FB Twitter

Apple - Shep Hut

Apple - Shep Hut

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 58 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Apple is the larger of our adorable 2-man Shepherd Huts. This is a traditional wooden caravan on wheels clad with green corrugate, as would have been used by shepherds of old.

Take a look around

Not sure? Take a look at our latest reviews and see if Apple is for you: Upfront Reviews: Apple Shepherd's Hut

a nourishing experience

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a nourishing experience in luxurious bedding and super cosy space that makes one feel enlivened and refreshed.

Manchan from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in March 2020


Incredible Off Peak Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an incredible stay at Rock Farm Slane. We were a little concerned about glamping on a cold February weekend but we were so wrong. Apple was warm, cosy and had everything we needed. From a heater and stove to keep us warm, to a lamp with a in built phone charger, it had all the comforts of a hotel room (and the cosiest bed imaginable!) but in a much cooler setting. Le Shack (the communal area) had everything we needed to cook our meals and the Hot Tub was a cracking addition- even in 6 degrees Celsius!

Off peak was really quiet which suited us perfectly, but we are already looking forward to heading back with a bigger crowd during the summer.


Alice from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in February 2020


Wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My fiance and I stayed in one of the shepards huts the week before Christmas. It was so warm and cozy even in the middle of winter! Particularly loved the wood-burning stove. Kitchen facilities on site are excellent and the hot tubs are a wonderful touch.

Siobhan from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in December 2019


Amazing weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rock Farm is beautiful. They have an amazing set up with stunning views into the iconic Slane Castle. I highly recommend the food pack which is full of delicious produce sourced right on farm. The Shepards Hut is fantastic, comfortable and we an amazing sleep. If you are looking for a weekend break from the hustle and bustle of the city, then this is the place.

Yvonne from Dublin stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in September 2019


No Glamour at all

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were shocked, when we realised, that we‘ve paied 110€ for a night on a campsite. We really do not understand why they call it „Glamping“. There is no Glamour at all. Had toilets that were cleaner and less stinky after three days on a Rock Festival.
Worst night during our holidays :(


Sylvia from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in August 2019


Carina replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Sylvia, We are very sorry that your were not satisfied with the toilet facilities during your stay. We are surprised to read this and can only apologise if the toilets were in a poor condition, since we clean them on a daily basis and have confirmed that all toilets were checked and cleaned on Thursday. The Glamping is busy at the moment and we can only apologise it was soiled after the cleaning team left. A mobile phone number was communicated to you prior to your arrival in case you needed any assistance at any stage during your stay. This number is also on display at the main facilities and on the Welcome Guide in the hut. Should we have received a call, a member of our team would have come straight away to fix this. There are compost toilets near the huts at the bottom of the Glamping and also "normal" flushable toilet facilities near Le Shack, which is the wooden building and communal area with bathrooms, kitchen and living room, about 150m from Apple Hut where you were staying. I am just wondering if you found Le Shack at all as it sounds like you only visited the hut and the compost toilets nearby. We hope that we may have the opportunity to show you our full offering at a future occasion. Best regards, Carina

A Nice stay

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I really enjoyed my time at rock farm, myself and my partner stayed for two nights at the apple sheep hut.
It was in a lovely location beside a little pond, we had a nice outdoor table and seating. The Hut itself was in an ok condition, it was a bit scruffy the walls inside could do with a painting,the chest of drawers under the bed inside it was broken and the front of the drawers were falling off, it had a lot of spiders inside but this is probably to expected considering its glamping. I loved the scenery and the communal area was big and spacious. Nice showers. Great places to go and walk and take in the scenery. And pigs lots of cool pigs and some horses, i seen a few wild hare's and bat's about our hut area which was great.

I would go again it was great for the price we paid. But i did have a few issues with my stay. First of all we had no toilet near our area and had to walk a small bit to use the toilets, and at night the walk to them was very dark, they should have moved a portable toilet closer to the area. Our torch light was very dim you could barely see anything with it at night, the lights on the pathway to the communal area were not turned on or broken. Other camp area's had camp fire's for people to sit around how ever i would consider this a main draw for glamping. Our area had no camp fire which was really disappointing.

