FB Twitter

Cotton

Cotton

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 61 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Cotton cottage was originally the Coachman’s house and offers accommodation for up to 4 guests in 1 double bedroom with en-suite shower and 1 twin bedroom with own bathroom. Separate loo on the ground floor.

Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to Combermere Abbey Cottages and just as good as the first. Well equipped cottage in a peaceful location with excellent customer service meant a very relaxing weekend break.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 160 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful relaxing break, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Family weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gorgeous estate, characterful cottages, and friendly service. Unusual and thoughtful decor with an Indian theme. Unfortunately Storm Dennis rattled the old windows and the oil heating didn’t really cope so it was a bit cold and draughty this weekend. Also the old style furnishings scared the kids, who then opted to sleep next door in the much warmer and cosier Crossley cottage with our extended family. I’d definitely visit again, but I wouldn’t choose Cotton with kids.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 172 days ago
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us in Cotton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, despite the severe weather we were faced with over the weekend. Hopefully the little ones were able to sleep better with your family in Crossley Cottage! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Quality Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has all the necessary essentials you need for a super holiday, very well thought out items.
Good quality towels, bedding and toiletries always a favourite White Company.
Would recommend Combermere Abbey accommodation to everyone.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 176 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cottage Cottage. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A superb place to relax & unwind

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere is our home from home,we have stayed many times & have recommended to friends all of whom have loved it as well.
"Cottons"is lovely & has a small garden which is super in summer for sitting & enjoying a glass or two.
If you have stayed here before you will know what I mean,if you are yet to visit you are missing out on a truly wonderful place.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 176 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Cotton Cottage! We are so pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

We had a great stay at Cotton Cottage. Some very thoughtful touches but the cottage needs updating.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jan 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked this cottage to meet up with family staying in the larger cottage over Christmas. There were lovely thoughtful touches in our cottage. We had our dog with us on holiday and when we arrived we found lots of ‘doggy extras’ such as treats, a towel, and a dog bowl. These were much appreciated. The cottage was well-equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The only negative was a large stain on the lounge carpet and generally (especially compared to the larger cottage of our extended family) Cotton Cottage looked tired and a bit in need of redecoration. I would recommend staying at Combermere but perhaps in a different cottage.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 208 days ago
Thank you very much for your recent review of Cotton Cottage following your stay over the Christmas break. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we have passed along your feedback to our team to look into regarding the decoration in Cotton Cottage, and also the stain on the carpet. We do hope that this did not detract from a relaxing stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Sweet little cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was also booked as part of a large family stay, comprising of 3 cottages. In this one, me and my partner stayed in the master en suite bedroom and my brother and his partner stayed in the second bedroom. The only issue we had right off the bat was that we requested the beds in the second bedroom to be joined as a double but they were left as a twin. Not a huge problem as we pulled them together ourselves. The cottage was very pretty and had a very distinct country feel with a Middle East twist to it, which was unique and lovely. The views from the living room were stunning and the beds were very comfy. We did have a slight problem with a noisy neighbour on Sunday morning but this is not fault of the owners or cottage. It was a lovely stay and we can’t wait to come back next year!



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 244 days ago
Thank you very much for your recent review of Cotton Cottage. We are very sorry to hear that the bedroom wasn't set up correctly for you when you arrive, and we will be looking into this with our housekeeping team for you. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cotton Cottage, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey next year.

Heating was a problem

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The instructions in the manual did not seem to apply to the heaters and the bedrooms were very hot contrasting with the lack of heating in the kitchen and bathroom



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 272 days ago
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with the heating during your stay. Our maintenance team are currently investigating this to ensure that the control panels for the heaters are working correctly to ensure that the heating can be adjusted as required. We do hope that you were able to enjoy your stay at Combermere Abbey, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A fantastic getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with our recent stay at Combermere Abbey. It is a very peaceful setting, and the cottage was amazing. It's the little things that hep make it great; everything has been thoughtfully provided as well (fully stocked kitchen including a proper cafetiere, milk in the fridge upon arrival, lots of wood provided for woodburning stove, etc)
I would highly recommend for anyone looking for a place to relax.




Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Brilliant find

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quick welcome.
Provision of additional items in the cottage was excellent.
Look forward to returning.




