FB Twitter

Barr-beithe Upper

Barr-beithe Upper

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Enjoy Loch Awe from lovely garden, sunroom, lounge and master bedroom

Lovely cottage in a very nice setting with great views

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable, spacious and well appointed cottage.
Our landlady Catriona was very friendly and helpful.
Great views down to the loch in front and up the hillside behind.
Very nice, rural situation. Single track road with passing places to access but well worth it.
Good wildlife viewing in the area.




Perfect for peace and quiet

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house fully equiped with everything you need for self catering. We had no issues with any of the equipment. Comfy beds, two bathrooms with a shower in one and bath in the other. Lots of space and fantastic views. Some puzzles and boardgames. Quite remote ideal if you want peace, quiet, nature and walks. If you want to visit towns and visitor attractions you may want somewhere more accessible but there are a few places to visit. We just wanted some isolation with a few day trips and this was perfect for us. A different world really, amazing. Host is lovely, happy to chat and gave lots of info on local area.



Lovely well-appointed cottage with stunning views.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous week at Barr-beithe Upper. The cottage was immaculately clean, and had everything that we needed for a self-catering holiday. Beds were very comfortable, and the house was warm and cosy. The best part though was the stunning views from every window, looking over the hills and loch. We enjoyed the short stroll to the waterfall and lochside, and longer walks on the hillside behind the cottage. Would recommend a drive to Crinan to walk or cycle along the canal path, a day trip to Oban (around an hour away), or a visit to Inveraray. Catriona was an excellent host, very friendly and welcoming.



Ideal for us!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the best efforts of the weather we had a super stay. Hill walking in the rain, a chilly swim in the clear waters of Loch Awe, home cooked meals in the best appointed self catering kitchen we have ever stayed in. The farmhouse was warm and comfortable. The photos didn't do it justice. Catriona was the perfect host and sent us useful suggestions during our stay.
We would be back again very soon if we didn't live so far away!




Tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Barr-beithe Upper. It was perfectly clean, spacious and wonderfully warm. The views are amazing and there is even a lovely waterfall at the bottom of the drive. Catriona was a lovely host. Lots of local information given including nearest shop and petrol station. We would love to return.



Perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming up Barr Beithe Upper for many years. We love the beautiful location and the peace & tranquility here. The cottage is lovely - clean, cosy and warm, and Catriona is a friendly and welcoming host.
Would highly recommend Barr Beithe Upper.




Wonderful week at Loch Awe

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best week of tranquillity this year! We spent our time visiting the lovely gardens of Argyll, painting and looking out over the loch. Lovely to sit in front of the fire at night and watch the sun go down.



Perfect place for a break away.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend this property. This holiday home is great, communication was very good from Catriona the owner, answering questions about the property before booking to easy booking and providing information for arrival. The house was easy to find, off a single track road with lots of pull in places. The views of Loch Awe were just spectacular! The house was very clean and comfortable. It warmed up nicely with the heating on for just a short time. We stayed for a week and the cost was only £10 so don’t worry about added costs . It was stocked with everything you might need from a well provisioned kitchen to games and leaflets about the area. Just to note the smoke alarm was very sensitive, so open the windows before your cooked breakfast
If you enjoy wild swimming or paddle sports the Loch is perfect & only a short walk down the road to a gated access, via the owners land..just ask about it.




Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself,my husband , our 3 children and my mother in law came to stay for a second time on a very much needed family break. The home was clean, tidy and super comfortable. We felt so at home. It's so peaceful. No one to bother you. So much to do. We packed in Fishing, bike riding , exploring, and games nights (family board games etc) highly recommend popping along to cakes in the call box (in season) you will find on fb. The cakes are amazing.
Catriona is very friendly and accommodating as always. Thankyou for another brilliant stay...we will be back.




Delighted to return

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely to be back at this amazing place, home away from home! Impeccable cleanliness and updated games/movies selection.



June week

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, thanks.
It was lovely to return to the house after the day’s fishing.
The view over Loch Awe is stunning.




Just what was needed after lockdown

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was exceptionaly clean and well equiped.
Garden was beautiful, as were the stunning views over the lock.
Catriona the owner was as usual very friendly and helpful.
You really can't go wrong with this place




A west highland retreat of the highest order.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An impeccable well equipped cottage with stunning views and delightful mature garden .Wonderful hill and lochside walks for bird watching flowers and fishing.