The place has a lovely hot tub that you fire up, but it has no smoke guard so any smoke blows right to where you sit in the tub and most of our time in it was spent chocking on smoke fumes or trying to avoid the smoke but it was still a lovely experience to sit in it at night looking at the clear stary sky, it has candles in lanterns around it but they were all burned out so we couldn't light them, We went to make some pizza in the pizza oven but none of the kindling had been replaced by the time we went to use it so it was difficult to get the fire going as other people had used it all. Again it is a lovely place to go but they really need to check the essentials around the place a few times a day.

Its a fair walk from the entrance gate so if your walking pack light the walk with luggage is long and uphill, you can do some shopping in the local town, which is also very friendly. I would go again and recommend it despite a few problems i had with my stay.


John from Dublin stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in July 2019


Summary of stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I had difficult finding the Farm - Google maps identified as being at the pumping station. There was no signage to tell how far the farm was (distance in mtrs of klms) once opening the gate.
The van was not ready - bed was not made when I arrived at 3.10 pm. The floor was unswept and the grass around the Van could have been cut underneath the steps.
Overall, you have a great place - just needs a few things ironed out.

Thank You.

Allan Zillmann - my Son Matthew booked this for me
Maryborough
Queensland
Australia


Matthew from Northgate stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 3 nights in July 2019


Domitille replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Allan, Thank you very much for your review and apologies again for your accommodation not being ready in time. We had a large group booking leaving that same day and we were a bit delayed following their departure. We have taken good notes of your feedback on signage for future reference, thank you. Best regards, Rock Farm Slane Team

Great time - but not during someones wedding preparation

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time in rock farm,.. Staff were great - helping us heat the hot tub and turn on the stone pizza oven(although a few things such as trays for the pizza to go on were missing) .. There are lots of essentials such as hot water bottles, and extra duvets if the weather is cold but the shepard hut was very cosy. The only negative was that the other group in site was large (a wedding party) on our second day stay.. Meaning we had to eat outside as there was no space. Cooking was also very cramped. We decided to use the other communal cooking area instead of waiting but the cooker/oven/grill didn't work so we had to wait for the group to finish. Plus there was a lot of decorating happening for the wedding party, meaning a lot of the time communal areas were not in use - which was a little annoying since we were paying the same price as all the other guests, yet we didn't have the same space or comfort to do what we wanted. I would however recommend Rock farm during off peak seasons when there would likely be less large groups.. Because if there is a wedding/stag/hen - expect less privileges then them.

Stephanie Orr from Dublin stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in June 2019


Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you would need and want from a stay in a Shepherds hut, really like all their efforts to protect the environment

Guest from Reading stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in May 2019


Love it!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful way to experience the holy River Boyne. A cozy, comfortable hut with a wood heater that is all set for lighting and warms the hut quite well. A walk down to the river with the cows grazing nearby was a truly sacred experience. Good tea available at the refectory. Nice warm shower. Beautiful.

Brendan from Colorado Springs stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in April 2019


Rock Farm Slane is fantastic!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our shepard's hut was incredibly cute and cozy, we slept really well and loved having a fire in our room. The common areas are very clean and cute, and their homegrown BBQ package was awesome (although we wish that they also had a vegetarian BBQ package option). I highly recommend staying here!

Kathleen from Amsterdam stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in April 2019


Loved it

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time visiting Rock Farm again, staff are lovely, very chilled place to be! Wood fired hot tub, tree swing, lots of fresh air, comfy shepherd's hut, amazing showers.

Laura from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in February 2019


One night stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
no one to welcome us. difficult to understand where things are located and how the equipment works! a more personal welcome would be appreciated! especially for the price high enough for a stay like this. however the setting is very beautiful and the quality of the equipment excellent! I recommend !

Steven from 36 Belmont-sur-Lausanne 1092 stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in December 2018


Carina Conyngham replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Steven, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies that no one was there to meet you on your arrival. There was a misunderstanding with your check-in as our hosting team thought that you had agreed to a self-service check-in and had been sent the details to do so. We will ensure this does not happen again. For the best prices for our accommodation we recommend to book directly with us via the Book Now page on our website. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards, Carina

Apple Shephards hut

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Rock farm for two night in the Apple Shephard's Hut. It was absolutely lovely, the hut itself was very comfortable and like it was described on the website. There was plenty to do with the river walk, exploring the farm, hot tub & Slane castle nearby.

