FB Twitter

Ash - Yurt

Ash - Yurt

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 66 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Sleeping from 2 to 4 people in 1 Double Bed and 1 day (twin) bed, this sand-coloured 16ft yurt is located in its own dell closest to Le Shack (the communal area). Take a look around here

Yurt, toilets, showers and kitchen were all filthy. Would not go back

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
1.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
The place was filthy.
The yurt has a bad smell and was full of dust, candle wax all over the carpet and dressers.
Dead flies and dirt in the drawers where the extra pillows and blankets were.
Pulled back the bed covers to find a dead bee.

Toilets were appalling, they were dirty and the smell was horrendous. Spiders and woodlice everywhere.

Showers were filthy with first and windows were left open all through the day and night so there was flies and daddy long legs flying into your face while trying to shower.

Kitchen was dirty, mouse trap and rat poison behind the fridge. Boxes were left with plates/cutlery/towels for each yurt. The plates in the box still had food marks in them and there was dirty water in the box so the towels and cloths were wet.

There was no information given about the hot tub or campfire and when I sent an email about it, I got no response.

Overall it was a horrible experience as we didn’t even feel comfortable sleeping in the bed because the place was so dirty.

Paid €203 to stay in a place that wasn’t maintained or cleaned at all. A total rip off. Would not stay again or recommend.


Jamie from Limerick stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2020


Carina Conyngham replied 69 days ago
Thank you for your open and honest review of the property. In line with the new Covid-19 protocols we are cleaning the communal facilities twice a day and have records to show that this was done during your stay. As such we ask that all guests clear up after themselves. However this does not always happen. In such cases we provide a mobile number to call us and let us know that an area or property needs our attention. I don't have any record of such a call being made in your case. Many of the issues you have listed here could have been dealt with quickly and easily including removing insects from the yurts or showers. We have a professional rodent control system which includes traps and non-toxic poison so that we don't have any rodent problems in the communal spaces. Once booked, the hot tubs are provided with a hot fill of water ready for the start time. Again you can always call the mobile number on your booking or come to reception to request further assistance. I wonder why you stayed the two nights without drawing our attention to any of the issues you have listed.

Brilliant time

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for two days and loved it, the walks were lovely, fire pit, jaccuzi and communal areas really nice too. Would definitely recommend

Gerard from Drogheda stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in July 2020


Incredible Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was provided for you and all the staff were so welcoming and helpful.
The Yurt was very clean and fully stocked with everything needed.


Saida from Dublin stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in July 2020


Great way to camp

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved the experience. A yurt is a great way to camp. Unfortunately we had wet weather which made it difficult walking through the grass. We needed gum boots. However the setting was beautiful. Very relaxing.

Maria from Charlestown stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in September 2019


Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time here. It was my lil boys 1st time glamping and he loved it. The area was beautiful and peaceful. Our yurt was fab, nice n clean n the bed was really comfy. Highly recommend

Linda from Carrick On Shannon stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in August 2019


Cosy and wonderful glamping

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in the ash yurt. Everything was nearby(toilet, bathroom, shared kitchen)
It is so nice to stay out in the beautiful nature (with luxery of the hottub and tree swing) and have everything that you need ready when you arrive (incl heater in yurt)
The staff is so kind and we felt welcome from the start, they were 24 hours there for us when we needed it.
One thing you need to be able to handle is bugs in your yurt, but that is logical when staying in nature.
The center of slane (for groceries) is nearby.
We would recommend staying at rock farm slane to everyone!


Ryan from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in August 2019


A sweet and well-located yurt

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in the Ash Yurt at Rock Farm Slane. It was cozy, clean, nicely decorated, and had useful amenities like a radiator and diverse lighting. Enjoyed the wood-burning stove, too. The yurt was close enough to the bathrooms and kitchen to be convenient, but far away enough for good privacy. Farm staff were lovely and helpful. Thanks again!

April from Brooklyn stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in May 2019


bad customer service overall frustrating

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
bad customer service, no one answering phones, poor communication, no turn down service or setting fire, no maps for walks, different passwords in every info booklet, bit of a rip off, says dog friendly but costs etra and they're not even allowed in the room


Declan from Dublin 8 stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in May 2019


Just perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We highly recommend this experience.
The yurt was very clean and the wood burner provide us heat for the place.
The hosts were totaly available to answer our question and they prepared the hot tube for us.
Furthermore, we bought some farm products for the BBQ and the breakfast, it was really delicious, thank you for this !
We look forward to come back here !


