FB Twitter

Stone Lodge

Stone Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 73 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Stone Lodge a charming gothic gatehouse, built in the 1830's and designed by Morrison of Ireland, sits at the entrance to the estate. It is now a romantic getaway cottage, with its own private entrance, large sunny terrace set in a damson orchard and surrounded by beautiful trees. The original entrance to the Lodge, 50 ft up its own driveway has been re-opened and a spacious car park created with a path to the large private terrace and the entrance. Stone Lodge has a ground floor master double bedroom with en-suite shower room and a first floor twin bedroom with own bathroom.

We absolutely loved this delightful lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You feel the warmth and history of this delightful lodge the moment you walk through the door. We absolutely loved our week here. Lovely walks through the woods and up the long drive to Comberemere Abbey. Sitting by the fireside in the cosy lounge. The bedrooms were so relaxing and tastefully decorated. We will certainly be back. Thanks to all for a lovely week.



Naomi Downs replied 13 days ago
Dear Mrs Mosey, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted to see that you had a wonderful stay in Stone lodge. I do hope to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon. Kind regards, Naomi Downs Sales Manager

great hideaway in the country

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This gate lodge has a lot of character. we liked the separate drive and our own garden. the drive to the main house is about a mile, and makes a really nice walk. good to see the cows in the fields, they're very friendly and came to say hello over the fence most mornings. there's a good pub very close, which is very dog friendly. lounge was very cosy, especially with a fire in the log burner.small thing is that the sofa, which was very comfy, was very low, and needed a bit of effort to get out of. Overall a very enjoyable experience.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied 22 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Stone Lodge following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful time at Combermere Abbey Estate, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Rachel

Delightful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cosy cottage. Very please with our stay. An added bonus of being dig friendly. Nice secure garden



All fabulous

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting. Re-visit after 20 years when we stayed in the main block of cottages with our 2 and 4 year old. Both now older and loved the bikes, loved the tennis court. Just a shame I couldn't re-create the same pictures we took on the swings. For kids this was invaluable and a real shame it is no longer available.

The planting has all developed beautifully. There was a hammock by the lake but unfortunately no more - however the benches were perfect. Perfect evening moments soaking in the peace.
Would be a great place to get married.
Thank you




Wedding stay

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here on the night before my wedding and spent the morning here with my bridal party getting ready. Was perfect and the staff were amazing



Grandparents break before school term ends

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An enjoyable stay at Stone Lodge.The garden is special for all ages.The bedrooms/ bathrooms were clean and comfortable
We found places to eat out nearby and could recommend them.
Shropshire/Cheshire border ideal for visiting places - handbook in cottage useful
Maybe the lounge area sofas need updating - I found clean but a little uncomfortable
Walking on the estate also a highlight and we had excellent dry weather




Beautiful and incredibly comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was so lovely to spend the night before my wedding with my two best friends/ bridesmaids. Incredibly comfortable and peaceful away from the other cottages. Breakfast was delicious and overall a gorgeous place to stay. Thank you! x



Very enjoyable holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Stone Lodge because:-
Everyone is friendly and helpfull
We don't have to worry about the dog as the garden is well fenced
We enjoyed as our second stay as much as as first and will come again
The only thing we could find fault with were the settee's ( not very comfy) but the bed was fantastic




Stone Lodge on the edge of combermere abbey estate.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful building with a wonderful enclosed garden where we saw squirrels and wild birds and was enjoyed by ourselves aswell as our two cocker spaniels.The interior was clean,comfortable and welcoming,local produce set out in a wicker basket and tea tray ready for us.As my partner uses a wheelchair the wide doorways and ease of access to the downstairs wetroom made it stress free.When it was not such good weather the log burner was appreciated to use in the evening. Wonderful stay and the housekeeper kept in touch to check we had everything we needed.



Fabulous gothic cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean. Warm and extremely comfortable accommodation. Great walks in Abbey grounds.woodland and lakes to explore..
Sue was very welcoming and provided everything for our stay.
Take your camera...Lots of wildlife.




The night before the wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stone lodge was just perfect every where was very clean very well equipped very homely. It was great for our night there before our wedding. Staff were all very helpful



A wonderful place.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is very well managed and provides luxury throughout. Towels and bedding are first class. It is an added bonus to have access to the large country estate and it is very dog friendly.
A wonderful stay. All the staff that we met were very friendly and professional.




Wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in stone lodge the night before our wedding and it was fantastic! What a beautiful place, the team at combermere couldn’t do enough for us! It was perfect!



Peaceful break

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, cottage has everything you need for a relaxing stay. Very clean and well kept. Lovely long walks on the estate but only one area that your dog can be let off the lead and if you are staying for a week although its lovely another area would be good.I will be back next year



Cottage at the start of the best day of your life.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage located at the gate of the estate. Its offered complimentary to couples getting married the night before the wedding, usually as a bridal prep sweet. Its a nice cottage with a decent main bedroom away from the main complex. It seems perfectly suited to this. But there are better cottages on the estate for longer stays.



Home from Home

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Combermere Abbey on several occasions & find it the ideal location for a little bit of R & R. Great walking lovely countryside ideal for dog owners & plenty of good pubs/eateries on the doorstep,"what"s not to like"



We have stayed in Stone Lodge previously and therefore returned because we were very happy.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed in Stone Lodge previously - we returned because we enjoyed it so much last time. We enjoy the whole experience of the Combermere Estate. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the facilities and equipment provided are excellent.



Lovely place for pre-wedding bice

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at the Stone Lodge the night before my wedding with three of my bridesmaids. It was so comfortable and lovely to stay in. The rooms are substantial and very clean all around. There is an outdoor area to enjoy coffee with friends. The kitchen was better than I had in my own home! Overall a wonderful experience.



Gorgeous cottage and amazing staff

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the best night staying at Stone Losge before my wedding. Lovely hamper, comfy beds and beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended.



Beautiful dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely surroundings and a nice surprise to find a blanket, bowls and treats for our dog. Garden is fully enclosed to the Lodge, but if your dogs can jump the fences might not be high enough. The woodlands and lake of the estate are just breathtaking. The cottage is beautifully furnished and actually a lot bigger than the pictures show. Anything you could think of was provided in the kitchen, including a sandwich toaster! Really felt like a home from home.



A peaceful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
One of the strangest breaks we had in GB.
We stayed for six days and saw no one.
Tried the office twice , doors open but no one there:
Felt a little bit if no one cared
Not a place for us to stay a second time
But surely a great wedding venue




Stone Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stone Lodge, beautifully presented with everything you need. Pleasantly stands on its own and very quiet. Great base for exploring the locality. Lovely pub the Combermere Arms, 10 minute walk -a different place to the one we visited 20 years ago!



Bride stopover before the wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although the e mail is addressed to me the groom it was Heather Heath who stopped over and her comments and experience are reflected in the appraisal



Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accommodation in a lovely location. This cottage has everything you need, home from home comfort, in beautiful surroundings.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stone Lodge was a nice place to stay. We had a few problems when we arrived with equipment but it was all sorted out.Only poor thing was the condition of the side gate which was broken and we had to improvise so that our dog could not get out of the garden.



Birthday Break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely property in beautiful grounds. Great old property full of character. Not ideal for the elderly or infirm as very low settees and no grab rail in the wet room area.
Upstairs bathroom not ideal as open plan and a very small sink. My husband and i found the low sloping ceilings and doors a little awkward as we are both tall.
Stairs steep and could be difficult for some.
Enclosed garden perfect for our dog and a lovely area with a great local pub nearby.
We would still return but without our elderly parents.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
We had a very pleasant stay.




Most enjoyable ,relaxing & peaceful. We hope to return.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant and welcoming property, however after day one of our stay we were unable receive any signal for wi-fi, this was not a problem as we were out and about most of the time. We also experienced a lot of ladybird insects mainly in the upstairs bathroom and two or three times elsewhere in the property. All in all a very pleasant end enjoyable stay.



perfect short break location

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stone Lodge is a excellent getaway, just a short distance off the motorways to commute to from London or elsewhere, it was a cosy little cottage with a lovely log fire for those winter evenings in. We had 4 people plus a dog and there was plenty of room for all of us. The quirky layout meant that you all had your own space, large spacious bedrooms and private ensuite's but sitting in the lounge with the fire on and a bottle of wine was a excellent way to spend an evening.
The cottage comes complete with an enclosed garden which was perfect for the dog to run around in safely. There is a gap under the main gates when they are closed which smaller dogs could fit under if they are prone to try to escape.
The wifi was excellent, and worked well given all the modern devises we had although the TV did suffer from the odd frozen picture due to signal quality, but being out and about most of the time was the objective rather than sitting in watching TV.