Guest from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in November 2018


A comfortable way to experience camping

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Apple shepherd hut as part of a group booking. The shepherd huts are like stationary wooden caravans on stilts: I thought they would literally contain a bed, but it actually had a chest of drawers, stove, and the bed has storage underneath for your bags. I enjoyed my morning coffee on the steps: I could hear some really unusual bird calls that I couldn't identify: should have recorded them! Would love to return for a longer stay.

Fiona from Dublin stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in August 2018


Super comfortable, perfect getaway spot!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot say enough good things about Rock Farm Slane! We’ve only been home 48 hours and have already recommended them to our entire circle of friends and family. We came down from Belfast area for only a few days, so we wish we had had more time! The hut was very clean and the bed was so comfortable! We were also very impressed with the quality and maintenance of the shared spaces. All the other guests were so respectful. We even had a large hen party show up the second night we were there, and they respected all the rules and were fantastic about sharing the public areas! The location of the farm is perfect for exploring all of the ancient sites in the area including Trim, Newgrange, Knowth, Hill of Tara, etc. I rated the customer care “Excellent” because they were very welcoming and very communicative. The only thing is they didn’t point out where the swimming pool was. We never found it! In their defense, we showed up several hours after we had originally planned to be there and basically showed up when check-in time was closing, so that’s on us! They were very helpful otherwise- I would suggest to the farm that they maybe make a map of the premises to help out! I think there are walking trails too that they could add. Also, it is a tiny bit pricey for glamping, but due to the high quality of the accommodation and prime location as I’ve mentioned, I would say it’s more or less worth it. You’d spend more staying in a B&B and here you can make your own food. Overall, it was an amazing place to stay! We’re looking forward to our next visit already!!!

Dayna from Bangor stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in July 2018


Awsome!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Te gek verblijf! Lieve mensen. Was wel erg rustig toen ik er was. Goede service! Bedankt ook dat jullie m'n boarding pas konden printen!

Lisa from Egmond-Binnen stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in May 2018


An unusual accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It was nice to try a different accommodation for two nights. The yurt might be exceptional but we stayed in the shep hut cause the yurts were fully booked. It was nice we had fun sleeping in a hut but maybe a bit expensive for what it was. Sharing a bathroom is usually not my thing but the showers were quite clean (two of them were missing lockers). In regards to the toilets, unfortunately, some people didn't understand how to use them and when I went on the morning it was really dirty and smelly cause some people used the pee hole for other stuff...
A little disappointed about the breakfast, I was expecting a nice little breakfast in basket or something. I saw that the farm had many porks so I was expecting farm product in my breakfast instead of what I had tesco product put in the fridge. Plus, the bread I had was mouldy. Good points were that we had plenty of food and the sausages look fresh.
In a nutshell:
- Good points: an unusual accommodation, being waken up by the birds singing, plenty of food, clean bathroom, activities proposed, the location.
- Bad Points: a lack of rigour, the breakfast, shared toilets

If I come back in county Meath I would be happy to try the yurt with private bathroom to have (maybe) a different point of view.


Guest from Sligo stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in May 2018


Great weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great girls weekend at rock farm. The staff were so helpful and very friendly. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable in a beautiful setting. I would highly recommend Rock farm for a relaxing getaway.

Grainne from Emyvale stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in May 2018


Break out in Nature

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for two nights in one of the shepherd’s huts and I absolutely loved it. The hut was very cosy and cute and nice and warm when the fire was lighting. I was provided with lots of fire wood and blankets too. The hut also had a lot of storage space and candles too.

The kitchen area was lovely and homely with lots of space to store your food. Everything you need to make a meal is provided. There’s also plugs to charge any appliances. The showers were easy to use and the water was just right! Toilets were clean and very interesting to say the least!

I loved the surrounding area. Loads of farm animals around and it’s lovely to go for a walk and take in all the sights. It’s a perfect place to go bird watching - no shortage of pheasants! Make sure you have all the food and bits you need because the nearest shop is a 30 minute walk away, but the seclusion was much appreciated!

As a solo female traveller, I felt very safe and secure. The camp is well secured and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hut has a double lock and keys come with a lanyard so I could just keep it around my neck.

All in all, a lovely little break away from the city! I will definitely be returning.



