FB Twitter

Barn

Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Comfortable upside down cottage providing accommodation for 2 on Blarghour Farm

Summer holidays 2021

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had 2 week stay at Blarghour on side of Loch Awe. Awesome 2 weeks in stunning scenery. Hosts were friendly and available when / if needed. Colin enjoyed good fishing this year so he was very happy. This was our 7th year and plan on going back. Perfect place to relax and recover from everyday trials and demands and get back in touch with country living.



The Barn Cottage at Blarghour Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Blarghour Farm. It was a perfect base to explore the area.
It is set in a beautiful spot, so scenic and peaceful. The hosts were very friendly and helpful too.
It was lovely to watch the red squirrel’s from the cottage or sit on the elevated bench looking out at Loch Awe with a coffee Ofer glass of wine( weather permitting)


The Barn itself was very well equipped, we would definitely return.




A perfect peaceful holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can wholeheartedly recommend The barn.
One of the best places we have stayed at.
Immaculately clean everywhere. And equipped with everything you could possibly need.
I am a foodie who loves to cook even on holiday, and have learned through experience to take certain items of kitchen equipment with me. However, they were not needed at The Barn.
I would recommend taking a cool box with freezer blocks to bring back milk, local fish, seafood, and meat. The Barn is quite a distance from shops, smokeries, and suppliers of local produce. We made several forays and stocked up the freezer, which was the same size as the under counter fridge, (another bonus not often found in self -catering establishments.)
If you love to holiday off the beaten track, then this is the place for you. No light pollution, road noise etc. Perfect peace away from the madding crowd!
Set in idyllic countryside, by the side of Loch Awe, there is no need to go searching for things to do, (although there are interesting places to visit within reasonable distances, including islands.)
Walking,cycling,watching the local wildlife, photography,painting and sketching, and fishing are all there to be enjoyed.
Being partly disabled, I am unable to participate in the more physical activities, but still thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

















Lovely situation by Loch Awe

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Catriona was fantastic and flexible, to help us get this break in the midst of lockdown misery. A lovely spot by Loch Awe. The Barn is well appointed and spotlessly clean. A brilliant base for touring the southerly Western Isles.

2 things I'd offer though are:

We'd have valued a dishwasher rather than a washing machine. A single bed apartment means no children, so no need for laundry on a week's stay.

The location is wonderful, but the drive along the single-track road that skirts Loch Awe, to join main roads for getting about, takes 1/2 hour, whichever direction you take. Just added an hour travel to every day. Just be aware.




A 7 night Stay in the Stable

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a few words to describe our fantastic stay at Blarghour Farm Cottages in early November, firstly we booked the Barn but as the Stable was empty as it was low season we were offered the Stable which we duly took......a good start. The cleanliness of the cottages was immaculate, the facilities second to none and the availability of items from utensils to washing machine and everything in between was amazing and bountiful. It was truly home from home, the views onto the Loch and beyond were breathtaking from the open plan downstairs room and the spacious bedroom upstairs. In relation to information Catriona the owner was extremely helpful with suggestions and inside of the Stable their was a vast amount of guidebooks, leaflets, maps and ideas, in short your vey own tourist information centre.

In respect to COVID, everything was exceptionally clean, bagged where required, exceptional covid secure protocols in place to ensure what crockery, utensils, equipment we used 3 days prior leaving was identified for further cleaning. The surrounding countryside is expansive, the opportunities for walks, road trips and just relaxing days out are endless. To name a few we visited, Canasserie Castle, Kilchurn Castle, St Conans Kirk, Kilmartin Standing Stones all of which are a short drive from the cottages, we also went further afield and visited Skipness Castle, St Coumbas Cave, Oban, Campletown and Mull of Kintyre. The Farm has two amazing waterfalls nearby within walking distance and a menagerie of birds visit the grounds outside the cottages daily. With regards wildlife in and around the farm we saw Deer on the shore of the Loch at dusk, Red Squirrels and Pine Martins daily just outside the Stable and a feast of birds every morning. On a final note, it was a relaxing, quiet and inspiring place which we will return to in 2021, I would definitely recommend you visit, you'll not regret the choice be assured.