Excellent stay could not fault Stone Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Stone Lodge for the first night of our Married life, and I could not have wanted anywhere better. The service was excellent, the lodge was beautiful and extremely comfortable. Even though the lodge is next to a busy road we could not hear any traffic noise it is beautifully sheltered. The whole day was amazing and the service from Combermere was second to none, I cant praise them enough !



Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Stone Lodge, combermere Abbey for our anniversary weekend, we had married there last year and thought it would be lovely to have a relaxing weekend at the cottage.
And this is just what it was, we stopped at the local farm shop on our way in and purchased some treats for our stay. We spent the weekend relaxing and taking in lovely walks with our dog, who we took along. Stone lodge was ideal for staying with the dog as the garden is enclosed, and there was plenty of room to play ball.
We also ate out at the local pub the Combermere Arms this is great food, and dogs are allowed in too.
The quality of the cottage is very good, fully equipped with everything you would need. If you are looking for a relaxing get away then this is a perfect place to stay.




WOW

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say. This is the most amazing place I have stayed thus far. I have already tried to book it for next year. Ashleigh was extremely helpful and the housekeeper is lovely. The attention to detail is great. I can only imagine how much better our experience would have been had the weather been warmer.



Short reak at Combermere

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
September 2016 - quiet relaxing time as weather was very good. Everything we needed was provided. It was very much our type of place - very convenient for sight -seeing although we were generally too lazy to leave the property. Very good pub within walking distance.



Stone Lodge in September ...

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The relaxed outdoor seating and parasol was great as we had fantastic weather, so much so we BBQ'd 3 nights out of 4 and it would have just helped if we could have had a table outside to eat at. That is not a moan because we managed and it was lovely. Only downside was that there were a lot of biting insects - nothing anyone could have don about that though! A thoroughly relaxing few days, which was needed.



Excellent property

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay, only niggle is we would have preferred to have a curtain or blind on the bathroom window, instead of the see through net!
Beautiful curtains / blinds everywhere else why not on a ground floor bathroom?
Beautiful cottage, extremely well set up, a quality experience.




Stunning cottage and garden.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Stone Lodge was very comfortable and relaxing.
We ordered the breakfast hamper and we're pleased to find it included everything we needed including butter and apple juice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but not intrusive and all the facilities were top notch.
We would love to stay again




Wedding day!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely gorgeous cottage! Comfortable, clean throughout and had everything we needed there. Superb!! We managed to have it for 2 nights, during our wedding weekend.



excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very comfortable cottage - well decorated, warm and clean. Only fault is the knives were blunt! We rather enjoyed the walk to the abbey and around the woods/lake. Staff were outstanding, in fact the high point of our stay was a tour of the gardens with Claire. Please pass on our regards and we hope to see her at the festival at Tatton park in July - just a pity there are no vacancies at Combermere for that weekend.



Super short break away in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd visit to Combermere, very relaxing break, cottage was very private and it felt like a home from home. Well equipped and comfortable, loved the log burning fire and the lovely decoration to the twin bedroom and bathroom upstairs, so delightful, car park inside cottage grounds was very convenient as was the lovely enclosed garden, only gripe would be at times cottage felt a little cold in certain rooms being the wet room and dining room areas which meant we chose not to sit in the dining room for very long in the evenings, we got nice and cosy in front of the wood burning fire instead!



Most enjoyable!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very well appointed lodge, excellent furnishing and very comfortable. Accomodation for dogs much appreciated and well designed. The woodburning stove was most welcome. We visited in the winter and didn't appreciate the garden to the full, but thought it nicely laid out.



Wedding couple at Stone Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stone lodge was a fantastic little cottage. The hamper and the facilities were great.
Only thing which didn't happen was that our groom and bridesmaids bags were meant to be switched from Stapleton to stone lodge on Saturday, which didn't happen making things difficult on our wedding night for them both. Also no wifi code in stone lodge could be found which isn't ideal as the phone signal is every limited.
Apart from those hiccups- fantastic stay.






