FB Twitter

Balnakeil Beach Bothy

Balnakeil Beach Bothy

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 42 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Waken in the morning and step out the door onto the beach. Walk a mile and a half through the amazing white sands and through some of the most spectacular dunes you will ever find. Balnakeil is surrounded by an abundance of wildlife and plants - it is renowned for being a bird watcher's paradise.

Balnakeil Beach Bothy has the same exceptionally high standards as the magnificent Balnakeil House which is on the same estate, and as Dignity and Time in the Borders.

With an open plan living area and Anta furnishings, this is a sumptuous and welcoming spot to return to. Although it is very compact, a great deal of thought has gone into providing all the essentials and far more. A new window has been thoughtfully introduced so that you can gaze across the bay whilst enjoying your meals at the kitchen table.

It's easy to develop a habit of taking a stroll along the beach to the end of the Faraid Head peninsula before breakfast and late in the evening. It's quiet here anyway, but at these peaceful times it's amazing to sit in the pale light and watch the waves and the wildlife: puffins, seals, dolphins, and the occasional otter, oblivious to the human presence.

The coast is one of contrasts: long flat sands and dunes, huge towering cliffs, rugged hills and barren moorland - there is no better place to stay and enjoy the natural beauty which the North West highlands has to offer than in our very own magical Beach Bothy.

This is a perfect place for solitude, for romance or for those who love the best of scenery and surroundings.

A comfortable retreat in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Beach Bothy. Unfortunately the weather was very wet, windy and cold but the bothy soon warmed up with the electric heater. The welcome pack was much appreciated on arrival, enjoyed especially the freshly baked bread. The shower was one area I felt could do with some improvement : could a safety mat and a hand /grab rail of some sort be provided for older guests (like myself, close to 78)? Overall though a very enjoyable experience.



Balnakeil review

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magical setting. Lovely views and comfortable interiors. Perhaps needs a little upgrading. The sound system was difficult to operate and television did not have catch up or Netflix. There was a DVD player but it would have been good to bring along your own supply of DVDs as very limited supply provided. Good internet reception.
Wonderful location makes up for everything!




Big house little Bothy !

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family stayed in Balnakeil house and the Bothy was ideal as an extra bedroom and space to use . The location is exceptional - there can be no better view to wake up to and the stars at night stretched to infinity … A truly memorable stay - thank you



March visit, Just me & the dog.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay at the Beach Bothy, the location on the beach is fantastic. Really apppreciated the welcome pack. Easy access to the property and the guide they send is really helpful. Loved our stay, you are just spoilt for quiet sandy beaches in this area. The Shop is only a few minutes away by car and is really well stocked. Coco Mountain is even closer and definately worth a look for a quick bite to eat and the best hot chocolate i have ever tasted. Me and my lab had a lovely stay. The bothy, although small and compact, has everything you need. The only thing missing, was any kitchen roll/bin bags, which not sure if it was just an oversight for my stay, but you might want to take some. A few suggestions to make it even better would be: a mirror in the bedroom to do your hair, a small table lamp in the bedroom, next to the bed - The main light and wall lights are just to bright and not as cosy for reading. The bins around the back of the bothy, could do with a bin store, just to stop the wind blowing them over - I spent one morning collecting all the recycling up. Also the gate to the beach is broken/open, so could do with a quck repair. I also found, wheeling the rubbish bin up to the gate, a bit of a struggle, but again, maybe just because I'm old, but it was full and really heavy. It might be better, if the bins were stored nearer the gate. All in all though - I would definately recommend this place, if you've booked the beach bothy, you're in for a real treat - enjoy.



Wonderful holiday at Balnakiel

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Whilst the Bothy is compact it has everything needed for a comfortable weeks holiday. The location is perfect if you are a lover of beautiful quiet beaches and a feeling of remoteness like we are. Our dog loved the long beach and dune walks like we did. Loved the dramatic scenery and tranquility of the area. Will be sure to return one day. Thank you for allowing us to stay ❤️



One Of The Best Places on Earth

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've worked for four decades as a travel writer and have stayed in many idyllic, luxury accommodations around the world costing up to £50,000 a week (eg Richard Branson's chalet in Verbier, the 7 bedroom suite Queen Elizabeth 2 stayed in in Montreal etc) at no cost to me because I was there "for work" to review them. For my 60th birthday I chose to pay to stay at the Balnakeil Beach Bothy having walked past it many times over the past 30 years. It did not disappoint and I enjoyed our stay there more than most of the five star hotel suites I've been lucky enough to spend time in over the years. It's simply one of the most stunning locations on earth.



Fabulous break in the wilderness of North West Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well I was amazed with the bothy, its location and the surrounding area. The digital manual was an excellent resource and was used a lot. My dog loved walks on the beach and around the various headlands nearby. Got to see the aurora every evening except one when it was wet & cloudy.