Amazing, but be warned of the post holiday blues!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for an exceptionally relaxing staycation in a tranquil setting surrounded by wildlife and stunning scenery then this is the place for you. I am very reluctant to write such a review incase they become over booked as a result!!

If you have any concerns of going on holiday with Covid rumbling around, then fear not with Blarghour Farm Cottages, Catriona and Martin and extremely covid aware and try and make the place as secure as possible. I have spent the last 6 months ensuring licensed businesses in the hospitality sector are covid secure and adhering to the guidelines and regulations and it's very fair to say that Blarghour Farm Cottages hit every single box and I felt very much at ease to be staying there. Please note this was not an inspection and I was actually on annual leave!

We had excellent communication from Catriona prior to our arrival making sure our expectations were met and explaining a few changes that they had to do to make our trip safe whilst we stayed there. We had booked Barn as this was the only accommodation left at short notice, it didn't disappoint and perfect for two.

Although there was no direct view from the property towards the loch from the sitting room, you still have a view and a great one of that too. we still managed to see across the hills, watching birds of prey during the afternoon and the stars at night. But as you are there you may as well physically embrace the countryside around you and move 40f eet outside on to one of the benches provided and sit amongst the red squirrels who dance up and down the great oak just feet from you, telling you off for slurping your tea and breaking the peace and quiet! From here you could watch the deer in the field that roam in from the woods, the sea eagles being chased off by the buzzards or count the sheep in the field below. If you really wanted to you could try and guess the next vehicle that should pass the bottom of the long sweeping drive way, but hope you don't forget by the time it came by. The views are fantastic.

Admittedly we didn't spend as much time on the farm as we had hoped as we had wanted to make the most of doing stuff prior to the thought of lockdown phase 2. However the time we did spend there we tried to make the most of it, BBQ'ing on the loch shore watching the sun go down in the evening with a fire pit on the go, we felt extremely lucky to have chosen to stay where we did. We are determined next time to try and get up to the higher view point of the farm to see right across Loch Awe.

Catriona and Martin are great hosts as well as their two dogs who were very well behaved.They have so much information on the local area and recommended some great places to stop and see and to eat at also. We tried not to disturb them from their busy farm work however this was never an issue to stop and chat and always very friendly. We will definitely be staying again and highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a warm, cosy yet modern accommodation perfectly situated in the middle of no where. Theres even Wifi for those that can't be without :)




Set in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 nights at Blarghour Farm Cottages staying in "The Barn" which was immaculate, comfortable and well equipped.The view over Loch Awe was beautiful and each evening was spent sitting on the "grassy knowl" with a glass of wine admiring the scenery. We were lucky to be able to photograph a red squirrel which visited a feeding station in the garden and spot deer in the field nearby. If you want peace and quiet for your holiday then Blarghour is the place for you.





2 weeks holidays in Argyll

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has been our 6th time down to the Barn and will be going back.
This 2 person self-catering accommodation is ideal for us to be able to relax and unwind away from our daily life. Catriona and Martin are very welcoming and there if you need something but never intrusive. The accommodation is alongside a Loch which is great for relaxing and fishing as well as walks. It's not far from Oban, Lochgilphead and Inveraray for local attractions and supplies if needed. Being close to Oban also means getting to souther Hebrides islands is easy. The drive in and out of the Loch can be challenging but the road is improving and been resurfaced. Tesco delivers if pre booked as do local business e.g. Array fish company which is really good.
Highly recommend this venue.

Helen




Comfortable lochside getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn is a small but comfortable and well equipped self catering cottage. Situated close to Loch Awe it has everything a couple needs for a quiet and restful break. Catriona, the host, is warm and welcoming, gives plenty of useful information but is not intrusive.

We were lucky to see a variety of wildlife including red squirrels and white-tailed eagles. Despite Covid-19 restrictions we found plenty to keep us occupied including walks around the cottage.

We would recommend Barn to anybody looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday amid the outstanding beauty of the lochs and mountains of Argyll.