A beautiful hideaway

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had our wedding at Combemere Abbey and stayed at Stone Lodge for our wedding night. It was the perfect place as it was quiet, cosy and away from everyone. There was a wonderful breakfast hamper. We would love to return and stay longer !



Beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We held our wedding at Combermere Abbey and our guests used all of of the cottage accommodation. Two of our guests stayed in Stone Lodge the night before the wedding and thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We (the Bride & Groom) stayed in the bridal suite on the night of the wedding and it was special to stay in such a stunning location. The cottage is beautifully decorated and the hamper was delicious. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the rest of our guests. Everyone was impressed by the attention to detail and high level of customer service. We all had a magical, memorable weekend.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Stone Lodge the evening of our wedding. The cottage was beautiful along with all the others which some of our guests stayed in. The breakfast hamper was also lovely! The only down side is that we didn't book them out for a few more nights so we could relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Combermere.



Bridal Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stone Lodge is a beautiful and quaint cottage, with such lovely surroundings. It was the perfect place to have as my Bridal suite - the evening before and the evening of my wedding. I could not recommend this venue enough!



The perfect bridal cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is beautiful and in the perfect setting to make a bride and groom feel special on their wedding day. We just wish we could have stayed longer!



Amazing accommodation to finish our wedding!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got married at Combermere Abbey and stayed at Stone Lodge one the evening. The cottage was spotless, beautiful and even came with a hamper the next day.

The staff are wonderfully helpful and we would definitely recommend!




Gorgeous cottage fit for a bride!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bridal cottage is perfect for getting ready the day of the wedding and your wedding evening with every amenity and treat you could possibly think of! The best bit is that yo can escape all of your guests as it is located at the other end of the drive. Beautiful breakfast hampers, champagne and rose petals are left for you and no matter what state you leave the cottage getting ready for your wedding, the fabulous staff will transform the cottage fit for you and your groom. Could not be happier with our stay!



Excellent Honeymoon...

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for two nights after holding our wedding at Combermere Abbey. The cottages are sooo relaxing and beautifully decorated! I cannot recommend this place enough - seriously good value for money, me and my new husband cannot wait to celebrate many wedding anniversaries here! Thanks for making it so special <3 xx



A beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is fantastic, a real treat to stay in. It is very grand yet extremely cosy. The garden is wonderful with a fantastic outdoor garden area. I would definitely stay here again.



Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, beautifully equipped. A good sized garden for the children. Private and very comfortable. All our needs anticipated and catered for.



Wedding review

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The morning after could have been better and maybe we could have had a time to meet staff to collect all of our wedding gifts from the venue as staff seemed very busy with others.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very lovely cottage, very clean and beautiful. Felt like we were in Snow White's house because it was so isolated. Hamper provided was also gorgeous, fresh food!



Tow day break.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing stay hope to return in the future.Would recommend to anyone who wishes to have a relaxing stay and recharge their batteries. Quiet location and no disguise!



Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely spotlessly clean,the breakfast basket that we ordered was full of the most wonderful breakfast goods,
having access to the estate was really welcoming.
Even our dog Molly was catered for wonderfully with two bowls and her own blanket.
Altogether a great place to stay .




Perfect Wedding Night Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter and her new husband had no idea where they would be staying on their wedding night until the day before and couldn't believe their luck!! They found the cottage very comfortable and loved the hamper. It was a shame they had to leave so soon!!



Bridal cottage stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with one of my bridesmaids the night before my wedding and then with my husband the night of our wedding. Beautiful cottage with perfect facilities, the two rooms are great as it meant i could have the upstairs twin room to sleep with my bridesmaid the night before and was able to use the downstairs double to hang my dress without anyone seeing it.
My only comment would be if there was a shower upstairs aswell, very minor but as i stayed the night before my bridesmaid had to see my dress as it was hung downstairs when she went for a shower but other than that the cottage is the most amazing place to stay before and after a wedding.




Brief but pleasant

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here the night of our wedding. Lovely wedding gift hamper greeted us on arrival. Property was clean and pleasant, enjoyed the local produce used in the breakfast hamper. Beautiful property in a beautiful setting.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable cottage in a lovely location. The included towels, toiletries, etc means it feels like staying in a very nice hotel with the freedom of being in a cottage. Combermere Arms nearby does excellent food.



shropshire bolt hole

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
reason for good in comfort category instead of excellent was because sofa a bit tired and very saggy. Bed really comfortable and dogs loved woodburner!



