FB Twitter

Malbanc

Malbanc

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Entering the original cobbled courtyard under the archway, there is a doorway between the two sets of carriage doors into Malbanc Cottage. Sleeping 8 in 2 double and 2 twin bedrooms - 1 double with en-suite shower room; 1 twin with en-suite shower room, remaining double and twin bedroom share a bathroom which has a bath and separate shower. The dining room table, set for 8 can be expanded to seat up to 16 persons offering the perfect answer to a group booking when cottages are rented together.

A perfect location for a family gathering to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
14 years ago our son got married at Combermere Abbey and a number of family members stayed at the cottages for up to a week. My husband and I decided that it would be a perfect place to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary so we rented Malbanc Cottage which sleeps 8 for ourselves, our son and daughter-in-law and two grand-daughters, and our daughter and son-in-law over from Australia. It proved to be everything we hoped it would be. Excellent accommodation, wonderful grounds to explore and play in and superb surroundings. It is so quiet and relaxed there and we all had a wonderful time. We love Combermere and I am sure we will be back!



Spent a wonderful weekend in this beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was part of a large family gathering staying in Malbanc and two other cottages. Everything was very thoughtfully done for comfort and ease for our stay. The surrounding grounds are really well maintained and a joy to explore.



A stay for 3 nights with four children during the October half term

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating at Combermere Abbey. Our cottage was perfect and the children loved it. A gorgeous hamper on arrival, which included butter, eggs, bacon and sausages all locally sourced, 2 loaves of home made bread, a pot of local marmalade and 2 bottles of fresh apple juice and 4 pints of milk. We booked our tickets to Chester Zoo through the Abbey which they emailed us before we arrived. This worked well for us, because we went to the Zoo for our first day, before we were allowed to check in at 4pm. The following day we walked down the drive to the Combermere Arms pub which was about 45 minutes walk away (5mins in the car - we had a rather reluctant 6 yr old in tow....). A fabulous pub with fantastic food. We made full use of the pleasure gardens back at the Abbey, using the boules set and footballs all on offer. The children biked around using all the available bikes from the shed, and I often found myself slipping off to the lake - just to sit on one of the benches and take it all in. Absolutely beautiful. We borrowed some DVD's and helped ourselves to a freezer full of ice cream, all made locally - all situated in the little drop in 'shop' in the courtyard. For our third day, we walked while the children cycled through the woodland walk, before we set off for The Pheasant pub which was about 30 minutes away. From here we ventured to Delamere Forest where we swung through the trees of the brilliant Go Ape Park. All in all it was just the perfect break and we wish we had stayed just one more night longer! I would love to have visited Chester, but also Whitchurch and Nantwich - but there just wasn't time to fit it all in!



A lovely stay at Combermere Abbey Cottages!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family of 7 had the most lovely stay at the Combermere Abbey Cottages! We stayed in the Malbanc cottage and it was the perfect size for our family and beautiful accomodations. We had the most wonderful time relaxing at Combermere and exploring the countryside around the area. We would highly recommend others to stay at such a lovely place!



Charming and beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is so nice. We felt like royalty especially when we would drive though the gates and down the beautiful road to get to our place. It was quite and peaceful. There was lovely paths to stroll on. They even had a tennis court which we played on. If you just want to relax this a perfect get away and it's not far from good restaurants and other things to do.



Peaceful cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay at beautiful cottages and lovely surroundings. It felt very luxurious and special. It was brilliant that it could accommodate a large group around the dinner table. Lovely, peaceful stay x great shower!



Excellent venue for a family reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We hired a number of the Combermere cottages for a weekend to celebrate a number of significant birthdays. The location ensured that we relaxed but we were in easy reach of the excellent Combermere Arms and Audlem village. Beautiful walks, tennis competition and a lovely evening in the Beckett property in which we had caterers cook a dinner for us. We hope to be back in the warmer weather.
Thank you to the team for a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.




Fabulous!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and spacious house to house all our lovely friends. Great walks in the woods too for when the kids got restless. Really lovely cottage with great facilities for a larger group of people. We had the best time!



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired all of the cottages for 2 nights for our wedding on the 1st September - our stay was just fantastic. The cottages are beautifully decorated, well equipped and all looking out onto the shared courtyard whilst also having a private garden. The breakfast hampers were lovely, filled with local produce for our stay. All of the cottages were gorgeous, the malbanc was my favourite as it had a great living space which made for a very sociable evening. We will be back!



A three day reunion with nature.,

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A three day reunion with nature, all the comforts of home- and the amazing Breakfast Hamper that fed six people for three breakfasts.
I wish there could be a more comprehensive marking of trees.
Our only negative comment: No fixed mirror in the upstairs bathroom .(Kitchen wing)




perfect for our wedding!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I got married at Combermere abbey at the weekend and we booked all the cottages for family and friends. the location was perfect to spend the whole weekend celebrating with friends. I stayed in the malbanc both the night before and after our wedding and it was fantastic. lots of space, fantastic showers and a fantastic finish to the cottage. the staff were fantastic and helped us throughout our stay in particular with on Friday evening when we had arranged a bbq for all our guests staying!

only thing drawback was that our electric tripped upstairs in our cottage on Saturday and we couldn't get it working. but I guess these things happen and could have been easily solved!