Our stay at The Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Barn. It was in a fantastic location overlooking the Loch and had everything you could possibly need for a home from home. Our host, Catriona was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and provided us with maps of places of interest to visit which we made the most of.
The location was so stunning but you do need a car to be able to get about which wasn’t a problem for us. We can highly recommend Blarghour Farm cottages.




Loch-side getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful location. Every detail had been attended to by the owners and we were given a warm welcome. Would definitely return if back in the area.



Week stay in The Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property and location and a lovely welcome from Del. The house was very clean. Thank you very much!



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location. Everywhere you looked scenery was amazing. Cottage accomodation had everything and more to make stay comfortable. Hosts on hand if needed were very helpful. Would thoroughly recommend this place to stay. Quiet and remote ideal for rest and relaxation.



Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to get away from it all and enjoy beautiful, peaceful surroundings then this is the ideal place. The Barn is comfortable and has all the necessary basics, including some which aren’t often provided when self catering - washing up liquid! The owner is on hand with maps, advice and info if needed but never intrusive. It really is a get away from it, so be prepared for driving on single track roads ( but so quiet you’ll hardly ever meet someone going in the opposite direction and there are plenty of passing places) and internet access is via satellite so limited to browsing during the day and downloading at night but there is mobile phone coverage depending on your provider. This is the type of place to choose though if you want some time to relax, read a book, watch the sheep and birds and really wind down. Lovely walks from the cottage take you up for views of the loch, or go down to shore. There is plenty to do and see in the wider area, we stayed for a week but could easily have spent longer.
This was one of my favourite holidays and I would love to go back one day. The squirrels can be elusive and I didn’t mange to see one...




Two weeks of relaxation and resting in a beautiful scenic area of Scotland.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had two staying in the Barn which was what we both needed to relax and recharge our batteries. Catriona and Martin are very welcoming and there if you need anything but not intrusive. They were really helpful in recommending things to do locally and within Argyll. The weather was mixed but this did not distract from the holidays. Even the midges were not too bad. My husband Colin had a successful few days fishing at the Loch side as well. The Barn had everything you needed for a comfortable stay and provided all utensils etc you would need in a self-catering holiday. The Barn was very clean and well maintained and a new kitchen had been fitted since our last visit. This was our 5th holiday at the Barn and will definetly be going back.



Lovely place and surronding

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at this cottage. Host was very kind. Cottage is equipped with everything you need for your stay. It is so quiet at night, we had a best sleep there. I would prefer a sofa in the living area rather than the armchairs, but it could be just me. Scenery is amazing, just loved it here.



Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing break in the most idyllic location. A nature lovers retreat which would be hard to beat! Everything you need as the cottage was well equipped, well maintained cosy and warm!



Awesome at Loch Awe

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn was spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed, a nice bathroom with a good shower, well equipped kitchen and the most amazing views from a nice seating area looking right over the Loch.
The 10mile single track road seemed daunting for the first couple of days but soon got used to it and hardly ever met a car. The views along the road were great with the Loch on one side and lovely bluebell covered woodland on the other. Lots of places to visit in the area. Castles, lovely gardens and canal walks to name a few.




Blarghour Farm Holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday at Blarghour Farm. The Barn in which we stayed was lovely and clean, warm and cosy, lovely walks peaceful and relaxing.



Summer holiday stay at Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2 week stay at the Barn was excellent and totally helped us to relax and really benefit from the holiday and down time.
The weather was excellent which is a real bonus in Scotland. Regardless of the weather this setting was so peaceful and relaxing ideal for a quiet holiday in midst of beautiful scenery.
Catriona and Martin were around if we needed anything but not intrusive in any way.
It is close to exploring other areas of Argyll and easy access to Oban for ferries to the islands of Mull and Iona. Oban is a town with lots of good resturants and shops for gifts and supplies.
They gave us advice on where to visit that was new for us and their recommendation was really good if you like seafood which I love.
This our 5th year in a row spending time at the Barn and all intentions of going back next year.




