FB Twitter

Swallow's Nest

Swallow's Nest

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 54 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Swallow's Nest is a unique 2-man strawbale cabin built out of barley straw from the farm, local clay and lime plaster finished in natural clay paints with a sedum roof. This bright and inviting cabin sleeps 2 people and a baby cot and has cosy furnishings including a large double bed with uninterrupted views across farmland and woods beyond. The cabin has an electric stove for heating and electric lights and sockets, but no WiFi. WiFi can be accessed 24/7 in our reception area.

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the time we arrived every thing was perfect Carina went through everything with us staff were so helpful even talking to the farm manager so friendly swallows nest so cool to stay in cosey clean and warm. A big double bed electric stove kettle etc perfect views. Could not get any better place to stay highly recommended I will b back

Willie from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in October 2020


The perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The huge selling point for swallows nest is the private toilet and shower cabin, a quite garden and balcony away from the rest of the park. You really do feel in your own little bubble which is exactly what we wanted. Swallows nest was clean and had a beautiful rustic charm, it was simple but had everything you need, kettle, toaster, fridge right down to a hot water bottle which we didn't need as the cabin was so warm and cosy. There isn't much in walking distance except a few lovely walks by the boyne and through the farm. Fab restaurant a five minute drive away and newgrange ect only a short drive. Definitely will be staying away. ( Bonus points for how well organized it was during covid 19. You could spend your whole stay and not come into contact with a single person if you didn't want to)

Guest from Rochfortbridge stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in September 2020


A cosy trip with really nice pizza and hot tub

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The area is really nice, the staff are helpful. Once you get over the insects, the place is very comfortable. Hot tub was pure luxury and the pizza was amazing. I wish I had some more information before I got there about what would be provided but kitchen was fully operational. Fridge in room and bbq outside.

Guest from Knocklyon stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in August 2020


A great spot!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for two nights and it was absolutely fantastic. The room has everything you would need, all spotlessly clean and bed was very comfortable. We were lucky to have beautiful weather during our stay and got to enjoy plenty of time in the outdoor space. The garden in front of the cottage is very private and gets the sunshine all day. It even had a very handy BBQ to enjoy. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Communal facilities over in Le Shack were also very useful. We had ordered a pizza pack during booking and it was delicious and great fun to prepare and use the pizza oven. Couldn't recommend this place enough! Was a pleasure to stay.

John from Greenisland stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in August 2020


Cosy Hut in a Beautiful Area

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay in the Swallows Nest on Rock Farm Slane. Everyone was very welcoming while paying close attention to the COVID regulations. Our hut was very comfortable with a little deck to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening that kept us protected even when it rained. The farm lead to a pretty walk along the river to Slane which overlooks the castle. A great stay for all ages - perfect for couples amd families.

Kate from Dublin 8 stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in August 2020


A very relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend in Swallow's nest. The weather was fantastic, but if it had been raining, the communal facilities would have suited us well. The bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. The peace and quiet was just what was needed. We walked into Slane along the river bank and got some lovely pastries and a lovely lunch at the local hotel. The hot tub was brillliant, soaking away our worries whilst taking in the beautiful views.

Ruth from Skerries stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in August 2020


Refreshing getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the swallows nest at Rock farm for a little getaway, the accommodation is lovely, very cosy and the room is equipped with everything you need. I would love to return here in the summer as March isn't ideal for campfires or lounging around late at night but nevertheless our stay was enjoyable and we had no hassle at all. Very relaxing and cosy! Thank you for everything



Louise from Dublin 15 stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in February 2021


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent relaxing and comfortable stay at the Swallow's Nest in an excellent quiet spot however ideally located for attractions such as Newgrange and Slane Castle/Distillery.