Lovely bothy in awesome location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully cosy, comfy and well equipped bothy with the most beautiful view imaginable of this dramatic coastline. The location is absolutely stunning with excellent cycling, running, walking and wildlife spotting from the door to some of the most spectacular beaches and cliffs ever. The hosts are very attentive and helpful too. We loved every minute of our stay and have rebooked for 2025 can’t wait!!



Tranquility Personified

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the Beach Bothy. Very quiet and peaceful location, just what we were looking for. We will be booking again



Stunning Location, Timeless Quality

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in sand dunes a short walk to and awe-inspiring beach, the Beach Bothy is a gem. The colour of the sky and sea are constantly changing, and a delight to watch from the kitchen window. The beach goes on forever, We saw surfers brave a rainy morning. Everything is a feast for the eyes, from the surf to the sky to the bunnies hopping about. The large house and church are set dramatically against the sky. It has a timeless quality about it, you can feel the history and can almost see Vikings beaching their boats.

The Bothy itself is very comfortable, and the kitchen well equipped. It was considerate of the owner to to have breakfast items available if you hadn’t shopped beforehand: coffee, milk, tea, cereals, jam, honey, olive oil. The bed was very comfortable, the little bathroom functional. There is a smart TV with BBC player and Netflix available. My only suggestion (and it is minor) would be to have better task lighting - for cooking, reading etc. Otherwise, perfect.




Small but perfectly formed !!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly, the negatives .... for us, there were absolutely none whatsoever !!!

On our arrival there was a "welcome pack" of food/milk/bread waiting for us, that was totally unexpected and from that moment onwards we knew the management side (organised by Liz) was absolutely spot on.

Balnakiel Bothy is small, I had previously seen the house while visiting Durness on previous occasions and I knew this. However, on the inside it is like a Tardis. A well equipped kitchen (inc washing machine, microwave, cooker, toaster and a huge SMEG fridge). The two seater sofa was good for watching the television that had a huge choice of channels including Netflix. The internet was a welcome addition also and fast enough so I could upload my aurora photographs (of which there were plenty) to t'interweb. The bathroom had a good shower and like everywhere else in the bothy was clean and tidy. The bedroom was superb, just enough room to store clothes with hangers in the bedroom and more in the small hall. But, the bed was extremely comfortable raising the blinds just enough so you could visually see the aurora from the bedroom while "trying to sleep" with the sounds of the surf on the beach. That was just intoxicating !!!

As I mentioned in my opening statement, there is absolutely nothing negative at all about our 7 day stay. The 500 mile drive each way was manageable and will again in the future now knowing what to expect on our arrival and the smiles on our faces after a week (or more) of luxury.

I have visited Durness around 10 times but this has been the most comfortable stay yet and the location is idyllic.

The farm also owns the land and fishing rights along one side of Loch Croispol - I did a spot of fly fishing and caught a lovely 1.5lb wild brown trout (returned).

Another fabulous morning we watched the cows from the farm wander past the both (on the other side of the fence) on the way to the beach to "sunbathe". For birdwatchers, meadow pippets, gold finches and wagtails galore in the garden and others I could not identify.

We also received a courtesy telephone call on our visit to check we were ok - oh yes, perfectly ok but perhaps next time we will stay for two weeks !!

I have already sent several photos to Elliot Houses and happy for them to include on their website (name credit preferred) though would accept discount on a future visit ;)

Thank you so much again for an outstanding stay.

Steve




A magnificent gem

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was just perfect...the location is totally awesome & everything you require is there.
I really hope I can return again one day.




Wonderful week on the beach

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The bothy is extremely well located. The beaches are stunning. The bothy is well equipped and comfortable.
However, we did not appreciate the camera on the neighboring house.
Random internet connexion.




Very nice stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy is very well situated in a stunning place.
It is comfortable and functional.
Sam and Liz are very thoughtful hosts.




Enchanting vistas

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is awe inspiring. I sat and watched the light change above the beach for hours. Busy days saw a handful of people wandering along the sand into the distance. Everything in the bothy is just big enough and has been well thought out in terms of comfort. I’d love to come back for another visit. I’d encourage visitors to just explore the North West corner of stunning Scotland rather than race around the “NC500”. Or indeed, just stay in Balnakeil!



A beautiful beach bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a location! We have had a super week at the Beach Bothy - the accommodation has been very comfortable and a pleasure to come back to after a long walk on the beach. Whilst staying, we managed to book again for next year! Really pleased to have found such a beautiful location and bothy to get away from it all.



Super relaxing holiday on the beach

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing week in the beach bothy. Location, location,location! Very comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen. Needs a couple of wine glasses.