Loch Awe

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for visiting local places of interest including the Crinan Canal,Kilmartin Glen & Inveraray. Views of Loch Awe from the farm & the single carriageway road (with passing places) were superb.



Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy and clean everything you need helpful hosts walking fishing and nature all nearby very peacefull



Escape from the crowds! Just what we were looking for!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a year of working and selling our house we wanted 'an away from it all' break and blarghour barn cottage was perfect.
We stayed for 7 nights and upon arrival the barn was lovely and warm.
Coming to Scotland for new year was on my husbands bucket list ie to celebrate hogmony in bonny Scotland. Tick.
The barn cottage is ideally placed for walks and observing the varying types of wildlife that frequent the area.
On our first day we had snow so we ventured through a forest area close to the barn. We saw numerous birds and 5 roe deer.
The owners of the barn lived in the adjacent/attached building and were very helpful if we ever needed anything.
The only problem we had that it rained for 6 of our 7 days but other than that we had a lovely time in a beautiful part of Scotland. We did use the barn as a base and travelled out a lot to Oban and fort William plus a couple of local interests.
I would highly recommend the barn as a place to stay if you love peace and tranquility.




Lovely place. Lovely location!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very secluded.
10 miles single track road! Takes half an hour from main road. 1 hour from Inveraray.
The barn is facing away from the loch. (Which is a bit of a shame).
Excellent place.... Well maintained. Nice hosts.




Blarghour farm cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our holiday at the barn: local environment and scenery excellent, the accommodation was of a high standard and good base to explore the highlands and Scottish highlands.



Blarghour farm cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved my stay would definitely come back. Accommodation was lovely and in a beautiful location. Scenery and wildlife was amazing.



Lovely relaxing week in the Highlands

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week and are looking forward to our xmas stay ,lovely people , might be a bit remote for some but we loved it



Relaxing, refreshing holiday in a beautiful area of Scotland

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn was a comfortable cottage with plenty space for 2 people and Catriona helped us settle in. We enjoyed a good walk and an ice cream by Crinan Canal and Inveraray was a nice place to wander after a visit to the Castle. The highlight was a boat trip with Turus Mara to Fingals Cave and then to the Treshnish Isles to see the puffins - amazing.



A Scottish Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the accommodation very good, plenty of walks nearby and everything you could need in the kitchen area. The owners were very helpful and friendly as were the two dogs.



Lovely spot, comfortable accommodation...

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beyond expectations, wonderful setting, comfortable accommodation, fully equipped. Wonderful relaxing environment. Helpful, thoughtful owners made us feel very welcome, can't recommend the place too highly!



Calm down at Blarghour Farm

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We discovered a modern but very lovely renovates cottage to spend one week.
The landscape is just fantastic right on the shore of Loch Awe. The single track road along Loch Awe is a kind of adventure you have to go through, but you can calm down afterwards. For us it was the perfect place to be.
Thanks to Catriona for her hospitality. We will shurely recommend Blarghour Farm and "The Barn".




Quiet break

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely area and good for wildlife and walking. Quite remote so perfect if you want to get away for a quiet holiday



Peaceful and Restful

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at 'The Barn' the property is lovely and clean and warm, plenty of hot water, and a comfortable bed. We enjoyed seeing the sheep population increase while we were there, some lovely walks around and about. Catriona made us feel very welcome. We were able to visit Oban, Fort William, The Falls of Dochart, and not forgetting Kilmartin museum which we found very interesting.



4th Annual Visit to Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this self catering let on the internet 4 years ago and have been going each year since. It's a beautiful location regardless of the weather but wonderful when the sun shines. It's excellent location for walking, fishing and exploring local attractions in Argyll. The owners are friendly but not intrusive and ever helpful if needed. We have found the Barn an ideal place to go and relax and unwind from hectic working day lives. The Barn is very well maintained, has all the amenities required for self catering holiday for 2 and we are already planning 2018.



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful surroundings. Plenty of wildlife to see. The accommodation was modern, comfortable and warm. Ideal location to see the area.



A superb short break

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb short break great location great accommodation great value great fishing walks and wildlife thanks