Antoine from Schiltigheim stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in April 2019


Glamping

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent customer service and lovely facilities for glamping.My children particularly loved the farm animals.

Annmarie from athlone stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in October 2018


Amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We started at the Ash yurt for just one night and it wasn’t enough! We had such a lovely time at rock farm, there are lovely walks and the town of Slane is beautiful. We also really loved the hot tub, great way to relax!

Sarah Jane from Co. Kildare stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in September 2018


The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for two nights and could have stayed for more and we will definitely be returning. It's not often that a 2 night break feels like a holiday, but this did.

The Yurt was comfortable and cosy. The facilitates were top notch. Special note for the amazing showers! Kids and adults will love the friendly pigs and horses, although the animal highlight for me was the goofy pheasants, I've never seen so many in one place in my life. We cycled, walked and kayaked (ask for Dave - the experience was brilliant, above and beyond what we expected. It was a small group, had such a laugh and were introduced to a new pasttime in a safe and fun way, brilliant way to get into nature).

Site staff were friendly as well as the other guest. Can't say enough about this place!


Eve from Lucan stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in September 2018


Fantastic Family Fun

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of 4 (kids aged 6 & 9) and we have just returned from 2 great days of glamping at Rock Farm. Our beds in the Ash Yurt were very comfy and although there is a wood burning stove in each yurt we didn’t need to use ours as it wasn’t cold enough. The showering facilities are excellent and the complementary toiletries from the Handmade Soap company made us feel squeaky clean. We did use the hot tub though it took about 4 hours to heat up the water via the wood burning stove! We had also planned to cook pizzas when we arrived but luckily I called in advance and I was advised that the pizza oven takes about an hour to fire up so we ditched that plan and ended up getting take away pizzas from Inside Out which is in Slane & the pizzas were ace. We fired up the BBQ on our 2nd night and bought a charcoal pack at the Farm which was very handy. The staff we came across were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a lovely time at Rock Farm and will definitely be going back.


Orla from Dublin 7 stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in September 2018


Great Location

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Took a gamble stopping in one of your Yurts for a few days whilst attending a local wedding. My walks back to the site from the main road each night, were a little adventurous, as it was pitch black walk via paths and several fields. Still I made it.

Although I did not really get to experience the activities on offer, the accommodation did pay off. The location was superb, the yurt was huge and very nicely done out. There was a lot more space surrounding the yurt than I realised, making privacy great. And there were far more communal facilities than I expected. The staff were helpful and friendly too. Would recommend and stay again.


Mark from Wombourne stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2018


Lovely Escape to Nature

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We absolutely loved our stay in Rock Farm. Our Yurt (Ash) was clean and cosy and the entire area was so peaceful and calming. We were close to Le Shack (shared kitchen) and the bathrooms, which provided all mod cons. I loved the soap/shower gel which had a fabulous lemon fragrance. We walked into Slane by the river and enjoyed meeting the cows, pigs and rabbits along the way and we had a fabulous afternoon kayaking. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return!

Aileen from Dun Laoghaire stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2018


john and janet at rock farm for rozzy and robbie's festival wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great venue for a fantastic wedding, with beautiful trees surrounding grass areas and an open fire .
All the facilities as described, plenty of staff to assist when required. All communal areas clean and well equipped .

Boyne Valley area has much of interest to keep everyone interested and entertained.

Close to good road and air links
recommended


John & Janet from Southhampton stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in July 2018


Relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in the Ash, so quiet and peaceful, just what we needed. We will def be going back again

Sandra from Athlone stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in June 2018


Ash yurt stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having clamped up to 5 times before I did not expect to fall in love with a place,rather just chill out with nature.
I have raved about rock farm.
It is organic and eco friendly,the farm animals live free and what a joy to see the pigs and their piglets.
Our yurt was comfy and sweet.
But I suppose what made it magical for me was getting it to ourselves(Must remember to book when schools are in).
A hot tub under the trees with just the sounds of nature.
A pizza done in the oven outside and organic produce.
My only worry would be extra tents going up...means more toilets and another couple of those wonderful hot tubs?
A tree house sounds cool too?
But i am sure rock farm..the owners and staff know how to keep us all happy.
But please keep me posted on offers and definitely when it's quiet....lovely for children yes....but also fantastic with us old hippies and our baby.....candy the dog.
Thank you.
Jacqui and Jimmy Patton....&candy woof woof


Jackie from Belfast stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in May 2018


Glamping for friends college reunion

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this place! It’s so quirky and different to your standard get away and the Staff could not have been nicer. We had such a great trip away with friends there! Highly recommend!