Just wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Malbanc is one of the larger cottages that is situated in what was formerly the area for storing carriages, and as a result has tall ceilings. The living and dining areas are lovely spaces, as is the garden outside available for sitting in.



The perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting the cottages for several years and have stayed in most of them. They are all well equipped for all your needs. On the last visit we took six grandchildren and it was perfect for them the only complaint they had was when are we coming again.



Can I move in?

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have never stayed in such a comfy and beautifully appointed cottage. The kitchen had everything one could possibly need. I could happily move in! Excellent!



My husbands 50th birthday celebrations!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Malbanc cottage was the second property we took over the weekend, all the rooms are beautifully decorated and this cottage has a fantastic dining room in which my husband and our 14 guests had our meals together.
The team at combermere are really professional and all the additional trimmings I required to be put in place were perfectly placed, nothing was too much trouble.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone!




A beautiful Christmas venue

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time staying at Malbanc cottage. We had everything we needed to be warm and comfortable. The kitchen facilities were excellent. Beds all comfortable. We enjoyed being able to walk in the grounds and the welcome hamper was incredible - pure indulgence.



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in beautiful grounds. The staff at combermere go above and beyond to ensure you're stay is stress free, comfortable and perfect.
Would definatley return




The perfect bridal cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband got married at Combermere Abbey this October and it was the most perfect day. I stayed in Malbanc with my Bridesmaids the night before our wedding and it is simply beautiful. We had Champagne flowing and the fire going. The cottage had everything we could have needed and more. It was not only the ideal place for a girly night in but it was also the ideal place for hair and makeup the next day. The dining room accommodated all 8 of us taking it in turns and it was just so relaxing and fun to have as altogether. The breakfast hamper was also delicious! I would like to thank the cottage team as we knew they were always there if we had a question or needed anything at all. They made all of our guests feel so welcome, greeting them all individually on arrival. Overall the cottages made our wedding weekend as we were all so relaxed and with help from the Combermere team everything went perfectly.



Luxurious and cosy

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Malbanc was superb. Everything we needed, bright and spacious, luxurious and comfortable. The breakfast hamper was wonderful, it easily provided for 8 guests and was full of fresh and local produce. The staff were very helpful. Highly recommend!



Outstanding

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with family for a wedding. This is a beautiful cottage with excellent attention to detail which creates a homely feel. The kitchen, dining room and lounge area is perfect for a family get together with plenty of space.



None

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two outside doors would be easier with two keys, a few more mixing bowls, one is not enough for a large cottage, ditto fruit/salad/puddings, one is not enough.



Easter holidays

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in this really special location. What a nice place! Everythink was perfect! The Malbanc cottage is very cosy and due to the outline of the cottage very suitable for two parties sharing a cottage. We will definitely come back again.



Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent an extended weekend in Malbanc with close friends on their first visit
We where all thrilled by the space and comfort and despite things to do nearby spent most of our time catching up and enjoying the cottage
Such a nice place - we will return again




Birthday celebration weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Combermere Abbey cottages before, we thought it would be lovely for the family to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday there.
Malbanc itself was stunning. Beautifully decorated, warm and welcoming, the cottage proved the perfect location. There was an ample kitchen, four generous sized bedrooms, three beautifully appointed bathrooms, dining room and cosy lounge with a wood burning fire.
We had ordered a breakfast hamper, which was overflowing with goodies and fed the six of us for three mornings.
Attention to detail is everything, and nothing was overlooked - there was even a welcome pack for our dog Lexie, who spent hours walking through the woods with us.
I simply can't recommend Combermere Abbey cottages enough.




A wonderful New Year with friends spent at Malbanc Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
12 of us spent 4 nights here over the new year period. The cottages were beautiful, containing all required comforts - a real home away from home. The staff were extremely helpful and answered all our questions very happily, making their own suggestions where appropriate. We have already rebooked for next year....what more can I say!!



Winter Wedding

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful, magical place. Can't wait to go back! The staff at Combermere are fantastic, super helpful and friendly and the cottages are just beautiful.



Winter Wedding

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful, magical place. Can't wait to go back! The staff at Combermere are fantastic, super helpful and friendly and the cottages are just beautiful.