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 307 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We do hope that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very good, have been back several years now, and always good whatever the weather. Cotttages are quiet and peaceful for a great break



A lovely cosy retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very lovely cottage with great facilities, clean & comfortable. The breakfast basket was good & a suggestion would be to add yoghurts & fresh fruit.



Lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful set up. Comfortable and immaculately clean. Lovely walks, grounds very restful and you can even swim in the lake!

We stayed as a family with our dog. Boys loved the place, dog loved the open walking areas and the little bag of treats.

Combermere Arms pub down the road does great food.

All in all a great place to spend a few days. We will definitely be back.




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 357 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we are to enjoy the beautiful surrounds of the Estate. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Combermere in nine months and nothing changes. The cottage is exceptionally clean and comfortable, set in the most glorious surroundings.
All the staff we have met are welcoming and friendly




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Cotton Cottage! We are so pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us at Combermere Abbey, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Overall

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. Great facilities. Highly recommended . The walks in the morning were breathtaking.



Wonderful stay in a perfect cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot praise Combermere enough - the cottage and the grounds were just beautiful and so well maintained. We loved being able to walk in the estate and very much appreciated the work to keep it looking so lovely. All the staff we met were more than helpful and friendly; they really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We were particularly struck by the thoughtfulness that had gone into every detail in the cottage so that visitors would lack for nothing. An outstanding place - and we have stayed in many, many cottages.



Fabulous short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to all at Combermere, very well presented cottage and grounds, all staff have an eye for detail in the cottage and the grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the wildlife and quiet time away from the hustle n bustle



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful break, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Simply Magical

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful relaxing stay. The properties are so well equipped and comfortable. The location is second to none we especially loved the walks and the gardens. Everyone at Combermere is friendly and helpful making our stay extra special. Hope to return soon.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at Combermere Abbey Estate. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quiet,Comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage so well equipped-have stayed in them all now over the years and think I like this one best.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel

Tranquil times

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Combermere and I’m glad we’ve found such a delightful haven. Combermere is so peaceful.
The accommodation has everything you could need....home from home....and the kitchen is so well equipped, with all needs catered for.
The grounds make for beautiful walks... and Combermere is a great base from which to visit many places .
And if that isn’t enough of a selling point ....the cottages are dog friendly....with bowls, towel, blanket and treats left for our four legged friends.
I can’t recommend Combermere and the friendly staff there enough.
An excellent mid week break to recharge!




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Christine, Thank you very much for your lovely review of Cotton Cottage following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful time at Combermere Abbey Estate, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Rachel

Not to be missed

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s a lovely property and the only option if you are in the area. Cosy fires, comfy beds and extremely well equipped kitchen.



Lovely short break

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was recommended to us by a friend who has stayed previously, as it is suitable for dogs. So we wanted a quick trip away, & this is far enough to feel that we were “away”, but less than an hour drive from home.
We booked a cottage type accommodation in which dogs are catered for, & it had everything anyone would need for a self-catering stay. As there are 2 fantastic “foody” pubs very close by, we only used the self-catering facilities for relaxing breakfasts.
The accommodation is within immense grounds, with nearly a mile from the from the main entrance gate to the cottage. Perfect for dog walking in peace & quiet.
Lots of interesting walks, a huge lake, & stunning garden features




Wonderful Combermere

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These cottages are absolutely five star, although classed as self-catering you only need to bring yourselves, everything you needed was provided. We ordered a breakfast hamper which was amazing value and full of locally sourced goodies including Combermere apple juice. The staff on the estate were always happy to stop and chat, pass on their knowledge , nothing was too much trouble, you felt really welcome. Close to the market town of Whitchurch and the beautiful city of Chester a great place for exploring. Not forgetting the Combermere estate with its beautiful, gardens, lake and woodland walks.



Superb

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a fabulous holiday at Combermere Abbey. Couldn't have asked for more the cottage was excellent and contained everything we needed and all to a very high standard every member of staff we met was happy in their work that says a lot. Tour of the Abbey is a must very knowledgeable guide overall can't wait to return



Suggestions only

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for a very pleasant stay in Cotton Cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed the location and the comforts of the holiday cottage on Combermere Abbey.

Just a couple of suggestions and this is not a criticism...