Gemma from Cork stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in April 2018


Excellent stay ,would recommend to everyone

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely staff
, so cost ,hard to believe it was a tent we were staying in
Thank you ,will definitely be back


Susan from Newbridge stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in April 2018


Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great weekend spent enjoying the peace, quiet and comfort on Rock Farm. Great people working there too. Would highly recommend.

Kevin from Raheny stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in November 2017


Hen Party

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had my sisters Hen Party in Rock Farm. It was brilliant, plenty of firewood to keep the stoves going in our yurts. Outdoor hot tub was fantastic. Provided us with everything we needed and the staff were really helpful. Would recommend and hope to go back again.

Sorcha from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in October 2017


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Delighted with the stay. The yurt was very nice and comfortable, we really appreciated the hot tube, the surrounding nature, will go to rock farm Slane again!

Guest from Dublin 4 stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in September 2017


Wonderfully peaceful and magical yurts

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Ash Yurts for our friends wedding which were so comfortable and beautifully decorated. From the moment we arrived, the staff were so helpful and gave us a tour of the campsite and the facilities. The campsite itself was so magical - we will definitely be back. Thank you so much!

Guest from Castledermott stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in September 2017


No glamour just camping with a bed

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Tea lights weren't fresh
No bedding changed
Had to Seek firewood
Place could do with a hover
kitchen ok no oil not the cleanest pans cutlery

Not much to do for kids only one swing
Was let down with the abailibity of the tree climbing.

Shower facility was good.
Pizza oven nice but seen rats at it. I know it backs to a forest so can be expected. Beautiful location and love the bio friendly stance.

Would recommend just not quite what I expected. Probably more for couples than kids.


Stephen from D13 stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in August 2017


What a great venue!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent an amazing day & night here at Rock Farm at my sisters wedding. Can't highlight enough how lovely the staff were, the accommodation(Ash yurt) was so comfortable & clean, the barn was transformed into an amazing set up for any large gathering or event & to top it off we had some delicious home cooked food! Not to mention plenty of great toilet & shower facilities Would highly recommend it. Thank you Rock Farm!

Clare from Rush stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in August 2017


Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, facilities were kept very clean, beds were extremely comfortable. Be sure to lite the wood burning fire, it makes all the difference at night.

Guest from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2017


Family fun

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brillant place to stay. As a family with 2 little ones we had a great time. Children were able to run and have fun. Nice relaxing area and very pleasant surroundings. Would def stay again .

Linda from Glengormley stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in July 2017


Hen party weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Rock Farm for a hen party - 12 of us and I cannot recommend Glamping more. It was fantastic from start to finish. Everything was so well organised which took away all the stress of looking after a group of 12 girls. The facilities were amazing and the yurts were fantastic - so comfortable and cosy. I will 100% be back to rock farm. :)

Katherine from Ballyclare stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in July 2017


Enjoyed stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My children and I stayed in the ash yurt. This is our second year staying at slane rock farm. We enjoyed so much last year we came back again. Great place for kids to enjoy out doors and camping with some comfort for me. Only negative I have to add is our kindling was not topped up and I had to ask for matches to light stove and batteries dead in fairy lights around yurt. Just little touches that I missed that were there last yr. Overall though great break.

Susan from Clarecastle stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in July 2017


Very enjoyable yurting

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited with my wife and 3 year old twins for 3 days/2nights and really enjoyed the yurt with its large double beds and fun wood-burning stove, the campsite with its great kitchen/bbq/pizza oven/showers & toilets, and the walks and views through the Slane estate.

Jerry from Belfast stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in July 2017


Perfect weekend getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights in one of the yurt and it was raining for most part of it. Nevertheless we enjoyed the place as it was not only clean but very pretty and cosy. The owner was very kind and waited fo our out-of-hours arrival and showed us around without being too intrusive.

We have nothing 'bad' to comment on but it's good to be aware of what they have and what they don't. It is all written in their website so none of this info is any surprise. They don't have any wifi and there is only 2 toilets on the glamping site. The shower rooms are for unisex use hence it might not be for you if you're not comfortable with opposite sex showering next to you. The kitchen (le shack) is for communal use which is rather comprehensive but no microwave. It was not a big deal for us but just so you know. Also the kitchen was 100m from our yurt (Ash) so whatever activity at night time is amplified. We had a hen party nearby us that weekend and we could hear them up talking near the kitchen area until they have to seek shelter for the rain. So if you are poor sleeper this might not be appealing to you.

The beauty of this place is beyond words. It is surrounded by their farm animals and there is a Rampart walk you could do right on the door step. The yurt is very photogenic, even pictures in their website don't do justice. If you love nature, farm and animals you would love it here. We have no regrets coming despite the weather and would recommend to everyone!


Sophia from Dublin 2 stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in May 2017


A must experience holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a fantastic two nights at Rock Farm. My two boys aged 6 and 14 thoroughly loved the experience. It is usually so difficult to find something they both enjoy so this was definitely a first. The yurt was spotlessly clean and cosy. Shower blocks and kitchen area excellent also. We will most definitely be returning.

Siobhan from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in April 2017


A pleasant stay in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful surroundings with lovely views of the locality. We had a very comfortable stay in the yurt and found both the kitchen and shower facilities to be excellent. The hot tub was a nice plus after our hours of hiking around hilly Slane.

I must point out that we didn't stay in the Ash yurt which I had booked, as I think a hen party had mistakenly settled in our yurt. We stayed in the Holly yurt which was perfectly comfortable and had a lovely view of Slane castle from the deck where we ate our breakfast in the morning and watched the stars appear over a glass of wine a night.

Would definitely return and highly recommend a stay at Rock Farm.


Jill from Dublin 8 stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in April 2017


Hen weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic weekend, the most wonderful location and great facilities, I loved that it is completely eco friendly. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and made it a perfect weekend. Thank you very much!!

Davina from London stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in March 2017


A real break from the everyday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family group and stayed two nights in the Ash yurt. Upon arrival we were met by Michelle who explained all we needed to know and showed us around. Michelle was always on hand if we needed anything. The yurt itself was a fine size though when I go back I will look for the larger size. As a family and as scouts we have camped around Ireland quite often but this was our first 'glamping' experience. The beds, wood stove heaters and backup gas heater (is was a cold November few days) really made it a great experience. All the outdoor fun, building fires etc but a nice warm bed to come back to. The camp kitchen, showers etc were top class. The showers are so good I did not have to tell two boys to get in and had to tell them when to get out! Great escape and will definitely go back. Lots to do in the area.

Elaine from Rochestown stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in November 2016


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Elaine Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that the cold nights did not put you off and that you made use all that heating that we offered. Next time you return may I recommend Hazel or Oak for bigger yurts. Kind Regards Michelle

Great job

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Yurth was very nice and comfortable, bio food, ecological efforts everywhere and ambiance of the place so appropriate.

Marc Antoine from Chernex stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in October 2016


Dog friendly yurt

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really good experience, my first time staying in a yurt, its well-organised camp site with excellent facilities: eco compost toilets, hot showers, good kitchen facilities. In beautiful countryside and a dog-friendly site.

Julia from Ballycastle stayed at Ash - Yurt for 4 nights in October 2016


Would go back!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very enjoyable stay, would recommend this to families and couples looking for a different type of accomadation experience

Ben from Dublin stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in September 2016


Will return

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for weekend with my two daughters 14 and 23. We had a lovely time and the yurt was very comfortable. Loved the hot tub and the girls did the tree climbing which was fab. Facilities were great didn't like sawdust toilets cause of smell.
We will return soon


Catherine from Ardee stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in September 2016


Glamping with the kids

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would return to Rock Farm!
Unfortunately I was struck down with a bug on the first night but other than that can't complain at all!
My son is 3 and had a ball so will return next summer :)


Stephanie from Bangor stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2016


Absolutely loved our stay here. Will definitely be back :)

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The staff are lovely and very accommodating. The yurt is so cosy and comfortable. Plenty of fun activities to do on site such as the BBQ, hot tub and making our own pizzas in the wood fire oven. The food supplied was yummy. Really enjoyed renting the electric bikes to see some of the countryside, would highly recommend.