Away with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we had a great time. Very friendly welcome and real care to make sure everything was ok. Really comfortable and spacious cottage. Combermere is delightful with great walks and great pubs. This was the 5 or 6th time we have stayed and will stay again



A glorious way to celebrate a belated 60th birthday.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Malbanc was a GIFT in every sense of the word, and as birthday presents go, this one was pretty unbeatable. We spent two nights in Malbanc - there were seven of us - and everything we could have longed for was there: hot water, comfy beds, a log fire (though in early November it was hardly cold enough to light it), goodies for breakfast, wine in a basket (though we brought our own) and first class instructions on everything we needed to know about the cottage and Combermere. The only thing we struggled with was discovering where the wine glasses were hidden (so we used the blue ones which didn't feel right) until we found the 'secret swivelly cupboard'! - and the fact that there were no kitchen scissors. Our visit from Sarah on Saturday evening was a DELIGHT and we all concluded that this was one of the best holidays cottages we'd ever stayed in! Thank you Sarah, and everyone at Combermere, for making us feel SO welcome. We were blissfully comfortable and had the best possible weekend. Annie & Patrick Wintour xx



Birthday gathering

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent location for a family gathering - our second time at Combermere and it lived up to expectations. Especially enjoy the outdoor surroundings. Malbanc very comfortable and well laid out for a mix of young children and older adults. Staff very friendly and helpful as before. Hope to be back!



Luxury Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accomodation and surroundings. Great facilities for all the family whether walking, cycling or playing tennis. Girls loved the DVD library with delicious salted caramel ice cream for our family film night. Really lovely touch leaving a "welcome pack" for Cubby our Dalmation consisting of towel/throw, bowl, poo bags and treats. Just wished we'd stayed longer! Highly recommended.



Wedding stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fabulous - the cottages were perfect it made the wedding in my mind even more special. The staff were brilliant too. My ex manager is getting married at Combermere in a couple of weeks and has hired the cottages for the weekend so he was really pleased when I said how fabulous they were.



CHRISTOPHER'S STAY

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Apr 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The settee's where uncomfortable,with the cushions moving too easily. Generally upgrading in the grounds of seats and play area.The walks through the woods and to the lake were not clearly identifiable.The bicycle's provided needed attention for safety reasons.



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard and well suited our younger guests who were able to have their own house party after the wedding due to the large open living space.
The kitchen was large and airy allowing for the overspill from the lounge for socialising
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and presented. The ability to convert twin beds into doubles and vice versa was a bonus.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff.



Malbanc Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Dec 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked Malbanc for a weekend stay to celebrate my 50th birthday with friends and family. Really impressed with the attention to detail, there was everything you needed for a home from home stay (in fact the kitchen was much better equipped than my own !). Nice little touches like laying the wood burning fire ready to be lit, tea and biscuit tray on arrival and milk in the fridge made it feel very welcolming. Very high standard of decor. Only one very slight issue was the two sofas in the living room had a tendency for the seat cushions to work their way off the couch with you ! Very minor point though - could not fault the accommodation.

Will go back in the summer as I am sure the grounds and garden will be lovely to explore but not the weather last weekend to do so.

Great place.




cottage review

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice comfortable place, the overall impression was that is was good and very unique
Not much to do outside but as we were with work it was great to have a quiet space to reflect




feedback - Malbanc

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
really good values, rooms were amazing, great kitchen facilities and staff were really helpful prior to the day and on the day.

we used Malbanc to dine 14 guest which was really comfortable

thanks




Great place for a relaxing break.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the cottage and would definitely return.

We did have a few gripes - the most minor being the shortage of tea towels - we rather expected that with towels and bedding provided there would be more than one tea towel in a cottage for 8. Also the fire smoked dreadfully when we lit it the first couple of times (lit by experienced woodburner people, by the way). We did get round it but there was clearly some sort of problem.

Apart from that a fantastic cottage.

I hope that you get a review from our friends in the other cottages - particularly Stapleton. We were all rather dismayed that the heater in the downstairs bedroom in a cottage adapted for the disabled was not working and obviously had not been checked before we all turned up. As with most people with a severe disability, our friend feels the cold very intensely. And this was a late November weekend. We also had to have someone come out to adjust the heating in Malbanc because the heating was on a timer and was inadequate because the evenings were so cold. We did receive an apology about these issues.

However, many of us would love to visit it again and I am recommending the cottages to other friends. The grounds, too, are wonderful and we had a lovely walk on the Sunday morning. The whole setting is very relaxing and peaceful and the cottages are within easy reach of interesting towns, attractions and walks. The staff were very helpful and friendly.




A perfect place for a family get together

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this cottage along with several others for a family get together. This cottage was occupied by 2 families with their 5 small children. It was an ideal situation as the grown ups from the other cottage could be accommodated for meals especially when the children were in bed. The grounds provided an ideal area for the children to work off some energy and the provision of equipment was appreciated. A great family week



A great stay at a great cottage....

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All my family and I stayed at the Malbanc for my 30th birthday... What a great place. There were 8 adults and 3 small children and we had all the space and amenities we needed. The cottage was so well designed it felt luxurious yet homely straight away. The surroundings were great too with access to bbqs, bowling greens, parks etc.

We also hired a chef for one of the evenings for my birthday meal and she was fab, a lady called Sophie who came recommended by Jean at Combermere.

We stayed Monday to Friday at great value. Overall a lovely stay I would certainly recommend....