FB Twitter

North Wing - The Salamanca

North Wing - The Salamanca

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


A space that epitomises true luxury.
The Salamanca room furnished with a luxurious super king size, antique gilded tester bed and bedside tables with lamps. Decorated in tranquil shades of pale blue and silver, the room is completed by comfortable seating, flat screen television and full length mirror. The opulent en suite bathroom features a marble clad bath, with spectacular views over the mere, full shower, toilet and his and hers basins.
Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the room along with luggage racks for guests convenience.

Somewhere special

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a retired hotelier now operating my own boutique experience I have a critical eye for detail and It was a pleasure to stay here made even more special by the hospitality afforded by Stephan
Well done to all those who’ve made a tremendous effort to make this such an experience to behold
Thank you
Peter Groves
The Lodge at Ruddington




A comfortable stay in historic rural surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant evening and morning in a relaxed atmosphere and a very good full English breakfast served by Stephan who is so helpful.



Perfect escape to a hidden gem.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish this was a truly amazing experience.
Rachel was so helpful during the booking process and Stephan was wonderful, we enjoyed chatting with Beth (I think her name was but apologies if not ) on our last morning.
The North wing is beautiful, we played a game, if you could find fault with anything what would it be ... well we couldn’t as it’s simply perfect! Beautiful fabrics and wallpapers, super comfy bed, luxurious bathroom, pretty ornaments, tea tray, carrot cake, we didn’t want for anything.
We arrived fairly tense due to work stresses but gradually wound down almost to a standstill we felt that relaxed. We walked, read, chatted, laughed and ate far too much from the freshly prepared sumptuous breakfast.
The local pub did us proud and we ate there on both evenings.
Stephan is an absolute treasure and we enjoyed his stories and company. Very rarely do you find a hidden gem like this, our last was in Cadiz a couple of years ago. We are so grateful to Sarah for sharing part of her beautiful home with us and look forward to our next visit. A very special place indeed.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 169 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are so very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you were really able to make the most of your break! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Wedding night

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the north wing is beautiful and the inside if the property is just as stunning. There is so much space it is amazing and really feels luxurious. As we stayed after our wedding we weren't actually in the suit for a long time. The bedroom is very comfortable and bathroom is again stunning. The breakfast prepared and cooked for us as part of the wedding package was lovely. Only negative was that the boiler had not been turned back on after the chritmas break and so there was no hot water until almost checkout time. The staff did there upmost to sort this out as soon as possible, and it is the staff at Combermere that made our stay amazing they were patient and kind natured, had a good sense of humour and as beautiful as the place is it is them that are the reason it feels 5 star. Thank you for having us. Xx



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 222 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of The North Wing following your wedding day with ourselves. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time celebrating the start of your marriage here at Combermere Abbey! We are very sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the hot water, and we will of course be looking into this with the team. Wishing you both a huge congratulations, we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

So special

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here on the night of our wedding, and wow it is amazing. Even the hallway and entrance make the place feel so special, and that's before you even get to the room! The bedroom is amazing, really spacious and just stunning views out onto the mere. The bath is incredible and we made sure we got up early to get a bath each and enjoy the beautiful views. Having breakfast here after the best day of our lives really did just finish the weekend perfectly. Couldn't recommend enough, and we will definitely be back to stay again. Thank you for having us :)



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 300 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely reviews of The North Wing & the cottages! We are so very pleased to hear that you had an incredible wedding day with us, and that you were able to enjoy everything that Combermere Abbey has to offer! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Sublime

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous location, beautiful accommodation, fabulous breakfast... what more could one desire?! Thanks



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 302 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely incredible, cannot wait to stay again.
The food, the location and the staff. The staff are amazing and truly make this place




Brilliant! Delighted with our stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceeded our expectations...every member of staff was so polite and helpful....special thanks to Rachel and Stephan.
Six stars, fabulous place and a fantastic team.




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the North Wing following your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Greg & Lizzie’s Wedding 5th July 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most perfect stay on the evening of our wedding! We couldn’t have asked for anymore! The room and bathroom were stunning! The breakfast was delicious and the best service ever!
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! :)




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of The North Wing following your wedding day with us. We do hope you had the most wonderful day, and it was all that you dreamed it would be! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

100% good

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most beautiful place we have stayed at, with luxurious comfort everywhere, with excellent Stephan who looked after all our needs superbly, we were so lucky to have such a wonderful man, and he did breakfast superbly.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay in The North Wing B&B. We are so very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place, wonderful stay will definitely be back, would recommend anyone to go and stay, walled gardens are also well worth a visit



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place, location and room. We'll worth the money. Highly recommend the Salamanca and the Abbey generally.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Overnight stay for anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place! The location is so beautiful and very peaceful. We were made to feel immediately welcome by Stephan who looked after us and was very helpful and informative. The suite was beautiful with the views to match, overlooking the mere. The grounds are large and very pretty and we were served a tasty breakfast with produce from the estate. We will definitely return!