Niamh from Passage West stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in March 2020


We had a lovely night. Fantastic swallows

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely night. Fantastic swallows. I loved being so close to nature with all the convenience of a hotel room

Helen from Dublin stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in August 2019


Fantastic stay at rock farm

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Swallows Nest. It was like a small house with just a bedroom, with some tea and coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and some small drawers. When we arrived the heater had been left on for us so it was nice and warm and cosy despite being freezing outside, which was a nice touch. The place also smelled amazing and was very relaxing! The private bathroom with shower and toilet was just a few metres away in a separate cabin. It was quite cold but to be expected given the weather and it was nice to have these facilities so close. We paid for breakfast for 1 day, this was found in the communal area kitchen and was really tasty - sausages, bacon, eggs, white and black pudding, wheaten bread, butter, orange juice and milk, and the kitchen also had various condiments for free use. Once you've cooked breakfast you just wash up your plates etc at the sink outside. The farm itself is beautiful and is nice to walk around. There is a big swing which I thought was really cute just beside the communal area, and the hot tub can be found round there too although we did not use it as it was very cold outside and also quite a walk from our cabin. Carina was extremely hospitable and helpful in providing directions to the farm and answering any questions we had. The location is also really handy for driving round boyne Valley and other sites of interest, and is only a couple of mins drive from the main street in Slane which has a few pubs and a hotel, shop and restaurant. I would definitely return to rock farm and stay in Swallows Nest again, the only faults I would mention are that the door of our cabin did not lock. We never mentioned this as the cabin was quite isolated anyway so we weren't worried. Also I feel a map on entry to the farm would be handy as it took us quite a while to find the communal area, but apart from this we absolutely loved it! Great place to go for a relaxing couple of days away.

Claire from Belfast stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in January 2019


Unique, delightful stay in the Swallow's Nest

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely, relaxing sleep in the Swallow's nest. Cosy and warm, it was really something different to stay in a straw bale building, i'd recommend it!

Rachel from Carlow stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in October 2018


Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful retreat to get away from it all. Has all the facilities needed to enjoy a relaxing and comfortable stay. Looking forward to my next visit.

Guest from Carrickfergus stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in September 2018


A magical weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A large group of us spent the weekend at the Rock Farm and it was everything we hoped it would be. The setting was stunning, the staff were friendly and helpful and the accommodation was clean, comfortable and cozy. The Swallow’s Nest has its own deck and garden which looks out on a natural swimming pool. It has a private bathroom next door and is close to the Lime House. Keep an eye out for the army of pheasants that hang out in the bushes! Highly recommended.

Fiona from Dublin stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in August 2018


Perfect wedding nest

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My now husband and I stayed here for the days around our wedding which we celebrated at Rock Farm. It is a very cute room with a terrace at the front to stay in. We loved having our own, quiet space with a beautiful view and within 2 mins walk of all the action.

It's the ultimate glamping experience.


Rosalind from Dublin stayed at Swallow's Nest for 4 nights in July 2018


Really looking forward to returning soon.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner as a getaway for both our birthdays. Was very surprised to find such a gem of a location so close to our own home here in Drogheda.
Although I ordered a breakfast pack for the morning of our checkout and never received it I am still very happy with my stay as everything else was perfect, would highly recommended to any couples looking for a quiet weekend to reconnect.


Rachel from Drogheda stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in July 2018


Nice, clean cosy spot

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and tidy spot. Very cosy little room. The bathroom is spotless but it is in a separate little cabin right beside the bedroom. This isn't a problem in summer but might be a bit chilly in the winter. Lovely spot and helpful staff.

Dan from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in July 2018


Wedding couple's dream house

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Swallow's Nest for 3 nights over our wedding weekend. It was perfect for us because it gave us some privacy away from all our other guests. It's very comfy inside but a bit less roomy then you'd think from the outside. The days were so sunny and warm but the nights were chilly outside so it was fantastic that the Swallow's nest keeps the heat I think due to its hay insulation. We had little french presses and prosecco glasses which was a nice little detail. The view from the deck area is glorious. You can see the pond and the whole farm basically. That the bathroom is detached from the house is just annoying when you need it at night but really not too bad at all. The shower is great and we like the composting toilet concept.

Annette from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in June 2018


Will be back soon!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely brilliant, staff are great, very friendly (including the farm dogs!). Farm was cosy and calm. Hot tubs are amazing. Already planning when we can come back!

Laura from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in June 2018


A really restful night

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really appreciated the area in which the location is. Having a communal kitchen made us meet up with other travelers and it was a very good thing. Lots of nice and interesting travellers. We loved it. The bed was too soft for our taste and the night we spent tossing and turning, but someone else might enjoy it this way. Anyway, great place to stay and walk around.

Gilles from Blainville stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in May 2018


One night only

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay. Lots to do in this area. Wish we had more time to stay a few days. Staff very helpful.

Peter from Adelaide stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in April 2018


Great 1st glamping experience!

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and well-heated cabin. Separate bathroom/shower in a building right next door. Had a very good time getting some much needed rest and relaxation.

Kaitlyn from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in April 2018


Fantastic Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a hen weekend at the start of April. We booked out all of the Yurts, al the shepherds huts and also the shallow nest. My mother and her friend stayed in the Shallow's nest. The place was lovely and very comfortable and had a toilet and shower right next door. The only draw back with this accommodation was that it was a little bit of a walk from the main glamping area on an uneven road which was very dark at night so you would not have walked it on your own.
All of the accommodation was fantastic and exactly as described. We could not have been more comfortable for the weekend. We were lovely and cosy each night with plenty of room. The communal space is perfect, with plenty of room to sit and chat and have food. The breakfast packs are huge with everything you could ever want. We had a hosted BBQ on the Saturday night which was delicious and again loads of food. We made use of the hot tub which is also a fantastic addition to our stay.
If you are looking for something different this is the place to go. With fantastic communication, spectacular views, amazing food and a comfortable stay there is really nothing else you could want. Would highly recommend it to anyone.


Leah from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in April 2018


Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place to stay, great get away from the world for a couple of days. The hot tub was amazing, would definitely go back.

Guest from Derrygonnelly stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in February 2018


Amazing experience

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farm is incredible. You have a jacuzzi, a warm kitchen, the animals, lot of activities to do.
Carina was a lovely host and I recommend the experience.


Sara from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in February 2018


An alternative place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At Rock Farm, I have now stayed in a Yurt, the Eco-Lime House, small Shepherds Hut and Swallows Nest . The showers & compost toilets are clean/decent facilities for all the types of accommodation. Le Shack is a really good kitchen/dining place for self-catering. Hot tub experience was great, on a cold night just as it was getting dark, it was lovely. Rock farm is an alternative place to stay for a weeks holiday, overnight on way to Dublin port, or to break the long drive from North to South of Ireland. The Staff are super-friendly and helpful. It’s also a dog friendly place.

Julia from Ballycastle stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in February 2018


Clean, cosy and friendly with the perfect amount of weird.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is great! We only wish could have stayed longer, already planning our next visit. Carina and Lucca and all the other Rock Farmers we met were really helpful and chill and just our kind of people. The cabin is gorgeous and so warm and cosy on a wet rainy Autumn night. Gorgeous hot shower next door (and really clean). The views were beautiful! There is local produce for sale in the reception, we bought some delicious rock farm eggs, straight from the coop. Clearly very happy hens popping those out. We've already recommended this place to our friends and can't wait to come back for a longer stay! x

Catherine from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in October 2017


Excelkent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Friendly staff.
Warm and comfy.
Loved the cabin and wish we could've stayed longer!
Unfortunately not enough time to see other facilities
We had a lovely time.


Carol from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in October 2017


Everything I expected...and more!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay on Rock Farm was amazing...the cabin was incredibly comfortable, warm and cozy with great views across the natural swimming pool and fields. I came here to take some down time and really couldn't have asked for more. Carina and her staff were really helpful and went above and beyond to make sure i had everything I needed. The animals are all accessible to pet - pigs, cows, horses and a dog...I was in heaven! They live their Eco principals throughout the farm using rainwater, composting toilets etc which is impressive! Everywhere was really clean and the wood burning hot tub was great! I will 100% be returning to Rock Farm for a longer stay!!!

Rachel from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in September 2017


magical

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
i had a magical stay at swallows nest in slane. little straw bale house with cozy bed & unique bathroom shed. great communication with host carina. when i had a problem with the electrics someone was send immediately. i can highly recommend this magical place



Sofia from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in September 2017


Swallows Nest

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed Swallow's Nest! It was so clean and cosy, and private!

The wood-burning hot tub was a great feature also!

Really relaxing experience!


Aisling from Kilkenny stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in August 2017


A absolutely wonderful and caring stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend Patrick actually stayed in my place, but he wanted to make sure I communicated just how much he appreciated the thoughtfulness of the Rock Farm staff and their caring attitude. He also loved the room he was staying in, and thought the camp as a whole was very cool.

Both of us would not hesitate for a moment to recommend.


Brian from Potomac stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in July 2017


Great place for quiet getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This eco farm is ideal for someone who has had it up to here with everyday life and needs to get away for a while to reset

Kaya from Tramore stayed at Swallow's Nest for 4 nights in July 2017


Friday 7th October - 9th October

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a great trip, and the accommodation was what we expected.
Only area for improvement is the shower - it wasn't working properly and the temperature control needs attention.


Guest from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in October 2016


Relaxing country holiday spot

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely time at Rock Farm. It is a very peaceful and beautiful piece of land just on the River Boyne. We went for lots of walks and loved the Pheasants that were everywhere! We stayed in a little hut they call Swallows Nest, which is removed from the main campsite. It was very private and quiet - which is exactly what we wanted - but is a bit awkward to get to the communal kitchen and social facilities. Will definitely be going back again.

Kathleen from Clonsilla stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in September 2016


Weekend in the Swallows Nest

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were warmly welcomed on arrival and given a comprehensive summary of the site and amenities. The Swallows Nest was very comfortable and peaceful and was the perfect spot to get away from it all! Would certainly recommend it to friends.

Joseph from Wicklow stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in August 2016


Loved it

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved every minute of our stay here, great location, felt very safe with kids, hosted BBQ were great. Highlight for us all was the hot tub! Thank you, we'll see you again !

One Parent Family from Kilkishen stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in August 2016


Rock Farm Slane

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The place was picturesque and lovely. The horses and animals were a big plus. We broke a wheel of our baby trolley/buggy and the RFS owner helped us out.

Kia-Frega Tyynismaa from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 4 nights in July 2016


Country getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallow's Nest is cosy and comfortable, lovely for a country getaway. A little away from the other guest accommodation. Nice view of the land and the swimming lake. Staff were courteous and helpful. We will return.

Paula from Sandymount stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in July 2016


Lovely stay at Swallow nest

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I came to Swallows nest to have a break from the hustle and bustle of the city and that is what I got! The natural pool was a real highlight and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to going back...soon I hope!

Emer from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in July 2016


Beautiful place

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful place to stay if you enjoy the outdoors but camping isn't right for you. The location is fantastic, right by an outdoor swimming lake, and you still get involved with the communal life of the camp as you eat in the shared areas. It's a beautiful place.

Rowland from London stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in July 2016


Great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallow nest is in a quiet location away from the main complex.If you are going with a group , it would be nicer to stay closer to the others but if you want some peace & quiet,the best place to stay.It us great to have your own shower & toilet.
Everything was clean and I loved the extra touch with fresh flowers!
Staff is very friendly and always on hand and nothing is too much trouble.
Definitely will stay there again!


One Parent Family from Kilkishen stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in July 2016


Wonderful camping site

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Instead of staying in a Bnb the experience was beautiful. I wanted to book a quiet place but still to have some chance to meet people. The swallow's nest is exact match. A hen took place on the nights I stayed at the camping but because the accomodation is a bit outside of the communal facilities, I didn"t hear a sound. All I enjoyed was the songs of the birds, the sight of a faisan and a hare passing by the bedroom. I liked changing my habits by discovering dry toilets and the need to wear my boots to go back to by bedroom. It adds a bit of originality to a traditional hotel room. Even if I had to put a coat and shoes to go to my private bathroom which is in a shed just outside the bedroom, I thought it was magic. The bed was really good and the sheets really clean. You don't have to go the communal kitchen to drink a tea or coffee, a kettle and some teabags and coffee is offered in the bedroom. What really made a difference was to share the open clay, the kitchen and the hottub. In two days we had a nice bond and having our meals together and chatting. Thanks to the staff who was sweet.

