FB Twitter

La Grand Tente

La Grand Tente

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
73% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.5
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.7
Location
4.7
Value
3.5
Customer
Service
4.3


One of our larger bell tents sleeping up to 6 people in single mattresses with option of 2 double mattresses. Our bell tents are carpeted and furnished with mattresses, linen and fresh towels.Located in our OLDTOWN FIELD and offered as part of our BELL TENT VILLAGE

Great location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location, great check in and lovely staff unfortunately that was undermined by the state of the bell tent. The outside was completely covered in black mold! Not a pleasant sight or smell. The "camping" side also felt slight segregated from the "glamping" side of the site. The area is stunning and the shower facilities great just a shame the tent itself wasn't up to standard.

Guest from Maghera stayed at La Grand Tente for 3 nights in August 2019


Domitille replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Cathy, Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to read that the Grande Tente was not up to standard during your stay. There was a lot of rain over the past weeks that have impacted a lot the inside of two of our tents, including the one you stayed in on the 12th of August. Should we have been made aware of this during your stay, we would have offered you to stay in another accommodation onsite. I can only apologise that the tent was not in perfect conditions. We were only made aware of this issue early last week and we have now replaced La Grande Tente and the other one concerned. We hope to have the chance to host you again in Rock Farm Slane, Kind regards, The Rock Farm Slane Team

Best time ever

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location was fantastic and the staff at rock farm could not do enough for you. No matter what we asked for the staff did everything the possible could for you. The glamping is what we did for a stag party and it was brilliant with the campfires, hot tubs, kitchen, bqq etc. Activities available were first class. I could go on about it but i would highly recommend Rock farm slane for a weekend break or for group parties.

Patrick from stayed at La Grand Tente for 2 nights in July 2019


We will be back!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing experience everything was perfect. Friendly welcome. Bell tente was perfect for us 3. Facilities second to none. Our only issue was that we only booked one night instead of 2 so already planning our trip back but for two nights! Thanks for the great stay.

Katie from stayed at La Grand Tente for 1 nights in July 2019


Expensive and rude welcome

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
2 of my friends decided not to stay with me because there were so many spiders in the tent. When I arrived, I was "yelled" at for following the signs and driving to the "Glamping" area. In the end, it was great to stay near the wedding, but the facilities were ny worth the cost.

Guest from Dublin stayed at La Grand Tente for 2 nights in July 2018


Carina Conyngham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Anna for taking time to review your stay in La Grande Tente. We apologise for the rude reception you received upon arrival. We were trying to keep the Glamping area clear and unmarked for the wedding next day, but it was not an acceptable reception and I sincerely apologise for any offence caused. I appreciated you taking the time to speak to me on the telephone today and going through your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding and I will ensure that information on which type of Glamping accommodation wedding guests are booking is made more clear in the future.

One night stay in Bell Tent

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed one night in a bell tent, 2 adults 3 kids (3,2 & 8 months ) . Staff were excellent, good facilities. Tent was comfortable but could have done with a hoover out. Kitchen and bathrooms could do with a bit of a clean also. I would suggest a toilet closer to the tent area especially for night time trips to the loo. Really enjoyed our stay.

Guest from Athlone stayed at La Grand Tente for 1 nights in August 2017


Very good highly recommended

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time in Rock Farm was so relaxing and much needed to recharge the batteries of city life whether it be chilling outside the tent or in the hot tub which was so nice.Maybe the only thing is they should maybe add a big slide somewhere for the kids but saying that my 4 yr old made friends and was always busy and we finished each day with toasted marhmallows around the camp fire.I will be definately coming back

Paul from Ballybrack stayed at La Grand Tente for 2 nights in August 2017


False advertising

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
1.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Le Grande tent was not what was on the website we had a much smaller tent. The toilets were flithy..

Caitriona from Ballincollig Co.cork stayed at La Grand Tente for 2 nights in August 2017


3-night break in August

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a big group of single parents with offspring and our stay was fabulous. Our tent was very cosy and comfortable, perfect for one adult and two kids, with lovely fairy lights and a gas heater which we didn't need. La Grand Tent had a few leaks - discovered on a very rainy night - but they didn't cause any harm, and I was told they will be fixed. All in all our experience in Rock Farm was excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff, clean facilities, loads of space for kids to run around.

One Parent Family from Kilkishen stayed at La Grand Tente for 3 nights in August 2016


Overall a great break away in a lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rock Farm is a a amazing place. We loved the animals, the tree climbing and the peaceful location.
So many things have been thought about to make for a great stay and a sociable time with other glampers. It's great for kids unless there is a big party there in the the family area. This was only for one night thankfully.
The main issue was that our tent looked great but was not really suitable for all the heavy rain we experienced. It did leak around the edges and, without a lining, there is a constant dampness, wet bedding, clothes, towels... Just everything. There is a gas heater but this cannot be left on to combat the damp.
So, the weather was our greatest problem and the tent wasn't quite up for protecting us against it.
The only other thing I would suggest is to provide or take some stickers to label any food you can't fit on your shelf. It goes missing quickly!!!
The breakfast and pizza packs were great as was using the pizza oven. All the staff and the helpers were great and we would so recommend a tree climb too.
Even with horrible weather, it made for an experience that made for great family memories.
Below I am going to say that I wouldn't recommend this property to others... This means I wouldn't suggest a tent unless they are repaired and improved somehow. I may try one of the yurts though..


Guest from Dronfield stayed at La Grand Tente for 4 nights in August 2016


A lovely little camping trip

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay at Rock Farm. Ideal place to bring children and relax for a few days. The tent we stayed in was very comfortable and cosy. The communal area with kitchen, showers etc was ideal and had everything we needed. Would highly recommend a visit here.

Elaine from Ashtown stayed at La Grand Tente for 2 nights in July 2016


June bank holiday weekend glamping

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most fabulous weekend at Rock farm June bank holiday. The sun played a huge part as did the location, facilities and the superb staff at the glampsite. Highlights include the loop walk, paddling in the river, making our own pizzas from the pizza pack to cook in the outdoor pizza oven, visiting the pigs and horses every day, toasting marshmallows and an outing to George's patisserie in Slane. The facilities are fantastic - you don't need to leave the site at all. The cleaning staff, the office staff and the owners are so friendly and make the stay what it is.

The only minor flaw is they haven't quite nailed hosting a large party and smaller groups like families at the same time. It's a learning curve and they've almost got it. The tent was roomy for 5 of us and it comfortably fit the travel cot. The tent did get cool at night so bring layers and they're a little further from the toilets than the yurts, but that wasn't a problem for us.

My 3 children didn't want to leave!!! Neither did the grown ups!


Mary from Dublin 9 stayed at La Grand Tente for 2 nights in June 2016