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at The North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay celebrating your anniversary, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Our trip from Canada

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit we just love Combermere . What an amazing place everything was perfect as always. Stephan was excellent so friendly and helpful,We travel from Canada and we are looking forward to our next visit. Thank You



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey is an exquisitely perfect place for those seeking tranquility views, beautiful surroundings, a bit of modern luxury mixed with the traditional and excellent personal service. The whole experience was of an elusive quality not easily found. I would, without question recommend the North Wing at Combermere Abbey. Will definitely be returning.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful and tranquil setting of Combermere Abbey. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Our grand stay following our wedding day

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The North Wing is in the most gorgeous setting, not only is it in the middle of the beautiful British countryside but it also has a fantastic view of the mere which when opening the curtains the next morning is just breathtaking!
The bed is comfortable and helps for a good nights sleep.
The bath also has a view over the mere and is a lovely treat with the bubble bath provided.
There is also a large closet of the Salamanca room where all luggage was stored away and also hooks available to hang up the wedding dress & suit.

On the morning after the wedding a ‘Butler’ was available who was very kind and made us both a lovely cooked breakfast that we ordered the night before!

All in all a fantastic stay as our first away as Mr & Mrs! We would definitely return not only to relive our wedding day but also to enjoy more of what Combermere Abbey has to offer.




An unbelievable night following the best day of my life!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The NorthWing is one of the most outstanding places I have ever stayed! The history of the Abbey is oozing from the walls and the views. An honourable mention goes to the best bath I’ve ever had! Being 5ft10, it is near impossible to find a bath that I can relax and lay in without being screwed up in a ball. This bath is not only big enough for me to relax in, but the views are outstanding!

Our lovely butler, that made breakfast for us, was extremely helpful and even helped pack the car when we had a million and one things to do.

We will be booking to stay here (hopefully) for our first anniversary next year!




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used the accommodation as a stopover on a journey from North Scotland to Devon. We would certainly repeat the exercise for the same or similar journey.

We had an excellent dinner at you recommended local pub,Combermere Arms. We did not ask but a taxi service would have been the icing on the cake.

Regards

Lynn




Excellent - Little piece of luxury!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely outstanding!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, excellent staff - nothing was too much trouble, polite, courteous and attentive.
Breakfast was beautifully presented.
Room beautifully presented with luxurious decor, furnishings and linens.
I cannot describe how beautiful the grounds and the abbey are...
We will definitely be returning for another stay.




A perfect three night stay in The Salamanca.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The moment the car stopped the extremely pleasant house manager was there to introduce himself and to provide an introductory tour of the North Wing which revealed comfortable and elegantly furnished and decorated interiors complementing the Gothick style of the house, provision of the visitor's every reasonable need, and scrupulous cleanliness throughout.
The Salamanca is a suite comprising an airy and very comfortable well furnished bedroom with views over the lake, an ensuite bathroom with modern fixtures, again views over the lake, and, unexpectedly, a sitting room. You cannot but be delighted.
The dining room downstairs, which has another sitting room, thoughtfully provides self service tea with cakes in the afternoon, and of course the famed breakfast which is a generous spread of fruit, yogurts, honey, preserves from the estate and traditional English breakfast cooked by another delightful member of the staff.
You are welcome to walk in the magnificent park in areas designated for your safety, dream that all this is yours, and then eventually, the worst part, leave.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing, Combermere Abbey. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

A luxury overnight stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent just one night at the North Wing in The Salamanca which is a stunningly beautiful room. It was a trip down memory lane as we got married at The Glasshouse at Combermere Abbey and it was lovely to walk around the grounds and down to the lake. The North Wing has been renovated to an incredibly high standard and makes the most of the glorious views. The room is spacious and comfortable with lovely touches such as home made biscuits, complimentary coffee machine and cake in the lounge downstairs. The personal greeting both on arrival and service at breakfast is exceptional. Would love to return for longer next time, the peace and tranquility is priceless.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you were able to come back to a place that holds such special memories for you! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

just perfect- a delightful experience

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a wonderful stay over provided by Stefan our host with his meticulous attention to detail.

The accommodation was stunning and the facilities exceptional.

The breakfast was amazing especially the presentation and catering for a vegetarian. It has to be the best setting to be in. I can't wait to return with my family. Thank you so much! It was a shame it was a work stay over. I was sad to leave.




Such a beautiful location. We loved everything about it!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place to stay. The best way to see in the new year. The attention to detail was amazing and we had the best breakfast! Nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful from start to finish!



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us at The North Wing! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel

Absolutely perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a genuinely delightful time at Combermere, and we hope to be retuning soon. Everything was beautiful, tasteful, and the staff were amazing and accommodating,



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us at The North Wing! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel