FB Twitter

Beckett

Beckett

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Beckett cottage is a popular choice for house parties, birthday celebrations, reunions, anniversaries or family gatherings. Its elegant, spacious dining room accommodates up to 49 to dine together. With its high ceilings, large windows, stone fireplace and original beams the dining room offers a versatile socialising space. Beckett sleeps 6 in 1 double and 2 twin bedrooms, all bedrooms are en-suite.

A family get together

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful week getting together with family following the lockdown. Gardens are lovely to walk in albeit we managed to get lost in the woodland walk. Found places to eat in the locality using the information provided to us as not everywhere open due to Covid.



A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This really is a fabulous place to stay and we were able to comfortably host a party of 18. The dining room is beautiful with an enormous table.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 181 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Beckett Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Perfect family cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As part of my family booking of 3 cottages, my sister stayed at Beckett with her 4 children. We opened the door and WOW! That dining room is stunning, the decor was perfect. Blown away by this, everyone looked around the whole cottage and fell in love with it. Considering how big and open it is, it warmed up nicely and the whole family gathered to this cottage each night for dinner and games. The children loved the beds and found them very comfy. Immaculate and well looked after. The only slight issue we had was that the floor in the dining room was a little slippery (well waxed we imagine) and this meant my sisters 2 year old kept slipping over but was easily corrected by taking her socks off!
Fabulous cottage and my sister intends to return soon, bringing her husband too next time.




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 244 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Beckett Cottage. We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay and that Beckett Cottage provided a great setting for your family to gather together over the weekend. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

60th birthday party

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
19 of us stayed in 4 cottages for my wife's birthday and loved every aspect. The staff were really helpful, the cottages were clean with everything we needed, and it was excellent value for money. All of us would thoroughly recommend Combermere for a lovely weekend away.



Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place, views are amazing.
Perfect for a big family get together or for a nice quiet weekend away




Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic place to stay for group of friends. Dining room is huge , like a banqueting hall. Beautiful



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 315 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay in Beckett Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Had an amazing time

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked all the cottages at Combermere to celebrate my 50th birthday with friends and family. The sales and housekeeping staff were helpful and so accommodating for all our needs. Hired caterers on the Saturday to cook for 53 of us and serve in Beckett ! Fabulous space - team at Combermere set everything up and couldn’t have wished for a better night and trip ! This is our 2nd time here and we will he back - thank you



A weekend in Beckett

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at beckett as it’s such a perfect place to host a large group for dinner and we are a big family. We love the size of it and it still retains that cosy feel due to the decor and fire.
One small observation is that it is slightly dated compared to Crossley next door especially the kitchen.
It was incredibly well equipped and very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable.
We wouldn’t hesitate in coming again!




Rachel Newton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am absolutely delighted to see that you had a wonderful stay with your family over the weekend. I do hope to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon. Kind regards, Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator

lovely property

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
all good and family friendly
very clean and gorgeous site to walk around.
lovely staff

comfort not excellent as giraffe beds not as comfortable as they could be!




Just perfect.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A special place in every mode possible. We have visited every cottage in the past 12 years and still come back for more. Many thanks to everyone.



Lovely rest in beautiful setting!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time doing some entertaining in the fabulous dining room of Beckett !
Will definately take it for next big family party!




Diamond Wedding Celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd stay at Combermere. This stay was to celebrate our parents Diamond Wedding. Combermere is a beautiful and idyllic setting. The cottages are fully equipped for entertaining and are lovely and comfortable to stay in. Beautiful walks with or without dogs. Children are also well catered for as there is a tennis court, lake for paddling in and bikes to pedal around the estate.



Meeting of Friends

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay. We were there for a special occasion. All had dinner at the Combermere Arms which I highly recommend and back to the Abbey to continue the party. Third time we have stayed.



Celebration weekend for my Father's 90th birthday

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beckett Cottage provided ideal accommodation to entertain family and friends for this special occasion, however the cottage and in particular the sitting room is looking tired. The sofas, armchairs , cushions and covers all need replacing showing real signs of wear and tear and certainly do not replicate the photos on the website.
Some of the bedding also needs replacing.
It was extremely difficult to find any staff to communicate with during the weekend which proved frustrating when trying to sort out issues with guests arrival imminent. When finally located, staff were helpful.
Taking a walk in the grounds, we inadvertently took a wrong turn and were subsequently rudely told off and certainly not treated as guests by the owner! Not exactly conducive to being made to feel welcome, in fact quite the opposite.
I think all the stops are pulled out for a wedding but a different experience out of the wedding season.
I certainly would not class this property as 5 star .
On a very positive note I would highly recommend Sophie Fearnell as an outside caterer to provide food for a special occasion. She was wonderful and provided amazing food.
I would recommend this property with reservations.




One night family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely time walking in the woods, playing tennis and relaxing. And a great breakfast hamper! Would recommemd this for a family getaway.



Amazing Family Christmas

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous and unique place to spend Christmas with family and friends! Highly recommend it!!!!



Just WOW!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a stunning property in a stunning location. We were staying here for a friends wedding, perfect for pictures, Everything was perfect, and nothing was too much bother for the team on-site. The property was immaculately presented with lots of little touches like beautiful fresh flowers in the lounge and a personal tour of the property (This is one big cottage). Each room was themed and decorated in line with this (the upstairs bedroom was awesome!). Everyone commented how comfortable the beds were.

The breakfast hamper provided was full of amazing local produce and tasted amazing, I would not hesitate to reccommend this place to anyone.




We enjoyed ourselves so much that my granddaughter in America is determined to have her wedding thek

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect holiday. The cottage was delightful with a dining room sitting room and perfectly equipped kitchen. We had breakfast from the stocked fridge on a patio every morning. There were four of us from America and it was a total delight. You mY use my full name



Great to be back

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Combermere Cottages for a few years now. We have stayed in all but 3 of the cottages. We mainly take the grandchildren who can never wait to go back and enjoy the freedom of the woods, bikes and grounds. Staff are welcoming and the accommodation is always ready on time.




Excellent New Year

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a group we hired our Beckett, Callander and Empress.

What can I say other than the property is gorgeous. Situated in lush greenery and every cottage we had was beautifully decorated and very well equip.

Our group consisted of mainly couples and I can happily say it's the first accommodation we've stayed in where not one person was disappointed with their room as all were a fantastic and spacious.

We had an absolutely brilliant New Year and the staff were very accommodating, ensuring that the whole group were able to eat with each other in the Beckett cottage and use that as a base.

Perfect place - perfect New Year

Thank you





Excellent stay could not fault Beckett perfect for Children

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for our visit, the large dinning room easily seated the whole family when they came around from the other cottages. The room upstairs was perfect for the Children they loved it ! The lounge was very comfortable with a homely feel ! Could not fault our stay !



A super nano break with family !

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has been our third stay in Beckett. The huge dining room with open fire is fabulous although we did miss having a fire in the lounge when we were snuggled up on the sofa (I know that these rooms used to be the other way round). I cooked full on Christmas dinner for 6 and the kitchen with 2 ovens coped admirably and there were lots of tureens, wine glasses and crockery available. The setting is superb and the various walks from your front door will keep you busy. Finally, sitting outside with a cuppa at 7am on Sunday morning listening to the woodpeckers was a real treat ! Thank you Combermere - I feel that we will be back.



A weekend treat for our dad's birthday!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place! Such beautiful location for a weekend of relaxing and walking. The cottage was immaculate and staff are always so friendly, nothing is too much trouble. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



The perfect cottage for a pre wedding celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had this cottage as a hub for our family and friends the night before our wedding. This cottage has so much beautiful character and is the ideal place for a pre wedding celebration. Combermere provided a lovely gazebo set up from the front door too which provided us with extra space and the opportunity to enjoy the courtyard too. We had a roaring fire with food and drinks flowing, the perfect setting for our Autumn celebrations.



Beckett

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staff were excellent - helpful, friendly and efficient - both before and during the stay. The property was well equipped. The welcome hamper was also first class.

The site itself is excellent and we plan to book again in the near future.




Wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we had a fantastic time at Combermere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is outstanding and the cottage is beautiful. We can't wait to return next year.



Wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we had a fantastic time at Combermere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is outstanding and the cottage is beautiful. We can't wait to return next year.



Business Workshop

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We ran a full day business workshop with 20 delegates at the Beckett Cottage. It was a fantastic venue with a beautiful dining room (used for presentations) and large living room used for break away sessions. The site is secluded and set within fantastic grounds. For us it was a great location and would make a top notch weekend away



Weekend reunion, 5 families.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend together. The three cottages worked really well for us. They were spacious and comfortable, with character too. I loved the decor. We wished we had more time to explore the gorgeous grounds, but we were too busy playing rounders and eating! The service and attention to detail prior and during our stay was unusually helpful and efficient. Having booked many other group accommodations before, I was pleasantly surprised and grateful to see how well organised it all was. So thank you for that. I would like to return one day, hopefully for a longer period. I really would recommend, for all ages, shapes and sizes! From dogs to babies I mean!



Beckett

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days in a wonderful location.

The only slight problem was that we couldn't work out how to put the z bed up!

We have stayed here before and would have no hesitation in staying here again.




Great for dining with large numbers

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Beckett cottage as part of a wider group booking at Combermere (30 people). The dining room was fabulous and ideal in enabling everyone to dine together. The only downside was that the kitchen wasn't very big. The beds were very comfortable and the upstairs bedroom was lovely, very characterful and sweet!



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard. The dining room adequately accommodated our wedding guests with ease for our Friday evening house party and Sunday morning breakfast; this allowed the whole of the party to mingle and added a more personal slant to the celebrations.
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and presented and the 'safari' theme was well matched to the decor and well appreciated.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff. We had a wonderful stay at Combermere and will be back again for another fantastic stay.



Excellent venue with great service

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent venue with great service
Great location
very well fitted out
They think of everything - tea, coffee, dishwasher etc.
Great customer service.




Feedback

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had our team meeting in the Beckett which was great. the room was ideal for our meeting and the staff were all supportive prior and on the day.

Beckett's kitchen facilities were really good and ideal for our breakfast making.




Couldn't Have Asked For More

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a truly wonderful stay at the Abby. The last minute deal was excellent value for money, it gave us a chance to stay somewhere we wouldn't otherwise be able to afford. Thank you for the opportunity to stay in this wonderful historic setting and explore the magnificent grounds.



Charming, lovely ,comfortable and friendly

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable appartments furnished with great taste in beautiful surroundings.
Friendly staff supervised by charming Stephan!
Lovely gardens at the back.




absolutely amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at combermere abbey for my hen weekend and we were blown away by the property it was beautiful, Jean from the office helped us organise beauticians to come to the cottage we had a welcome pack, plenty of space everything you need. Highly recommend staying here you won't be disappointed.