Stone Lodge. Happy stay, even provided good weather!

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy with our stay. However to indulge in nit picking, for pensioners it would help to have a grab rail in the shower. Being able to leave at a later time would also be a benefit to us! Combermere provides excellent accommodation but it is a touch expensive.



Most enjoyable short stay in lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We really enjoyed our stay with you. The cottage is very well equiped and very relaxing.
We did notice that the washing machine instructions did not actualy relate to the machine that was on site.
We would definately recommend you to others.




Very nice but......

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The dried flowers in the lodge were dirty & needed replacing. The sofa & chairs needed replacing as they were old & uncomfortable. The TV needed to be on the wall & lose the round table which was taking up valuable floor space & housing a broken & outdated CD player. Better signage & a map needed for the woodland walk, a circuit needed. Breakfast pack was expensive & a little oil would have helped to give a choice of how one wished to cook it. Staff very pleasant & helpful, although we could have done without the wake up call from the law mower outside the lodge at 9.15 for 30 mins. I went to look in the walled garden & was told it was closed for a wedding? I was charged £10 per night for my dog when we were only there for a 2 night stay only in the lodge for 1 full day & we were out the lodge for that day. The grounds were lovely & well kept. Our stay was restful & the lodge aside from the above, was quaint & comfortable with plenty of wildlife to watch, foxes, squirrels, rabbits & birds of prey.



Wonderful family cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very cosy, and very well equipped. The kids loved having a whole floor to themselves. Wonderful garden. A peaceful and restful stay.



Stone Lodge - Bridal stay

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stone lodge was stunning inside and out. Extremely clean with all the touches you would expect from a 5 star accomodation. The lodge was well equipped, beautifully decorated and in private surroundings. Would return again and reccomend to others.



Amazing cottage for our wedding night

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stone Lodge was an amazing cottage to relax after such a busy wedding day. The quiet and peaceful surroundings were excellent and everything was at hand. the breakfast hamper was excellent for a lovely fresh cooked breakfast.



Perfect short break

Review submitted on Sat, 24 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really had a lovely break at Stone Lodge - we completely recharged our batteries and were very lucky with the weather too. This was our second stay at Combermere Abbey cottages and we weren't sure it could be as wonderful as last time but it was. A little bit of luxury in an idyllic spot in the world.



A dream stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a recent hectic workload we both needed a complete break and rest to re-charge our batteries and this is exactly what we found with Stone Lodge and the surrounding towns and countryside.

Stone Lodge is a wonderful accomodation and it was such a pleasure to return to after time away sightseeing. The lodge itself had all that one needed comfort wise and despite not having the best of weather, it did not seem to matter once we were back inside.




Perfect 1st wedding anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had our wedding reception at the beautiful combermere Abbey in May 2013 and loved the place and the cottages. So what better way to spend our 1st Anniversary back where it began. Stone lodge is beautiful so peaceful and perfect for a romantic relaxing getaway. Will certainly be booking again soon.



Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stone Lodge is a charming, well appointed, well-equipped, homely cottage in its own grounds which was perfect for our short stay. We wish that we could have stayed for a few days more to further enjoy the comfortable and relaxing experience that we both had. We will definitely return one day.



The perfect weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great weekend, Stone Lodge lived up to our expectations. The welcome pack was great, and I loved the fact we were trusted (wine was there should we wish to buy it etc) The estate was fantastic, and the staff friendly and attentive. We will return I'm sure. Thank you.



Stone Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a long weekend at Stone Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The property was comfortable, warm and well equipped to a high standard. We felt that the downstairs en suite should have underfloor heating as the stone floor was very cold underfoot. The knock on from this was that the floor became quite wet from the open shower and thus remained so for some time. Perhaps heavyweight bathmats would be helpful. The inclusion of toiletries and cleaning products were appreciated. This property has a definite home from home feel to it and is one I could get used to. Local pubs are good and there is plenty to see within a short distance. Thanks again and it is one property we could re visit and do recommend.



New Year at Stone Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to see in the New Year in a cosy comfortable cottage in idyllic peaceful and beautiful surroundings. One of my favourite places of all time!



Great weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, very clean and homely. Fantastic location with lovely walks around the grounds. Excellent place to re-charge your batteries. Dog friendly.