Eve from Dublin stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in April 2018


Fantastic Weekend Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a hen weekend at the start of April. We booked out all of the Yurts, al the shepherds huts and also the shallow nest. All of the accommodation was fantastic and exactly as described. We could not have been more comfortable for the weekend. We were lovely and cosy each night with plenty of room. The communal space is perfect, with plenty of room to sit and chat and have food. The breakfast packs are huge with everything you could ever want. We had a hosted BBQ on the Saturday night which was delicious and again loads of food. We made use of the hot tub which is also a fantastic addition to our stay.
If you are looking for something different this is the place to go. With fantastic communication, spectacular views, amazing food and a comfortable stay there is really nothing else you could want. Would highly recommend it to anyone.


Leah from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in April 2018


We will be back!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay in the Shepard hut it was exactly what we thought it would be. We walked into Slane both evenings it’s a little bit of a hike but doable, we like the outdoors so enjoyed walking through the farm over the River Boyne and into the beautiful town of Slane.

Steve and Kathy Lee


Stephen from Kalkaska stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in March 2018


Apple Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful, scenic experience for our first night in Ireland. If you love the countryside, you will love staying here. Great hot showers, and super comfortable bed! Was a lovely stay! Highly recommend.

Carolyn from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in March 2018


Great place to relax

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was attending a wedding in the locality so didn't get to spend a lot of time on site but love the place and will be going back!

Carol Ann from Dublin stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in March 2018


Lovely place and will definitely be back. Tiny sausage dog is a massive bonus

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Rock Farm while at a wedding in the Millhouse down the road and loved the time we were here and only wished we'd booked an extra night to have a good look around. The grounds were stunning and the cabin was lovely once you got the stove going. We'd recommend getting the stove lit as soon as you arrive if you're staying there in the winter because it can be a bit damp. Overall we were really surprised by how comfortable everything was without losing any of its charm. The staff were excellent and really helpful, offering lifts into the wedding and anything you could want and even helped out when l left something behind after I left. We'll definitely be back during the summer

Guest from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in February 2018


A beautiful escape!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My expectations were exceeded on every level. The standards are very high and every detail has been thought of. Our experience was on a horribly rainy day but we still had the most wonderful time. We will definitely be booking again this summer ❤

Guest from Ardee stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in February 2018


Phantastic Location

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a very pleasant stay. Only the breakfast pack - it was too much (I had to share the bananas and oranges with a little girl)

Petra from Alfeld Leine stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 3 nights in September 2017


Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately we only spent one night at the Apple Shep Hut. I wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed the hot tub and the super cozy beg in the hut. Lucho, the host on the site, showed us around when we arrived. Communication via airbnb with Carina was perfect and we appreciated her recommendations. Everything went well and I can totally recommend staying here.

Mara Sykora from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in September 2017


an experience

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time ever glamping and I really enjoyed it, even though the weather wasn't great that didn't stop us we just put our wellies on and carried on. The facilities provided where all great can't complain about anything.

Ashleigh from Newcastle stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in August 2017


A wonderful experience, looking forward to returning

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our stay at Rock Farm was one of the most memorable weekends away we have ever had, and we are planning to return very soon. We were incredibly lucky with the weather and with the other people staying at the campsite. The toilets and showers were spotless.

A couple of recommendations for newcomers:
1) Bring a charcoal starter pack for the BBQ, you can buy them in most shops/petrol stations. We were lost without one and had to ask other campers for some.
2) You are expected to start up/heat the pizza oven thing yourself - this can take well over an hour (particularly if you're not sure what you're doing) so don't arrive to the campsite starving, because you'll be wallfallen by the time you actually have the food on the plate in front of you!
3) They only provide kipling and newspaper at the campsite so make sure to bring some firelighters, this will help a lot. Unfortunately the girl on duty who showed us around the campsite knew absolutely nothing about the workings of the pizza oven/BBQs or how to light them, potentially her first day. I think we were just unlucky with that, I got the sense that other workers knew how to do everything.
4) The more interaction you have with the rest of the campers, the more craic you'll have so reach out and say hi! We ended up sitting around the bonfire until all hours of the morning with the other campers, having a few drinks and toasting the kids' marshmallows.
5) If you're partial to a glass or wine (or a few), come prepared - we had difficulty buying any alcohol on the N2 into Slane or in the village itself, Gala doesn't sell alcohol at all.


