FB Twitter

Barr-beithe Upper

Barr-beithe Upper

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Enjoy Loch Awe from lovely garden, sunroom, lounge and master bedroom

Scottish tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous property,spacious & well maintained with fantastic views from every window.
Even when the weather turned foul,it was great to be inside,in the warm with views of the approaching storm.
The owners were just perfect,helpful & informative.If you want a peaceful holiday,away from working life with gorgeous views & surrounding areas you’d be hard pressed to beat this.The property is finished to a very good standard with a large kitchen & lounge,a lovely sunroom & well presented bathrooms.My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our time here ,as did my 88 year old father.
It can sometimes be uncertain when you rent a property off the Internet but we came up trumps with Barr-biethe Upper at Blargour . Thank you Catriona




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with stunning views of the loch. Well equipped, comfortable and warm.
Long drive (about 25mins) down a single track road which did mean going anywhere was
quite a long way, however if you’re after peace and relaxation I couldn’t fault it.
Tesco’s deliver which was great!




Very good customer service

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location with lovely views of the Loch Awe, very peaceful and great customer service. We’ve had a brilliant time.



Well equipped bungalow with great views of Loch Awe

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to get away from it all - a lovely, well equipped, 3 bedroom bungalow with lovely views of the Loch.
Catriona sent very helpful instructions (and ideas for where to go) and we arrived to a personal welcome and shortbread biscuits!

The bungalow had everything we needed and proved a great place to stay, with a lovely garden surrounded by fields of sheep. We went for a walk over the farmland to the croft ruins on the first day and met the friendly neighbours in Barr-beithe Lower.

The accommodation is remote which is part of it's charm but it only takes 20-30 minutes along the single track road to reach the main roads at either end of the loch. Although single track, there are plenty of passing places which are well marked, so we didn't run into any real difficulties.

From there, we visited Inveraray and Auchindrain Settlement, Kilmartin and Crinan Harbour, Oban, Ardfern (to take a motor boat out to Coryvreckan) and we had a lovely walk on the Ardfern Peninsula, Cruachan Power Station, St Conan's Kirk and Kilchurn Castle.

All in all, a lovely week in great accommodation - and the midges weren't as bad as we were expecting!




very nice

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lot of place
Quiet
You have to note that acces to main road is about 25 minutes
Next supermarket 40 minutes (Inverary)
It's the condition for a fantastic place et view to the Loch
Claude K, France




Peace, wildlife and scenery

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, set overlooking loch Awe, surrounded by farm animals and wildlife. We happened to have the 2 hottest weeks Scotland has seen and spent a lot of it just relaxing in and around the cottage and gardens. We watched Osprey fishing the loch, a Sea Eagle on the hills behind us, Swallows building nests and were visited by Pine Marten. Well equipped, clean and comfortable home, Catriona was friendly and welcoming and thoughtful. The one consideration is the single track road to get there, making journeys out a bit longer than we planned for. Would highly recommend.



Very wellcome.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing. Owners very helpfull. It was like home from home. Very good views. Good walks. Lots of wild life.



We keep coming back!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is superb with views of Loch Awe. Bathrooms have been upgraded - shower is powerful. Beds are very comfortable. Kitchen large and well equipped. Conservatory is comfortable with great views. picnic table. Although there is a TV we prefer to watch the changing scenery across the loch as the light and the weather changes. There are many great walks locally.
This year we were blessed with really good weather so enjoyed eating outside a number of times. There is plenty of tourist information in the house so you'll surely find something to do.




A wonderful escape

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay. The views are spectacular and the opportunities to see nature are in abundance, we saw osprey fishing across lake. We would highly recommend this cottage if you're looking to get away from it all and love nature.



A wonderful short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Barn cottage for a few days in February. Our hosts Catriona and Martin were very helpful and welcoming on our arrival. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and very cosy. The local scenery is spectacular and we were so lucky to be able observe deer in close proximity to the cottage each morning.
We were very fortunate with the weather (cold but sunny most of the time) and so spent much of our stay walking and visiting local attractions, such as the old town of Inveraray and the Crinan Canal, which has wonderful views out to sea.
We would love to return, perhaps in the summer next time and spend more time exploring this wonderful area.




Unbeatable cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage for two weeks, and were very impressed by the spaciousness and facilities. The kitchen is big, and the sun room is a great feature. Loch Awe is a beautiful location, and the cottage has excellent views of the loch. We found it perfect for a kayaking, cycling or walking holiday, and would love to return.



Relaxing holiday in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really happy with the accommodation. The cottage was very comfortable with fantastic views from every window and the owner was very helpful.



très bon séjour et un accueil très gentil, nous garderons un excellent souvenir de notre passage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bonjour
j'espère répondre comme il convient mais mon Anglais ne me permet pas d'interpréter au mieux votre questionnaire
Nous avons quoiqu'il en soit été très satisfait de notre séjour.




We keep going back

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this property approx. 10 years ago and have been back just about every year since. We love it. The elevated position gives you unobstructed views of the loch and hillsides. It is so peaceful. There are walks everywhere. Inveraray with its castle and shops/petrol stations are a short drive away. Oban, the gateway to the Isles is an hour away. There are gardens and castles to visit all around (many National trust).



Stunning garden & views

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The garden & views of Loch Awe from the property were stunning, it was spacious, clean, comfortable & we immediately felt at home there.



Inspiring Tranquility

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A property i a magical location, with the best views and most tranquil setting of any previous holiday. The owner Catriona, was friendly and conscientious in making sure we had had everything we needed, but also respected our privacy. On arrival we found the place warmed up and a hospitality tray for initial tea/coffee, accompanied by some shortbread biscuits, for those arriving before grocery shopping. The property is a bungalow but it does have steps up entrances to negotiate. If you are after trendy/scandi-chic and have a need for a log burner this would not suit you, but if you are after a blissfully peaceful, well-equipped 'home from home' this is ideal. Barr-Beithe' is a few miles along a single track road away from the nearest main roads so you would need a vehicle, however it was also a 'nature ride' during which we saw deer and a red squirrel. The garden was always full of birds (feeders replenished) and the surrounding fields had sheep grazing in them, On clear nights stargazing was fantastic after stunning sunsets. The owner left tourist information leaflets and also a few books for guests to read including ones on Scottish birds and the Night Sky. There is plenty to do and see all around the wider area but if you are happy just to enjoy the view of the loch, fields and waterfall at the bottom of the drive (seriously) there is no need to go far. We would return but stay longer than a week.



Lovely Break by Loch Awe

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful peaceful location over-looking Loch Awe. We only stayed a few days but enjoyed our visit to Inveraray, a lovely lunch at Tayvallich Inn and a stroll along Crinan Canal towpath. We're looking forward to going back next year.



Long weekend at Barr-Beithe Upper Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second winter stay at Barr-Beithe Upper cottage, Loch Awe. We cannot fault the cottage and it's location with its' stunning panoramic views. Catriona has always been extremely helpful during our stays, whilst respecting our space and privacy. The cottage is extremely comfortable and very well equipped. We have no hesitation in recommending Barr-Beithe Upper and will inevitably return for another stay to recharge our batteries.