Caroline from Dublin stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2016


Family fun.

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic two night stay at rock farm slane.weather not great but we didn't care because we were cosy with our little stove in the yurt. Kids met friends and climbed tree and played football. Felt was safe area for them to explore and Mammy to relax. Children want to go back for 3 nights next year. Highly recommended


Susan from Ennis stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2016


one night of fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only stayed one night, but it was well worth it. Beautiful location, very helpful and friendly staff. We would love to come back with the rest of our family and stay longer. My kids had a wonderful night sleep in the super comfy beds and my daughter would love to get the same duvet and pillow set as she said it was like sleeping in a cloud! Highly recommend this location is you are looking for something different for your family.

Kate from Stratford stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in August 2016


Loved it

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice place in a good location, not to far from the town, very firendly staff who were extremely helpful
Would stay again
This review box does't work properly though!


Rob from Hoylake stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in July 2016


Idyllic setting, beautiful peaceful place, very good service and accomodation, true family fun

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We adored the place and the respite it offers while maintaining comfort for tired city dwellers. Great activities-our child loved the tree climbing. Very relaxing and an alternative to conventional holidays we would highly recommend. Thank you!

Agnieszka from Dublin stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in July 2016


Wonderful break for all the family

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glamping with Rock Farm, Slane was a wonderful and refreshingly affordable experience for my daughters and myself. We stayed there as part of a larger group. There were approximately 20 children and each and every one had a wonderful time. It is literally like a high quality hotel outdoors.

The children had many things to entertain them and I got fresh air and a chance to relax and enjoy myself.

I would highly recommend this as a holiday destination at home. It is so easy to find. Already I have many friends ready to book based on my snapchat story and photos.


One Parent Family from Kilkishen stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in July 2016


Ash-yurt

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the Ash yurt. The facilities at the site were excellent. The yurt was so cosy and comfortable. There was a hen party also staying when we were there but we were told about this before we arrived so we knew to expect a bit of extra noise but this did not have a negative impact on our weekend.

Edel from Leitrim stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in May 2016


Rock Farm Management replied more than 1 year ago
Hi there! Thank you so much for such a lovely review of our Ash Yurt. We endeavor to manage guest expectations when there is another large group on site and we are so glad that you experienced Rock Farm at its best, full of people enjoying the facilities! Adele Rock Farm Slane

Ash

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to Nicola and staff for all their efforts to make this an amazing experience. The compost toilets were spotless and odour free. Showers were lovely and warm and very powerful. The yurt was true luxury. It was a lovely few days spent under the stars with some lovely people. Will be back again for sure!

Gareth from Co Tipperary stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in May 2016


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay here on Rock Farm. We are glad you enjoyed our cosy yurts. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Easter break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a little hidden gem beautiful location friendly helpful staff. Fantastic place for quality family time from climbing trees to walking by the river boyne looking at the new born calve and piglets to star gazing the clear bright night sky we had an amazing time free from electronics we will definitely be visiting again

Shauna from Enniskillen stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in March 2016


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Our stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Rock farm Shane. The facilities were brilliant and the yurt was cosy and luxurious. The duvet and pillows were super comfortable. There were 4 of us inc 2 kids under 5. The first day was rain all day, but this added to the magic for us all and the 2nd day was full of sunshine. Le shack where we cooked and kept our food, is certainly much more than a shack and the system works so well. The fact it is self sufficient, recycling everything, the leave no trace policy and Eco friendly added to the beauty of this place. We were so impressed and are already planning our trip for next wear with a group of friends and all the kids. Thank you for such an amazing stay with such lovely memories.

Lee from Greystones stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2015


Amazing Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing break away! Was our first Glamping and we will definitely be going back! The Ash yurt was perfect and so cosy. We throughly enjoyed our stay at Rock Farm Slane :-)

Ayla from Waterford stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2015


Class

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fab time , loved every thing & the kids loved it all , everything was great fun & the weather also was fab , it was our 1st time Glamping so can't wait to go back :))

Yvonne from Carrickmacross stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in August 2015


Stay in Ash

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Positives;
staff could not be more helpful
Food provided was really good and tasty and very plentiful
Yurt was really comfortable, furnished thoughtfully and very cosy, especially the stove which we used on both nights
Kitchen provided everything we needed

Cons;
Signage to Rock farm could be better
Upon arrival both of our phones had died and we were unable to ring at the gate. Maybe the installation of a buzzer or intercom would help for others if in the same position
The compost toilets are in theory a good idea, however the use of them could be improved on.