A hand towel to wipe your hands on would be good
A heat cloth near the log burner as like all burners they get very hot on the handles when loading up with logs.
A table cloth for the dining table so as any minor spills dont affect the polished surface.
The feather filled cushions of the sofas dont offer much support, especially if you are elderly and have difficult hips.

Kind regards
G Hedgecock




Comfort and Tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed my recent 2 night stay, as did the dog! Very comfortable accommodation with carefully thought out little touches which make all the difference: milk in the fridge; a selection of wines and freezer food on a trust basis; free video hire; a tray in the hallway for dirty shoes; very efficient wood burning stove; 4 poster bed and a very well equipped kitchen. Only very slight problem was that the subtle lighting in the siting room was not quite bright enough to read a newspaper, but I'm nearly 70 and managed to mitigate the problem by moving a table and lamp, although the cable could have done with being a foot or two longer. I have stayed in this cottage before and would be very happy to do so again.
The two and a half hour walk around the estate was wonderful : bright blue skies with the biggest rainbow I've ever seen; varied terrain of woods, lakes and open countryside and wonderful views of the lake and Abbey in parts. Pheasants, foxes and hares in abundance!




Just idyllic!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 13th year of visiting Combermere and it still holds it magic for us. The perfect rural retreat for blissful peace and quiet .



Wedding stay at Combermere

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Cotton for our sons wedding, in fact all the cottages in the courtyard were occupied by wedding guests. We had a fabulous time ,got to meet guests we did not know in the barbeque we had in the courtyard the night before the wedding. This meant that the ice was well and truly broken for the wedding day itself. The accommodation was superb as was the location. It all made for a perfect wedding in a perfect location. Even the weather played ball. Thank you to everyone at Combermere.



Returning Visitor - Not Dissapointed

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed at Combomere about 18yrs ago and returned at least once a year over the next few years.
Our latest stay came after a break of 10 years.

Cotton Cottage is very well proportioned and quite grand.

The kitchen is very well equipped with quality fixtures and fittings and was spotlessly clean.

I can't fault the overall accommodation, but would say that the sofas in the lounge were unsupportive, very uncomfortable and definitely not ideal for those with a history of back surgery such as myself. I think they need upholstering or changing.

The tennis court and grounds have also been vastly improved and it's easy to see why Combomere is a popular wedding venue.

If you've not been before, I would encourage you to go as its excellent value for money.




A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped, comfortable and beautifully designed cottages on a lovely country estate with woodland walks by the mere. There are thriving small towns in the vicinity and NT properties to visit. Highly recommended.



Tranquil spot

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall exceptional. You should advertise more that you supply frozen meals. Unfortunately only ice cream in the freezer. A way should be found to possibly pre-book food. Overall fantastic stay and we will return



Cotton Wedding weekend review

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning cottage, which sleeps 4 in total - a twin room and a double. The cottage was beautiful and extremely comfortable, the kitchen had everything you needed. I can't recommend this cottage enough for others.



Recent stay at cotton cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been visiting for the last 9 years, and the setting is peaceful and relaxing. The roads have become increasingly busy around Shropshire but some lovely walks available.



Combermere Abbey Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we have made 20+ visits to a variety of cottages - and at all times of the year - speaks for its self.

The icing on the cake was the great weather.




Wonderful relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I never sleep well when not in my own bed, until now! I slept brilliantly from the first night, Cotton has an amazingly calm energy about it. My 2 kids loved the accommodation and loved exploring the grounds, they didn't want to leave!



A dip into the past

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Cotton Cottage because back in the seventeenth century our family were farmers on the estate so we were excited to be in the area. The cottage was a perfect base for our explorations and provided warmth and welcome. We lapped up the history and the beautiful location thank you.



A fab short stay in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Combermere Abbey cottages, and we had a great time. The cottage was spotless and well-appointed, with plenty of room for our family of four and a dog. The kids enjoyed using the bikes and playing tennis, while we all enjoyed family walks by the mere & through the woods (not to mention playing board games in front of the log burner). There were even bowls, a blanket and treats for our dog. The cottage wifi also enabled us to keep up with emails. Evening trips to the Combermere Arms were a real treat, as were the locally-sourced goodies available from the cottage shop.
We had a very relaxing few days, and are already looking forward to our next stay.




Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent our wedding night in cotton, the cottage was spotless and very comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be returning again. The staff go above and beyond to ensure you're stay is perfect



Country comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter and her family loved their Christmas present, which was a weekend at Combermere cottages. They lit a cosy fire in the sitting room and loved the big bed bedroom with its comfy fourposter. My granddaughter, aged 4, decided she would like to live in the Cotton cottage and was sad to go! They loved walking in the ancient wood and the beauty of the lake.



80th Birthday holiday celebration!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed many times in various cottages here and it never disappoints. This cottage was large and comfortable with pretty views and all the amenities you would expect. The Combermere estate itself is a joy to wander and explore . Great location around 5 min drive to Whitchurch or Nantwich and the local pub Combermere Arms serves excellent food .
The friendly staff are ever helpful too.

Will be even better once the abbey has been restored and visitors are allowed access.

A relaxing and rejuvenating holiday that my mother celebrating her 80th birthday very much enjoyed.




Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to be

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From checkin to checkout we felt welcome. The cottage was stacked full of home comforts and our dog was treated as a valued guest too. We'll return for sure.



Wonderful place... Will be visiting again soon I hope :)

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Dec 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely and so cosy.. We were fortunate enough to have the place to ourselves which was lovely for complete relaxation.

I would definitely recommend to people who just want to close the door put some logs on the fire and get away from it all.

The dog also enjoyed himself running around the pleasure gardens and walking through the woods.. He is still tired now :)





Better than expected

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Surpassed expectation! Particularly good for family / group stays with a number of cottages booked.".....".....".................................................



Wonderful place to relax

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three nights were not enough - we had a wonderful stay, everyone was so helpful and friendly. The cottage was roomy and very comfortable. It had all of the facilities that one could need. We enjoyed some lovely sunsets down by the mere along with numerous geese and swans.
Combermere is ideally situated for so many places to visit and the local hostelries are excellent - no need to cook!

Thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable - we will be back to visit again.




great place to chill out

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
yet again another wonderfull stay at combermere ,kept to there good standards as normal ,the cottages are fab every thing to give you a good stay ,nice to wander around the estate with dogs ,will be back very soon hopefully



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely time was had by all. Houses immaculate and really beautifully decorated and comfortable. Location excellent and grounds good for exploring. Nice tea tray to welcome you on arrival and kitchens well equipped. Cotbeds that had been preordered were missing and but resolved fairly quickly and found by helpful lady.

Beware of midges and bugs biting in woods we all woke up with horrid bites after a walk on the woodland trail - which needs better signposting!!

Bikes could do with maintenance or replacing as some are unrideable. Some of sports equipment is also tired and needs updating. If you are offering the option to do these activities it should be provided properly not look like you are using stuff that other guests have left behind.

Overall really enjoyed our weekend. Hope to come back and try another cottage!!




A delightful stay at Cotton Cottage/ Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Friend and I were fortunate to have a fantastic 5 day stay at Combermere Abbey in Whitchurch during June 2014, we stayed in the beautiful Cotton Cottage which was absolutely delightful and setting and had everything on offer for a very relaxing break, beautiful gardens, woodland, its very own Mere, private garden with the cottage and furnished beautifully with all the luxury mod cons! Everything has been thought of in fine details and even a laundry room and shop where you can purchase fine organic prepared individual meals and delicious ice cream and even borrow a DVD , with only a short walk away from the Combermere Arms a delightful village pub serving great food! the joy of waking up in the morning to find cows grazing in the field opposite our cottage, this makes a beautiful Weddings Venue, special receptions and fantastic leisure breaks and a great get away from the city! we will be returning again very soon.

Michele Brooks




Fabulous!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful couple of days & will certainly recommend Combermere to our friends. Our welcome on arrival was warm & efficient - all staff were friendly & approachable.



Review of Cotton

Review submitted on Tue, 06 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fab place. If you want peace and tranquility this is the place. We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter break and thoroughly enjoyed it. The kids played on the bikes, we went on walks around the grounds mainly down by the river, it helped as the weather was lovely. The cottage was well equipped and had been freshly painted - this cottage also has a lovely garden that is enclosed - great for the kids. We went to Ironbridge and Chester Zoo on a couple of the days which the children really enjoyed. All in all a really good break.