Guest from Co. Limerick stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in July 2017


Not just for eco-warriers!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities, a lot of thought put in to the site and facilities. Great area to stay in and plenty to see and do around Slane. Would definitely recommend it for a chilled out break.

Ann Louise from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in July 2017


Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely staff, beautiful views, the Hut was so comfortable with a log fire and candles and a hot tub just outside!

Ann Marie from Swords stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in June 2017


We loved the shep hut but hated trying to light a fire with wet woods to make the pizza.Without oven

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really loved The little apple shep hut, it was very clean and nice. The staff was also very friendly. Bikes were very good even though we couldn't use them much for the weather. There were little things that you need to improve though. The hot tub was a bit dirty and freezing cold when we used it, because the fire wasn't properly lid and we bought the pizza dough, but we struggled a lot to lid the fire with wet woods. It was very painful, you should provide better resources to do that. proper paper, dry woods and an oven, even a small portable one, in case the weather is terrible (for us was very windy), and you can't easily lid the fire.

Apart of this everything was OK. We really liked the shep hut.


Alessandro from Dublin stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in June 2017


Looking forward to coming back!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent from start to finish !
Staff on arrival very welcoming.
Excellent location!
Will definitely be back!


Paul from D9 stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in May 2017


No breaky included.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a good stay. Very confortable. Expensive for what u get. There are facalities to make your own breakfast. However i think it should include some breaky for the price. Eg even coffee and scones.
However shower facalities very good. Comfy bed and warm hut.


Adrian from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in May 2017


Unique getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly unique stay in antiquated intimate surroundings. Tasteful, cosy interior. Would definitely recommend to close friends or a couple looking to escape to nature.

Guest from Drumcondra stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in February 2017


great!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
No complaints, really unique experience. Carina very easy to deal with over email and the location is spectacular.

Ciaran from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in October 2016


Best night's sleep I had all trip.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found this place to be absolutely perfect for my needs. It allowed me to get a good night's rest well away from my family in town. It was quiet, clean and it allowed me to get a good night's sleep well away from my family.

Stephan from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in September 2016


Short Stay- I'll be back

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Was only a brief visit while attending a local wedding. Didn't have time to full experience to full range of facilities but I really loved the feel and setting. Looking forward to visiting again for a longer stay.

Diarmuid from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in September 2016


Glamping at its finest

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at rock farm. The shepherds hut was very comfortable and the facilities were excellent. The surroundings were beautiful and there were lots of great day trips on our doorstep. We will definitely be back.

One Parent Family from Kilkishen stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 3 nights in August 2016


Rock Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There actually accomodation was good but I'm was not expecting to be in a campsite. First night was okay as no one else was there but 2nd night was a bit noisy. Could potentially be very noisy if full. Staff were good and helpful with local travel arrangements. Good location for Boyne Valley visits.

Brian from Cape Town stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in August 2016


Fun!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here with a large group of friends and had a wonderful time. Beautiful location, fantastic for relaxation. Come if you want to get away from it all!

Ed from London stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 3 nights in July 2016


My stay

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was so relaxing the walk along the river is beautiful and the views are just stunning. The hut was lovely, loved the stove really heats the room up and makes it more homely. The staff of the place are really friendly and nice and quite helpful I would go back go back without a doubt

One Parent Family from Kilkishen stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 3 nights in July 2016


Perfect cosy little bit with a very comfortable bed

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have never been Glamping before, so this was all new to me, and I'm very happy I did it. The hut had a little wood burning stove which I lit at night and it made it very cosy. The location is very quiet and peaceful, and at one point I was sitting at my little table and chairs outside, and two pheasants just wandered by. Everything is within easy reach, communal spaces very well equipped, and I'll definitely be back again with friends. I'd recommend this to couples, families, and whether or not you love the outdoors this place has everything. We could sit outside on comfortable sofas completely sheltered, or inside at the large kitchen tables, the children had an abundance of things to do and the parents could relax knowing we were all in a safe environment. Love this place.

One Parent Family from Kilkishen stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in July 2016


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay!

Eco stay at its best

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved the stay by the Boyne. Well stocked communal kitchen. Great fellow travellers. Amazing bed & own fireplace in the apple hit. Would come back in a flash!