Will definitely return




Relaxing getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a great getaway week we had in the Bothy. Heavy snow provided a spectacular setting with snow right down to the waters edge. Bothy was cosy with everything we needed, a lovely welcome pack greeted us. Stunning beach and the water was lovely when we ventured in (wetsuits)
Overall a stunning location for a relaxing break.




5* Bothy in a magical place

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just stayed for the 4th time because we love it! The Bothy provides 5* accommodation in a stunning location. It has everything you need for a perfect holiday. The location is unreal and in the Winter we have the beach to ourselves. There is plenty to do with walks in stunning scenery and a beach to die for.
5* all the way !! :)




A much loved North West Highlands destination.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First discovered the Balnakeil area 30 years ago while passing through the area on a camping trip with my black and white cat 'Bobby' and well remember spotting the huge sand dunes over to the left as I drove into Durness on that mid-June day. I did not stay in the area that first time but it became a 'must-visit place' of the future. It now has become a favorite stopping-off location whenever I am in Scotland and so this December I decided to have a substantial two-week stay at the delightful Balnakeil Bothy. Inside the 3foot-thick walls and solid slated roof, all was security and comfort with high-quality furnishings and well-chosen colour schemes adding to the cozy feel of the Bothy a really comfy bed and quality duvet for nighttime comfort making an ideal base to explore the immediate beach location, 5 Star 'A little Gem'.



Balnakiel Bothy

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. Great views, great walks on the beach. Small high quality accommodation. I would highly recommend this property.



Balnakiel Beach Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at this remarkable location the first week of October. You need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in order to get out and enjoy the many walks around the Durness area (check the maps). We hardly got in the car other than to go to the excellent Spar shop. We saw lots of different seabirds and raptors and many rainbows. We played golf on the amazing Durness course thanks to the very helpful club secretary and visited Cocoa mountain cafe a few times. In between whiles, it’s lovely just to watch the sea views and spot rabbits in the dunes. A great place to stay.



Beach living in the wild NW

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy’s outstanding feature is its location On stormy days you can sit at the kitchen table watching clouds of gannets fishing. The beach is magnificent. The accommodation is very small. The double bed only has access on 2 sides and storage is limited but every other essential is there. It’s also magnificently quiet. We had a fantastic week there.



A magical place

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We feel very lucky to have spent a week in this beautiful place. The bothy is beautifully renovated and very cosy and the location is just perfect. The sunsets, the rainbows, wildlife, walks from the bothy, all just magical.

On a practical note, while the bothy is beautifully appointed and comfortable, there were a few things which could really make it perfect. The bedroom could do with a reading lamp or two. There is a heated rack for drying washing but this is huge and cumbersome and blocks doorways when erected. A washer drier would be a great addition for this property.




Great location but would benefit from a deep clean.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location right on a beautiful beach. Generally in good order but the shower room was a bit disappointing. The hot water tap at the sink dripped continuously but there was little or no hot water; we had to unblock the shower drain and it really needed a good clean. That said, we enjoyed our stay there.



Pure heaven!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we turned the corner and saw the most breathtaking scenery, we knew we were in for a very special week!
We were recommend to stay at The Bothy by my late father who had enjoyed his visits in 2016/17.
The Bothy itself was well equipped in each room. We especially loved the outdoor seating area and would enjoy eating our dinner outside of an evening. The views were amazing from the kitchen window. Very quaint and cosy but not at all claustrophobic.
We took our 13 year old Labrador (Holly) and she loved every minute of it! We enjoyed a walk every evening along Balnakeil beach...just stunning!
We looked to book for July 2023 but was fully booked so we are returning in 2024 and we are so looking forward to it.
Thank you!




A

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
An amazing place to stay with everything you needed provided in the Bothy. This is the second time we have stayed there,
and love to come again.Location was very stunning and ever changing. . Cannot fault anything..A perfect place to getaway
from it all.We will be back!!!




Stunning Location

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The position of the bothy gives views to the sea, beach, golf course, old church and graveyard as well as the natural beauty of the area. I loved watching this when eating in the bothy, especially in the morning. You may even get to see 40 or more cows pass the window!



Stunning place.. a little bit of heaven at your feet

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay.. well equipped Bothy, stunning views.. simply idyllic..would happily book again.



Practically Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Practically perfect in every way!
We love it every time we go
It never fails to delight
So lovely to receive such a lovely welcome pack!!
My only problem with the beach both, is it’s so hard to gets dates to go!
Feel amazingly priveledged to get a week this year!
Will need to book further in advance in future
Would love to try the big house sometime
It looks amazing
Many thanks for the lovely holiday!




Balnakeil Beach Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week staying in the Bothy at Balnakeil beach.

Spectacular location. The Bothy was well equipped, clean and very cosy. The perfect place for a peaceful holiday.





Room with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The bothy is nice and has everything you need. The view is fantastic and it's so peaceful, I hope to return to this unique holiday accommodation again.



Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location. Cottage cosy and clean. Excellent welcome pack provided. We have stayed in the Durness area many times over the years and this is our third visit to this cottage.



Beach-side Bothy Bliss

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Words can barely describe the stunning beauty of Balnakeil Bay and the sweet little bothy right beside it. The whole area that is the very north west of Scotland is a feast for the senses, whatever the weather (and we had quite a variety!). The bothy is as cute on the inside, clean and comfortable, with everything you need and a very thoughtful welcome platter (thank you). I enjoy walking and it was great to be able to walk out the door and explore. Faraid Head’s amazing dune landscape is like being transported to another world. A longer walk around the Kyle of Durness had fabulous views of Cape Wrath and more lovely wee beaches (be prepared for changeable weather!). Smoo Cave was awesome, the roar of the water! The nearby Smoo Cave Hotel has a really nice bar/restaurant, friendly staff and tasty food that’s good value for money. The local Spar is very well stocked. Cocoa Mountain at the craft village is a delight for chocoholics. We enjoyed drives to Lochinver, Kinlochbervie, Tongue, Loch Loyal and Bettyhill (where I can recommend The Stores Cafe). Finally got to see Ben Loyal without its shroud of cloud on the day we left, what a sight to behold!
Was really sad to leave Balnakeil, truly fell in love with place.




Great bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Worth it for the view alone
Stock up on provisions as there is limited shopping
Loved it and would return




Perfect peace in a cosy retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location. Excellent communications in advance of stay. A welcoming set of provisions for breakfast and snack. Spotlessly clean. Small but comfortable. Well equipped, including TV, DVD, music player. Wi-fi a bit flaky, and minor problem with hot water tap in bathroom basin, but kitchen and shower fine. Good radiators when heating required.
We were undisturbed while there.
A joy to pass through gate onto sand dunes and beach.
We can’t wait to return.




Location Location Location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here. Bed is super comfy. Lots of amazing walks from the front door without the need to use the car - it’s amazing to step out of the front door straight on to the beach.



fantastic week

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting this bothy for several years now
Its an amazing cottage in an amazing location
had a fantastic stay as usual
Great weather and were lucky to see three pine martens walk past door and head to beach at 6.30 one morning





a beautiful place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
there is a stunning view of the beach from the bothy and it is the most beautiful beach to walk on. we loved our stay



Beautiful Bothy in a magical place

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our 3rd time to Balnakeil Beach Bothy and we love it. The 5* Bothy has everything you need in accommodation, with the highest level of amenities. It sits beside a beautiful beach which remains as glorious in Winter. We would highly recommend for those looking for a summer or winter break.



Quite a week!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at the Beach Bothy on three previous occasions and this time was lucky to benefit from a January cancellation. My choice of week was not so fortunate - a 600 mile car journey included an overnight stay in Perth at the centre of Storm Malik ... and my arrival in Balnakeil was soon followed by Storm Corrie!!
I have previously stayed here in extreme weather with no cause for concern. This time, even as 95mph winds raged, it was cosy and safe. However, when conditions escalated, a loud noise appeared from the area around the kitchen window - I'd imagine the wind found a tiny gap in a seal. There is no draught, but the noise continued until the storm died down the following day. I have reported this, but should add that only in extreme conditions would you be likely to experience it. Unfortunately for me, it made for a couple of nights of distrupted sleep.
The combination of Covid restrictions and the wild weather limited my outdoor activities, but frankly, you don't head to this part of Scotland in winter unless you accept this can happen. There's plenty to enjoy indoors with games, puzzles, DVDs and more provided.
I have been extremely lucky in the past and was this time hoping to relax and finish a writing project. Unfortunately. luck wasn't on my side - with forecast incoming heavy snowfall, I chose to leave two days early as I've previously enjoyed the challenge of the cross-country road to Lairg in very bad weather.

To sum up, the Bothy is a very compact, clean and comfortable place to stay in one of the best locations in the UK. I'd recommend it for the location alone - but would suggest a couple of pointers for first time visitors:
1: Don't bring masses of clothes - your storage space is limited; the property is small.
2: Do complete your food shopping before arriving - and refuel your car before completing the journey to Balnakeil. The small local shop in Durness covers most additional things you would need, but is limited - although it also has fuel available. Electric car users benefit from a charging point at the Bothy.
3: During my stay, the landline rang every day and was inevitably a spam call. I explained it was a holiday cottage and requested they remove the number from their systems. Don't hold your breath ...

In conclusion, with the current restrictions, this is my perfect 'get away from it all' location. A walk around the bay is recommended as are visits to Sandwood Bay and Smoo Cave - please be mindful that Covid restrictions in Scotland may affect your plans.




Our stay at Balnakiel Bothy

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot rate our stay highly enough. The bothy is small, cosy and fully equipped. The views and walks are outstanding. The perfect place to re charge your batteries. Can’t wait to go back.