A Perfect Rural Retreat!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in 'Cotton' cottage at Combermere Abbey. Everything's provided - and more. There's even a log box full of logs in the lounge, so you can have a real fire every night, if you want.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the Woodland walk (bit muddy but I'm sure it's lovely later in the year, particularly when all the bluebells are out), the cows in the field across the lane from our cottage and the wonderful Combermere Arms pub, which is just down the road and where we ate three times!

We took our dog on her first holiday and she loved it. We'd love to go back and introduce more friends to the delights of Combermere.




wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have lost count of the years we have been going to Comberemere.
Every visit has been wonderfully peaceful relaxing.
Would recommend it to everyone.




brilliant

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a wonderfull stay very nice weekend,cottage to the very high standard combermere keep to on every visit we have had there faultless ,look forward to our next visit there ,thankyou
jan & barry




Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We got married at combermere 10 years ago, and returned for our anniversary. The cottage was still lovely, immaculately clean and well equipped. The cottage was beautiful, but unfortunately the bedroom and en-suite windows leaked quite dramatically during heavy rain! Because of the poor weather the lakeside walk was closed, which was a shame. Overall though, combermere is still a magical place to stay, and we will definitely be back!



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was beautifully furnished to an excellent standard. The lounge area was magnificent with a lovely window seat set into a casement window which gave picturesque views over the surrounding countryside, mere and abbey
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and the large four poster bedroom was particularly stunning in terms of size and decor. The twin room with separate bathroom was perfect for two of our elderly guests.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Cotton for our wedding at Combermere Abbey. Even though we didn't book Stone Lodge, the staff still dressed our room as the Bridal Suite. Everything was better than we had hoped it would be from the initial booking to the wedding day itself. I really felt the wedding team genuinely cared that we had everything as we wanted it to be. We loved it and so many of our guests said it had been 'the perfect day'. Thank you Combermere!



A very special holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Reasons why we return to Combermere cottages every year:

1) The location is just stunning. Lots to do in the local area with excellent pubs.

2) We have stayed in most of the cottages over the years and they are all beautiful.

3) The standard of decoration and furnishings is outstanding.

4) The cottages are always pristine with fresh towels, crisp linen and sparkling bathrooms. The kitchen has everything you need.

5) Ready meals from the Freezer Room are delicious and easy.

6) Staff are so helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and when they say ' your dog is welcome' they really mean it!

7) Combermere is unique. It is possible to shut off from the rest of the world.To be private, rest, read, eat delicious food, and walk your dog through beautiful countryside totally undisturbed. We hope it never changes.




Smith saty w/e 24th Nov

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay, very relaxing and a stunning location.

Second bedroom looks very tired as did kitchen but overall it was fantastic venue and would revisit,





Cotton Cottage, Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit to Combermere - so far we have stayed in 4 different cottages and have never been disappointed. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday is on the doorstep, including ready cooked meals. We will definitely be returning again!!



Birthday Celebrations!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal cottage for our party together with Crossley. Lovely little garden with beautiful views. Very large bedrooms, cosy lounge.
The furnishings were most unusual, with an interesting theme.




Fabulous 5 star Holiday Cottages at Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey is located in a beautiful country setting. Converted from Victorian Stables, there are nine individually designed cottages set around a courtyard with parkland views. We stayed in Cotton, which had superb Indian décor with authentic furnishings. A very comfortable fourposter bed and lovely warm comfortable lounge in this spacious cottage. A well equipped modern kitchen and a most delicious breakfast hamper was left for us. Cotton accommodates 4 people but some cottages are for 6 -10 guests. The Abbey is a private family home situated in many acres of grounds There are tennis courts, beautiful gardens, a unique fruit tree maze, woodlands to explore, bicycles can be borrowed, and a large mere for swimming in summer. In the walled garden there is a large glass house and pavilion where weddings are held. Amenities on site are a well stocked pantry shop with locally sourced food and drink and a good selection of games and DVD's to borrow. Excellent staff are there for you in the Estate and Housekeeper's office. Car parking is close to the cottages. Situated in an historic area of Cheshire, with interesting towns nearby and very good restaurants and pubs to visit, there is something for everyone here. Highly recommend for a peaceful, relaxing break.



Wonderful break.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect place to get away either with family,friends or for a romantic break. The accomodation was outstanding. The staff were helpful and friendly from the booking right through to departure. The outdoor facilities and equipment provided free of charge could do with upgrading.