Guest from Waterford stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in July 2015


Rock Farm Slane - Guest Services replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Andrea - thanks for taking the time to share your experiences here on UpFront Reviews regarding your recent stay at Rock Farm Slane. With regards to the toilets - the campsite area you were staying on is located on a protected heritage site meaning that we are unable to provide regular flushing toilets in this location. We do however have a regular flushing toilet in the farm office which guests are welcome to use - our apologies if this was not pointed out to you during your stay. Signage - we are just finishing off our landscaping work and our brand new signage will be up very soon. Intercom - we are so sorry again that John had to walk up the track. At the time of installation of the electric gates the intercom option wasn't available to us - but it is definitely something we are looking into. We look forward to welcoming yourself and John back to the farm very soon. Kind regards Rock Farm Slane

Fantastic experience in Rock Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

We had a most enjoyable two night stay in Ash Yurt 15th & 16th July.
I would like to compliment Michelle & Nicola, who made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us, especially Michelle who assisted me on my first outing on electric bike, fantastic experience.
Warning - We will be back.........Ann & James Lawlor x


Guest from Enniscorthy stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in July 2015


Hen Party at Rock Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
our stay at Rock Farm was excellent from beginning to end!
facilities were amazing, even the compost toilet was an experience
the yurts were cozy, comfortable and beautiful
kitchen facilities were fantastic, everything available for our large group of women
thank you to Nicola, Michelle & Carina


Guest from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in June 2015


3 night stay in Ash yurt in May

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really enjoyable stay at Rock Farm in one of the yurts (Ash). Staff were friendly, helpful and provided lots of useful information about the local area. The Yurt was comfortable and clean and had a fantastic wood burning stove to keep it warm. There are some lovely walks nearby along the river and the small village of Slane has nice pubs, cafes and bakeries. The shack is well stocked and a nice place for breakfast and to sit in the evening with a good book. Really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice relaxing few days in the countryside.

Guest from Nusajaya stayed at Ash - Yurt for 3 nights in April 2015


Great place, lovely team at Rock Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, book the pizza and breakfast packs would be me recommendation - Carina runs an excellent operation, lovely chilled vibe. Fab for the kids just educate them on the heat of the wood burning stoves (I wasn't used to them and melted my lantern!!) Wellies and warm pj's will ensure extra comfort. A great adventure for all ages.

Nicole from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in April 2015


Highly memorable, for all the right reasons.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I was not a particularly enthusiastic arrival but left thoroughly converted to the charms of Rock Farm.

We were a large group of several families and ranged in age from under three to fifty years older than that. The hosted barbecue was excellent, the facilities spot on and the yurt in which my family slept could not have been more inviting or comfortable. Many thanks to the team there- our group would certainly recommend it highly to any potential visitors.



Guest from Navan stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in October 2014


Fabulous all round

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were there recently on a hen weekend. Everything about Rock farm was fantastic , hospitality, accommodation, location, facilities, food. A great weekend. Will definitely be back.

Aine from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in September 2014


Back to Nature Retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed overnight in an amazing Yurt at Rock Farm Slane. It was a great experience, comfortable and warm. It was a real treat to fire up the little stove. It lit so easily and kept the yurt so cosy. The camp fire was a particular treat and it was so enjoyable sipping a glass of wine while watching the flames. Peace and quiet in abundance also. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Guest from Carrick on Shannon stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in September 2014


Feedback:

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
What was good: Enjoyed the experience, the yurt (ash) was very nice, clean, comfortable and positioned nicely in the site. Facilities with fridge/cooking very good. Showers were ok also, very nice walks in the area.