Wonderful as Always

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve have been coming to Barr Beithe Upper for many years and always we had a wonderful and relaxing time. The location is truly breathtaking and even with a very wet week, we had a fantastic holiday. The measures in place to make sure we felt Covid-safe were exceptional and detailed. Can’t wait to be back again next year! Thanks as ever to Catriona



We keep coming back!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay. Catriona's attention to detail and explaining what steps they had taken in these Covid times reassured us that all steps had been taken to make our (and others) stay totally safe.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a fantastic location with superb views all round. Very large and very comfortable and the owners were wonderful to deal with.



Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views we're lovely of lock awe. You can see deers and lots of different types of birds. A home from home



Stuart from Cumbria

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Views are stunning; sunsets amazing. House is very well maintained and has everything you need. Weather was great this year so we ate outside in the sunshine and enjoyed the peace. We'll be back (again)



Barr-Beithe Upper Cottage, Blarghour: The perfect place to unwind and de-stress

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth year having a long weekend in February at Barr-Beithe Upper cottage. It has always been quiet and peaceful with a fabulous outlook over Loch Awe and surrounding hillside. The mature and well maintained garden and adjacent fields attract a large variety of wildlife, including deer, red squirrel, woodpecker, song thrush, birds of prey, etc. We have always enjoyed the quieter and more relaxed pace that this cottage and location offers. Catriona has always been welcoming, helpful and available should this be necessary, and has always respected our privacy. Over the past four years we have been impressed with the quality of the accommodation and facilities and all the changes that Catriona has introduced in relation to home improvements. It is evident that Catriona takes pride in ensuring that Barr-Beithe Upper is maintained to a high standard.



Wonderful Christmas holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning place, highly recommend! Fabulous Cottage good size , nice and cosy, great for a family break away - enjoyed by all! Very peaceful, and to get explore the walks- bliss! Great accommodation , really well equipped more that we needed . The owner lady Catriona was very kind and helpful with either way . We were so lucky with the weather because wasn't too much rains .
One of the best Christmas break ever . only negative thing shops , you have to organise food shopping before you arrival to a cottage . Overall 10 / 10
Many thanks again everything Dear Catriona




Scottish tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous property,spacious & well maintained with fantastic views from every window.
Even when the weather turned foul,it was great to be inside,in the warm with views of the approaching storm.
The owners were just perfect,helpful & informative.If you want a peaceful holiday,away from working life with gorgeous views & surrounding areas you’d be hard pressed to beat this.The property is finished to a very good standard with a large kitchen & lounge,a lovely sunroom & well presented bathrooms.My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our time here ,as did my 88 year old father.
It can sometimes be uncertain when you rent a property off the Internet but we came up trumps with Barr-biethe Upper at Blargour . Thank you Catriona




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with stunning views of the loch. Well equipped, comfortable and warm.
Long drive (about 25mins) down a single track road which did mean going anywhere was
quite a long way, however if you’re after peace and relaxation I couldn’t fault it.
Tesco’s deliver which was great!




Very good customer service

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location with lovely views of the Loch Awe, very peaceful and great customer service. We’ve had a brilliant time.



Well equipped bungalow with great views of Loch Awe

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to get away from it all - a lovely, well equipped, 3 bedroom bungalow with lovely views of the Loch.
Catriona sent very helpful instructions (and ideas for where to go) and we arrived to a personal welcome and shortbread biscuits!

The bungalow had everything we needed and proved a great place to stay, with a lovely garden surrounded by fields of sheep. We went for a walk over the farmland to the croft ruins on the first day and met the friendly neighbours in Barr-beithe Lower.

The accommodation is remote which is part of it's charm but it only takes 20-30 minutes along the single track road to reach the main roads at either end of the loch. Although single track, there are plenty of passing places which are well marked, so we didn't run into any real difficulties.

From there, we visited Inveraray and Auchindrain Settlement, Kilmartin and Crinan Harbour, Oban, Ardfern (to take a motor boat out to Coryvreckan) and we had a lovely walk on the Ardfern Peninsula, Cruachan Power Station, St Conan's Kirk and Kilchurn Castle.

All in all, a lovely week in great accommodation - and the midges weren't as bad as we were expecting!




very nice

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lot of place
Quiet
You have to note that acces to main road is about 25 minutes
Next supermarket 40 minutes (Inverary)
It's the condition for a fantastic place et view to the Loch
Claude K, France




Peace, wildlife and scenery

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, set overlooking loch Awe, surrounded by farm animals and wildlife. We happened to have the 2 hottest weeks Scotland has seen and spent a lot of it just relaxing in and around the cottage and gardens. We watched Osprey fishing the loch, a Sea Eagle on the hills behind us, Swallows building nests and were visited by Pine Marten. Well equipped, clean and comfortable home, Catriona was friendly and welcoming and thoughtful. The one consideration is the single track road to get there, making journeys out a bit longer than we planned for. Would highly recommend.