Sharon from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in June 2016


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sharon, thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our cosy bed and wood burning stove. We hope to see you sometime in the future!

wonderful stay in a beautiful setting!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I had a wonderful stay in one of the most beautiful places i ve been so far!
luxury in the middle of the nature!
Nice village on walking distance(20 minutes),nice walks along the Boyne river.
Camp fire in the evening,quiet nights,peaceful place...


Jorunn from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in May 2016


Rock Farm Management replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jorunn, So glad that you had such a positive experience here on the farm. The campfire is such a relaxing space on summer evenings, and we are so happy that you got to enjoy the magnificent walks in the area too.

A great place!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our time here, it's nice to see Eco tourism starting to happen! From wormeries, to compost toilets, chickens, pigs and cows all onsite (with a few hardy pheasants strutting around) rockfarm does its best!

John from Ballymun stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in April 2016


Rock Farm Management replied more than 1 year ago
Hi John! Delighted that you got to experience Rock Farm at it's best.

Just beautiful...

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would definitely recommend the Rock Farm. Perfect getaway. Great facilities. Lovely walks. We just hung out and dat by the campfire at night and had fun walking around in the dark. Great adventure for a little girl and a lovely break for her busy mammy :)

Ellen from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in August 2015


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience here on Rock Farm.

Fab place

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it from the minute we got there and we feel totally refreshed after a 2 night break there. Thanks so much and we'll definitely be back!!!!!'!

Tracy from Co Kildare stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in August 2015


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Tracy, we are delighted you enjoyed a relaxing break here on Rock Farm. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Chill out

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over the weekend an I have to say from the very start it was a great experience we were shown around the site saw the shepherds hut an all I can say is it was beautiful very well presented an explained the idea of leave no trace I am the type of girl who stays in hotels but I have to say I would do this again
We went out on electric bikes on Saturday did the grand tour the notes an map were provided by the staff all in all we had a great day the only down side was in the communial area the fridge space was limited but that is something that can be sorted the facilities are great everything you need for a few days chilling out an you get to meet some really interesting people an good chat around a camp fire or in the hot tub rock farm your doing a wonderful job keep up the good work an we look forward to going back with a few of our friends to let them see your straw hut an the house you have on site hope to be back soon
Loved it


Paul & Shauna from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in August 2015


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here on Rock Farm and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Great Experience

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best trips I ever had. The whole experience was great and the owners and staff were very helpful. Also the food packs are great value for money and delicious.

Guest from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in July 2015


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Hen Party at Rock Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
our stay at Rock Farm was excellent from beginning to end!
facilities were amazing, even the compost toilet was an experience
the yurts & huts were cozy, comfortable and beautiful
kitchen facilities were fantastic, everything available for our large group of women
thank you to Nicola, Michelle & Carina


Guest from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in June 2015


Rock Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your Glamping experience here on Rock Farm. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Rock farm slane

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the shep hut for two nights, gorgeous location in slane. The weather was cold and the little wood burning stove in the hut, and the communal " le shack" was most welcome! We loved the whole eco friendly experience and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others!!

Guest from Castleknock stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in May 2015


EEI stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed my stay, first time using an ECO loo which was interesting! Would have liked a curtain on my window or to be further away from the main building. Liked the stove in the hut! Beautiful place to get back to nature. Excellent staff.

Guest from Westport stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 1 nights in September 2014


Great

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time we will be back and we would recommend to everyone , staff were great , met some lovely friends , and our dog gus really enjoyed it , thank you so much

Guest from Slane stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in September 2014


glamping rocks

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay! Beautiful surroundings,comfy beds,lovely strong warm showers.... The food was so fresh and the BBQ was cooked to perfection..
Thank you xx


Brenda from stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in August 2014


A comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a 31 week pregnant lady the thought of glamping scared the life out of me but I have to say I was extremely comfortable and had a relaxing weekend!!

Guest from Eniskillen stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in May 2014


quirky and cute

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely shepherd's hut which is ideal for a couple. Everything you need in a compact but cute space. The 'hobbit' stove is small but mighty to keep you warm and cosy, with plenty of firewood at hand. Crisp bed linen, fluffy white towels and gorgeous freebies from the Handmade Soap Company add that luxurious touch.

Guest from Greystones stayed at Apple - Shep Hut for 2 nights in May 2014