definitely book again and also recommend to friends.



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Wow what a fab review, short and sweet and 5*'s - what more could we ask. We are thrilled you enjoyed everything about Norfolk Coast Holiday Cottages and The Lodge Cottage itself. Kind regards, Gavin

Wonderful holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that we have stayed in The Lodge Cottage and my extended family loves it. The customer service is also excellent, everyone that I have dealt with both times has been exceptionally helpful and friendly. It combines luxurious touches like the huge beds and top quality bedding with a real feeling of homeliness. On a freezing January Friday, walking in to the warmth of the cottage was like coming home. The location cannot be beaten, so close to Old Hunstanton beach and cafe. The only disappointment was that the Lodge was closed for refurbishment as we were looking forward to eating there again. I am already checking dates with the family for our next stay.




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your amazing 5* review, this is very generous and I am pleased that your holiday was such a success. Here at The Lodge we were indeed closed for 4 weeks and have now been refurbished, you must come and see the result and enjoy it when you can. Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Gavin

A Wonderful Christmas Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jan 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week here over the Christmas period and the house had been decorated beautifully for the occasion. We were also given a large hamper full of Christmas goodies which was a lovely and appreciated gesture. The house was ideal for our family as there is everything you need on the ground floor including a lounge making it excellent for the older less mobile members. There is a second lounge on the first floor so there were no arguments about what to watch on the telly!! We had our dog with us and he wasn't allowed on the upper floors but this didn't cause us any problems. The property is well equipped and if there is anything you need you only have to ask the staff at the Lodge Inn and they will get it for you. We needed a carving knife for the turkey (not something we usually require on holiday) and they obliged with one from their kitchen. The village shop is next door and sells lovely fresh bread as well as other local produce. The bus stop is also outside where the coastal hopper service stops. The house is only 5 minutes walk to the beach. You couldn't ask for a better location. We visited the Lodge Inn several times for drinks (and to watch the football) including Christmas Day. We also enjoyed a lovely meal one evening as well. Dogs are allowed in the bar area. The staff despite being fairly youthful in age are very friendly and helpful. All in all we would recommend this property (and the Lodge Inn) for a wonderful break.



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your informative and thorough review of The Lodge Cottage, I am delighted you had such a great holiday over the festive season. We believe this property has something for everyone and you have highlighted so many wonderful features and benefits. We work hard here at The Lodge Inn to provide guests with a memorable and happy experience both with self catering and the hotel side, I'm pleased the team looked after you well. Some of us are quite happy about being described as "youthful", personally I would love the opportunity to employ some older staff to give balance but the applications simply aren't forthcoming. Thank you again for such a great review. Kind regards, Gavin

Wonderful cottage in convenient location

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to The Lodge Cottage so that speaks for itself. It is well furnished, comfortable and spacious as well as having a welcoming atmosphere. Being close to Christmas, the cottage looked lovely with attractive and tasteful decorations and trees. We love the location as it's only a short walk to the beach, has the shop next door and the Coasthopper bus stop is almost at the door. It's definitely the place for a relaxing, happy and refreshing holiday.



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of our "Grand Dame" of cottages, like yourselves so many people come back again and again to The Lodge Cottage; we are so thrilled it's proved to be so popular over the years. Hopefully you notice the improvements we make each year. See you next year? Kind regards, Gavin

Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at The Lodge, we knew we would be in for a treat with one of their cottages, but we have to say it exceeded our expectations.

Not only does it cater for your every need, with huge beds, well stocked equipment in the kitchen, and lots of space, but it's the small details that we were impressed with. Dishwasher and washing machine tablets. Poo bags and treats for the dogs. A lovely bouquet of flowers, cake and bottle of wine, ice cubes in the freezer……and of course just being over the road from The Lodge, a gorgeous menu to choose from when we didn't fancy cooking in the fab kitchen. We recommend the fish and chips!

The area is so dog friendly, and the walks on and off the beach are delightful, whatever the weather. We loved it so much, we booked to go again at the end of January!!




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your exceptional review of The Lodge Cottage, we certainly do try to think of everything and I think you've listed the majority of the touches we add. 5/5 is very generous of you and we are delighted you like the property as much as us. Kind regards and hope to see you soon, Gavin

Great Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay at the lodge cottage in old Hunstandon plenty of room and every thing you needed was there . Thank you for the wine and cake both went down well . We had a great holiday and will be returning again soon.