Marie from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in June 2016


Swallows nest

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cabin on a lovely farm setting. Only in their third year in business, this place can only get better. Situated across the river from Slane castle. Staff and service well above par!

Conor from Ardara stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in April 2016


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Stag

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant venue. Very accommodating for a stag when other places were not. Hot tub was brilliant. Overall I couldn't get over how clean the place was & how welcoming all the staff were.

Guest from Ballinrobe stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in April 2016


Truly romantic and cosy love nest.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really wonderful place to stay. It is in an extremely beautiful spot and close to the amenities of the campsite and yet also private and tucked away from the other accommodation. I have never stayed in a straw hut before and was very impressed with the comfort and unusual warmth. It did take a while to heat up with the electric heater but then retained the heat nicely. A small touch might be for the hosts to turn the heater on in advance of winter guests arriving. A winter weight duvet would complete perfection although I had brought a sleeping bag in case it was colder than predicted.

Rosie from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in October 2015


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review Rosie. We always welcome feedback and we thank you for your point about having the heater on before guests arrive which is something we will do in future especially as the Swallow's Nest is opened throughout Winter. We have changed the the duvet for a heavier one for the coming Winter with extra blankets also. Kind Regards Rock Farm Team

Fantastic

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Rock Farm, from start to finish the staff were so friendly. The location was lovely. The accommodation was top class, the bed was extremely comfortable and they had literallypprovided everything you could possibly need. Will definitely be back.

Mary from Clonmel stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in August 2015


Great first time glamping experience!!

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Rock farm during our 2 night stay. Facilities were brilliant and staff were so helpful. We would definitely recommend and it would be nice to go back with a group of friends.

Fionnuala from Ballygarrett stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in July 2015


Glamping in Slane

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful site near the river Boyne, very helpful and friendly staff, very comfy accommodation and lots of great attention to detail. Fab place- thank you!!

Sarah from Itton stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in August 2015


swallow nest

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Swallow's nest was very nice and quite comfortable and pretty. Unfortunately the cups had never been cleaned from the previous people who had stayed there and the sheet over the mattress kept coming off and there was no mattress protector over it. So we basically had to sleep on the bare mattress which we discovered had blood stains and dirt on it. This kind of ruined the whole experience for us and was quite disappointing. The toilet outside was very full from the previous people who had used it so was hard to clean after use and I spent a lot of time trying to clean it. I loved the little swallow's nest. If it had been cleaner, it would have been perfect.

Aisling from Donabate stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in July 2015


Carina Mount Charles replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. I’m so sorry that you found Swallow’s Nest in such poor conditions. I was not aware of the uncleanliness, so thank you for bringing this to my attention. We have recently changed cleaning companies and this must have been overlooked by both them and my office. For which I apologise. We would have been able to give it all a good clean had we known about the problem when you found it. It would not have taken long to remedy. I hope the rest of your party’s accommodation was in good order and I’m sorry that it was you that suffered the worst. Best regards, Carina

1 night couple get away

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall great stay with our own barbecue/nice location far from the busy city.
Cleanliness was not at the very best/dusty kettle/cups/spoons however we will definitely recommend others for this experience.


Guest from Swords Co Dublin stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in July 2015


Rock Farm Review

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in Swallows Nest and it was perfect, the room was clean and tidy and the location was very peaceful. I was very happy with the experience and would reccomend Rock Farm to my friends.

Guest from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in June 2015


Very romantic and confortable

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Dec 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great opportunity to stay and try the confort of an ecological strawbale building.
Beautiful landscape.


Guest from 1749-024 stayed at Swallow's Nest for 3 nights in December 2014


Swallows nest

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallows nest was great , my only complaint ( which wouldn't be a complaint really!) is that we had booked the campsite as one party and swallows nest was quite apart from the rest of the group.

Guest from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 1 nights in October 2014


Our stay at Rock Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Rock Farm was amazing right from the start. A friendly and warm welcome was received upon arrival, the staff are great, the accomdation was perfect and the surrounding landscape just stunning. I would highly recommend a stay at this unique location.

Noel from stayed at Swallow's Nest for 2 nights in October 2014