Some areas of improvement:
1. General site (reception and approaching the camp site area was not attractive, untidy and could do with a clean-up - first impressions on approach not good.
2. Eco Toilet: a step too far, was disgusting & uncomfortable to use - not sure about hygiene.
3. Noise which carried from road traffic & combine harvester took from the desired tranquillity,
4. Thought we would use hot tub, but appearance, location, lighting not very inviting & didn’t heat up until late,
5. We saw something black moving (scurrying) around the decking area to the right of the cooking/eating facilities, could not be sure what it was as it was dark at the time, might need investigation – hoping all the necessary precautions are being taken to avoid any furry friends !


Guest from Limerick stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in August 2014


Carina Mount Charles replied more than 1 year ago
Firstly Irene, thank you for your honest feedback. We are grateful for you taking the time to say what you liked and didn't like about your stay with us. We are also glad you enjoyed the experience, the yurt and the facilities. We have taken on board what you have said and will take this opportunity to address your points. I'm only sad that we didn't get to have this conversation while you were with us, as some of the points could have been resolved during your stay. 1. Reception area - we have a building project in progress and have been clearing out the farm shed for all the strawbales that we need to shelter for the next building, which you would have seen as you entered the farm yard. This is only a temporary arrangement. Apologies for not putting up a notice to explain this. The access track to the boutique camp is separate to the reception area and thus our the building work should not impact too much on our guests' experiences. 2. Eco Toilet - we understand that compost toilets are not for everyone. We have embraced them both as a part of our planning permission and ecotourism certification. The boutique camp is adjacent to areas of special protection (NHA, SAC, SPA and ACAs) so we would not be allowed to dig up the ground for septic tanks etc. So waterless toilets on that site are our only option. We continue to look at ways to improve the toilets and we always ensure that they are clean and hygenic. 3. Noise - we were not aware that the combine harvester was creating too much noise as it was at least one large field away from the campsite and we didn't receive any complaints from any of the guests. We always leave on the blackboard in the main veranda of Le Shack, and point out, our site mobile number to all guests checking in, so that we can resolve any issues that might impact on a guest's stay. 4. The hot tub - is a popular feature on the campsite. It is brand new from a reputable supplier and is located in a little dell to provide privacy to those using it. We had a set of solar lights that were working well until recently. They will be checked and replaced if necessary. So thank you for pointing that out to us. As it is wood-fired it needs feeding (with wood) and stirring, and naturally takes a while to warm up. We have a full set of instructions and are happy to light it for guests who want to use it. 5. Rodent management - as an organic farm we have a strict rodent management plan in place and that applies to the boutique camp as well. We have a series of preventive measures including keeping everything out of reach and frequent visits from a local ferret fancier as well as traps and so on to ensure we do not have any problems. We are also fortunate enough to have pine martens and stoats on the farm which we have only seen after dark. Best regards, Carina

fantastic glamping experience!!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently returned from a two night stay in Rock farm with our two girls (aged 3 and 4). We all thoroughly enjoyed our first glamping experience. The kids absolutely loved it from the wheelbarrow ride to our yurt, outdoor cooking, toasted marshmallows over the campfire even down to the eco toilets!!! The yurt we stayed in was comfortable and warm, a home from home! !
A day out on the bikes is a must, we had so much fun!!
The staff at Rock farm are all so.friendly and helpful especially Nicky!!


Michelle & Jonathan from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in July 2014


Good experience.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good experience in clean, well equipped ash Yurt. I felt the breakfast pack was excellent but the BBQ pack would have benefited if it had some salad or vegetables.

Clare from stayed at Ash - Yurt for 1 nights in July 2014


ash review 27-05-2014

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week-end in this yurt. it is lovely, with two double beds which makes it a bit tight for 4 persons if you're looking for personal space but it wasn't our case, we love cosy! also, there is a lovely little stove with plenty of firewood to keep it going. The yurt is beautifully decorated with fairy lights and lanterns. The luxury touch comes with fluffy white towels and impeccable bed linen and the tasteful freebies (shampoo and conditioner) from the Handmade Soap Company.

Guest from Greystones stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in May 2014


wonderful experience

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found our stay one of the most relaxing breaks we have had in years . Breakfast was delicious , showers clean and hot . Kitchen well stocked and clean .Yurt very cosy and lovely to hear bird song in the morning.We would not hesitate in recommending rock farm for a weekend break or longer.Carina and Alex were perfect hosts

Guest from Dublin 14 stayed at Ash - Yurt for 2 nights in May 2014