Very wellcome.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing. Owners very helpfull. It was like home from home. Very good views. Good walks. Lots of wild life.



We keep coming back!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is superb with views of Loch Awe. Bathrooms have been upgraded - shower is powerful. Beds are very comfortable. Kitchen large and well equipped. Conservatory is comfortable with great views. picnic table. Although there is a TV we prefer to watch the changing scenery across the loch as the light and the weather changes. There are many great walks locally.
This year we were blessed with really good weather so enjoyed eating outside a number of times. There is plenty of tourist information in the house so you'll surely find something to do.




A wonderful escape

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay. The views are spectacular and the opportunities to see nature are in abundance, we saw osprey fishing across lake. We would highly recommend this cottage if you're looking to get away from it all and love nature.



A wonderful short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Barn cottage for a few days in February. Our hosts Catriona and Martin were very helpful and welcoming on our arrival. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and very cosy. The local scenery is spectacular and we were so lucky to be able observe deer in close proximity to the cottage each morning.
We were very fortunate with the weather (cold but sunny most of the time) and so spent much of our stay walking and visiting local attractions, such as the old town of Inveraray and the Crinan Canal, which has wonderful views out to sea.
We would love to return, perhaps in the summer next time and spend more time exploring this wonderful area.




Unbeatable cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage for two weeks, and were very impressed by the spaciousness and facilities. The kitchen is big, and the sun room is a great feature. Loch Awe is a beautiful location, and the cottage has excellent views of the loch. We found it perfect for a kayaking, cycling or walking holiday, and would love to return.



Relaxing holiday in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really happy with the accommodation. The cottage was very comfortable with fantastic views from every window and the owner was very helpful.



très bon séjour et un accueil très gentil, nous garderons un excellent souvenir de notre passage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bonjour
j'espère répondre comme il convient mais mon Anglais ne me permet pas d'interpréter au mieux votre questionnaire
Nous avons quoiqu'il en soit été très satisfait de notre séjour.




We keep going back

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this property approx. 10 years ago and have been back just about every year since. We love it. The elevated position gives you unobstructed views of the loch and hillsides. It is so peaceful. There are walks everywhere. Inveraray with its castle and shops/petrol stations are a short drive away. Oban, the gateway to the Isles is an hour away. There are gardens and castles to visit all around (many National trust).



Stunning garden & views

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The garden & views of Loch Awe from the property were stunning, it was spacious, clean, comfortable & we immediately felt at home there.



Inspiring Tranquility

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A property i a magical location, with the best views and most tranquil setting of any previous holiday. The owner Catriona, was friendly and conscientious in making sure we had had everything we needed, but also respected our privacy. On arrival we found the place warmed up and a hospitality tray for initial tea/coffee, accompanied by some shortbread biscuits, for those arriving before grocery shopping. The property is a bungalow but it does have steps up entrances to negotiate. If you are after trendy/scandi-chic and have a need for a log burner this would not suit you, but if you are after a blissfully peaceful, well-equipped 'home from home' this is ideal. Barr-Beithe' is a few miles along a single track road away from the nearest main roads so you would need a vehicle, however it was also a 'nature ride' during which we saw deer and a red squirrel. The garden was always full of birds (feeders replenished) and the surrounding fields had sheep grazing in them, On clear nights stargazing was fantastic after stunning sunsets. The owner left tourist information leaflets and also a few books for guests to read including ones on Scottish birds and the Night Sky. There is plenty to do and see all around the wider area but if you are happy just to enjoy the view of the loch, fields and waterfall at the bottom of the drive (seriously) there is no need to go far. We would return but stay longer than a week.



Lovely Break by Loch Awe

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful peaceful location over-looking Loch Awe. We only stayed a few days but enjoyed our visit to Inveraray, a lovely lunch at Tayvallich Inn and a stroll along Crinan Canal towpath. We're looking forward to going back next year.



Long weekend at Barr-Beithe Upper Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second winter stay at Barr-Beithe Upper cottage, Loch Awe. We cannot fault the cottage and it's location with its' stunning panoramic views. Catriona has always been extremely helpful during our stays, whilst respecting our space and privacy. The cottage is extremely comfortable and very well equipped. We have no hesitation in recommending Barr-Beithe Upper and will inevitably return for another stay to recharge our batteries.