The Sheldrick family Cambridge




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Lodge Cottage, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the local cake. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

GREAT WEEK SPENT AT LODGE COTTAGE

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay everything including the staff was excellent. Food in the Lodge Hotel very good.Would recommend this to our friends and we will be back.



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay in our Lodge Cottage. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your break away so much, your kind words regarding the service from the staff and the food at The Lodge Inn are greatly appreciated. We do hope we can welcome you back to one of our cottages again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

A week of pure R &R

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having been regular visitors to the Lodge, we decided to stay in their self catering cottage for the week of my husband's birthday. It was amazing, spread over three floors so enough room for several people. It was fully equipped with everything you would need from large white fluffy towels to bin liners. Tastefully decorated with plenty of storage places, toilets and outside space which, is fully secure and ideal for dogs and small children. Private and quiet but with the added bonus of having the Lodge opposite for gorgeous food and drink as well as the local post office and convenience store for that lottery ticket and loaf of bread. A wonderful retreat that is only 5 minutes walk from the wonderful beach and 10 minutes from the old town - we loved it



Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review, thank you so much! We really enjoyed having you stay with us in The Lodge Cottage, as you mention the location of this property is so convenient being a stones throw from The Lodge Inn, a beautiful sandy beach and all of the pretty villages along the coast not to mention the village shop right next door for the morning paper and freshly baked croissants. No doubt we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

Late summer break

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The cottage was reasonably clean and well equipped. Website does not state there is a dishwasher which was a nice surprise but for this cost nothing more than I would have expected.
Wi-fi - this was listed as a feature but for half our stay this was not available and we did not get full access for the rest of the stay - very disappointing. If it is a feature it should be working!

The location was good, the lovely sandy beach close by and a small shop next door supplying most needs.







Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Lodge Cottage. I am sorry about the issues with the WIFI during your stay, we did keep you informed during your stay and unfortunately we were in the hands of BT awaiting a visit from an engineer. You were offered use of the complimentary WIFI here at The Lodge Inn just next door to the property. This issue was out of our control. It's disappointing to receive such a poor review and score for our cottage, nothing was mentioned when you left the keys with James or when we refunded your deposit over the phone. Rest assured the WIFI is now up and running and we have upgraded the internet equipment in the property to match the rest of the Norfolk Coast Holiday Cottage portfolio. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again. Regards, Gavin

Fantastic Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a lovely week in The Lodge Cottage. The Cottage is amazing ,superbly equipped and in an excellent position. With the local shop and post office next door and The Lodge Hotel as your other neighbour. A short walk to the beach also making it a great place to holiday in.
This was our first visit to The Lodge Cottage after staying next door at The Lodge for short breaks. The staff as always were fantastic ,nothing too much trouble no matter how busy they were. An incredible team and a brilliant holiday location! Will be returning next year!




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
This review has made us all so happy here, thank you so very much! You've visited us at the busiest time of the year and if we can receive these kind of comments now with 5/5 ratings and such lovely compliments as "an incredible team" then it really does bode well for the rest of the year. Your review will be a great motivator to the team to continue to improve and go above and beyond our guest expectations. Many thanks once again and we will see you later in the year. Gavin

Perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4th time at this cottage. Several good sized living spaces allows family to spread out. Balcony an absolute sun trap.
Superb location for family holiday with young children. Enclosed garden safe for kids. Easy walking distance to beach at Old Hunstanton, longer stroll into Hunstanton for the traditional seaside activities. Loads to do in the area.
Food and drink at The Lodge next door very good and ideally located for 'popping in' on way home from beach.
Will be back.





Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for an outstanding review of The Lodge Cottage. It's great testament to the team here that you've stayed for the last 4 years in a row, it's really lovely when you find something that works for the family and it's always so nice to see you year after year and see the kids grow up. Many thanks once again for taking the time to review us and we do hope we can welcome you back again next year. With kind regards, Gavin

Great place

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious accomadation. Huge twin/super king beds very comfortable. nicely furnished with everything you need. Could have done with a bigger fridge for 8 of us and maybe a couple of sun loungers but no other complaints!
The location could not be beaten, imbetween an excellent shop and The Lodge Hotel (which is also to be recommended for food / drink). 5 mins walk to the best beach cafe in Norfolk and a glorious beach.
The staff at The Lodge are on hand for any problems and are really friendly and helpful.
One of our favourite stays.





