FB Twitter

Balnakeil Beach Bothy

Balnakeil Beach Bothy

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Waken in the morning and step out the door onto the beach. Walk a mile and a half through the amazing white sands and through some of the most spectacular dunes you will ever find. Balnakeil is surrounded by an abundance of wildlife and plants - it is renowned for being a bird watcher's paradise.

Balnakeil Beach Bothy has the same exceptionally high standards as the magnificent Balnakeil House which is on the same estate, and as Dignity and Time in the Borders.

With an open plan living area and Anta furnishings, this is a sumptuous and welcoming spot to return to. Although it is very compact, a great deal of thought has gone into providing all the essentials and far more. A new window has been thoughtfully introduced so that you can gaze across the bay whilst enjoying your meals at the kitchen table.

It's easy to develop a habit of taking a stroll along the beach to the end of the Faraid Head peninsula before breakfast and late in the evening. It's quiet here anyway, but at these peaceful times it's amazing to sit in the pale light and watch the waves and the wildlife: puffins, seals, dolphins, and the occasional otter, oblivious to the human presence.

The coast is one of contrasts: long flat sands and dunes, huge towering cliffs, rugged hills and barren moorland - there is no better place to stay and enjoy the natural beauty which the North West highlands has to offer than in our very own magical Beach Bothy.

This is a perfect place for solitude, for romance or for those who love the best of scenery and surroundings.

Balnakeil Beach Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week staying in the Bothy at Balnakeil beach.

Spectacular location. The Bothy was well equipped, clean and very cosy. The perfect place for a peaceful holiday.





Room with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The bothy is nice and has everything you need. The view is fantastic and it's so peaceful, I hope to return to this unique holiday accommodation again.



Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location. Cottage cosy and clean. Excellent welcome pack provided. We have stayed in the Durness area many times over the years and this is our third visit to this cottage.



Beach-side Bothy Bliss

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Words can barely describe the stunning beauty of Balnakeil Bay and the sweet little bothy right beside it. The whole area that is the very north west of Scotland is a feast for the senses, whatever the weather (and we had quite a variety!). The bothy is as cute on the inside, clean and comfortable, with everything you need and a very thoughtful welcome platter (thank you). I enjoy walking and it was great to be able to walk out the door and explore. Faraid Head’s amazing dune landscape is like being transported to another world. A longer walk around the Kyle of Durness had fabulous views of Cape Wrath and more lovely wee beaches (be prepared for changeable weather!). Smoo Cave was awesome, the roar of the water! The nearby Smoo Cave Hotel has a really nice bar/restaurant, friendly staff and tasty food that’s good value for money. The local Spar is very well stocked. Cocoa Mountain at the craft village is a delight for chocoholics. We enjoyed drives to Lochinver, Kinlochbervie, Tongue, Loch Loyal and Bettyhill (where I can recommend The Stores Cafe). Finally got to see Ben Loyal without its shroud of cloud on the day we left, what a sight to behold!
Was really sad to leave Balnakeil, truly fell in love with place.




Great bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Worth it for the view alone
Stock up on provisions as there is limited shopping
Loved it and would return




Perfect peace in a cosy retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location. Excellent communications in advance of stay. A welcoming set of provisions for breakfast and snack. Spotlessly clean. Small but comfortable. Well equipped, including TV, DVD, music player. Wi-fi a bit flaky, and minor problem with hot water tap in bathroom basin, but kitchen and shower fine. Good radiators when heating required.
We were undisturbed while there.
A joy to pass through gate onto sand dunes and beach.
We can’t wait to return.




Location Location Location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here. Bed is super comfy. Lots of amazing walks from the front door without the need to use the car - it’s amazing to step out of the front door straight on to the beach.



fantastic week

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting this bothy for several years now
Its an amazing cottage in an amazing location
had a fantastic stay as usual
Great weather and were lucky to see three pine martens walk past door and head to beach at 6.30 one morning





a beautiful place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
there is a stunning view of the beach from the bothy and it is the most beautiful beach to walk on. we loved our stay



Beautiful Bothy in a magical place

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our 3rd time to Balnakeil Beach Bothy and we love it. The 5* Bothy has everything you need in accommodation, with the highest level of amenities. It sits beside a beautiful beach which remains as glorious in Winter. We would highly recommend for those looking for a summer or winter break.



Quite a week!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at the Beach Bothy on three previous occasions and this time was lucky to benefit from a January cancellation. My choice of week was not so fortunate - a 600 mile car journey included an overnight stay in Perth at the centre of Storm Malik ... and my arrival in Balnakeil was soon followed by Storm Corrie!!
I have previously stayed here in extreme weather with no cause for concern. This time, even as 95mph winds raged, it was cosy and safe. However, when conditions escalated, a loud noise appeared from the area around the kitchen window - I'd imagine the wind found a tiny gap in a seal. There is no draught, but the noise continued until the storm died down the following day. I have reported this, but should add that only in extreme conditions would you be likely to experience it. Unfortunately for me, it made for a couple of nights of distrupted sleep.
The combination of Covid restrictions and the wild weather limited my outdoor activities, but frankly, you don't head to this part of Scotland in winter unless you accept this can happen. There's plenty to enjoy indoors with games, puzzles, DVDs and more provided.
I have been extremely lucky in the past and was this time hoping to relax and finish a writing project. Unfortunately. luck wasn't on my side - with forecast incoming heavy snowfall, I chose to leave two days early as I've previously enjoyed the challenge of the cross-country road to Lairg in very bad weather.

To sum up, the Bothy is a very compact, clean and comfortable place to stay in one of the best locations in the UK. I'd recommend it for the location alone - but would suggest a couple of pointers for first time visitors:
1: Don't bring masses of clothes - your storage space is limited; the property is small.
2: Do complete your food shopping before arriving - and refuel your car before completing the journey to Balnakeil. The small local shop in Durness covers most additional things you would need, but is limited - although it also has fuel available. Electric car users benefit from a charging point at the Bothy.
3: During my stay, the landline rang every day and was inevitably a spam call. I explained it was a holiday cottage and requested they remove the number from their systems. Don't hold your breath ...

In conclusion, with the current restrictions, this is my perfect 'get away from it all' location. A walk around the bay is recommended as are visits to Sandwood Bay and Smoo Cave - please be mindful that Covid restrictions in Scotland may affect your plans.




Our stay at Balnakiel Bothy

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot rate our stay highly enough. The bothy is small, cosy and fully equipped. The views and walks are outstanding. The perfect place to re charge your batteries. Can’t wait to go back.