Gavin Wyeth` replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a superb review of The Lodge Cottage. We are delighted you had such a wonderful stay in our beautiful cottage and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. If you stay again and struggle for refrigeration, please give us a shout here at The Lodge Inn next door and we would be delighted to store anything in our large fridges. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

Quality family lodgings with great facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcome and guided tour of facilities excellent
Little touches inside the cottage excellent
Cottage very clean and well stocked with household items
Location excellent - accessible to beach within 5 minutes by foot
Food at the lodge excellent

Overall excellent




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, what an amazing 5 star review - thank you! This will give our team here such pleasure reading, they work so very hard ensuring that the properties are well looked after, clean and busy all year. We are all delighted you had such a nice time. Many thanks again for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Gavin

The Secret Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our family holiday and well worth the visit, great accommodation, excellent walks, great place for the dogs, the Lodge next door for a very relaxing dinner, The service from The Lodge was impeccable.
A good time was had by us all,
On the revisit list without a doubt.




Gavin Wyeth replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. Great news we are on your list to visit again and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit so much, please let us know how we can improve our scores from 4s to 5s especially as you remarked our service as impeccable - we would love to get those scores up next time. Thanks again and kind regards, Gavin

The Lodge Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful property ideally placed for the Lodge restaurant, for the mobile Hunstanton is within walking distance or you can take the coast hopper which stops outside the Lodge.

Thitchwell Marsh, Wells, Blakeney and Holkham Hall are all within an easy drive and the beautiful north Norfolk coast is 200 yards away.

The Lodge is ideal for either a couple to have a cosy weekend or 8 adults to enjoy a holiday.

Would definitely re-book..

Phil & Denise, Essex.




Gavin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of The Lodge Cottage. Great news to see you would we book with us and that you took full benefit of the amazing location of the property; Lodge Inn and local shop right next door, coast hopper bus stops almost outside, 500 yards from the most amazing beach and right on the coast road for exploring! Do book again soon, we'd love to welcome you back. Kind regards, Gavin

Perfect family holiday house

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely family house, very comfortable, well equipped and clean. Location is perfect, pubs, shop, bus stop all within very easy walking distance. Beach a few minutes walk away.



Gavin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a great review of The Lodge Cottage. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we share reviews regularly with the team. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Lodge Cottage again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay, would recommend The Lodge to our friends and family. Super accommodation, and a great location. We would love to come back and stay soon!



Truly 5 Star !!

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge Cottage surpassed all our expectations. Beautifully furnished, attention to detail in every room, very comfortable, amazing beds - a home from home. Probably one of the best properties we have ever stayed in and in such a pretty location. Beach was easily accessible too.



Gavin replied more than 1 year ago
Wow what an amazing review - thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Thank you for appreciating the time and effort we have spent in ensuring the property is a home from home, attention to detail is most important to us and our team of housekeepers. We hope to welcome you back to one of our cottages again soon. Kind regards, Gavin

Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect accommodation with added advantage of being walking distance to beach and adjoining lovely pub/hotel. Would recommend for a family get together as having bedrooms on each floor with their own bathrooms gives everybody their own space. The open plan living space downstairs was lovely for everyone to be together but upstairs lounge gave added advantage for anyone who wanted some more quiet space to relax. Definitely lived up to all our expectations.



A perfect stay for a large family

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a family of 5 adults and a 4 year old. It was a perfect venue, very near to the sandy beach. We did have a lovely Sunday dinner in The Lodge, and would highly recommend it. Overall very impressed and will definitely be staying there again.



Gavin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a great review of our Cottage. As you mention The Lodge Cottage is great for a large family with it's 4 bedrooms with space for additional beds, 2 lounges, large kitchen diner, decking area, garden, balcony and private parking the list goes on! Having said that, it's cottage feel and being split across 3 floors makes it just as good for a couple to take a break away. Thanks again for taking time out to share your experience with us. Kind regards, Gavin